Not again! Emmanuel Emenike announces his retirement from Super Eagles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 October 2015

Not again! Emmanuel Emenike announces his retirement from Super Eagles

Super Eagles player, Emmanuel Emenike took to his instagram page an hour ago to announce he is quitting the national team. What he wrote after the cut...

"No more Eagles career! "After 5 great years, I am happy to announce that I have put full-stop to my Nationa team career for the sake of national peace. Its a pleasure for me to have played for this great country. I never regretted it and I think its the best time to end it. Millions thanks to all the fans who have been very supportive during the good and bad times. I am very proud of my performance, I am proud of my team mates and I am very proud of the nation called 'Nigeria'. My AFCON gold medal is a sign of great achievement, My AFCON topscorer award speaks a lot about my commitment and dedication to the team. Super Eagles is a camp not a family house, and it shouldn't be a threat zone for any individual. I have done according to our national anthem. "All my dreams came true in the national team, I dreamt to win Nations Cup for Nigeria after 20-years, I dreamt to played at the World Cup as well as to make a name for myself... In the space of five years, I got them. I'm a winner! "For every dissapointing fans, maybe due to my inability to re-establish my goal scoring instinct for Super Eagles, I will like to say I'm sorry but the ones I had scored counted well for the team. As long as Nigeria remains, you and I will always remember the name 'Emenike'. "Finally, I am happy to make a bow and continue supporting the team everytime. Up Eagles, God Bless Nigeria!

169 comments:

Good for him,his decision. Wish him well.

On instagram again ? Bye

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Mtsheew u think you will get sympathy like Enyeama? Nwannem congrats on your retirement.

Go sit down jooor... just 5years and u r hanging ur boot on nationals. Na wa ooo

#Noorerh

obietrezy said...

Your cup of tea. Jor oh

Tabor everywhere

Better for the team, the so called striker that has not scored a goal since 2010, but yet play in every single match. Yeye dey smell abeg.

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Nawa o all this back and forth ni

Abimbola Aje said...

Well, i think coach oliseh should be taught on people management skills

Abimbola Aje said...

Well, i think coach oliseh should be taught on people management skills

WTH is Oliseh doing????
What is all this,? Seems Oliseh threatened him.Someone needs to call that pompous coach to order oh.

I think this their so called new coach is ain't serious,can he do this alone,and for you,many have being striving to get to that post of yours once you leave it is covered up

Tears,tears rolling outer my eye,tears of joy,Aunty linda you are a blessing,you've inspire a lot of people out there,LORD JESUS when will my time come. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

The question now is who is next on the retirement queue? Smh for somebody 'sigh' #onelovefromsnow#

I hope Oliseh gets what he wants with all these.I really dunno why indigenous coached always have issues with our players.Vincent is gone,now Emenike.Who knows if Mikel will be next.

Nawao!

Another one. Oliseh should do something about this.

Are you dating a married man....lets talk

I am just speechless!

Whatever reason he did it for I wish him all d best....

Mmmmmmmm.....ok

Ohw no. What's with them and retirements na.

Well what even rocks their world.

That vuvuzela P guy

Amy said...

Soldier go, soldier come, barracks go still remain.

Kayode Odusanya said...

As I always say, Never Say Never. Someone might have a passion for years, and just wake up and not want to do that again. I am still shocked about Necole Bitchie giving up blogging at the height of her popularity earlier this year, just because she got tired of blogging. Something she was passionate about for many years.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Really what is happening?

Why are they all retiring na

#it will only get better
#it must end in praise

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

you too

Why are they all retiring na

#it will only get better
#it must end in praise

Biafra Boy (B.B) said...

My watch!

*crying*
Will miss him.

What has happened again?????

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

Beesorlar said...

Haha what happen?

Foolish boys, they get famous, make a little cash and thinks its cool to just leave.........just 5yrs and u atr saying all this rubbish...... Ask kanu, okocha and th rest how long they sticked with the national team, even though they were the best then

Wishing him all the best.

Phew! its quite unfortunate, goes to show there is no love lost in the Eagles camp, Oliseh should take it easy. he should be a father to them.

dammy said...

Na wa o! Real Ish!

Something's going on there.

Remain mikel obi.... This african calender is really making them uncomfortable bcos one needs to leave his club to go rep his country and when they return back to club they dump them in bench.....

Good for him...Abegi dis guy no sabi play ball again jor

Well don bro, I know that it will come to this, I hard that u and ur boss oliseh had a logger head, please someone should tell oliseh to get ready to play the ball by himself by the time he forces all of them retire, Hmmm, WHO IS NEXT???

goood for you bro.........better to bow out now cos of the new boys coming up

Well don bro, I know that it will come to this, I hard that u and ur boss oliseh had a logger head, please someone should tell oliseh to get ready to play the ball by himself by the time he forces all of them retire, Hmmm, WHO IS NEXT???

Hope all is well with the Eagles.
Cop Bites opponent's testicles during a Bar Braw

I don't blame you. During my high school days, I was a striker and finally went to USA for further studies with the hope to make it in football (soccer) in the USA. This was in the early 80's. Our type of football was not known in the USA then, so, I faded away and continued my education. The point that I am trying to make is that If I had opportunity to play for Nigeria, they would have had to pay me one million dollar ($1,000,000) up front before I could participate.

There is not a country yet to play for. Nigeria is not one country yet. If I was playing abroad, I cannot take a risk in playing for Nigeria. I will stick to my club where I receive a pay check. Nigeria would have had to give me a pay check each time I play - and that pay check is one million dollar up front.

If anybody decides he's retiring from d team, let him just go...soldier go, soldier come! Must they announce retirement everytym they av issues @ camp? Super Chickens!

sparkle said...

Excellent Amy! Better make dem all kukuma comot, make new zealous players dat r ready 2 play out their heart and b recognized come in joooor. Wat r their even feeling like. Mtchewwwww

Congrats for retiring...
We really need an overhaul of the national team and you've just stepped in as a pointman...
Thanks biko!!!

Gbidigbidi Myentire Myconcern said...

U have tried....Wise decision. O Lord make Nigeria politicians who no longer useful and relevant go on retirement like Him "AMEN in Jesus Name

chikaodi said...

Oya mikel we dey wait ooooo

Oliseh is killing this team. Very soon he will get his own butt too

people like Aghahowa went through worse insults ,still he swallowed everything and kept playing for Nigeria.He quietly left the national team without any drama,after all the goals he scored to safe the country,I will always admire him for his humility and selflessness.Its a pity that Nigeria doesn't respect their heroes especially when they go through goal drought.,it's well Emenike,

Keep quiet there did Okocha and Kanu receive any insults?Kanu that was a striker didn't even score one goal for the super eagles,yet he was there for years and is even called a legend.

Mbok ka ke tie ke isong.

Well said...
He was a great.
God be with him

Obaofnaija off emperor's lodge
#thinkingItsOliseh

No wonder u 'faded away'...#hisses

Guessing its Mikel
Wish them well
My idols
How are u sis

Obaofnaija off emperor's lodge

Chi chi said...

They all need to put their pride aside and play for their country with humility.

Enough with the drama already. Good ridiance if he decides to go.

Most international players value playing for their country and would do anything to join the national team. These boys respect their coaches in their clubs and never question their authorities.

Enough with the Lousiness already!

Good riddance

Whatever dts his fucking decision

Wish him well shaa

Bt Nigerians won't miss him much shaa,ighalo is dere

oye_ken said...

Guess dat y u r anonymous, no 1 knows shii abt u. Eat a dick. Emenike wa Neva see net since 2010 self dey talk. Let Dem get lost

Abubakar said...

Good riddance!
He don old jor.

Oliseh is too young to be a coach

It's tabon. LoL

I have to agree with U. It looks like He's doing s piss poor job at man managing

With the way things are going now, half of the team might just wake up one day and announce on instagram (as usual) that their retirering.

Oliseh biko wetin dey sup?

With the way things are going now, half of the team might just wake up one day and announce on instagram (as usual) that their retirering.

Oliseh biko wetin dey sup?

Na wah,it seems d camp na hell,olisah shld no that everyone is important

Good for him

Obaaisms said...

Hmm! I hope Mikel won't be next.

Smh....Oliseh!!! Its alright, I don't have much 2 say

Mademen said...

correct mybroda.

Omg...dis will b beta,wu needed him bfor...or he tnks he will be begged as they did to enyeama?

Look at this thief .. if u want 1 million dollars just go and hire one beta ak 47 and enter bank u will see what u are looking for

Emenike is a coward and a disgrace to professional soccer.He should ask himself, what quality is he made of to have ended up in UAE league.He does nt deserve to be in the Nigerian team and should not brag about his AFCON medal cause that was a fluke.In the last friendly with Cameroun he could not even score a sitter.The coach is right to have demanded a higher work rate and productivity from him rather than think falling all over the pitch will continue to guarantee him a shirt. He should have been brave and fight his way back to his prolific form,that is the stuff champions are made of.The team won't miss him as there are several talented players waiting to fill the gap and justify their inclusion in the team.DA

Come dis guy where did u play ur futubolu in my grandma's voice one million dollars upfront Mr Pele of USA onye asi Mmuoh

May God help us cos this is not a good sign atall.

This is not a good sign atall

Really don't know what to say, if the problem is with the coach or from the squad . Oh well, good luck to him.

Alaga Ibile of LIB community

soldier go, soldier come, barrack remains there. goodbye. this is the time for super eagles to progress.

chris ikoyi said...

LINDA,

I CANNOT REMEMBER THE LAST TIME EMENIKE, NIGERIA'S NO. 9 , SCORED A GOAL. FOR THE SUPER EAGLES.

HE HAS NO BUSINESS BEING IN OUR NATIONAL TEAM.

Make way for other People, ur contribution to d national team has been noted. Best of Luck. As for our Coach; I sure hope u know what ur doing? If not me sef go retire from watching d national team.

What does ur retirement gat to do with national peace. Dis guy must be leaving a dream feeling his kinda of very important. Its funny tho. For national peace emenike

idealTeam said...

The new boss aren't taking bullshit

This is not a good sign atall

Uju shut up. What do u know about football?

revsola said...

Good Luck!

Good for him.. Now he can have more time for Ebube Nwagbo... Or was it just a fling?

Fidelis said...

You are just an ode who obviously doesn't take time to read hence your silly comment. #GerraraHiaaaaaa

Yinka said...

You be fool sha

Okk o

Congrats on your decision Mr. Emenike. it is important that we do things in the right way.....i want to believe the indiscipline in the team has been largely responsible for our results over the years. Oliseh should put the team back on track and who ever is not ready to shape in should shape out.
I read national peace.....this guy's are so full of themselves......they put emotions ahead of objectivity.

I always enjoy watching football match cos of the old face i know
i think oliseh should explain better,,football is love not hate,
every one has same right in pitch

This really isn't about sympathy, if two of the most humble super eagles players resign within one month then there is something seriously wrong in there. I've met both Enyeama and Emenike actually I know them personally and I think the NFF should look into what's going on in there.

Is he really foolish as you called him. I think he is man enough to take decision. Good or bad

Read between the lines he said it's meant to be a family not threat zone

Was it 2010 he won afcon highest goal scorer? Be sure before you write oliseh is destroying the team

Read between the lines he said it's meant to be a family not threat zone

Sup wif all dese?

Na wa

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

FRESH said...

Pls.no one should call Oliseh out on this matter.This guy is finished as a striker. To be fair to the super eagles coach,he kept fielding him even when it was clear,he wasn't the same lethal striker of old."retiring for National peace" he typed? He should have said cos' of shame.Mtcheeeeew!

Listen this thing is quite simple. They have NO respect for their new coach and they want him out without giving him a chance by discrediting him period. I say good riddance to anyone who can't stand the heat. Your coach is your boss and His law is the law. This national team that they r finding it so easy to quit made ALL their careers. Now they writing silly notes cos they can't embrace change

FRESH said...

One million dollars? Because you alone would play in every position & make the 11 man team? Mtcheeeeew! Another mad man talking.

No be say the guy sabi play ball sef abeg Oliseh Remove all this Tired feet

OLISEH needs to be called to order!!!
What the hell is he on about???
Please Nigeria is bigger than any individual.
Sunday Oliseh should be asked questions!!!

It's obvious African players are greedy especially nigerian players, all dis fuss about oliseh being proud is jst to make him look bad. When was d last time emenike scored for nigeria? I knw his contract would have been terminated by any European club if he was playin for the and had not scored for 5 years even as a striker. Kudos to oliseh let d bad eggs start leaving it's not like dey were playing for nigeria free of charge, uncle emenike why u nor fite for shirt for fenerbache con run go UAE abeggi u nor sabi play again

TEEDEE said...

Well thank you sir, you don try let another try the spot..if you cant score there is no point keeping you...we wish you well

I just hope dis has nothing to do with Oliseh??? I wish Emenike all the best in his future endeavors. Linda take note!

Pls go to hell for we care! You didn't get to play for US because money was obviously your motivating factor and they studied you enough to know your worth.

Good decision

Without national team u might not get a good club,nwanna!

Yes...he can..ah b joining the team soon...they should all go jhoor..5yrs and he is complaining

Cinnamon Apple said...

It's well

Proud of you Emenike. All the best in your future endeavour. I hope this is not caused by Oliseh? *justasking*

Am surprised his still in the team. Emmanuel emenike since I was a child, now as a grown up Hes still here, choi

What's so special about him, he is just an ordinary player that's opportune yo play for super eagle 2 years without scoring a goal as a striker,hit man ,to hell with him.

king James said...

You are a big fool Henry Eze. You can't read between the lines. Can't you see that the so called coach Oliseh is forcing this guy's out, He lacks man management skills. So before you comment make sure you think properly or ask the elders in your house to help you out.

Emenike doesn't deserve to be a striker for the national team.

Nigeria has got great players all over the world but what they all lack is Professionalism, and Emenike just showed us how little of a professional he is.

fidelitybankplc.ng said...

Why now?

Who cares. Mtcheeww

king James said...

You are a big fool Henry Eze.

Good for him...

A striker like emenike has scored just 16 goals for the super Eagles and he is about to retire #Laffs
PLS kindly follow me up on Twitter @Cute_Namera

D idiotic Oliseh really needs managerial skill cos am sure he's frustrating dis players, it's not everyone dat can bear dat. When dey all leave, Oliseh and his family will play the matches

bummyla said...

GOD Bless you Son! You Have Made Us Proud! http://www.bummyla.com

The so called big boyz we dnt want to see. Olise ur grate carry go

National peace as in wht...?
Biko he should direct dis to d official quarters instead of dis belittle retirement.

abeg make una nt dey blame d coach always. eminike himself don reach e'peak so notin to offer again. good for ammmm

If he threatened, you speak out, you tolerate and you let it go. You don't serve the coach, you serve Nigeria as a country

Humble Eagle said...

What goes around comes around, who is talking about respect and national team here, do u know d history of Oliseh as a player, he had no single bit of respect for his coach. For me, his appointment as the national coach ended up killing d squad Keshi managed to build.

I think there's some ugly and unpleasant situation going on in Super Eagles camp. If you read Emenikes write up clearly, and I quote "Super Eagles is a camp not a family house, and it shouldn't be a threat zone for any individual." There's something fishy going on in that camp. First, it was the goal keeper and now Emenike. Well, if the camp has become a threat zone for some individuals, I'll call on the NFA to interven to avoid unpleasant situation or grief to anyone, family or even the Nation. Emenike may not be the most or the best player, but we all know he had done his part and has delivered too. Please the authorities should look into the camp more closely. Threats shouldn't be taken lightly.

somaya10 said...

They are doing dis cos olisa is a young coach,am begining to think they are jealous of him........well emenike retire in peace then!

No longer fun,he had to leave,I can't blame the young man cos am not there.wishing him well#mikelnext

Nawa o

Nice this is coming at a very good time because you have been shit for over three years we Nigerians are happy you are calling it quit

stuffs lik dis ain't right. Oliseh shud really knw wat he is doing dia.

Oliseh shud jst b careful.

Let em go to hell...this's all about change.

Ede said...

loving a majority of the comments. This whole 'retirement thing' smells of pure undiluted blackmail. Trying to make Oliseh look like the villain , when in actual fact they are the ones with the issues. We have been on a loosing path , now someone comes in that is trying to bring sanity, purposefulness and professionalism into the team, yet the old team members are crying wolf..........bye already Emenike, and every other team member that feels the place is too hot .

Well it isn't as if he was firing on all cylinders, great decision to leave when the ovation was high!!!

I dey laugh oooo.
Oliseh may not be doing real good but honestly, these guys are arrogant and proud.
Funny enough, many of us didn't even know when most of Nation Super stars retired. But you see these unguarded generation exiting with so much NOISE.
GOD bless Nigeria.

What's going on in that camp!

You no know where dem dey sell boot, as the guy no sabi play again? Tozo!!

Some of you here are foolish....this guy is making a lot of sense. ....you guys know nothing about football. ..

You be malu abubakar

Well as for me,i will ptu blem on players and thd coach himself bcuz something is going on thier.. oliseh should try and brings those boys together and make us proud not destroying....

This players r taking Nigerians for granted...i dont care for their excuses

charles ojugo said...

The young man hasn't scored since 2014 and has become excess to requirements. Realizing that he was losing his place to Ighalo, he decided to quit, instead of fighting for a place! He is a joker!

I just have to say this.... I M P R E S S I V E"

Harbay said...

I just have to say this.... I M P R E S S I V E"

dani boi said...

what is oliseh doing to this guys! he certainly inexperienced, he is obviously threatened because this guys can see tru him. make he no come spoil our football wey don almost scatter before ? we need a foreign coach , no more sentiments.

titanic said...

dont u think something is wrong within the camp? vincent first follow emma. very soon micheal. all our old timer will soon go. sunday what is happen inside eagle

titanic said...

if their is a unity in the camp. while mikel reject captain band from musa? why obi did not hold any post in the eagle camp? as the most senior player in eagle. something is wrong. NNF should look into eagle

amakaluvlyG said...

something is not right...# inspired by linda

Oliseh is doing some underground harm to player,,,they must be something...

Good riddance

Oliseh is the coach Nigeria needs now. Our boys have been sleeping and Oliseh is waking them up. Some will agree to wake up while others like Emnike wants to continue sleeping and be covered with a blanket. No more business as usual. Oliseh carry go!

Oliseh again... hmmmm we are watching..

Olisa oh Olisa give your life to christ. We are loosing players o.

You people are saying Oliseh do this, Oliseh do that... was there any match that emenike have not played under Oliseh? Or was there anytime we held of mis-understanding between Oliseh and Emenike? We guys should just forget about this matter - you cannot stop somebody from retiring at any time he deems fit....

Good luck bro you have tried. We have got lots of talent so we need to hunt for them.there is no need to beg anyone to stay. We need guys like kanu and okocha who will play on till their bodies are actually getting old and not young guys that will just quit. Oliseh please go round Europe and hunt for a good team

HE KNOWS HE IS FORTY YEARS

It is advisable that all old players quit and let Oliseh asseble his own set of players. Thank you Emenike. I hope and pray that all other Igbo players will quit leaving Oliseh alone with his fulani favourites.

This is only the beginning once someone starts a thing be it for a good reason or not odas..would follow suit....well noted emineke...ur hecking biz

vien said...

Sos many people dey find job,abeg make old ones pack well

Tony said...

Emmanuel Emenike and any player for that matter must understand that Nigeria is greater than any player. Oliseh is a strict disciplinarian and the players must understand that.