Photos: Nigerian Defender collapses & dies while playing a match | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 June 2015

Photos: Nigerian Defender collapses & dies while playing a match

A 30 year old Nigerian defender, David Faramola Oniya who plays for a Malaysian based club, T-Team died today June 13th on the field during a Friendly match between his club and another club.

Malaysian media reports that David, who recently signed with his club, slumped three minutes into the match in Kota Bharu, a Malaysian city. He was rushed to the hospital where he was certified dead.

The Chief Executive Officer of his club, Zahrizan Mohd Zain said Oniya did not receive medical treatment quick enough which could have possibly saved his life. He said the driver of the medical bus stationed at the stadium left the bus and went to the gallery to watch the match and so when David collapsed, he could not immediately get oxygen

'He suffered a heart attack but it could have been a different story had the ambulance driver was alert. The driver was at the stands watching the game when Oniya suddenly collapsed and our defender was deprived of oxygen for several minutes.'he said
May his soul rest in peace, Amen.

80 comments:

Omg rip

Sad rest in peace

Pics: Man Found Living with Dead Sister's Skeleton and Two Pet Dogs in his Bedroom (SEE HERE)

So sad. We will all die someday. Rip

Very sad.. May his soul RIP....

May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace

Married Woman Caught Cheating on her Husband Recieves Public Punishment while People Watch

Lady Caught and Publicly Disgraced for Stealing Washed Clothes from Someone’s Compound

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

Pidgin Mistress said...

May is soul rest in peace

May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

OMG!!!!!RIP DAVID! May God grant his family the heart to bear the lost(amen).

You people just indicted yourselves, you committed murder by negligence

May his soul rest in perfect peace

May his soul rest in perfect peace.AMEN

ehyaaa,sad..RIP

That's unfortunate.
RIP to the dead.

Rip bro

shuga bae said...

Daz too bad! Oh God y? All de same rip 2 de dead..

shuga bae said...

Daz too bad! Oh God y? All de same rip 2 de dead..

Rest in the bosom of the lord...wish ur family the fortitude to bear dis lost

Rip

Not again. RIP.

favybabe14 said...

Amen...RIP dave

johnnie said...

Sad

Tomorrow i'm going to play soccer..i shall not die in the pitch..Amen!

Choi!!! RIP...

Olajuwon Mubarak said...

Sad much! May his soul rest in peace!!!!

Que Sera Sera

Olajuwon Mubarak said...

Sad much! May his soul rest in peace!!!!

Que Sera Sera

Too bad......sleep on

So sad! Rip to him.

Amen,RIP

Maybe one of the envy players could have given him acupuncture pin at his back or neck. You never can tell, some Asians are racist

So sad, May his soul RIP...

Quicc to put d Blame on a poor driver...... Am sure d coach was careless too wit her players

R I P .

Oh! Jesus. He went to Igbobi College, and what a cute guy he is. This is just too much to bare.

Wat a gr8 loss, RIP.

RIP bro

It has happened. Nobody should be blamed. He had over worked himself cos he was trying so hard to impress his new club. Its really sad...if anyone told him he would die in the field, he would have rejected it. Moral lesson: be ready for death every minute

Choi....this is so sad. Rest in Peace Onyia.

prettymojies said...

This slumping ish is becoming rampant. May God come 2 our rescue. Rip to him.

bummyla said...

May His Soul Rest In Perfect Peace In The Lord Jesus! Amen!

What A Waste Of A Young Life!

http://bummyla.com

jennykurt said...

So sad

Amen ooo

RIP Onyia

So sad, R.I.P man

What's with football and deaths biko nu. RIP

Damola Gbadegesin said...

RIP.

Hmmm!!which kine news bi dis na

Awhole defender!!yeye don dey smell for football

May his soul rest in the Lord.. Amen🙏

RIP...

RIP...

Rip

Tendency oby said...

RIP Oniya

Eh yah! Rip

Dats sad. Ouch!

All these our Naija people sef. What are they doing in that dangerous country called Malaysia

If u know u have heart problems, why play a tideous game like football

And the boy looks very healthy oh. What could have gone wrong?

May his soul rest in peace

gudgonbad said...

So sad...may his soul RIP

Rest his soul! Not trying to take anything away from this guy but how hard is it that people go to Malaysia to ply professional football?! How bad is it in this country, that we can't point to one sector and say with pride, 'It is working.'

Hmmmm medical negligence RIP

RIP bro.

Just imagine. RiP

No be oxygen, d family don kpuff am frm naija.

If am guessing right, dis is d 2nd Nigeria footballer dat had died on d pitch. God help us oooo!

Larry Chivalon said...

Our people should be careful with this Malaysia craze, see the so call ambulance, that simple a hiace bus which is not well equip to keep someone alive until they arrived at the hospital.

Cynthus said...

So sad. RIP

I will miss you my Brother

May his soul RIP

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

May God rest his soul....

Oh my God! Dis is elder Oniya's son. I remember him so well in juvenile church with his brother Faramade. Dis is really sad...May God grant his family d fortitude to bear dis great loss...RIP BRO

DAVIDO's DADDY said...

go and get a job you this MAN called davido washer or cleaner or whatever u call yourself

May his soul Rest In Peace

Na only God knw maybe he has sold one of his kidney so he can join the club.

Ozioko G said...

Chai oh sorry oo rest in peace

Very tall and handsome, may God rests your soul. Amen

So sad, I sympathise with his family