Buhari to earn N14.4m annual salary + See what others will earn | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 June 2015

Buhari to earn N14.4m annual salary + See what others will earn

According to a report by Vanguard, this is what President Buhari, VP Osinbajo and other top govt officials will earn. Isn't it too small though? Read full report from Vanguard below...
The Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission, RMAFC, has reviewed the salaries of the President, Vice President, Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives and Speakers in the 36 states of the federation, as well as well other legislators in both the National and State Assemblies among other public officers in the country. Based on the total package prepared by the RMAFC, President Muhammadu Buhari ‘s annual salary and allowances stand at N14, 4 million.

The break down shows that his Basic Salary is N 3,514,705 and Hardship allowance, N1,757,350:50. Constituency N 8,786,762:50 and Leave Allowance – N351, 470.
Buhari will receive a 400 per cent increase in his salary amounting N14. 058 million, as gratuity upon a successful completion of his tenure.

The Federal Government is to provide him with all his needs including vehicles, Special Assistants, Personal Assistants, entertainment, security, utility bills,newspapers, medical bills and clothings.
The president’s estacode and Duty Tour allowance were not specified.

However, the Vice President Osinbajo is to receive an annual Basic Salary of N2,064, 400; Hardship allowance- N1, 515, 786.25 and a Constituency Allowance of N7, 578, 931.25, bringing his total annual earning to N12.1million.

About 75 per cent of his annual basic salary would be paid for vehicles and their maintenance if he chooses to buy his vehicles and maintain them.

He is to receive another 25 per cent to hire his Personal Assistants; 75 per cent for domestic staff; 45 per cent for entertainment and 30 per cent for utility.

The VP is to receive a separate 20 per cent of his salary for monitoring; 200 per cent for accommodation and 300 per cent for furniture.

His duty Tour Allowance stands at N 35, 000 per night and an estacode of $900 per night.
He is to receive 10 per cent of his salary as Leave Allowance and 300 per cent as gratuity upon a successful completion of his tenure.

National Assembly
Also, following a downward review of salaries and allowances of both the National and State Assembly legislators, the Senate President will receive a basic annual salary of N2, 484, 242.50 and allowance of N6. 2 million, bringing the total to N8. 69Million. His monthly salary is about N724, 570. In addition, he collects 250 per cent of his Annual Salary as Constituency Allowance.

However, his vehicles and their maintenance are provided by the federal government. Similarly, his domestic staff, entertainment, utilities, security responsibility, Legislative Aids, House Maintenance an, as well as a Special Adviser and a Personal Assistant are provided by the federal government.
Similarly Robe (clothing) and newspapers are provided for the Senate President.

The Deputy Senate President enjoys the same benefits except that his Annual Basic Salary stands at N 2,309,166.75, total allowance N 5,772,916.8, bringing total annual salary to 8,082,083.63 and a monthly pay of N 673,506.97

The Senate Majority Leader receives a salary of N12, 968, 960.

The Minority leader receives a total annual salary of N12, 908, 168. The Whip receives N12, 867 . The same applies to Committee Chairmen. Incidentally in the last administration almost all senators were chairmen of various committees.

The allowances received by the members of the upper legislative chamber is far more than their salaries indicate.
For instance, each senator receives 75 per cent of the annual salary as allowance for a vehicle and its maintenance.
They collect another 75 per cent of their salaries for domestic staff; 30 per cent for entertainment; 30 per cent for utilities; 25 per cent for robe (clothing); and 250 per cent as constituency allowance.

Others include, another allowance unspecified which stands at 53 per cent; newspapers 15 per cent; Personal Assistance, 24 per cent; and House maintenance 5 per cent.

House of Reps
At the House of Representatives, the Speaker receives a total annual salary of N 4,334,942.50.
Just like the Senate President, the federal government provides his vehicles and their maintenance .
His domestic staff, entertainment, utilities, security responsibility, Legislative Aids, House Maintenance an, as well as a Special Adviser and a Personal Assistant are provided by the federal government.
Similarly Robe (clothing) and newspapers are provided for the Speaker by the Federal Government.
He receives 75 per cent of his salary as constituency allowance.

The Deputy speaker whose annual salary stands at 4,002,309.94 enjoys similar benefits as the speaker.
The Majority Leader of the House, the Minority Leader, the Chief Whip and Chairmen of Committees receive annual salaries of N 6, 352,680.00.
In addition, they receive 50 per cent of their salaries as Vehicle and Maintenance allowance; another 50 per cent for domestic staff; 10 per cent for utilities and another 10 per cent for House maintenance.

House of Assembly
Speakers of the State Houses of Assembly enjoy all the benefits as their federal counterpart where virtually all they need are provided with public funds. However, their annual salaries stand at N 2,049,843.75 and a Constituency Allowance of N25 per cent of their Annual Salaries.

Deputy Speaker receives N 1,807,478.13 and 25 per cent of same as constituency allowance.
Members at the House of Assemblies receive annual salaries of N 2,473,866.25.
In addition, they receive 20 per cent for vehicles; 25 per cent for domestic staff, 10 per cent for utilities; 25 per cent each for robe, constituency , Personal Assistant and 5 per cent for newspapers.

The decision to review the current salaries and allowances of the nations’ public office holders received approval of many members of the public who had complained that the Nigerian law makers were about the highest paid in the world. These are the official earnings of these political office holders. But their spoils of office amount to several millions and even billions of naira in recent past.

Read the rest on Vanguard

118 comments:

Wow...isn't that too much for one person?

That's Good #AmOut

Anthony Uba said...

Nice one, I hope it doesnt end in writing and publication. I hope it goes down to practical.

Hmmmm.

They will still get some side cut.

Nice one, I pray and hope they all stick to just what we read here.
Change is here!
Masugudu sugudu

Linda those amount are not small. Nigeria is a corrupt country, there are other back ways these guys earn other money from. Those figures are formality, they all earn more than that.

APPLELIPX said...

I want to believe it includes all allowances as well, if true, den gbese don catch pple this time around. Quite thoughtful of him

Baby girl said...

This is nt"change" anymore. + d money he'll embezzle o

Not bad. I love this government

mzmaris said...

Small linda?.......someone forgot to publish the one they'd steal

This report na lie, senators earn as much as 40,000000 just in a month. This is made up report to make us stop imposing salary reduction. But if is true, welcome development. To make political offices unacctractive.

Dis is too good to b true. Allowance's far more than d salaries they receive. I not for anytin tak dis to my dream bcos I wouldn't believe it.

Biko they should park well, and stop deceiving Nigerians. Those dat published dis rubbish r all out to fool themsef, and not Nigerians.

I don't want to believe Jonathans annual income is 14million naira.. Woooow.. Surprisingly kinda small.. I expected 20 at least

Dave Mide said...

On paper!

steven otong said...

I see why politicians kill just to serve Nigeria

Its cool. Nice review. Please where's the "like" button, I need to like this update. Nice one.

Kponskii said...

I pray Ooo. E get who dey depend solely on salary? Nice move though.

Ada lolo said...

Linda are you sure this is it? Then why are they fighting over the positions? Nonesence

This is just too much... Choi!😳😳😳

Linda stop that play oh. How is their earnings too small. Do u know how much Obama earns anually? Eeehe . linda abeg I heard you are a billionaire worth 2.3 billion, please if this is true, tell me I will relocate from U.s to Nig to join you in the business. Thank u

Choi...this administration must b full of gr8 economist...see splashing...don't think dey'll implement it tho...#just saying

Hmn

Too small? please we all know that they will profit big from other projects and what have u? we just pray they do their jobs and make life easier for the electorates.

i think the change is here and all Nigerians should embrace it since the leaders are doing same.

Shelterlovely@gmail.com said...

Linda its not small haba.how many ordinary Nigerian dey see that kind money.we need change

Hmmmmmmmm all na facade jare next pls.

Hahaha haha OK nah

This is actually a good move by the PUBLIC SERVANTS
Whether their salaries are publicized or not, at the end of the day everybody knows what their take home 'package' is...

Fair enough

Lol,iro nla

shola bright said...

Oluwa olorun eledumara oooo

Not that small lindodo, the scale is okay.

Eric Uroh said...

Stories

Omg!! See money oo isn't that much? Just asking

RichyGame said...

Linda, how e nor go small when you dey pocket like N20m monthly? He he

Its not too small..do you know how much obama collects?

Somebody shld wake me up
Nigeria's govt. is fucking expensive
Very

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

gossip girl said...

God!!!see money

What of all the traveling allowances? make una go sit down joor who are u people deceiving

SWT AMAKA said...

Dats Gud#dats d change#sai Baba

Z said...

This is a welcomed development. I think it was one of his campaign promises: lowering the salary of politicians.

Why won't do anything possible to get to that presidency post?
Check other countries αи∂ tell me Nigeria is not running a fucking expensive govt!
Αи∂ not just these they told us, what of side money they will be pocketing? Stealing αи∂ embezzling other public funds????
So many graduates are there, some not even earning 50k per month.....
Let my mouth bend if I say this is nice. Its not at all
But again, can I do anything? Nope!
Just sit down αи∂ look

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

And they still call this a downward review?

Not too small...This is just to feed the public...a lot more will be stolen and it won't be publicised

You see what Buhari has brought up?tell me how good luck and his wife could aquire all they had if this is what he said as being paid.GOD Bless Buhari forever.This is how governance should be to serve not to embezzle.Kudos to Gmb.

hahahaha.... Some politicians would find the downward review unattractive. That's a way to go n a welcome development. Many greedy politicians would start withdrawing from politics henceforth. The status quo is changing.

So I earn more than Buhari, that's nice to hear.

You need anything from the UK? Contact me. I can do the running around and make sure your goods get to you for a lil' amount. Contact me on bitai2015@yahoo.co.uk

This is a big lie.

Damilola said...

Who is fooling who? For most of them they don't touch their salary during their whole tenure

Lol do they actually think we will believe this? Lol please this government should just face their duties and stop trying to impress. By the way, it's way too small. They should have tried better figures.

Am seriously doubting this list abeg.....

That's much

Pics: Actress Eniola Badmus Spotted on a Run with her wedding gown in London (SEE HERE)

The money is okay for them.

LnrShuqs said...

That's a good start for CHANGE to take place.

Slashing salaries is like taking a cup of water from the ocean. They can earn more than that from other source in the govt.

OLAMZ said...

Small ke? Comparw it to what other word leaders earn then you will know better.. Besides if they can sacrifice for the betternment if naija, we supporr their movement!!!

Good to know

Not too small, we gat to learn to make do with what we have & not borrow. Linda take note!

Linda how is this too small? Where is the money? Isn't it time we cut our coats according to our size
I work with d federal civil service, 9 months now no salary

Okowright Balaxy said...

Minus what they will steal...Eye service.

Lies!! Dont believe it!!

Egunje ensures that they are all multi millionaires. Don't worry about their salary Linda

How much was the last govt paid?

chuks Change Agent said...

These are just the official earnings as it is supposed to be and nothing more. But I assure you that you will be surprised to find that most of them will not remember the account where these official earnings are paid into because their other unofficial 'egunje' is more than 5000% over.

plus what they will steal. lol

NOT TOO SMALL? YOU HAVE TO BE KIDDING

THESE ARE THE GOING EXECUTIVE SALARY RATES IN THE COUNTRY.

THIS IS A DEMOCRACY NOT A PLUTOCRACY MY DEAR LINDA

Isn't that what the last govt. administrators were earning?.Linda it was.

Of course. The info is for the uninitiated!!! Can they buy mansions and maintain their extravagant lifestyle with this? So what's their purpose of campaign and winning at all cost?

Rawls said...

Change indeed..

Mamapapa said...

The Senate Presido and those below him will say NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dis is too good to b true. Allowance's far more than d salaries they receive. I not for anytin tak dis to my dream bcos I wouldn't believe it.

Biko they should park well, and stop deceiving Nigerians. Those dat published dis rubbish r all out to fool themsef, and not Nigerians.

What of benefits and allowances? How much?

Mamapapa said...

This seems like a lie. How come the Senate president earns less than the majority leader? And why is the salary of the Speaker of the House so small?

Ode ni e. Illetrate

publisher! wake up from your slumber!! this is Nigeria!!!

Baby girl said...

Awww..did u jst say "illeterate"?smh . Ur fone shud ve corrected u even if u dunno d right spelling

This report most obviously be monthly even as at that, why is the Majority Leader's salary more than the Senate President. David Mark no go kill us oh! I feel this report is a fiction of someone's imagination sha

What is this? speak,house of assembly...2m? that's like 160k + per month...2 bottles of ace is his salary? NAH! They should increase it biko...

No is very good. Sai Buhari all the way, I know I did not cast my vote for noting, change is here already corruption must go in Nigeria.

Wow! Dis is indeed part of d change we r talking abt

All these money, yet the country is not moving forward. Wouldn't it be better to reduce it so they will actually work to earn their pay.

No dear, too small wen compared annually...
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

I agree that $70K is on the low side.

I'm sure U kw dey wudnt stick to dat
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

U got a point!
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *

Linda, serving the people is not equivalent to running a business. Public service the world over is a job that leaves you in penury while you are on the job. if you want to make money, wait until you leave government or dont join government. Now, when you leave certain government positions, you become a power broker. That is when you peddle influence to get rich. But not while you are in govt. The pay seems completely okay.

Hembafan said...

Is it? The former president collected up to
N56 million a month! So you can imagine how much has been slashed. The other basic things they would leave when they have completed their tenures

This is just the begining of change being clamoured for. Sai Buhari!

Stella said...

Nawaoooooooooo.d money is way 2much.I wish d change they are talking about wil start manifesing in dis government.

richeart4u said...

We Nigerians has trust issue. They don this na lie, they do that na lie, then what do we want self? Haba. If they do, una go talk, they no do, una go yarn, wetin self? Linda that said is this not too much knows what she is talking about. Before a senator receive close to 40million in a month as salary compare to what is posted above if and only if it's true. But till then, time will tell. Mind you they are not the only one stealing money from other sources apart from dir salaries.

That's fair you know?

Nice one Mr president.

prettiyz said...

When they r being paid all this money y won't Nigeria be in dept

linda how could you say it is too small!!! is it because you have money. so many people cannot eat in nigeria. im very disappointed that would day that....nigeria is one of the countries that have the highest paid politicians. american president does not even earn that

This is what they want us to see...we are not even behind the scene....so this hold no ground...the difference between salary of Senate president and majority leader shows these people r confused and only gave a write up to suck on..this is not d truth..trust me...

ry! said...

This Linda sef, if the thing is more than that, you would be one of those to first criticise...Abeg the don't just look at the salaries alone, look at benefits too

STORY FOR THE gods LINDA MAKE I HEAR WORD ABEG!!!!JC.

Good

HOW CAN A WHOLE PRESIDENT BE ON N14m. ABEG BUHARI STOP THIS IF IT'S A JOKE. N14m IS TOO SMALL NA. HABA. PLS DONT TRY TO PLEASE NIGERIANS. INCREASE YOUR SALARY. THE SALARY IS TOO SMALL COMPARED TO THE STRESSFUL JOB THAT YOU WILL BE DOING.

Gold said...

Good Change. I hope subsequent presidents and others will follow suit. APC!!!! CHANGE.

Its reasonable if u ask me. Its just unfortunate that its not the only money that they take home at the end of the day. Will this administration be different? Only time will tell.

Hembafan or whatever you call your self,are you in dream land?. Pls do not make any comment on things you do not know about.

d money is 2 much

story for the gods and ancestors,too much indeed ,do u know how much dese guys take home mnthly,nd they r saying 14m monthly,wat is 14million for a president...we r waiting fr the behind the scenes

These are their monthly allowances not annual. For this to change, the National assembly who has not signed a single bill yet, will have to amend the laws. APC will play into the hands of PDP again with these lies.

Info System said...

What are the allowances, that is what we want to know. Obama eats from his own salary.

Chaaaaaaiiiii Our money eeee. homh

DR. ABBA. said...

very good beginning God help you Mr. president. may you live long.

My question is what are they being paid all these incomes and allowances for? They earn these amounts for four years, plus all kinds of egu nje wey dey inside but don't deliver even their campaign promises, to start with. A teachers' competence is measured by the average performance of his or her class.
The well being of an average Nigerian should be the yardstick to check whether these guys deserve what they earn. But it seems being able to win the election is the justification to earn these millions in Nigeria.

Change to sustain is one which ensures that the country is moving forward in the right direction and the citizens are having better living standard, good education for the future and upcoming actors in the next generation political spectrum, security improvement, adequate healthcare and so on. That, my friends should be the only justification for earning these figures that are stated above. Our politician's vision is only that which shows how to embezzle and loot.

Why just 'seen'? Why? Pls kindly choke on a car jack.