Dealing with meeting targets in your place of work | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 June 2015

Dealing with meeting targets in your place of work

I've put money in two Nigerian banks because of banker friends who told me they have a target to meet every month/year. Others have come asking me to help them out, but mehn, how many bank accounts is one supposed to have? I don't know how it works because I've never worked for any company before but it must put a lot of pressure on a worker who needs to meet a particular (money) target every month. Below is something that was sent to a LIB reader by her company...
 1. In-view of the knowledge you have been impacted with on the job, which we believe you can now use to fully benefit (the company) in terms of making profit, salaries will be target based. Which indicates that your monthly salary of N100,000 will be paid fully if you meet a target of N500,000 monthly in terms of getting businesses for (the company)
2. In case you are not able to achieve the set target, a basic salary of N25,000 will be paid and 10% commission on every amount you make for (the company). This takes effect from Tuesday 2nd June, 2015.
So, she said she will now be paid N25k because she can't meet that N500k monthly target. But are companies who demand this, unreasonable or they are within their rights to, because you have to make profit to pay salary, right? What do you guys think?

62 comments:

Interesting piece

Nawa ohh

Meet the 3 Most Influential Women in Nigeria Right Now (SEE HERE)

Hard realities

Arrant nonsense. Dat's y we got sme of em prostituting 2 hv der demands met.

Ozioko G said...

well dear don't do anything yea a dine of thing in the name of friendship(s) be as wise as serpent and smart as dove yea i mean there are terms and conditions in whatever one does make sure u study them next time before embarking on such a journey thank

shola bright said...

Smiles and cool

Honestly, marketing sucks ( no disrespect 2 marketers) but dis "target" is what makes most ladies go 2 d extreme......can u imagine d above scenario?

Iam_Blaise said...

Did anyone find this article boring after "Below is something that was sent to a LIB reader by her company"

Ask those bastards in AIRTEL.... Slave drivers!

Kponskii said...

The corporate sector,especially banking, is no tea meal. Those in the marketing dept are the worst hit. These institutions need all the profit they can make to stay afloat. On the flip side, some of us have to go the extreme mile to meet up to the set target. I left the banking sector a while back and pitched my tent with a top Pension firm. Though the yearly target run into billions, with hard work and luck, I sort of pull through...u can't blame them for cutting back when the said staff isn't performing. My opinion!

Its not fair at all....she has a choice to make....
Accept it or reject the idea and resign.

Lol "Latoya Forever"

This is somehow unfair but you can't blame the the company because they ave bills to pay too.

And this people can't make the target if they are the ones on the job o, and they expect some young people to turn to super marketers overnight!!! And they say they are providing!!! Won ku ise!!! (Well done!!!)

Hmmmmmm

Airtel too is like that although they pay your full salary but the pressure and abuse we staffs get is un called for. Airtel should be banned from Nigeria.

U havs said it all. So nothing else for me to say. One man meat another man poison.

Nice one #AmOut

Wickedness Simple.

That's what most marketers in banks do.

Just being careful, most bank have problems, think and pray before any action.

This info should be decided at the point of employment. If its not on the terms and conditions of the work, then its wrong.
Atleast you should know the nature of the job before venturing into any appointment. And these companies are really demanding a whole lot from their workers. Really don't fancy jobs like this.

I can remember in 2012 I was employed to work in Fidelity bank for 100k and target of 100million,I was sacked after 2 months and after that I vowed never to have anything to do with Bank work,they can give one high blood pressure.I love my job now,no pressure,no hassle but at least work hard.

bankyblur said...

It's crazy tho, but b4 u got d job, u were told the terms and conditions and you agreed. If u don't make proit for the company, how will they pay u salary. Is it from their losses?

wat? Linda pls I will love to work in dat her company oo. I dnt even work in a bank, I am a sales man for an IT firm and my target every month is 20,000,000. yes u read right, 20million. I earn 150k and 16% of my salary is tired to dat target. if I dnt meet my target , I will earn around 130k. if I dnt deliver in 6months, I will b asked to leave. pls tell ur friend she is enjoying where she is.

This is an absolute exploitation and corporate slavery . Hence , targets are not made to be met. Period.

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Is really annoying what our industries are doing to graduates now all in the name of target meeting.How can a graduate with a good grade be paid 25,ooo naira.This graduate have bills to pay,have families,rent,school fees,feeding and many other challenges of life to face and one man that calls himself an oga will be in his house sending mail from an ipad,doing practically nothing for the organisation but goes away every month with almost 1m.And we are all here calling politician that they are corrupt and looters.i wonder when this nonsense will stop in nigeria and the maltreatment they gave to some graduates all because they are HND holders.They are the ones that does the work while some stupid ogas goes home with bullion van salaries for doing nothing.Is time for the youths to stand up and do something about this targets and maltreatment.

Definitly she has to sleep around with customers to meet the target, why not leave the stupid job and look for another without target based. Linda nwannem I rather be self made ooooooo.

I would say such companies are stupid. Or the law makers of such companies are stupid. Why subject only the marketers or sales people to such ridiculous condition?. Meanwhile other departments that are not marketing or sales department will be enjoying fat salaries without targets or pressure. Arrant nonsense!

Anything company God i hate it i swear....

Ladun Liadi said...

Companies are within their rights, if u don't like d terms on offer, U can always turn it down and leave.

This is bullshit and can only happen in an unlawful country like naija.

chuks Change Agent said...

My dear many workers are redundant and are only interested in their salaries at the end of the month. The target principle is good otherwise their companies will go bankrupt.

Seriously, some staff dont just want to work. Some workers just want to seat under the AC all day and just play around. Some even sleep at the office at the end of the month they want the company to always pay them huge sum of money.

When you start your own business you will get to know the running cost of businesses in Nigeria is very high. The company pays tax, salaries, fuel vehicle(s), the management think on there feet to make the company better. But a staff is employed to drive the vision of the company to a higher height but they come late to work, they dont care about the company they care about there pay. So, why should the mamangement not care about your input?

I have read through the various comments and I find most of them hilarious. On the staff perspective, is the target reasonable?. It is a job you have been at therefore you should be able to tell if the target is achievable. On the Employer's perspective, running a company involves various inputs with the output being profit for the share holders. A lot of work is done in the process of capturing revenue streams and if they require every markerter to generate at least 500k to meet the companies objectives then that's what it is. Remember, the company requires that 500k generated by each marketer to cover all their costs which includes but not limited to transport, salaries, operating costs, office costs like stationery, equipment etc. If the target is too much for the staff then she may as well resign and seek a more amenable job while the company fills the position with someone that can meet the target. Has any one of you readers worked for a company that folded up because it couldn't meet its obligations?. Note that if you had a target of 500k and you were bringing in 600k, yet another colleague is bringing in 150k. If the company folds up because of this, you both lose your jobs

That's not true, you are just a lazy ass

Wonderful

Mamapapa said...

Muhammad Umar 1:05pm has said it all

Savagery!

Mamapapa said...

It will be extremely hard for me to believe that anybody can bring in 500k every blessed month. Well, it may be possible if one can get one of these 'oil subsidy companies' to open an account with one's bank( if it is a bank) and the company uses that account on a regular basis. The truth is, her salary will be 25k plus 10% of what she manages to bring in. She should get used to that. And if she consistently performs below par, sack. Wait o, what she has said in essence is that she brought nothing that month!!!! Sack looms!

Dat was too blunt!
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

This is what happens when a bank does not provide real value to its customers. If banks provided real value to customers, they would not need to hire people and make beggars and prostitutes of them

Blaise...
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

Allen p, Exactly u re right, the managers them are wicked people, that is what my friend told me last year, and I was so surprised to hear that from her, and I could not give her becos I was not having such amount of money in my Accnt.

yes me! said...

No punctuation, nothing!
Are u a graduate sir?

As long as u are not in sales or commision based jobs...but seems some companies in d system are taking advantage of this on any type of job in Nigeria,..they knw an average Nigerian worker does not knw or even have a right...it is even worse that they can choose to pay whenever they like..and nothing will happen...even 6months...workers will still keep going to the same job lolz....this piece right here is a welcome development.

Ovusa! Ovuzkelebe!

More Grace to you Sir!

As if na only graduate sabi
What sort of insult is this?

After the 'sensible' talk, you com write 'Sir'
'Sir' 2 u 2.

Please start looking for another job!
Anywhere or any situation that doesn't make you happy must be changed.
Send your cv and may God elevate you.Amen.
Please no forget God O!

Both of you are so full of ish. You both didn't read cos u were both in a hurry to comment. How is it an interesting piece? How is it wonderful??

She is very luck to get 500k as target per month such job are too easy for me I don't know about you! Most company get millions or rather billions as target

Its totally wrong. That's why most of these marketers prostitute just to meet this so-called "target". Its as a result of lack of job, and that's why people will do anything possible to keep the jobs they have.

Airtel should be banned from Nigeria so you can join list of the jobless abi?

Why are people not naming companies, I know one for sure Fidelity Bank! I have a niece there who isn't a marketer yet is asked for a target of 80% of some ridiculous amount that runs into millions. For me I think this is unfair and unjust! Ooooo! did I mention that this supposed target is subject to your being confirmed, promoted etc. I think these banks are going crazy!

Just had my 1st laugh 2daY pls, u guys should not bury me with laughs.

Is wrong, that is why the ladies especially go for prostitution in order to meet targets