Compensation will be paid to the family of UNILAG student who was electrocuted | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 20 October 2015

Compensation will be paid to the family of UNILAG student who was electrocuted

The Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, UNILAG, Professor Rahmon Bello stated that the family of late Miss Oluchi Anekwe who was electrocuted by a faulty cable must be compensated by Eko Electricity Distribution Plc, EKEDP.
According to Vanguard, Bello who spoke during a press briefing at UNILAG's conference centre said:
"The Federal Government panel findings has established that the faulty cable which caused Oluchi’s death belong to EKEDP and they must pay compensation to the family of the deceased.
"EKEDP has put in place an Assurance Policy by an Insurance company whereby a compensation will be paid to family of a deceased in case of lost of life. The Insurance company has been contacted to come and assess the damage and give their recommendations for compensation. As soon as this is done, we will know the amount.’’
Oluchi was 300-Level Accounting student at UNILAG and on Tuesday, September 8, 2015 at about 7pm an 11 KV overhead transmission cable that belonged to the EKEDP fell and electrocuted her while she was walking.

41 comments:

It has to be millions of naira else..

Truthurts said...

@ last it took dem dis long 2 decide

It is well, such a beauty

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Eiya, thoughtful of them. May her soul continue to RIP

#it will only get better
#it must end in praise

CHAII

AUNTY LINDA.....

SWEET MOTHER said...

I hope they follow through with this, however no amount of compensation can replace this lovely gem

Take this 5 quick steps to a healthy skin

10 things woman should NEVER be caught without!!!

6 snacks you thought were healthy but are worse than junk food!!!

What a sad incidence!rip to the girl

Tears,tears rolling outer my eye,tears of joy,Aunty linda you are a blessing,you've inspire a lot of people out there,LORD JESUS when will my time come. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

fayte said...

smh..........

Another future cut short cause of the careless society we leave in... God bless her soul.. her family need to pursuit this findings to ensure adequate compensation.

TheRealAkon said...

No amount of compensation will suffice the demise of a very beautiful girl. May God console your family.

Dats better. Rest on girl! Linda take note!

What stupid compensation will that bring her back? They had better fix what ever that led to her death to avoid losing more lives.

miss dhermy said...

May her soul rest in peace

Rip oluchi

This girl's death devastated me so much, as if I knew her personally. No amount of money can ease the pain her family is going through right now. Continue to RIP Oluchi.

It's okay but wat compensation would measures up to d girl's life?

No matter the amount given can never be compared to life.... So sad

Wow! Congrats to her parents! They will be so happy

Those compensation bring her back to life #Sad Story
Pls kindly follow me up on Twitter @Cute_Namera

Kayode Odusanya said...

This story is still very sad. I mean, the girl was just walking on her own, in her school premises, and then a cable wire fell, and electrocuted her...cutting her life short. May her soul rest in peace.

Are You a One Minute Man?

seyi crown said...

Will that bring the poor girl bck to life? 300L student, don't wonna imagine what her parent going tro....God have mercy

Seyilicious

Its so sad, nothing can be compared to life

Rubbish!! Care free nation where human life is worth nothing.

Compensation no matter d amounts can never replace her life. RIP to her.

Life life life matters.
May she RIPP.
God is in control.
Pray without ceasing. All shall be well.

Even if it's billions it won't bring her back....rest on girl.

Bur will it bring back a life lost?! I know it is no one's fault but I can't imagine that any sort of compensation will heal the wound of a loss.

Beautiful butterfly said...

How is that supposed to help her family? When they were supposed to have gotten rid of the problem they neglected to do so.

Before nko!

Though, it won't bring back the dead but will be more than glad to see happen for real and in millions...

Alaga Ibile of LIB community

I wonder how much dat will be equal to her wasted lyf. RIP dear.

Ur comment will be visible after approval

#doubleo#

THEY SHLD KEEP DIA NONSENSE COMPENSATION AND NOT STIR UP BITTER FEELINGS FOR THE FAMILY WHO ARE IN A JOYFUL MOOD NOW!

Carelessness results to death and compensation to be paid. Chai when will will learn to avoid unnecessary death in this country. Every thing seems to be for a joke. I feel for the poor girl full of ambition and hope for the future

If only that could bring her back to life. May her soul continue to rest in peace. My condolence to the family.

no amt will ever be enuf

MISSVEE

Are you tired of the status quo do you desire more?I can help you achieve this in business. I was working a job i liked but i remained broke. This went on for years till i was introduced to Forever Living Products international. Today i am not only financially free but i am healthy and happy. I go on at least two all expense paid vacations every year and because i am not married i can pick anyone to go with me FOR FREE. Now most of us may have heard about FLP and turned down our noses? i was like that too, in fact i discouraged my mum from doing it years ago because no one explained it to me like i am doing now. Net work marketing is what we already do everyday FOR FREE...If i like your hair, makeup, dress or shoe you will refer me to the person who did it won't you and the best they will do is tell you thank you. Why don't you get paid for changing your brand to organic healthy products and encouraging people to do the same? I won't lie this business is not for lazy people and jokers. If you are not focused, if you do not have dreams, if you are not hard working please do not contact me. By the way i still have a 9-5 job i enjoy doing not because i am being forced, i earn 3 times more from FLP than i earn from my job( and i am paid well at my job) If you want to change your life send me an email organicladyng@gmail.com or call 08185819276

Mbok this is so sad. No amount can replace her.

So sad RIP

illegal said...

Your time to join her ? You got me confused with your comments not being always relevant to the news.. Rip is enough. Shuo