Albinos risk persecution in Nigeria? Since when? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 October 2015

Albinos risk persecution in Nigeria? Since when?

Worthy to note is that the family who claim this is trying to seek asylum in Italy. According to the parents of the little girl who were living in troubled Libya but left because of the violence that broke out, they know they can not return to their native Imo State because of their daughter - Jasmine's condition. 'Her hair is blonde, her eyes are blue and her skin is noticeably fairer than her brother’s. They claim they risk persecution in Nigeria if they return here with her. Are Albinos in danger in Nigeria? Maybe there's something I don't know...

In the village where her 24-year-old mother Shalom grew up in southeast Nigeria, girls like Jasmine are seen as bearers of bad luck, according to a reporter who spoke to the family.

They are frequently attacked and sometimes even killed. In many parts of Africa, their body parts are sold to witch doctors and used in rituals.' According to Jasmine's mother, 'We can’t go back there because we’re scared she might be kidnapped. jasmine’s never met my mother, my sisters or my brothers, but they understand we can’t return.' The family now hopes to claim asylum in Italy.
 Photo Credit: UNHCR/Alessandro Penso.

83 comments:

The igwe must hear this

Na wa o

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

Unfair biko

I'm not aware either but I strongly doubt it

She's a blatant liar biko. She's just looking for an excuse to get asylum in Italy. Linda take note!

That's d only reasonable way de could get to Italy to her... I wish em luck tho.

Nawa!

SHOCKING & bitter things you never Knew About Men.. WARNING! you might hate Men after reading this..Read
HERE

Next!

Does that still happen in the twenty first century? Then something must be done to stop that type of habit. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Northern Princess 7 said...

I am just hearing this, but naija is a very safe place for Albinos.... I see them walking around Freely, making friends too... I think the girl doesn't like naija

bcux my Country is a safe place for everybody

Anyikwa chinonso said...

hmm.. observing.. sites to watch free movies online

i hear say u don buy mansion... Thanks to God.. Hppy for u dear

Dats rubbish! Nofin of dat sort is happning in naija, onless she's bin told lies.

No be albino,s full my village and even the streets? Onwero ifemuagagi eji ntim nuu.

Never heard this b4....

Are they for real? The lies are just too cheap.

Golda Awosika said...

Ohw pls, who even has tym for albino wahala in Nigeria. Dey jus wana go to Italy n never come back

Hmmm Nawa o...

Damn! God help us!

- Ken

Lol sounds funny

Hahhahahs..they just wanna be in Italy... There's no such thing in my state

Lies lies lies all in a plot to stay in a foreign Country.. Na wa o

Cheap lie just to gain entrance into Italy.

All these lies so they get asylum to live in Italy. Shame on that woman and her husband. I only hope their plea will be rejected and all of them sent back home.

Well, I'd no idea...

Most nigerians love albinos. am shocked by the lies this EVIL woman is telling about us.
perhaps things like these happen in tanzania, certainly not in naija.

Linda you suppose know wetin dey na. U b small pickin? I know U v been around

It's a fat lie! Italian authorities should deport them immediately, so as to join us in building the Nigeria of our dreams!!

Yes they are, what about the one that committed suicide in festac. We are always in denial

Only God can judge

Nnodim said...

There is nothing person no go hear from people trying to escape Naija!

she is a bloody liar.

Which country be dat? They don't know wat they are saying

Illegal immigrants can cook up anything just to get pity abroad!

lami said...

Mtcheeeeew, people no longer fear God cos this is a big lie from the pit of hell.

I doubt this is true. Sounds like she looking for a better life outside nigeria.

Hmmmmmm. All in d name of asylum, painting their fatherland bad. I wish them all d best and may d Lord see them thru.

Its possible since na IBO side. Moses Willi's people

Linda this is a black lie! This is either a false story by enemies of Nigeria. Or this is just some idiots who want asylum and would say anything to get it. Lies! Lies!! Lies!!! Albinos have never had a problem in Nigeria. I hate when these people lie like this as if Nigeria doesn't have enough lies being peddled around us. They shall not get that asylum. This is nonsense.

sky said...

Lmao!! See korokoro lie!! Stop it!!

Scam, they'd say anything to get asylum

Liars here nd there, it is not in Nigeria they are killing Albinos. Mtcheeeeeeeeew!!!

where in Imo state is this happening? I simply do not believe it.

Etsako Pearl said...

Since wen kwanu?? Hian

Cheap lie to gain entry to the country. Click here to Get latest Dragnet, KPMG, Workforce,Immigration,SHL, Delloitte past questions here...... call or whatsApp 09030948570, we work 24/7. Free samples available

Make dem softly softly dey lie o!

edna said...

I dont belive this.. I am from imo.. I have a cousin who is albino n my mum elder brother ia an albino n all through growingvin tge east before we moved out i never heard of any issue with albinos...

Linda stop spoiling plans for people. Face ur work o. Lol

In my over 40 years as a resident Nigerian citizen, I've never heard that albinos are hunted in any part of Nigeria. This family 's case must be an isolated one. Or perhaps it's a gimmick to seek asylum. Linda there's need to investigate this claims please

Linda, maintain your lane. Greener pastures they seek. Park well o. No burn their cable abeg.

Don't want to believe this!

Albinos everywhere. No persecution in nigeria o

When Africans won seek asylum 4 europe/america dem go dey okpata about their home land..Terrible

Hustle na Hustle.

Wow! I'm hearing this for d first time. But might be true.

Welcoome to ITALY, where BENIN girls, IGBO boys seek asylum because BOKO HARAM chase them from Nigeria

My dear Lindus, don't blame oyibo people when they carry untrue stories. Are brothers and sisters are the ones who lie to them to get residency. Then when yawa gas, them go begin shout for help. I have never heard of Albinos maltreatment in Nigeria. My half brother was an Albino, though he later passed as an adult. Their lie go kill them some day?

Emdos Supernova said...

E be like say e done tey wey she ddone commot naija
#emdossupernova

AGB said...

Albinos are not persecuted in Nigeria, that woman is lying.

Story for work permit. We all know these things. Lol

Na only u Waka go italy?

No guys , lets take this global because it's getting out of hand. Tweet the information, share your views on all social media outlet and let the world know that though we have our issues, this is not one of them at all. If we do not drive home this point, the international media will run with this story and we will become 'cannibals'. Good that Linda's blog is viewed world wide but pls let us all reach a bit further in correcting this anomaly. She has all the rights to desire to provide the best for her child but not a right to cause unwarranted and uninformed mess. share the story everyone because. I have tweeted this severally and shared it will stressing the need for further investigation to confirm her stories. Ndi ara ! O kwa otu Imo state a that I come from and live in!!! Mba nu. One thing that struck me is the great naivety of the writer. The fact that it happens in one or few countries in Africa does not mean that it is an 'African Thing". They still regard this huge continent as a country.

andre kelvin said...

Traditional Stupidity

For rituals in Tanzania, persecution in Nigeria Nooooooooooo!

It's hard to believe but it's true.

Olamamasblog said...

People say weird things just to claim asylum

Kai Nigerians will say anything to live abroad, so the mugus had to rubbish the name of this country just to get assylum, Na God go punish them

DADDYSWIFE said...

Lindo u r funny.u don't know d kind of things our Africans say there so dt they wont return bk to Africa.a guy said dt he didn't know how he came to Europe dt his step mother wanted to use him as ritual,dt when she took him to a native doctor.d native doc did some incantations n he disappeared only to find himself in Europe n dt he is scared of going back.n d white believed him.dis is a pure lie for dt albino story.
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

True story! They actually use there body parts for witchcraft till date.. Enlighten Ursef dnt jst attack.. But it's not true dat they prosecute them for being a taboo maybe is only in their village.. U cnt tell..

stef said...

She might be saying the truth, cos in my maternal village, giving birth to an albino is an abomination.

Thank you my sister. She is looking for visa. Which kinda discrimination biko?

Are u kidding me..i have like four albino igbo friends and none of then have ever been "kidnapped" or "persecuted"...so that bitch should either cook up a better excuse or come home...

People will say all sort of rubbish to get asylum, if I was PMB I would get myself involved in this and make sure this stupid family cool off in jail! Bastards

SOSA said...

YES IN BENIN CITY ALBINOS ARE DISCRIMINATED AGAINST.....THE WOMAN ISNT LYING I AM A PRODUCT OF AN ALBINO I KNOW WHAT MY DAD HAD TO GO THROUGH.ESPECIALLY ESAN PEOPLE THEY HATE ALBINOS

Lol. Grant them asylum and see them buy tickets the next day to Nigeria. Are we in Tanzania? Mtcheew

Our government should simply try the fools for this slander, lazy people looking for an easy life. They ran to Libya and cannot come back home, so Nigerians are now killing albinos, thunder fire them,idiots.
Anyone that knows them should advise not to come back ooo, if they do ,i go use them do Isi-ewu.

This little girl is white haba! Not an albino...albinos I use to see don't have blue eyes...d mama should stop lying na...

TO Avoid all these hullabaloos, These woman should have just claimed Tanzanian nationality naa. At least almost everyone is aware of such maltreatment's against Albinos over there and not in Nigeria of all places. You guys keep us tainted just to get ur effing asylum forgetting that what goes around surely does come around!

U er very stupid whoever u er. Idiot

Just say u, and ur Esan people. I grew up on Benin, and I know some albino they er not treated diff. I wish u well

Prof Pat Utomi and Mr Jake must hear this.

amakaluvlyG said...

Na story dem dey find...# inspired by Linda

Pls abeg...albinos that are living freely in Nigeria.....Shez just looking for an excuse....and when is it said you must live in d state you are from