Gen. Gowon and current Canadian Prime Minister in 1973 (photo) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 October 2015

Gen. Gowon and current Canadian Prime Minister in 1973 (photo)

Current prime minister-designate of Canada Justin Trudeau pictured as a 2 year old shaking hands with former Nigerian Head of State Gen. Gowon in 1973. Justin's dad, Pierre Elliott Trudeau, was the 15th Prime Minister of Canada from April 20, 1968, to June 4, 1979, and again from March 3, 1980, to June 30, 1984. Justin was elected Canadian prime minister on October 19th and is expected to take office on November 4, 2015. Photo credit: HistoricImage

79 comments:

Nice man....a lesson to our muslim leaders who are always the most wicked men.......linda post am.always chopping comments

Kogi Media said...

Awesome!
What's gonna be, gonna be.

...Correct me if I'm right...

Wow!

Na for only naija were recycled old men who have nothing to offer keep coming back...that mens Gej for for 2031 lol.God help this country.in naija only the dead don't return to power.mchew.

Kemi said...

Our youth are too distracted with unemployment, lack of infrastructure and basic amenities, to focus on nation building or pursue dreams.

Cool story. Next?

Okies
video~Guys beware! see dis babe on FB bragging abt having HIV&spreading it

Who is a Youth in Nigeria?
Our old men are shamelessly claiming to be Youths.
Pathetic.

Indeed children are the leaders of tomorrow but in Africa children are are victims of bad leadership. Our leaders should cover their heads in shame but no they won't. They'll still take a delegation of 100 to attend th inauguration. God help us.

The kid of yesterday is now a great man....that's cool.

Gen ... not ... Geb ... linda observe

Wow. Good job Linda for fishing this out!

So humble, may God bless his soul. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Okowright Balaxy said...

That's where youths are the leaders of tomorrow. Unlike Nigeria that the old leaders don't want to die/leave leadership to young people with fresh ideas, instead they will struggle to rule us with their outdated brain.

Yes oooo where are our youths? Abusing each other on IG

Since I was a child hv been hearing we are d leaders of 2mor buh up till date no youth is among d ministers, senetors or Gov.. still old fools greedy 1s dat refused to resign so we tk ova..

wawuu! what a major throwback.
Gowon is ageless tho.

Gud to knw though no doubt....

Ahh. In naija youth no dey.... Dat wen Buhari was a leader in 1973 is still a presiden till date, wia will D youth rule. Linda na ur village dem go rule.... Linda if u want make dis ur biz continue to grow liv naija government out of it....... Noted

That's a society that doesn't kill its youth

Cockroach wey dey form swagger… if im summersault reach fowl place na for lindaikeji dey go read im tori

Children are d leaders of tomorrow in other countries and slaves on Nigeria... dee

Kenny said...

So paparazi has since being existing

luvmybaby said...

Lolzz @ outdated brain

Hmmm can u imagine? Congrats to him. Nd here in Nigeria no single youth is even a governor, senator or minister. May God continue to strengthen the good heart of the youth of Nigeria to lead Nigeria as a president or governor, senator one day.

Shut up!!! If young people are ready,let us come out!!!
No law says old politicians should leave politics!!!!
They wont hand leadership to you...if u have vision,u will fight for it...go and check when our old politicians entered politics..most were young and university student union radicals- today ,NANS mostly collects bribe from politicians to lie,yet u want to lead!
We must change our ways,push for leadership that will change most of the causes of societal ills!
U for kill joe biden,kill US VP,kill all of them!!! Olodo!!!

Does-t mean the old ones have left! He won!
.....plus he is a good leader not just cos he is young!

Nope!!!! Thats a society that mostly votes objectively,whether u r old or young!!!
Is he a youth?
Did nigeria force youths to not rise to d occasion?
Abegi!!!
It isnt jist the youth that nigeria needs....we need good leaders- old or young!!!

Mo said...

Youths are hussling. Our baba's didn't give them space ooo. And parents don't want to lose their kids @ a young age to politics. Next, Babaginda and Obasanjo will run for presidency again!!

We are waiting for Baba GO SLOW Buhari to CHANGI NAIJERIA. The young is growing!yeye dey smell

His father was once a prime minister, if Buhari's son comes to contest as a president n win they'll say it's coz his dad was once a president !! D problem with Nigeria is d people not d leaders coz they are confused abt who's going to lead them n besides d youth of today are being lazy, coming under as boys n wants to run errands for politicians

Because dey knw Wat dey are doing dey make sure hunger and poverty deal wit us (unemployment) den dey com and offer us little change(money) with Change slogan (hope) and make us their thugs and trumpets turn us against each other and win. Den try challenge deir leadership style kirikiri will be ur banana is and.. It hurts.. I think GEJ was d youngest ever to be elected... Was nt even born wen d same man i presided over his election ruled d same country he's ruling today Yet its Change dey tagged it... Change from Wat? I kip asking.. D question many Nigerians never bothered to ask.

Enough grooming for Justin. His dad was also the prime minister for 15 yrs.

WHERE DID WE GO WRONG? WAKE UP NIGERIAN YOUTHS
Awolowo was 37 years, Akintola 36, Ahmadu Bello 36, Balewa 34, Okotie-Eboh 27, and Enahoro 27 and they led the struggle for Nigeria Independence after the death of Herbert Macaulay. Only Zik was 42 at the time. In 1966, the first coup was led by: Kaduna Nzeogwu who was 29 years and countered by Murtala Mohammed 28, Theophilus Danjuma 28, Ibrahim Babangida 25, Joe Nanven Garba 23, Sani Abacha 23, and Musa Yar`Adua 23, and brought into power Gowon 32, Ojukwu 33, Obasanjo 29, and Buhari 24. Most of the military governors who governed the states under the successive military regimes were under 30 years. The brief democratic dispensation which interjected the military interregnums also saw some Senators, and the House of Representatives, in particular, populated by members under 30. Under 30's were also not in short supply with appointments - we have examples of MT Mbu who became foreign affairs minister at 23 and Pat Utomi who became a federal adviser at 27 and so on and so forth. NOW: Why is it that this age bracket is today still sleeping in 3 seater chairs in their parents homes? Why is it that this age bracket is today still collecting pocket money from their parents? Why is it that this age bracket is today still writing JAMB? Why is it that this age bracket today still sagg their trousers? Why is it that this age bracket is today still searching for jobs, and not yet married? Why is it that this age bracket is today no longer qualified to even be leaders of youth wings of political parties? Why is it that this age bracket is today so docile? Why is this age bracket today incapable of feeding itself? Why is it that this age bracket is today barred from even aspiring to certain political offices? Why is it that this age bracket is today incapacitated, unwilling, unable and incapable of asking questions? GOD BLESS NIGERIA! -by Prof Wole soyinka

I concur

andre kelvin said...

Wow

Justin Trudeau will be very amazed at this obviously.

Would Trudeau have had the same opportunity if his father hadn't been PM? Youths are inactive everywhere, Connected ones are still front runners

Out of point ,you are either religion bigot or primary school drop out.

Dental news said...

Not too bad,Ambode was 10years old in 1973 and now a governor.

May I ask the reason son/daughter of a former prime minister in Canada is now a prime minister again.Is it a family title.
Its same everywhere with politics

These shameless old men still rule Nigeria today..and talkin bout our Youths...they are very stupid when they can Vote a man with Coup plot history as far back over 30yrs,decided to boycott every available Presidential debate during campaign..now right in their face not a single promise is kept...these r d youths...here in Canada d nation is d people...they know what they want ALWAYS and thts what they get ALWAYS..no other way ...we were busy giving Pa Buhari excuses on any single allegation then....all shouting Sai Buhari then like it was a curse...next news abeg

Good for them

Dat guy is probably 45yrs now.still fair enough.unlike nigeria,he wld 70yrs b4 he attains such sit.

Theres no place for d youth in Nigeria. Thats y d youths r all hustling to travel abroad

Wow, this is the way it shld be, when ur old and brainless park one corner for young blood to take over. But for Naija Na death do us pass for our leaders and appointments, Mtchewww pampers wearing administration

Hey there how does muslim leaders come to relate with this...😰

Big Man said...

No be una youth gather dey shout CHANGE like monkey go carry old man Buhari come give us for 2015? How old man wey no sabi use laptop wan give youth wey dey ping, change sef I no understand!

Why is the children slaves

Dat goes to show dat no one knows what tomorrow holds. Linda take note!

EDIDIONG AKPAN said...

Good.

Our youths are busy screaming Sai baba and lion of ubima .... Smh for our youths

Wow! Nigerians na wa!

omoeagle said...

In Nigeria, they keep saying youth are the leaders of tomorrow, since nigeria independence till date,we haven't seen a genuine youth who climb up the ladder of nigeria politics, the only one we can still call a youth was GEJ who was a mere puppet in the hands of old men who are suppose to be non partisan elder state men,,nigeria leaders are so greedy,dont know if is just greed for power or wealth or both.we the youth of nigeria have been reciting the anthem,we are the leaders of tomorrow,when men like buhari,ibb,obj, are still in control of nigeria politics...food for thought for nigeria politician,you can see former world leader children becoming world leader themselves, where are your own kids?nowhere to be find except on Facebook,twitter,instagram showcasing their father's wealth at 35 to 50 years..

You are soo damn ignorant!!!

i weep for nigeria

Dis is so adorable and great. Indeed where is our youths...? Our grandpa's hav hijacked power frm them.

We shall rise!

Abeg what lesson is to be learnt? What does this post have to do with Muslim leader? This is another reason why I am scared of our future because this is how the majority of our youth think.

Linda Linda Linda....I know you have the hots for the Canadan PM.......

Youth are "followers" nd not "leaders" of 2moror in afriaca. A good eg is PMB @1973 & 2015.

Yakubu Gowon is a christian

Shame on Nigeria

Nigerian youths should wake up and start thinking, not singing the praises of some old men that treat us as brain dead. That is change. *Think youths*

Awesome!

...where all the GMB supporters.
*Backwardness is Backwardness*
*Still "spoon-feeding" the so-called youths to continue feeding on backward 'sh*t'

Lol..how time flies...

Lol....no be small 'where are our youths'?. Very funny indeed.

nice pix but my focus is about the motive behind the pix. My response to that is Our youths are regarded as babies while our grannies are the youth.

I'm in Canada N a big part of the reason he won is Canadians wanted change. They didn't want a man who had ruled foe 10 years to rule again even if he did a good job. If there is no good jobs or opportunity where are the youths gonna start from? Have you ever wondered why the youths of Ibb Gowon and coos time ruled. Because then there was more opportunities than now

Buhari ruled Nigeria when he was 24 d first time. Why does he wanna give the youths a chance yes not so young but in 40s or early 50s

Sai baba Sai buhari
.....stupid 9ja youths

amakaluvlyG said...

our youths are waiting for d old ones to die...# inspired by Linda

If Gen. Y.J Gowon would shake P.M when he was a toddle, that is a sign of power inheritance in Canada. Because Justin's father or mother must had been in a political office to meet country's president. Still on same matter like Nigeria.