Controversy trails death of LUTH consultant | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 October 2015

Controversy trails death of LUTH consultant

The Lagos state police command are working to unravel the circumstance surrounding the death of a consultant Paediatric Surgeon with the Lagos state University Teaching Hospital LUTH, Dr Hestianna Thomas. According to reports, the mother of 2, who was married to a Consultant Clinical Pathologist at the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LASUTH), Ikeja, was brought into LUTH last week Thursday with her body lacerated and her head broken.

“A close examination of her body revealed a lot of lacerations. In fact, I noticed that the head had a deep cut. When other colleagues also saw her, they said there was a deep cut on her skull, because they saw pierced bone. Her colleagues, especially the female doctors, were stunned when Dr Thomas was rushed in.”a source said 
It is believed she is a victim of domestic violence while others believe she might have committed suicide. The Lagos State Department of Domestic Violence has demanded for an autopsy to be carried out on the deceased as they are willing to pursue the case to its logical conclusion.

Reacting to the report, the Lagos state Medical Association, Chairman, Medical and Dental Consultants Association of Nigeria, LUTH branch, Dr. Emeka Ogbolu, said it was regrettable for anyone to believe the deceased was killed by her husband
“I was appalled at how some people jumped to conclusions that it was homicide without investigating or asking questions. I also had to refrain because it is really painful being that I saw her on Tuesday and therefore it came as a shock. I just came from their home where I went to pay a condolence visit and what I saw was a pained and angry mother. Her mother, after I introduced myself, pleaded that we do not abandon her son-in-law who is a son to her. While weeping she asked why someone will be so insensitive and wicked to her as a mother and conclude that her son-in-law killed her daughter. She cursed those that started it because she said they have only added to her pain which is already unbearable. She said she is a principal officer in a university and has some background in psychology and she knows the tell tale signs of domestic violence. She visits often and would not have hesitated to forcefully drag her daughter out of the marriage had that been the case. She would have known from her interaction with their children. She said those who started this have stung her where it hurts because she does not joke with her children. She said she broke down when she saw the newspaper that carried the story. I saw a mother pained. I think it was genuine. I promised her I would pass on her message as much as I can and that is all I have done.” he said

98 comments:

Eya

Let and autopsy be done first, before people start concluding.

Beloved Linda Ikeji,
U inspire&bless our lives wit everytin dat concerns u mostly ur blog - LIB! Thank u so much for ur New Luxury Home post&ur inspiration msg. Congrats&stay bless alwaz.
Long Live LIB!

Thorough investigation is needed.

Such a pity, rest in Peace to the dead

God, what a tragedy... Rip to her soul...

Ayoola Olugbenga Daniel said...

hoh! what an hawful and sudden death.
Photos: Omotola mobbed by students at Knorr world food day event

Lord help and save us frm people dat don't really apr8 our worth in their lives.

Beloved Linda Ikeji,
U inspire&bless our lives wit everytin dat concerns u mostly ur blog - LIB! Thank u so much for ur New Luxury Home post&ur inspiration msg. Congrats&stay bless alwaz.
Long Live LIB!

The doctor is speaking from both sides of his mouth. I don't understand the message he is passing across, what exactly is the deceased's mother saying? Was the son-in-law abusive or not?

May her soul rest in peace.
Please ladies, flee from any violent man, domestic violence is real, and it's the women that bears the brunt the more. How sardonic!

Imaging the pain before she died,who so ever the person maybe,God will definitely handle you to your killer,which will be in a miserable way,rip to the woman

Tears,tears rolling outer my eye,tears of joy,Aunty linda you are a blessing,you've inspire a lot of people out there,LORD JESUS when will my time come. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

What on earth could have made her commit suicide EXCEPT for yoruba JUJU...if homicide isn't the case.. RIP to her

Abeg oh De shud do something biko...make something no happen to that woman ooh. Y accuse d husband naa? Nawaaoo obodo anyi a bu nigeria is just an ama egwuregwu. May her soul rip.

People can be stupid sha, wch kind domestic violence would leave a deep cut in the head, they man na butcher ni

This is painful and sad. Was she in an accident? I guess only an autopsy will show. May her soul RIP.....Amen.

Stupid mother! Allow police to do their job! Haven't you heard of the Unusual suspects? One min of snap can lead to homicide!

Na wa o! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

anonymous said...

I'm appalled at the so called, MDCAN chairman so is he saying it's a suicide, why would an educated woman like that commit suicide and if she wanted would it be like that when there are effective and other painless ways to die. The way we value life in this country makes me sick. They are trying to cover it up, I'm a student there and the autopsy was carried out with a full body scan. Her neck was broken with a part of her spine protruding and there were fractures all over her body consistent with domestic violence. This isn't the first time it's happened and I'm so shocked that the mother instead of standing up for the truth is lying because of the shame. Dr Thomas will forever be missed she was a dedicated and fantastic teacher, one of the best amongst equals. LUTH is still in shock!

first lady said...

so what killed her then?

Eiya God plz console her family and grant her rest

This is so unfortunate RIP doc.

luvmybaby said...

World people always jumping into conclusions

My guess is domestic violence..quite sad!

Anonymous Personified said...

Chai! Rest in peace. Only God knows the truth.

If the husband did not do it, then who did it. No one commits suicide by hitting their own end and lacerating their own body, self preservation instinct would kick in.

If only the Nigerian police will graduate to actual detective/forensic work instead of intimidating people into false confessions, the family might actually find out what happened.

RIP to the dead and condolences to her loved ones

OMG! Please say this isn't true... I looked up to her as a student. She was so diligent when it came to her job... even still on her toes when she was heavily pregnant with her second child, just to make sure other people's children survived. This is sad!

HMMMMMM

AUNTY LINDA.........

HMMMMMM

AUNTY LINDA.........

HMMMMMM

AUNTY LINDA.........

HMMMMMM

AUNTY LINDA.........

Hmm

Doctors r hardly violent but from d look of things, her husband is different. Jeez!

Sad.Very sad.

optimisticlady said...

For a doctor ,you spoke ignorantly Dr Emeka.
Where else did the multiple lacerations come from.
You might be a wife beater.
Since you are trying so hard to protect your doctor friend-the monster.
R.i.p doc....you loved children..may the God of children fight for u.
Most doctors are monsters...fact##

I wish them success with their investigation..

I wish them success in their investigation..

Then what happened to d woman and why will she commit suicide after taken so much time to graduate to a specialist. I'm really very sad about dis story.

Fantasyisland. Check my book out at http://okadabooks.com/book/about/10082 said...

This story still stuns me till date. Only God knows what happened to the beautiful lady doctor. Only God knows. Angela AB

RIP dear doctor.

lagos is my home said...

such a great loss ....... I remember Hestia Idiodi as extremely intelligent
rest in peace

Hmmmmmmm... I await part two

Hmmmmmmmm.

People and jumping in2 conclusion witout investigation
Wen a main is goin tru a heartbreak like dis and such allegation is added 2 his pain
Wow daz 2much 2 bear anyway
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Trendyify said...

hmmmm, i smell chicken blood

it is well

Na wa oooo, what a sad story

Well only an autopsy and thorough investigation will reveal the truth.

Governor 77 said...

Something is definitely fishy about this woman's death!!! What could have killed her then? Someone is not saying the truth.... RIP to the dead.

Anita T said...

Wonderful woman, kind hearted, beautiful and a good surgeon. She took care of my baby like her own, you will be missed. We have lost a great person..... Rest in Peace Dr Thomas.

He killed her Johor

If you watch crime and investigation.then you will understand what this man did to his wife.

What on earth could have happened to her?

Have you people forgotten the story of Adenike Arowolo so soon?

Women please wake up oooooo

He killed her,

Madam na wa for u o...ok, assuming its suicide. With ur "background in psychology", u dint see d signs of suicide in ur daughter? Well done oo...just well done der!

RIP to the youngest Surgeon in LUTH, n the only surgeon that treated medical students like humans....... your death is huge loss to the medical community and Nigeria as whole.
If by any chance your death was caused by a fellow man, then God will bring that person to JUSTICE!!!!!!

ODUWAS MUM said...

So what happened to her? All this kain long long tori sef.

RichyGame said...

But what happened?

Autopsy please.....let them get to the bottom of this!!!! Congratulations to my beautiful lady Linda...I am so proud of you...xx

Dabota Lawson said...

Autopsy please.....let them get to the bottom of this!!!! Congratulations to my beautiful lady Linda...I am so proud of you...xx

Hopylahlah said...

Its a pity

The medical director shld go n sit down, Hw can u see ur dead wife on d floor according to his story n not raise an alarm for d neighbour in ur compound to hear or someone in ur own apartment. U drove out very early from ur home in ajao to Luth and back before u culd say a word to pple in d compound. Lot of things I don't get with dis man. Let the police go interrogate pple in d compound.

Dr O.M said...

It's indeed quite a sad event. I first met Dr Hestianna while I was working as a house officer in the surgery department in 2009. Very quiet, humble, highly intelligent professional, a passionate doctor. Years down the line I was opportuned to work directly with her husband at the general Hospital gbagada where he works (not Lasuth linda) for more than 1 year. Not for once did I see him get angry or violent with anyone even when under pressure. Dr Babafemi Thomas would not ever think of killing his wife, and not a wife beater. He spoke very highly of her, was proud of her achievements. What has happened is unfortunate and can't be reversed. Please leave him and his family to mourn their daughter and wife in peace.

Luth has indeed lost a great consultant an humble woman who does not look down on students but is always ready to teach without insulting. All ds talks wont change what has happened. May her soul rest in peace

Abusive husband. I'm sure he is Igbo. Wicked heartless wife beaters and murderers. Such a gorgeous woman too

orisiallsorts said...

I noticed the female doctors in naija always have this natural fresh, sophisticated look to them. Like Dr Ameyo Adadevoh. God rest both their souls

jamal cojo said...

You kinda twisted things Linda luth and lasuth

nefertitiram said...

Ok na.
You prefer that your daughter committed sucide and as a Psychology buff you could not see the tell tale signs of a sucidal daughter then you have failed as a mother and the psychology community. Rubbish! Mtschewwww. Be vouching for a psychopath! Were you there when she was killed? Instead of the mother to just shut up and let the police attempt to do their job!

Please let us know when the autopsy report comes out

So wat isd moda suggesting as d cause of her death? .....it's obviously man slaughter

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Linda, please LUTH is the Lagos University Teaching Hospital or the University of Lagos Teaching Hospital; while LASUTH is Lagos State University Teaching Hospital...

LUTH belongs to UNILAG...

LASUTH belongs to LASU...

So, don't get it twisted abeg...

Capish!

Effe said...

Wait a min, is she crying because her daughter is dead or she is crying because her son inlaw is accused. I hope this woman is not sleeping with her son inlaw, is obvious she is more cencern about her son inlaw then her daughter

Earn money for real.Buy a home like Linda's http://Job4Living.com/?ref=54771

May her soul rest in peace....

Does the name Babafemi Thomas sound igbo to u? Igbo phobia will kill u very soon. I wonder what you are doing in an Igbo woman's blog
Ewu Gambia

I knew this lady from uniben med school, I know her family, I know the campus quarters she grew up in...no mental issues what so ever. Lovely and intelligent even from UDSS. Foul play...foul play MAY GOD HAVE MERCY. Y would she go through an elaborate plot to kill her self when she knows the easy painless route as a doctor...abegiiiii.

Princess Deo said...

Until we hear the mum speak on tv about her daughter's death,the report from the so called MDCAN or whatever they call him is false.

Princess Deo said...

Shame on the lady's husband.

Dr. Emeka is dr. Babafemi's close friend!!!

This Educated woman should not have stayed in an abusive relationship. Now it has cost her life in the hands of a Monster/ husband. So sad. What a bright light cut off. RIP. It cant be suicide as she cannot inflict injuries on herself..

Please, let's wait till d autopsy report comes out as nobody really knows what happened except d children if they are not in boarding school anyway. We Naija are fond of concluding on matters even before investigation. We are people with little or no patience. Pls let's wait for d report before crucifying d hubby.

Femiluv said...

Wow..sounds like domestic violence. Why would she commit suicide so violently?

oh-G said...

So did she cit her own head with cutlass. Smh!

"Most doctors are monsters"... idiot. It's most of your clan that are monsters. See generalisation o.

But why would a doctor, a consultan for that matter, who knows all the beautiful painless ways do die do it this way. Well, all I can say is this is very suspect. He husband is also an influential pathologist. I hope he doesn't weigh in on the so called autopsy. Everyone should avoid sentiments and friendship and do their jobs. Because it could be your own sister or friend tomorrow!

An autopsy will reveal the truth behind her death. He husband in this case is the prime suspect till proven otherwise.

lovely heart said...

If her neck is broken with multiple fractures, I actually think it's consistent with fall from height. So it could be suicide or homicide (probably the husband pushed her do n from the height ).

Really how do you explain domestic violence with multiple fractures in an adult. What did he use to hit her that bad.

I'm writing this based on the above autopsy and full body scan report (sentiments apart)

lovely heart said...

Really? ???so you don't know depression can start anytime

Dr B A. said...

The fact that a man looks calm and speaks highly of his wife doesn't rule out the fact that he's an abuser. I'm married to the best man any man can imagine, everybody knows he's kind , nice , calm and very quiet. You can never catch him angry outside. He talks highly of me too. Many couple wish to be like us.

But the day he hit me, if there was nobody to restrain him, I would have been dead. It came as a surprise to me and to him too. Nobody could believe it.

So my dear, it happens. It could have been a one time rage that went wrong.

n.nwanyioma@gmail.com said...

Oh Dr Thomas.Gone soo soon but not of your own making.The best Surgeon that God used to bring my son bach to life 3+yrs ago in LUTH.Very humble and inteligent woman.May your killer / killers know no peace in this life and thereafter.R.I.P dr thomas and may God take care ou your children like u did to little children.

Speechless

...NA ZO

Hummm

Puleeees don't get me started.

No she must have fallen from a height which makes it a possible suicide. The pattern of injury is consistent with thst of a fall from a height.

Calling a dead woman's mother stupid....are you cursed or looking to be cursed?? You're just silly!

Oh Gosh! Still can't believe dis. I know Babafemi Thomas well. I knew him thru my Doctor Sister. My sis knows him and his wife well. Dey all met in Luth........Jeezzzz. I can't still believe this story.

I smell domestic violence, the husband should not go scot free. RIP woman.