Photos: Cosmopolitan features 3 Chibok Girls who fled Boko Haram captivity | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 June 2015

Photos: Cosmopolitan features 3 Chibok Girls who fled Boko Haram captivity

Mercy, Sarah, and Deborah are some of the Chibok Girls who escaped from Boko Haram captivity last year. They now live in a small town in Oregun, USA. The three girls, another one named Grace who didn't want to be photographed for the feature are quietly finishing their education at the Canyonville Christian Academy, a boarding school with students from more than a dozen countries.

The girls said arriving in the US seemed like they had arrived in Mars as they had grown up in deeply poor, rural villages with no Internet access and in some cases a sole landline phone for the entire village. In Oregon, everything was new: winter weather, puffy coats, remote controls, trampolines, yogurt-covered pretzels, cheerleaders, ice skating, karaoke. They spoke only a little English.

The first girl to arrive, Mercy, came this past November. School president Doug Wead recalls Mercy's first-ever encounter with an escalator. As she stepped onto the moving staircase at the airport, she panicked and dropped her bag. That night, at the hotel, she took a bath and stayed there for hours. "Later, my wife checked in on her, and she was asleep on the bed, lying on top of the fluffy comforter," says Wead. "Her coat was on, fully zipped."

The girls came to Canyonville with the help of a nonprofit group in Virginia, the Jubilee Campaign, and activists from Nigeria. The girls, all of whom are Christian, live in constant uncertainty, unsure whether relatives are alive or dead, whether their homes have been burned. They keep in touch with loved ones by phone when possible amid the chaos.

In a campus lounge overlooking a creek and a bridge, Grace arrives for her interview on a Wednesday afternoon. Wearing skinny jeans and pink flip-flops, she looks like a typical American student, except for the deep anxiety on her face. Her counselor, Debbie Horton, is there with me. The Chibok girls, all 18 years old, have been meeting with the counselor since their arrival. Grace came in December with classmates Sarah and Deborah, a few weeks after Mercy. Cosmopolitan is withholding their last names for safety. Grace recently lost her brother, two uncles, and a cousin, all killed by Boko Haram.

Read their full story here

85 comments:

Interesting story!

Wow!!! Thank God these girls didn't waste. Kudos,Brave girls #CharleyAngels

Ok cool

Thanks to the uncreated Creator for their lives.

We still hope the others are found safe and sound in Jesus name. Say Amen for them. Isah 43:19

Remyne05 said...

So happy for them.

I am so happy for them. Lucky children

Awww! So nice of them.
#ChibokGirls never to be forgotten.
The fight for the Chibok girls is the fight for the soul of Nigeria.

Eeeeh! See Abokis feeling funky. Well we thank God for their lives. Linda take note!

May God be praised,*goose pimples all over*these beautiful girls actually met with those men!!There is God.He saved these ones,see how their lives have changed!wow

Oregon, USA.... You wrote "Oregun".

B.

I can see the girl in pink is settling just fine.See how misfortune turns into a blessing o.Thats God for u

FinFreedom said...

Are these really part of the Chibok girls? Swag don change o. :D

OVER 40 RWIN LUCKY WINNERS AND COUNTING! YOU COULD BE THE NEXT PERSON TO WIN N250,000! Click here for details

Thank God their lives are better now.

Oregun USA? There I was thinking Oregun was in Lagos.
Seriously though, sad stuff. Can't imagine the woman's pain.

you are witholding their names but you can post their full pictures. with the way boko haram networks, are we sure they wont trace these innocent girls. na wa ohh

That's nice.

Ohk oooo tnk God for der new found life everytn dt happen is in d past nw.

Thank God

Thats cool.....

God bless them, and I wish them well.

they look happy... dis is good stuff

juliet iwuno,you are just a goat.what is the 'aboki' for?ewu gambia take note oloshi

You could just see through them. The joy in their minds is written all over them. May God take charge and help those still in captivity to be released.

Hmmmm happy they'll now have a good future.

But this oyibo people can exaggerate oh! "They spoke only a little English"??, I know they schooled in d far north but I thought they were also writing their SSCE exams, how is it even possible that they spoke only a little English?
The western world and their one sided story of Africa. SMH

Being Tochi said...

At least they should use a little makeup na

Finally Ladies! Getting a shoe that is your size won't be a problem anymore! Prinziah Big Feet brings a wide variety of large shoe sizes for ladies (EUR - 46, U.S - 13) to your door steps. We also take special orders for smaller and larger footwears (pumps, flats, sandals, heels, peep-toes, wedges, boots, bridal and casual shoes) in different quantites at affordable prices from N5000. Be one of the first two to place an order now from the new arrivals at Prinziah Big Feet and get a 10% discount... Like our facebook page www.facebook.com/prinziahbigfeet and contact us on BBM - pin:3340F687 ... Whatsapp - 08133415730 #everybodylovesdiscounts \=D/

@juliet, I don't normally comment on this blog neither am I an hausa, but as a human being I must say you're very thoughtless and daft, what kinda reckless comment is this. You're the one who should better take note and visit a doctor @ a mental institution for help. Ugly chimp I sure say u no fine reach anyone of them, na jealousy go kill u. Ewu!!

THNK GOD FOR U GUYS LYF....TOMJERRYSWIT

lami said...

This goes to show there is always light at the end of a tunnel, the fall of man is not the end of his life.

l hope dey no carry belle abi dem remove em?

Accidental celebrities.

Lucky dem, thank God dey survived

Saint said...

This is how Christians fight back by touching lifes.fuck boko haram

How a disadvantage transformed to an advantage.

How nice. Im really happy for them. Wish others can be found and also benefit from this kind gesture.

@Juliet Iwuno I wonder the kind of human being you must be; that a situation like this that even the devil himself will have course to thank and glorify God for the life of these girls, you are there feeling jealous. I pray you experience boko haram for you to appreciate what these girls have gone through in life. Foolish idiot girl.

Hmmmmm from grass to grace

Sincere George said...

Thank God for their life!! The look hapi indeed.

Really happy for them....

na wa.. christains de try sha.. in fact the more good andopen armed christains are to muslims, it appears the more they hate christains. .. after all this these their is a high risk these girls go still carry hate towards christains and suport those who plot agains the US.. its is written.. it can never change.. Sarah ... Hagar. we thank God for their lives sha.

So happy for em. #ChibokGirlsInTrousers

AGB said...

Africans! We can be funny ehn. All of a sudden, all of them's names are Grace,Mercy,Sarah? Is it the usual annoying "I must fit in" inferiority complex that most of our people have that made them start using their foreign names or these were actually their first names back at home on every other regular day?

Good is good.

Lolz @Bonita Bislam i know you wish to be in those girls position right now hehehehe see if you can relocate to Borno because next turn e fit be you :)

I'm so happy for them

No bi only Oregun, na Alausa, lol. Olodo Linda, it's OREGON!

vvvbb

jamal cojo said...

Thought am the only one that saw it...*far too kind*

Thank God for their life,

ravenmortal said...

Linda, its OREGON. Oregun is in Lagos.

Thank God for their lives. I am proud to be a christian. May God continue to bless AMERICA.

prettiyz said...

Thank God for them and may God bless those u gave them the chance of a new and better life

This is sooooo sad. Brings tears to my eyes

coco ice said...

lol

it is Oregon, not Oregun abeg. later u will join in making fun of PMB for saying West-Germany. It just shows that we are all imperfect.

They have been destined for greatness. They would never thought they would be here today.

They're all beautiful young women. Good luck to them.

Oh yes. God's love is constant if we trust Him. We thank God for their lives.

YOU SHLDN'T BE PUTTING THEIR SCHOOL NAME HERE. IS IT SAFE FOR THEM? BCOS IT WAS POSTED ON COSMO DOESNT MEAN U SHLD WIDESPREAD IT. U HAVE A WIDER COVERAGE IN NIGERIA. #JUSTSAYING

ThatBluntGuy said...

It's official, Linda is a village goat. It's OREGON and not OREGUN. Oregun dey for Lagos and Oregon is a state in the US.

LusciousBerry said...

Lindodo, 'OREGUN' Kee......, abamena. Its Oregon sweety. You should check for typos before posting.

Oregun ke? Abi Oregon loll

Why don't my comments ever appear on here? Is it because I'm using a bb?

And if dy did so what!

Dy dint exaggerate oo. Hausas re so terrible wen it comes 2 English. Dy lecture dm in Hausa, job interview in hausa. So very very possible a uni graduate can't even speak English .

it is Oregon, not Oregun. Later u will join the haters to mock PMB on his statement of calling Germany West-Germany. This just tell u, we are not perfect. So certain things should be overlooked and not for U to make News out of it.

TONIA GREEN said...

The lines have fallen upon them in pleasant places. May God turn around every bad situation for good good. Our God is more than able!

The voice of the prophetess

Oregun????? Na for Ikeja???? Oregon abeg!!!!!

Amen

Bosslady said...

Juliet u're a very big fool... Anu ofia... Bloody bastard!!!

McAjiye said...

Oregun ko, Ajangbadi ni

Liar Liar Liar Liar

Juliet chasing money on LIB since 19 teba. Go and make yourself relevant somewhere pls.

Oregun? Like seriously??? Gosh. Linda try for yourself ah beg.

Most of the kidnapped chibok girls are Christians. Daft

Don't worry. I have already responded to that jobless cow. Poverty is just chasing her everywhere. She eats and sleep on this blog in d hope of winning one tuketuke money. Linda take note indeed.

Lily of Nigeria said...

Tochi which one is a little makeup again? Is a crime that they didn't use? What happened to freedom of choice? Allow them to enjoy their lives!

www.iblogwithgrace.blogspot.com

Sometimes, our misfortunes takes us to where God wants us to be.

Innocentia Annie said...

Thank God for their lives

I was going to say Oregun don reach America? Lol

Latest Online Information said...

See Abokis feeling funky. Well we thank God for their lives

Thank God for the lives of these beautiful, young girls. Happy to see them happy and hopeful for a bright future. Let's hope PMB will rescue the other girls soon and bring smiles to both their faces and families as well.

Oregun, USA! Haba Linda!

Oregun at Ikeja, or there is Oregun in USA