INEC Chairman: Buhari has shown he is sectional leader - Fayose | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 October 2015

INEC Chairman: Buhari has shown he is sectional leader - Fayose

Read the press statement below..
Ekiti State Governor, Mr Ayodele Fayose has described the appointment of yet another northerner, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as Chairman the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as a vindication of his position that “President Mohammadu Buhari is a sectional leader, who sees himself mainly as leader of the Hausa/Fulani, and not that of the entire people of Nigeria.”
The governor, who said he had expected that the new INEC Chairman will be chosen from one of the three Southern geo-political zones, especially the South Western part of the country being the only zone yet to produce chairman of the nation’s electoral umpire, posited that; “Nigeria has entered a one chance bus and it remains to be seen who will save the country from its sectional President.”

Reacting to the appointment of Prof Yakubu as the new INEC chairman, Governor Fayose said, in a statement signed by his Special Assistant on Public Communications and New Media, Lere Olayinka that even the Yoruba leaders who promoted and made the Buhari’s Presidency possible had been short-changed. The governor asked; “Shouldn’t he have considered someone from either South-East, South-South or South-West as Chairman of the Electoral Commission now that we have a President from the North?

"For reasons of perception, equity and fairness, don’t we have credible people from the Southern part of Nigeria that can conduct credible elections as INEC Chairman? Or do we assume that the 2019 elections have already been won and lost by the appointment of this Hausa/Fulani professor as INEC chairman? Or isn’t it regrettable that even in 2015, it is only in PDP controlled States that elections are being upturned?” He said he was worried that the three arms of government; namely Executive, Legislative and Judiciary were being headed by northerners, leaving the three zones in the Southern part of the country with nothing.

Speaking further, Governor Fayose said; “When Chief Olusegun Obasanjo was the President, he never appointed a Yoruba man as INEC chairman. Dr Goodluck Jonathan too did not appoint an Ijaw man as INEC Chairman. “Former President Shehu Shagari too did not appoint a Hausa man like himself as Chairman of the Federal Electoral Commission (FEDECO). Rather, he appointed late Justice Victor Ovie Whisky.

“During the Ibrahim Babangida and Sani Abacha regimes, no Hausa/Fulani man was appointed as Chairman of the National Electoral Commission of Nigeria and General Abdulsalami Abubakar who established the current INEC did not also appoint his fellow Hausa man as chairman. “How then can we have a President from the North and at the same time have INEC Chairman from the Hausa/Fulani Northern Nigeria?

“Obviously, what is being witnessed is more like a situation where it appears the President is more interested in having someone malleable to him than serving the interest of Nigeria and its people.” Governor Fayose, who described the hurried appointment of the INEC boss as a vindication of his earlier stand that the appointment of Mrs Amina Zakari as INEC Acting Chairperson was illegal, said all processes leading to the conduct of the Kogi and Bayelsa States governorship election must start afresh. "It should be recalled that l raised the alarm on the legality of INEC under an Acting Chairman or Chairperson as there was no provision for INEC Acting Chairmanship position in the Constitution of Nigeria.

“I did say in a statement issued on August 9, 2105 that any action taken by INEC with Mrs Zakari as its head will amount to illegality and I urged President Mohammadu Buhari to avoid plunging Nigeria into an avoidable legal quagmire by rescinding immediately, the illegal appointment of Mrs Zakari as INEC Acting Chairperson.

“However, the president chose to wait until decisions were taken by INEC on Kogi and Bayelsa States governorship elections and one begins to wonder how INEC will wriggle itself out of the legal quagmire it has been plunged into by the President’s refusal to heed to the voice of reason,” the governor said.

121 comments:

I see.

Oga talk talk, let us see the chairman perform first.

No comments
No comments
No comments

Yeah!

Ok oh
Men BE CAREFUL Who You Have SEX With . . . There's this Woman On FACEBOOK . . . Bragging About Having HIV . . . And Sleeping With MULTIPLE MEN!! (DOWNLOAD VIDEO)

He's sha working and we r seeing results

Dats it...#freedomofspeech

Dis Fayose guy shd go and hang himself, what is his business, let him face his state issues. Short neaker gov.

Keep ranting .The way I see it its either you accept reality or be left behind in the sea of sentiments.Buhari doesn't look like someone whose decision would change anytime soon.All me & most Nigerians are after is good leadership regardless of who sits there

Chief Wailer of the federal republic of Nigeria

Even gEJ was far b sectional head and I doubt if PMB listen to his advisers if not he wouldn't hav made dis blunder.

I don't see much of other regions in d govt of PMB for no much of appointments frm those in d East. PMB, those frm d East hope they d not offend u?

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

Straight on point. D truth has neva been bluntly told. But u must have d guts n courage of Fayose to say it esp at a time when Nigeria is riddled by hypocrites and tattlers. He is not just sectional but corrupt, geriatric and inept and a bloody hypocrite. It is still in contention who is d worst liar btw Satan and Buhari.
Comment signed, sealed and delivered by DatShapIboBoy

That's what it is but wetin man go do?

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

"He gives me but not enough is an act of irrational covetous" You should have say this earlier before accusing him of appointing his inlaw, maybe he would have consider your plight...continue wailing

Fayose is too lousy.

Tefe said...

true talk governor fayose,buharis sycophantic supporters will never see anything wrong in what he does,hausa/fulani dichotomy taking full force,what a hopeless country.

Fayose the goat,sharrap there and face ur impoverished ekiti state

Tell ur people, if they will hear!!!!!!!!!

Sectional leader, hmmm

Lol...my best Governor

If yu become president mr man yu do ur own ok.... Noise maker....

Hmmm continue talking talkative.

Buhari the Tribalistic Hausa Goat!!!!

PARENTAL ADVISORY

In all this am glad the presidency has refuse to respond to fayose...

Fayose mad alone, since May 27th

Fayose always making sense

Mr fayose keep quite,buhari is not a sectional leader

anonymous said...

Fayose, leave buhari, let see how any party from now will be rigging elections. Buhari won the election free and fair and if he now think to win future elections by rigging via appointing people that are loyal to him or from the north, he got another thing coming. Majority of Nigerians eye have been open and will nor stand any more fraud. Pls governor, join me in advocating OPEN BALLOT elections. That is the only election that is truly free and fair

drama

Emdos Supernova said...

I'll second that opinion, ge has more northerners at an unbelievable percentage in his cabinet.
#emdossupernova

I see reasons with him on dis 1,though i'm am a strong fan of Buhari.

Noise maker, abeg go and siddon for gutter. Linda take note!

So true. Na to Sidon look we de now oooo

Well said sir, well said!

I like this man and his big mouth and outmost desire to create publicity from himself. I pray to see you defend yourself on your engagement of military to win your election.Up the man that likes talking . Great Fayose .

Well fayose has a good point buhari is truly being factional and during his inauguration speech he promised he won't anyways we are watching

Talk man of the people

We don enter 1 chance

Good talk.....from a working Governor,I like this man

Fayose do your work and govern ekiti first.

Mr. Fayose, i'm surprised you're just realising dis now...

Unfortunately, I agree with Fayose. Quite unfortunate.

Kai I love this man, u hit the nail on the head, don't mind blind Nigerians. One day their eyes go clear

Human Being said...

Northern Propaganda . But its something to ponder on.
Nigeria has never been together. He is from SW, No he should be from NE, what of SS?, Why not NC

For once i agree, if Jonathan had put an ijaw man there, we wouldnt be talking of change...What happens the day we are tired of pmb?

Oh boy, this man just likes to speak from all the four compasses of his mouth. Should he have selected your younger brother? Baba o ni short-knicker, e gbenu soun and face your work like Uche

I can't believe I'll ever say this but, Fayose has a point here. Though politics is what it is, it's about gaining advantage over your opponents,which can be d other party or even other tribes, though when it becomes undue advantage, it then becomes corruption. Buhari doesn't want to risk putting someone who wouldn't in d least be independent, or would boot him out or his candidate in future. He didn't put d guy there to rig elections for him though which would have been corruption. It's just politics

Hausa again...?

I strongly support Fayose. He is right in every sense. Buhari is tribalistic.

shescute said...

And some people will insult him now for speaking the truth

Exactly sire

Fayose is right! This is just a ridicule of the word democracy...Buhari is still an obtuse dictator

Shut up

Oya you guys can start to insult Fayose but deep in your hearts you know he's said the plain truth

I tire for Buhari

I love Fayose ..the man with guts

There eyes are blind,they all want change

We know and we like him that way. Agbaya! Is he qualified, is he Nigerian?

The stupid Fayose is known to be making hell of noise.You can choose your mother to be INEC chairman.idiot oshi

I'm with u on des 1 sir

Etsako Pearl said...

wareffa mehhn!! ur opinion isn't needed.

That is just the reason why I love this man,he is never afraid to say the truth, may God bless you more amen. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

fave said...

Exactly. Buhari keeps appointing Hausas only

They keep saying Fayose talks a lot, why not stop giving him something to talk about! OK don't give the position to an Igbo man but at least give it to someone other than Hausa/Fulani to calm our fear of him favouring only Hausa/Fulani. O di egwu o

Buhari God will judge you

Thank you Fayose. God bless you.

Please let us leave this thing called Nigeria I need my biafra

The truth is unveiled

God will not spare the wicked man buhari.anen

This moron called Fayose is a wailer! Rather than him focusing on Ekiti state, the poorest in south West, he was busy taking procold on national cattarh. OBASANJO was from southwest when he picked Maurice Iwu from southeast. Buhari was from northwest and the new INEC chairman is from northeast . Nigerians are too wise for myopic Fayose to be calling our attention to flimsy excuse without making his findings. LENTULUS BATIATUS

Baruch Michael said...

President Buhari does not believe in democracy.

lami said...

Buhari doesn't want to be stabbed in the back. He picks only those he trust .

For the first time, this Fayose is talking sense

Wow! Lovely piece from my fearless governor. The only governor who calls spade a spade currently in PDP. We need the likes of Fayose to deal a fatal blow to APC propaganda machines,

This man alws speaks his mind.....never bias...tribal wen talking......yea I campaigned 4 buhari buh his appointment is one sided.....he is nothernizing the whole power.....

Well said Sir! Buhari is a tribalistic man. No wonder d south east pple are agitating for Biafra. Goodluck is to blame for all this nonsense.

Made a lot of sense.

Fayose is a bitch - not fit to be a Governor. If Jonathan was stupid to appoint anybody (he said he did not know) the INEC Chairman, every President don't have to be stupid. He can shout from here till tomorrow, his days as a politician will end the moment he completes his term as Governor. Yeye dey smell!!!!!!!

Fayose again! Hmmm #lipssealed#singinavemaria

tony said...

Fayose spoke my mind, no one knows where buhari is taking Nigeria. I am afraid. Even the current inec chairman have a corruption case to answer in Netfund. This is a shame,

Am not suprise

Hmmm...the bed for 2019 is being prepared..

I'm not a fan of the man but I kinda agree with him

I'm not a fan of the man but I kinda agree with him. Who did Yaradua pick as INEC president?

Make we hear word jor!!!

Very correct...

May God bless u sir.to idiots u are a senseless talkative.to reasonable nigerians u speak the truth.I have said it before.if buhari is sure of himself why don't he appoint an ijaw man,yoruba man and eastern guy.but he won't becos jega worked in is favor and he can't take the chance of someone else working against his favor.he couldn't even appoint a southern man as commissioner of south states becos south is almost complete pdp.and so far I've been hearing of tribunal here and there upseating people who were elected.this is same man who was upturned from his seat oo.how will it feel to him as he's busy upturning small politicians a general throws him away from the seat as president.....God help this man.sir whether u like it or not apc has a life span and will one day be thrown out........linda abeg post am oo

Well said. Chief Oyegun is the Apc chairman Senator Tinubu choose him there were credible men and women from the west. The president appointment is just too sectional let call a spade a spade I campaign and voted for Buhari .

Nothing can be done. The only thing is to watch and pray.

Gbam, Gbamer, Gbamest. Buhari should at least try to seem fair. Can't he just do that?. Or is he so tribalistic.

This is what you see when a tribal bigot is elected as president, he is displaying his hatred to other tribe, if he continues like this may God help us Nigeria may experience worst situation which may lead to disintegration.

Very reasonable and well researched piece of advice to the president.

Buhari is a bushman and he doesn't want to change his bushman mind no matter whose ox is gored. Tinubu the greedy man caused all the nonsense from these abokis.

lilyporsche said...

Fayose shud pls stop dragging PMB...

We honestly need men like dis in power as opposition i so wish he's my state governor or any eastern gov all we hav re muted cows..Cockroach okorocha is jus a prodigal son... <<>>Eze Nnunu

From all indications Governor Ayo Fayose is the only Nigerian still standing in the face of the unconscionable assault on international ethos of good governance by Mohammadu Buhari. Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his greedy Yoruba quislings have betrayed Nigeria to Fulani irredentists to their eternal shame.

Oh dear Nigeria. When will thou ever be good? Buhari, I agree with Fayose on this one.

Man of the people said...

I see truth being strangled to death in this baba regime. #giveusBIAFRA

Lukman said...

True talk! The Aboki has a hidden Agenda

fAYOSE! you are absolutely an unfathomable freedom fighter,the Ojukwu of our time. though many might criticize him ignorantly, but posterity will always remember your name

Etsako Pearl said...

People like u r d reason why nigeria is in dis mess....Just listen to ur self! u no sharp et al.....nwokem idi very dull.c'mon Gerrahere!!

See analysis.fayose thank u so much.they are all blind .one day there eyes go clear.dollar will be 100naira to one dollar,fuel price 50naira per litre,one meal per day for all schools etc.fools!Buhari the worst president seen.ministerial screening will take more six weeks.so things will start working next year January.useless apc.you Nigerian's have not started suffering this is the beginning.

I knw u dont understand Wat he said at all empty brain marian

Perform what?perform ojoro???quickly get lost...obj took an igbo man as inec chairman.the igbo man kept rigging obj in.Gej took an hausa man in.the hausa man rigged gej out.rigging happens in all elections except those conducted by military....so if buhara get mind,let him get a east,west or south man that will be loyal and rig him in again...but its a big slap to nigerias face to pick one of ur own to rig u in..how many people deep down in their hearts believe this hausa man will let buhari be voted out.and u are her talking performing.all he needs to do his perform once for buhari to get extra four years.rubbish.......anty linlin,how far now ;)abeg post am

People like him?u mean people who call a spade a spade?.u must be silly.that nigerdeltababe at least hide ur stupidity a little.u said the guy his working and u are seeing results?how when he just got the job 2 days ago?or did I miss an election that took place yesterday??? Dummys......linda please post am

Haha.why will it respond when fayose is saying the truth?get real.u can't fight the truth..the presidency knows this but people like u don't...u think the presidency is snubbing him.if buhari could shut him up he would have

And urs is?ur kind are the worst in nigeria,it is true people like u that old cargos have been ruling us for forty over 40 years.since the murder of aguiyi ironsi the leaders are still the leaders and they and their families hold our wealth still....FOOL........linda no chop am oo

@Kingsley stop deceiving ursef by calling fayose a freedom fighter,says who he fights for himself and his selfish ambition, in his [fayose's]cabinets can u identify any one among them who is not a member of PDP...foolish governor.

(FGN) federal government of North, but mr president the foundation you are laying for Nigeria will turn this country to Syria very soon curse another tribe will be there one day and he will follow suit.

Chief wailer indeed. This is how you will be stupid till you will find youself been forced to give away your birthright.

Noise maker

I think its high time we start applying courtesy to what we post here. Fayose is right at His own end so is Buhari. so let's learn trading words with courtesy. imagine the former INEC chairman Northerners, this one again Northerners. so what are you saying guys................... lets call a spead a spead, Buhari is not doing it right. I wonder if He actaully has a benchwork plan for the nation other can castigation.

Nigeria wud split very very soon...nd I support ...buhari ride-on...one day u wil see d results of what u started

Caretaker Governor keep wailing, u cannot dictate to the president who to appoint and who not to, he has to work with the pple that ar competent and trustworthy, so keep ur flimsy opinion to ur self u ar not even relevant cause we all know how u Rig ur self in to govt house and u should b ready to vacate it as soon as possible ur fayose...ur days ar numbered