Ambode declares June 12 a work free day for Gov workers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 June 2015

Ambode declares June 12 a work free day for Gov workers

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, has declared today a work free day to commemorate the annulment of June 12, 1993 elections.

In a statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Habib Aruna, Ambode said the date marked a watershed in the annals of transparent, free and fair elections in the country.

He said June 12, 1993 was the day Nigerians voted in one voice across ethnic, racial and religious lines, saying it represented the real Democracy Day when Nigerians said no to voting along ethnic lines.
He said regrettably, 22 years after the annulment, the Nigerian nation was still grappling with some of the vices, which the June 12, 1993 elections sought to confine to the dustbin of history through undue clinging to ethnic cleavages by some political gladiators.

17 comments:

Ok.
Noted.

Ooo

Sai changii.

Happy remembrance day 2d June 12 hero MKO Abiola.

If Abiola was not killed by d power dat were then he wil hav b d President of Nigeria.

RIP to him, and I wish him well where ever he is in d world beyond.

Ok cool, dese lagosians really need d brk abeg

Which workers are free work today? Abeg make una park well.

andre kelvin said...

But this Ambode head big sha

Ohk correct governor

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

abujakenneth said...

Tinubu should also declare it at the centre

That's good

DATS HOW IT SHUD BE...TOMJERRYSWIT

I can NOT believe my eyes and eyes. So people in western Nigeria are declaring a public holiday for an annulled election after how many decades?

This is a complete WASTE. In a nut shell a long weekend for the state civil servants?

Moron!

UK Tog

Lip Service Continues. Govt time, govt money, govt microphones. What's ur personal contribution 2 that ur Yeye fact; nothing, zip, nada. U & Ur kinsmen urged the guy 2 return from "EXILE" he did. They put in jail. What did u do; nothing, zip, nada. Then the day of his supposed 'FREEDOM' they killed him. Nothing, zip, nada. U continued 2 eat amalla. Now it's free time free money free megaphone.

I see Ambode, as a man of wisdom, I can remember today in 1993. When I was a little boy then, also when my parent went to pool to cast their vote. MKO Abiola, was the man of the people then, when he contested with IBB and won but IBB did not allow him to rule, they should all remember those power hungers that think Nigeria belong to them alone and they are not going to leave forever. May MKO Abiola soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

@Irabor, there is no wisdom in this. Commemorate the date by all means but a whole day that the state will not generate public funds? That's very poor economic planning. I live in England where every public holiday has been planned and deficits adjusted decades ahead. This banana republic of Nigeria is something else.

If pres. Buhari is really serious about democracy in Nigeria, the first thing he should do is revoke May 29 as democracy Day and give it to the rightful owner, June 12. That day symbolizes the Supreme Price MKO Paid to enshrine true Democracy