Four women accused of witchcraft are stripped, tied up and burned by angry mob | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 October 2015

Four women accused of witchcraft are stripped, tied up and burned by angry mob

Horrifying footage has emerged showing four women suspected of witchcraft being tortured, stripped, tied up and burned by an angry mob in Papua New Guinea.
The women were accused of sorcery after a young man fell ill in a village in Enga province in August.
Social media posts said the women were accused of “invisibly” taking the man’s heart, and then putting it back after they were tortured. In their attackers’ eyes this would also prove their guilt as sorcerers.
In the footage, the women are being prodded and threatened with machetes while being questioned by a group of men.
According to the translation the women deny having done anything, and plead with their attackers.

The woman begs: "My son, stop it!” says one woman, laying on the ground.
“Talk out, where did you put it?” comes the reply. “Burn her with the wire.”
“I’ve got nothing to do with it,” says another woman. “I am a mother with five children.”
But the attackers ignore their pleas, with one saying: "Don't just hit her, burn her."
It is thought at least one woman died after the ordeal but there was no confirmation of that.
The video was initially shared on social media by students, who, according to one source, did it to show they approved of the torturers' actions.

The Guardian was told by two PNG sources the women were accused of sorcery after a young man fell ill in a village in Enga province in August.
Social media posts said the women were accused of “invisibly” taking the man’s heart, and then putting it back after they were tortured. In their attackers’ eyes this would also prove their guilt as sorcerers.
“There’s no real way they can prove themselves innocent,” one PNG source who has been involved in rescues of victims of sorcery-related violence, told Guardian Australia. “Once they’re suspected they’re basically done for, they’ll be tortured and maybe killed as well.”
It’s not police photos or anything of the crime being shared,” said the source involved in rescues of victims.
“It’s actual participants who are there and actually bragging about what they’re doing. It’s kind of like a Abu Ghraib video or something.”
He said he was aware of many people sharing the video on their smartphones, including high school students, and said it wasn’t out of horror but rather approval for the actions being taken against the four accused women.

“There’s no logic going on in the matter … To try to talk logically, even to students, doesn’t really get you very far. They say, we have evidence and you ask what kind of evidence and they say it’s invisible evidence you can’t see it,” he said.
“It’s hard to argue against that.”
"The PNG Government has approved a National Action Plan against Sorcery Accusation Violence. Now it must be implemented effectively and as soon as possible by everyone concerned including police, the legal system, health, education, NGOs, community leaders and the churches."
The incident is just one of numerous acts of violence or death related to accusations of sorcery. Anger is increasing among Papua New Guineans as the attackers go unpunished.

53 comments:

Chineke ! Na wa o
Nke burning alive zi?

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

My goodness, what's all this nonsense??? Kai!

Chai! How na?

When will africa learn dat jungle justice is not the way 2 go? Why are pple so daft and wicked? Evn if they are witches and all, why nt allow the law 2 take full course!

O ga ooo

Alabekee said...

What a barbaric act
www.alabekee.com

Africans and their barbarism. Linda take note!

White or black witches. Linda take note. Lol!

THere shall not killed.. Linda, observe carefully

Linda, observe carefully

loveman said...

This is 2015 for Christ sake, when are people going to out grow all this barbaric way of life

No wonder some white people still think we still live in trees.

How do you prove or disprove a mystical phenomenon? Do I believe in witchcraft? As in Nigerian I do. We now live in a world dominated by dark forces, a world where religion esp the church is frowned against. So I'm not surprised majority will try to argue the innocence of these women when in fact they are evil and got what's coming to them

mira cookie said...

Na wa ooo! Invisible evidence smh

andre kelvin said...

Na wa o

chidexx said...

Na wa oo

KWEEN said...

So it's not only Nigerians that do this shit? Smh

seyi crown said...

This horror

Seyilicious

Africans!

Wickedness in the highest order.....i don't bliv in witchcraft God help us from diz wicked world

Too bad...

Where are their husbands?

Like I will always tell all male advocates out there..the moment it came down to women you all come show your useless power. If you read what Linda said"the man"why can't you all drop all this hidden hate for women and move forward with ur lifes?

There problem

TES said...

Socery is barbaric!

So sad Africa is still backward with all these insane torture techniques......What right has another human got to burn or kill another...In 2015 not even 2005..where is your conscience? Religions of all kinds most times are misunderstood. We need to review our old and archaic religious rules or laws just like we do to our constitutions . Man has always been his own worst enemy....Africa still sleeping in the 21st century where other nations are thinking beyond planet Mars...So sad

Why take laws into their hands....what nonsense!!

We should stop all these, jungle justice isn't a good thing...

Jungle justice must be stopped!

majidah said...

Subhanallah!!!

Story's that touch

So ppl still believe in witchcraft in the 21st century? Lol and you all blame America for your backwardness. Ok

Barbarians! Savages!! Imagine the injustice. God have mercy.

Good for them

SUNSET said...

You are so ignorant! You are the reason why innocent people gets killed all the time! Why can't the African people witch craft affect white people? Why is it only among Africans that it happens? I have an answer for you! Because Africans are too lazy to study science! There will be no progress in Africa until people like you continue to act like fools.

PAPUA NEW GEUNEA IS NOT IN AFRICA , AND ALL THESE PROBLEM ABOUT WITCHES STARTED FROM ENGLAND IN 1491. SO IT IS NOT ONLY IN AFRICA , WITCHES IS ALL OVER THE WORLD MOST ESPECIALLY IN MALAYSIA.

certifiedass said...

Stupid commenters....Papua new Guinea is not Africa. It is a country next to new Zealand , Indonesia and Australia. Olodos......block heads

bummyla said...

LORD have mercy! IP! http://www.bummyla.com

Vulcan said...

Papua New Guinea is not in Africa young man

If these ones pursue witchcraft down to Nigeria, they'll kill over 80% of the population already.
*how can u claim u believe in God and not in witchcraft *SUFFER NOT A WITCH TO LIVE, where did that come from???

oba said...

I see some people are ignorant. Papau New Guinea is not in Africa O. Abeg, look at your map. Papau New Guinea is located in Asia, in the pacific ocean. Just because you see dark skin people doesn't mean they are black people.

Jungle justice is not allowed and dis act is barbaric no matter their offence.

All of you typing "Africa this...Africa that" ....Did this happen in Africa? Is Papua New Guinea in Africa? SMH! Ignoramuses!!!

What rubbish, abeg they went too far

Simbiat Abubakar said...

What rubbish. God will judge them one after the other. But the bible says suffer no witch to live please can someone share more light on it.

What

Even if Papua New Guinea is not in Africa. As long as they are dark skinned their lineage is traced to Africa. And they actually acted like Africans. Whether the are close to the Caucasians or not. They are Africans by color, race and blood.

Nawa o...wonders shall never cease

Sylvia Onyeama said...

Guys make una no dey fall my hand. Papua New Guinea is not in Africa, but in South East Asia! Ignorance is no excuse sometimes.

Tony Nworah said...

You are really an ignorant idiot. People like you are religious fanatics and deserve no place in this world.

Tony Nworah said...

You are really an ignorant idiot. People like you are religious fanatics and deserve no place in this world.