Should a school lock a young child out for coming late? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 June 2015

Should a school lock a young child out for coming late?

A twitter user shared this disturbing picture today questioning why a school would lock a pupil out for either coming late or for other reasons without a mature guardian in sight? Can you spot the little girl outside the gate? See his tweets and tell us what you think...

What are you thoughts on this?

146 comments:

Ooo

Sadly, i faced the same ish growing up :(

It's so wrong

Very wrong, but in a lawless country LIke ours, everything goes.

This is exposing the child to danger.

It's hight time all schools stop that madness. What is something bad happen to the child??

As if this is d 1st time its happening... Mtchew

That's too extreme jor, a lot of things cld have gone wrong

Hmmmm, I think their should b proper way to deal wit this instead of locking d child outside.

To me dis is not ideal instead mild punishment should b given to who so ever comes late.

Zamani said...

How did she get to school in the first place, matured guardian or on her own, then I can answer the question

Rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

too harsh

dem no see rain wey fall?

Discover the quickest and natural way to lose weight,No slimming pills no starvation. Click here to find out how

Its been so since my primary sch days,dats over 10yrs ago.I see nothing wrong there,d parents should b blamed cuz dats a little child..

So wrong! They should at least let the child in & maybe serve punishment where it is absolutely necessary. Linda take note!

Roman! said...

It's not right* it's not a right thing to do*

It happens in Benin too d schl don't care or listens 2 y a student is late for schl dt means u miss schl 4 d day

Its totally wrong by the sch authorities or any teacher on duty. She shud av bn flogged probably if she normally comes late and sent to her class

Well I feel they should have come outside to know her reasons for coming late. If it's a good one, she can be pardoned. Else, she should go home. Because I guess that's the school's rules and regulation which she has to follow.

Mayb the gateman was in the toilet or attending to some1 inside...lol

Who dropped her off

The school did great by not allowing her in.... Is not like the place is lonely and is in the morning so i see nothing wrong abeg... Chronic late comers never learn.....

This is wickedness Simple! What if something bad happens to the child.

Na who carry her come there? I know she didn't fall from the sky and landed on the school gate. Discipline should be inculcated in children while they are young.
The parents or guardians will think twice before sending her to school late.

Locking her outside is not corporal punishment, what if she runs into a car or meet some nasty things on d way back home?
†Ñ’ξ best thing is give her punishment inside school or probably flog her small so whe won't come late again

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

APPLELIPX said...

Its wrong if the parents or guardians where nt there with her... they shud af maybe let her into d sch compound n deny her classes if she must b punished for going late

Blessing Patrick said...

Before you start passing your judgements,
Answer the following questions
Who dropped her at d gate? What time is it? What is the school agreement with the parents?
I was once a teacher and some parents can be soo annoying. Late coming grade one.
undone home work and d rest.
so b4 u send a school's pux on net like dis make sure u clean and put ur home in order or are u just jealous if the school progress?

Omg!! This is totally unacceptable.. If it were my child, i will not only withdraw her from the school, but before I do I will make sure I beat the living daylight of the school principal, God help her... But if it's a man, he should wait for me and my area boys.. Waà shere niè!

Omg!! This is totally unacceptable.. If it were my child, i will not only withdraw her from the school, but before I do I will make sure I beat the living daylight out of the school principal, God help her... But if it's a man, he should wait for me and my area boys.. Waà shere niè!

This is bad

Not the school's fault. It's the parent's responsibility to hand her over to school in time. I also can't see from thsi how he concluded that they locked her out for being late. They locked the school gate to protect the kids within the school

Blessing Patrick said...

Linda u better publish this comment cos some people are saying rubbish.
I dont stay anywhere close to lagos buh that person should not dent another's business except proper investigation are met.xoxo

I am removing my child from the sch the next day,i don't care what it will cost to get a child into sch dis time of the the year...

Mehn this is so wrong... If she's my child I'll withdraw her from d school

So so wrong. Instead her parents should have been called and whatever matter it is reported to them (parents)

better to punish d child than doing this though.

The school locked her outside, or refuses to response to her so as to serve as lesson next time and as a lesson to others.

Its the wrong kinda right thing to do.

Zamani said...

Most schools in Nigeria does it. Though they may allow the child in later

Rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

Danny Cruz said...

Nah. Nt proper. I disagree wit dat. 271F58FD

Dammy said...

@linda forward such info's to the relevant bodies.its unfair

andre kelvin said...

This is abnormal. And the street looks only sef

D sch management must b mad, dat act is vry risky now, too bad

They must have talked about this in the school meeting...something must have kept that child late..school owners should be careful about things like this I have seen a school owner who just spent 14yrs in prison cos a child was missing from the school in akure and the body parts were found...dem no wan learn lesson

OMG!!!! thats on my street...wow thats really bad

Yes

10 Facts You Should Know About New Senate President Bukola Saraki (SEE HERE)

That mickey mouse looking like onyx. Toothpick legs. Nkita ara.

Hmmm yes the school re right. Nest time her parent should always getting her ready on time.

Intead of going there to knock the gateman's ear outta d toilet or wherever his ass was,you stood there trying to make news of the situation.# dumb ass.

This social media is really making people stupid by the day,so as an adult this was the best u could do?What happened to walking up there to endure the girl was safe inside the premises rather than taking a pix....stupid fellow

Blame her parents. Why should she come to school alone and even late?You see so many little children going to school alone in the mortning, many parents are careless

yabsy said...

And what did the person who posted the pic do about it? Did he take charge? Did he knock on the gate till it was opened and tell the authorities to allow the girl in for safety reasons? It's not just about posting pics on social media but taking charge of some situations and seeing that the wrong is made right.

# Take Charge.
# Right the wrong

Nt right atall

To think that the school did this after the downpour and the fact that it is a private school makes the school useless.

Its very wrong. Instead you let the child in and administer whatever "APPROPRIATE" punishment for coming late.

This is absolutely not right. Haba!

That is a very stupid place. It should not b cald a school pls.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

No it is not right

This is nothing but a cruel behavior, apart 4rm being xposing d little girl 2 kidnappers, d girl might b thinking of xhibiting some bad attitudes in so many ways.

This is absolutely not right. Haba!

Well some discipline and order first but I'd rather they let her in and punish slightly eg pick up litter.

Before nko? Train a child the right way to go and when he is grown up...

Totally unacceptable!!!

Schools are probably on mid term break and the pupil did not know. Every where is too calm for a school to be in progress.

TONIA GREEN said...

Not cool. There should be a gate keeper there now.

That's wicked pls name of the school

Jay said...

Its not proper at all.

7F098C19 said...

U watched as she banged the gate. Why didn't u com down from ur bus or okada, cos I mean u weren't driving cos if u were, u won't notice the young woman. Lol. Engr Emy

If anything happen to her, the school should be held responsible.

flaky said...

I think it's not right, considering the state of security of the nation presently, there are kidnappers everywhere. The school should devise other means of punishment rather than locking a child outside in that manner

It's wrong.. They should have given her a punishment inside d School.. Dis is how rapists and kidnappers succeed in their evil acts

Not so cool, but then if no guardian brought her there, then they should be blamed first for exposing her to kidnappers. The school may not be crucified for abiding to there rules and regulations.

Dis school needs to be shut down, for heaven's sake!!!

Yes they should it has always been like that. It's part of the training a child should learn to wake up early and be on time for school.it help wen u get to d university were no one can tell u when to go to class. Being on time is part of learing

It is wrong

Elodie O. Mbape said...

Linda please, there MUST be rules in every place to ensure fairness and order! I understand you want to defend the hopeless/fight against injustices, but you should not take it too far...

very very very wrong. at this time and age when kidnapping is being shared anyhow, this is truly disturbing that a school will be so careless with the security and life of the child. Kidnapping aside, anything can happen. A drunk or irresponsible driver could have swung at her, she could have been a victim of some shootout. I hope her parents get on it.

Looks like a private school, WHO DOZ THAT!!? They're responsible for dr safety too, another annoying thing is when they punish students for not paying dr school fees (like it their fault)

The parent of this student should redraw her From this school, they will find her.

Latest Online Information said...

maybe if the child keeps going to school late...

Chop Chop said...

That's parents responsibility. Maybe the school doesn't have the resources to keep opening the gate once school is in session. However, the school should have procedure in place to respond to issues like this.

That school should be shut down

This is wrong! It's the child/parents loss if the child comes late and miss classes,By the time you come late,don't learn enough,fail exams & repeat classes = More money for school...so!!!

No. She is a minor and could easily be the parents fault. You should allow the child in and get the parents in the next day and give them a talking to. Archaic naija education system.

This is wrong on every level......

It is possible the school locks the gates for safety like mist schools do. Then if u r late u bang on the gate and they let u in later. So it could be in those minutes she was instead of banging, trying to open the gate. They can't afford cctv. We don't know the full story.

I think it's fair. Africans have this mentality of not keeping appointments, its the duty of schools to educate children to be responsible,giving their parents so hard talk for sending them late to school. Africa isn't moving because of some simple things, lack of empathy,lack of using common sense. How do a child learn education is essential if he comes late to class. Furthermore,those who are teachers it's quite disturbing when someone comes late.

Very very wrong. That's exposing the child to ills around the environment. The right thing should be let the child in and give the child any punishment you deem fit for late coming but that should be inside the compound.

For whatsoever reason, the school is absolutely wrong to lock out the poor girl. If I were the parent, I will probably sue d school foe negligence of duty.

No be new thing, dey do it in uniben staff school. Its an act of discipline because punctuality is one of the attribute in life, am always late to appointment because am used to going to school late and its really affecting me. Am regretting it so d school is trying to teach dem at a young age

dontJme said...

Shea late comer no dey pay school fees?

Austin said...

das stupid of the school management!!.. das wot happens when government just approve private schools without evaluating the psychological reasoning of the school management..

Dis ain't right...Cos any tin could happen 2her...den d school will kom out wid stories ! Mtçhw.

YES. LOCK HIM/HER OUT AND CALL HIS/HER PARENTS. I BET IT WON'T HAPPEN SO MANY TIMES.
WILL BE BETTER IF THAT IS BE PART OF THE CONTRACT UPON ADMISSION OF ANY CHILD.

Which kind kidnappers, the fault goes to the parents. The school authority must have and adhere to principles. You can't just send your ward to school by 10am and you expect the school to openly welcome it.

Rubbish..What kind of stupid punishment is dis??

steve said...

This is just too bad!

Very unacceptable! She shuld b allowed in, either 2 attend her classes or till de contact a mature person b4 she is sent home. Dis is rong nd dangerous on so many levels.

Demontunes said...

The school should be penalized for negligence and Unprofessionalism by d ministry of education.

Demontunes said...

The school should be penalized for negligence and Unprofessionalism by d ministry of education.

Demontunes said...

so he stood there to take pictures instead of demanding to see the school authorities.. na wa *cue in photo of someone drowning and people taking pictures instead of saving a life first* disgusting! I can talk cause I saw a neighbors toddler wandering the street and our street has stray dogs! Of cos I parked my car and quickly walked the child back to the house in plain sight before they shout kidnapper. Did I come here to disgrace the parents? No! Although I can talk about it now because it is in the past and a story others could learn from about negligence. stupid man what do you now want us to do after seeing the pictures? Applaud u for disgracing the school? all this for retweets mschewwww gerrata here!

Yes, I believe it's the right thing to do, afterall school is meant to inculcate and instill discipline. Why should she leave home without a guardian in the first place, have the parents not exposed her to kidnappers themselves. While I was younger, my Primary school had the same rules you don't come to school late, parents are well aware and abide, once you late, you just turn back and go home, teaching punctuality is essential as well as educating. Am still amazed that in Nigeria an event that is billed to start by 10am does not kick off till 12 noon. It's madness honestly! ( Nigeria time syndrome.) And it has to stop!

This is wrong, at least call the folks to come pick them up, if anything happens to this kid, no one would want to know what she did.

Gabby said...

It will be too early to blame anyone for what happened because our twitter fellow did not have the courage to do a follow up. If I were in this fellow's shoes I would have visited the school for on the spot facts that will assist readers to make informed contributions. I suggest this fellow should visit the school for more information.

Amaka said...

I doubt she was locked out on purpose. Obviously d school don't have security personnel, t4 d gate was locked. Others definitely did not hear her knocking.

Well, she doesn't look so little. ( at least she is not in preschool). Secondly, what is wrong in sending late comers back home? Tomorrow she wouldn't be late. Let's get discipled people.

I was bounced from school when I came late. I remember hounding my parents not to make me late again. Nothing wrong with this picture.

Very unfair,but I guess it's just a warning nd d gateman.will probably b at d oda side

andrea williams said...

Why she go first go school late self, every school got there policy and parents should respect that, Linda kindly post my comment, it's my first time commenting

Wrong wrong wrong. Instead penalize the parents. Let them pay a sum of money every time the child comes late.

gab2shoes said...

Linda let's call Ankara Ankara, she is late na.....if they give her punishment na we go still talk or complain...,.during our days in front of our folks dey will flog then subject us to manual labor...but no room for that than to send her home.... Tmrw she go wake up early!

The gods are not to blame
Gab2shoessaysso

Sylvanus said...

That place is not fit to be a school. After the heavy down pour, the school authority still have the gut to lock out poor little student who even made effort at been at school. What will they do to those who could not make it to school. Poor management. We have lost everything. Only God will help us regain our senses. HABA

Please get the name and address of the said school and apprehend those in charge of the school and witout hesitation, lock em up. what nonsense is that? fucking hate Lagos state

I DONT SUPPORT DS AT ALL WIT ALL DES KIDNAPIN AND RITUALIST ARND....TOMJERRYSWIT

Too bad...I know the school

fidelis Agidigbi said...

This is too bad and disturbing. If the child was late to school, there are other ways to address such issue by calling the parents to find out why the child was late to school, instead of locking her out and exposing her to danger.

fidelis Agidigbi said...

This is too bad and disturbing. If the child was late to school, there are other ways to address such issue by calling the parents to find out why the child was late to school, instead of locking her out and exposing her to danger.

fidelis Agidigbi said...

It is not the school's responsibility but the parents/guardian to ensure that their children get into school. You do not leave your child at the gate especially when you know the gate will be locked at a certain time. Parents no longer care for rules and are teaching children same. Indiscipline should stop.

Heartless and wicked of them.

In my opinion, in as much as the school is trying to instill discipline to it pupils in terms of punctuality, it is very wrong to lock a small girl outside the gate cos it exposes her so many dangers. if that has to be done then there must be an adult with the pupil.

When I was in primary school I was locked out twice for coming late infact we used to get flogged or lie on grass

Much as discipline should be emphasised in schools, I don't think this is right, exposing the child to possible danger outside. The parents/guardian also should have ensured their ward goes into the school compound before leaving that is if they usually drop off the child.

Too bad,her parent should take a step, as for me i wont take that o, i dont joke with my kids

Barbra sugar said...

Vry vry wrong,all dis 1 too sabi pple,wey cal der sefs teachers....mtchew,dis is nt training na.....

linda you know our thought ... sanction the school authority ... and the parent to take community service for two months.
opa ri

SMURF said...

I support that they should lock the gates for like a minute so that next time the child can come early after the embarrassment but not locking the gate for minutes and her banging it like that!

Mary said...

This sch shud b sanctioned seriously. Wat wud dey say shud any harm befall d girl? Its time to put an end to unjust punishment of our children in schs!

With the competition schools have, the sch is not ready for business

She obviously left her home with her parents or a guardian.
Her parent or guardian has made her prone to kidnappers already, they feel she is old enough, and her house might be close to the school.
So is it the 2 MINUTES that she spends at the school gate that makes her more vulnerable?
What if the school has sent newsletter to parents as per resumption time and if for any reason your child will come to school late, they should be informed.

Some parents are careless, so should the school pay for their carelessness.

A parent or guardian that did not deemed it right to escort the child to school.

The school is only responsible for what happens to the child within the school premises.

The school has committed no crime at all.

But did she go to school all by herself? where are her parents. i thought they were supposed to drop her off in school at least.

Dear Linda, this is quite interesting .

Can you fly another kite?

Is it right for parents to help their child pass exams by engaging somebody to help the child out at the exam centre the nigerian way?

I have seen many including Christians losing their heads in this case.

As for the matter raised, it may not sound right in the light of security situation of the country ,however , one of the core values those days is discipline and which we are losing currently. We have many parents who were well brought up and who are not passing same to their wards ,thinking money is every thing.

A child rebuked for an act will mostly like not fall into the same act and if the reason is because of the parental failure , such child will so warn the parent(s),pestered them to performance.

While growing up at ibadan ,i had to wake up very early in the morning ,say 1am ,one particular day just because my school would not tolerate lateness and latecomers were made to fetch 5 buckets of water the next day .

We need to preach values.It shows in our national life.

Arik Airline in recent times runs late and a lot of public school students in Lagos resume late compared to somewhere else in the south west .Lateness and indiscipline should not be condoned but tread with care while correcting.QED!!!

Hmmmm they do that all the time. These sharks who own schools and the teachers are just after money. In my village they do that on account of school fees delay. not non payment. One private school called Mariamo Ajiri a local third rate school in Katsina state, do that all the time. A friend once had his children locked out for the whole day. He was furious and eventually moved them out to another school the following week.

some of us jst post comments without having two sides of the story in mind. ur child is going late to skool n u did nt accompany him or her. ,y neighbour's kids dnt leave for skool till past 8 n d mum does nt find any fault in it so wen de lock such child out pple start to complain abi. Discipline first please. if de lock d child out next time d parents wil nt mk d child go to skool late. nigerians too like african time even for skool resumption again. smh. if u cnt mk it to skool early cos f distance den look 4a skool cls by afterall skools plenty everywhr.

Look at people saying I will withdraw my child fast, one even said that she will beat someone, how ladylike, as if they didn't go to school in Nigeria?

While I was in school I was a professional late comer and then we will he punished and all that (it was a private school, sometimes I get to school when the proprietress is getting to school, what insults?).Years down the line, it became habitual that no matter how ready I seem to be to get to an appointment, I get late and is that life, I live abroad and you need to see how you get addressed because you come late to work or appointment.

Charity they say begins at home, let's cultivate the act of keeping to time and stop the "african time ish", it's not fascinating at all and let the charity start from our Institution before it becomes an habit which we will have to struggle with in adult life by then it will be difficult to curb the excesses.

So u are simply saying that this makes sense to u? Like u said u received similar treatment as a child and u still didn't learn, so how will this help the child? Things like this lead to truancy this looks like a primary sch for crying out loud! I schooled in nigeria and I came late on some days in a federal sch I was never locked outside the gate rather u come in get spanked or serve punishment. Pls don't use your unique character to construct your judgement on another child's future.

So u went to school? ??

Shit happens

Innocentia Annie said...

Extremely bad

that' wrong,,because its quite risky leaving her out there alone..they should have allowed her inside then call her parents or guardian.

At least, they should have allowed her in first, b4 punishment.

Ele said...

In my opinion, i think its the other way around. The school authority may have locked the gate to secure the other children from intruders without the knowledge that another may have come by so late. I think the parent that dropped off the child without ensuring that the child is in the school compound should be crucified instead.

It was a public Hoda now.....June 12