Photo: A public primary school in Bauchi State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 October 2015

Photo: A public primary school in Bauchi State

American journalist with Al Jazeera Nick Schifrin shared the photo on Instagram and wrote;
Outside of Bauchi, Nigeria, second graders in the public Kuletu primary school have no desks, chairs, or books. Their classroom has no windows, and its walls are crumbling. The blackboard is so old, chalk disappears into stains that look like recently dripped wax.This is not a case of poverty. Nigeria's education budget is $1.97 trillion.
Many private schools are modern. But schools run by the government, especially in rural areas, are neglected by politicians accused of pocketing money designated for educating the the country's youth.

82 comments:

Nna na wa o! People wey God go judge really plenty. Linda take note!

Preach. Well said

Nawa oooo

True, well said.

Dis is bad!

obietrezy said...

Its so unfortunate. Jor oh

U won't blame †ђξ school, 1.9 trillion dollars αи∂ yet such is †ђξ case? †ђξ state don't have minister for education? What they do is collect money for developing that sector αи∂ will go ahead pocketing it or squandering it, sending their own kids abroad while those who can't afford such luxury wallow in such bad state. This isn't †ђξ matter of God helping us, we need to tell ourselves †ђξ truth so help will come.

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

U won't blame †ђξ school, 1.9 trillion dollars αи∂ yet such is †ђξ case? †ђξ state don't have minister for education? What they do is collect money for developing that sector αи∂ will go ahead pocketing it or squandering it, sending their own kids abroad while those who can't afford such luxury wallow in such bad state. This isn't †ђξ matter of God helping us, we need to tell ourselves †ђξ truth so help will come.

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

This is where pastor Chris should donate 1b to. Gal 6:10

Our Politicians are heartless.
9ja no get messiah.All our leaders na thief.

Eye sore

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Good a place as any to start the fight against corruption Eh? It will affect Nigerians directly

Too bad

Linda, abeg make my comments visible.
No be today I don dey comment. I stopped when e no dey visible.

Billy said...

I wonder where all the Budget for education goes to..well we all know if this Billions of naira is spent on education anually our education would have grown far far more better than this..im sure they are ripping the money so they can spend it when they get to Heaven ..God help us all

Just Negodu........why won't they go into bombing and shooting........ No wonder the young girls prefer to marry on time, who won suffer for this kind condition

Huh! can you imagine, and the people meant to oversee their welfare are busy marrying more wives. its quite unfortunate.

Kojevspin D Realist said...

Wen I see eyesores like dis I just wish I had supernatural powers so dat I can kill all those dat brought us to dis sordid state.

yahoo babe no laptop said...

this is a shame ,shame on our leaders,shame on those squandering our money1 shame on those using our money for luxury.May the soul of these innocent chikdren punish you.my mouth to God Ear,better come and beg me so i will reverse my curse,i spill fire

my visit to the herbalist place.click my name

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Isn't it a shame?
Buhari ought to do d needful and send these mofo's to jail.
Imagine kids learning in such unconducive environment,how on earth would they learn

All Nigerian politicians needs stoning

That's way Biafra most come.

Dammit! It's really in a poor state...wonder how the students there cope.

Corruption

this is very terrible..its a pity..very shameful.

This is quite sad and unfortunate. Shame on our politicians!! And some unfortunate politician is responsible for that local govt o.

adol said...

Goldmine said...

It is a sad situation considering that this state has a Governor who has several houses in Abuja from where he occasionally visits. By next tenure he'll appear before the Senate to declare he hates curruption. They will face judgement in due course.

Change.. Sai baba.. Sai baba

He could not have said it any better. Instead of the new governor to focus on building a better Bauchi State, he's busy with-hunting Isa Yuguda.

<< LIB Addict >>

Talking about the youths... Please if you've not read ahmed Sule's article rejoinder marginalisation of the Nigeria youth on Bella Naija...its trending and it's wow!

Pathetic...

Goziem Oh LORD said...

I weep and then pray for my country nigeria

Linda reading from your customers on this blog which majority are youth makes me ashame of the confusion that poverty and underdevelopment have caused in their lives youth that should stand on truth and justice are being jingled left and right in support of the crinamls that they like and cursing the other criminals that they don't like. In some countries it is youth like them that change politics and makes the leaders to realised that they aren't no fool. No wonder they never considers them useful for any appointment in government watch other advance nations, you will see the youth actively paticipating as governors and ministers this ones here are carried away by political drama and moments and it has made them unintelligent and funny the old men can see it glaringly. Come and be leaders of tomorrow with this wretched mind of yours. What a shame keep supporting the lesser devil over the bigger ones. Don' start revolution to clear your country from these evil men. You are in a long journey

God bless the hand that posted this , I hope they stupid greedy politicians can be ashamed and do something

But linda your country youths don't care about all this shameful stuffs they enjoy wide political drama they always get from the thief politicians. They will support the givernor of that state if he come out for presidency some will become his psychopath and get personal with the feelings. A country will continue to suffer this shame from the roughs politicians it her youths refuses to condem the evil politicans and start a revolution to wipe them out. As long as they are ejoying the drama that the politicans are using their poverty affrcted brain to play. They will never become leaders of tomorrow. What a big shame

Sugarvie said...

Nigeria! God pls help us all .

#sucre

Sugarvie said...

Nigeria! God pls help us all .

#sucre

Gbam. On point oyibo

Lord, ve mercy!

This is too bad for a country as big as ours. Our leaders really need a change of heart.

The budget cannot be $1.97 trillion. How much is the entire national budget. I think the journalist meant the currency in naira.

Very appalling.

bummyla said...

Please expose them! why wouldn't these places be breeding places for boko haram and terrorists! http://www.bummyla.com

If there's one gov who doesn't deserved second term it's Borno state Gov!!

Damilola said...

Am glad he pointed out that this is not a case of poverty but heartless, wicked politicians that have gone beyond the word greedy.

Naija Govt doing nothing

That's work of our government here in nigeria.. There children is schooling at abroad or private school here in nigeria building houses here and abroad but they cannot take good care of government school.. God is watching them.. linda, observe carefully

linda, observe carefully

buhari has kept some of jonathan's biggest secret.it was until recently my team and i uncovered them .visit http://Job4Living.com/?ref=163112 for the full story

Mimi said...

When breeze blow, fowl yansh (is that the correct spelling?) go open ooo!!

hmmm, my country, my country. God help us. indeed its not poverty but corruption, it has eaten very deep into the very core of our existence as a country

Lol ukporuOla na

That vuvuzela P guy

Now this is the kind of news we all should keep talking about in our country rather than keeping up with the kardashians celebrifools. With all the trillions of dollar budget on education, all our Ibile still lacks good, sound quality education in our country. Please let us all make this an issue till the sector is being taking care of.

Alaga Ibile of LIB community

And sometimes you Linda that lives in Nigeria will say is the country that bad?because most Nigerian who are rich and enlighten are living in fantasy world.Let our politicians and senators continues in their blindness they have refuse to see that too much ignorance breed boko haram and other hardened criminals that would come out and destroy the whole peace of the Nations.Anyway I have little respect for our politicians they are all dumb ass.

Norther region they fall our hand.

Tnk u so muc nick! Nice job! Keep preaching the "good news". Nigeria Politicians are wt heart of beast!! A country wt only "soft copy" plan for it citizens

Beecubed said...

OMG! C life! And we will be shouting "Change, change, change" whc way Nigeria, which way?

flaky said...

This shows the depth of decay in Nigeria, it's not only peculiar to Bauchi. If we dug deep, we'll see lots of schools like this in every state of the federation. How will these children learn in this kind of classroom and uncomfortable condition? I seriously weep for this nation. Our leaders are so corrupt that they are so insensitive to the plight of the poor. I only hope and pray that Buhari administration will make the "change" they promised.

It's not a northern problem, there are worse schools like this in the south

This is where those so called Nigerian millionaires should sow into rather than building schools abroad, this really makes it look like a forth world country if there is any such word sad how can they learn in this condition for goodness sake.

skills said...

Big lies white people keep telling. Stop telling us rubbish. Bad as it may be, what did u say our education budget is? Gerrarahere

Stanvista Group said...

Until the educational system in Nigeria is sanitized, the best option is to encourage the Nigerian children and youths to study abroad for quality education. Check out Stanvista Educational Services at www.stanvista.com

They think adinfinitum will they live. But death will come when it will

Azukor said...

Yuguda swallow all allocations.

Nigeria shd get pass this by now

Ask pdp....this school is not new!
Later they will say buhari is witch-hunting...what were the education ministers doing in the past 16yrs?

Is the school new?
This school are so old,they could have been there for about 16yrs just like dis- #pdp years!!

Abubakar said...

Chai! Deris God o.

The primary school I attended Elizabeth flower memorial primary school in Surulere Mercy eleni street completely dilapidated and abandoned. A very big public school. Tinubu and Fashola did nothing. I can send you the picture.

I thought Lagos state is different until I discovered the primary school I attended in Surulere. Well structured massive 2 storey building school completely dilapidated and abandoned. Ghost of its past in the heart of Lagos. Elizabeth flower memorial primary school. Mercy eleni street. Shame on Fashola and Tinubu. I can send you the picture if you want. The Bauchi school is still functional so they should be thankful unlike mine that is dead

You can't blame politicians alone for this- the biggest crooks are the civil servants themselves

Bishop even u too...? so PastorChris is now seen as Fed.State&LocalGovt abi becos he did a good thing, it's killing people like u plus ur own bishop, what have u done? Instead of placing things in the appropriate order... Nigerians WILL NOT see good until they all Repent...

Like the journalist said, its not a case of poverty, its greed, selfishness, wickedness of some set of people. But God will judge each and everyone of them

Good for them, afterall they don't go to school...
Na jihad school dem dey go

Good for them, afterall they don't go to school...
Na jihad school dem dey go

How much did you donate to them?? Lol... Everyone has a vision and a mission... Pastor Chris has his... and it's clear. He is doing something.. It could be anything... what are you doing??? Let us know...

the governor and the commissioner for education of this bauchi must be probed and efcc and icpc to take them up. useless entities.

Too bad