20yr old Mhairi Black wins British Paliarment seat, youngest MP in 300 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 May 2015

20yr old Mhairi Black wins British Paliarment seat, youngest MP in 300 years

Mhairi Black, 20 years and 238 days old, has become Britain's youngest Member of Parliament since 1667 after defeating Labour's shadow foreign secretary, Douglas Alexander by 6,000 votes in yesterday's election. Mhairi is a University of Glasgow student studying Politics  and represented the Scottish Nationalist Party. Can this happen in Nigeria? 20 year old?

90 comments:

We need this in Nigeria

Woooow! Amazing. Congratulations to her

Juventus given Pogba fitness boost ahead of Real Madrid return leg

Neymar pleads with Pogba to sign for Barcelona

Barcelona will play 2nd leg like it's our last game - Neymar

Depay: It was impossible to say no to Man Utd

Balotelli leads Liverpool exodus

At least, their own children being leaders of tomorrow has become a reality. Congrats to her. Linda take note!

Ikeh BerniEchez said...

Naija! for where?

Oh father Lord, we ar still backward oooo. Bikonu all dis old men shud go and rest and give us chance ooo

She is quite young, congrats to her

ASHANKA said...

WHY NOT

No it can't

If I hear say e happen for naija

Naija should emulate

They will tell her to queue, it's not her turn yet. Good one.

Beausteven said...

Best news so far

Who will sponsor u in Nigeria...or project u...

No it cant happen in Nigeria...
Even politicians wont give their children the opportunity

Big congrat to her.....

Advise Me Naija said...

Love it when young people do big things... Go on girl

Beauty with brains.

It can never happen in any way i swear....

@ziniex said...

woow

Donald Official said...

na Her Luck now ........

Wow! Dis is recording breaking dat in years to come wil live to b remembered. Congrats to her, and thumbs up.

Dis can never happen in Nigeria where we hav our grandfather's lik GMB contesting wit our father age mate's. So wht else do u expect.

Not in nigeria

Nigerians will say she is tooo young..Na Buhari age dey go vote..hisss

Linda I die! If this should happen in nigeria he or she won't even last up to 24hrs and he will be forgotten for good! Congrat

hope all dis motivate all d young ladies in world, life is not abt braillian hair n sleeping aerund. she is a role model. close up n zip up

how can,as we all close our eyes to vote in old old tired APC candidates,let's see the provision they will make for the young ones, the leaders of tomorrow.

It can happen na? Isn't it buhari that just "won"??? All d candidate needs is public resentment for d opponent. Then, they will vote against...

Its cant happen toooo much hunger in the Land and desperation.

But you said first time in 300yrs.... never even clock 100 yrs.... I doubt if it can happen here sha...... 20yr old?!! Still studying

>>> Linda which nigeria are you asking if it can happen....this today nigeria abi the nigeria after God don come ???

Happen in Nigeria bitibawo....... undergraduate? Female? 20yrs? for that matter, ol dose old generations wud jes kill her bfo her tym😈 backward ppl

Wow! I admire her courage.

Our politicians here will kill the fellow, better don't try it if you are 20 years old here, the old papas don't want to leave Abuja and if they see any toddler trying to find his/way there, they will delete the person, nigeria.. Even for the post of councillors in my areas they are killing one another let alone house of assembly. Nigeria we hail thee, the day all these old men die, that's d day our victory begins in Nigeira.

Congrats Dear,this is one of the countries where the youths are the leaders of tomm not Nigeria. Is really a shameful thing for Nigerians.

Chinwe Uba

orisa said...

Yes it can and i'll be the first tho am a bit older than 20 watch out!!!

this can NEVER happen in nigeria they'll say how can a baby be on the parliament? you have to be 65 to be anything in this country and they keep saying we are the leaders of tomorrow but will never give us a chance

dat Canadian girl said...

Naija no way

NEVER! all those same 'old wines in new bottles' will never allow it happen!

Wow! That is great! The only thing our politicians know how to do is to use the youths who are supposed to be the leaders of tomorrow as political thugs. That is why Nigeria keeps recycling corrupt leaders because the same people are still in power, with different styles of corrupt practices.

Awesome! Definitely not now, but hopefully in our time

Pidgin Mistress said...

E nor fit happen o, no need to dream am

It can't happen oo

Angela Judy said...

Ideal typical society where ideologies work.

Great challenge for my Nigerian youths. We better sit up and stop dragging ourselves back with tribal and religious differences. At our ages, those presently ruling have started but all we do today is talk.

Free fucking fair election

Congrats to the new young leader.

When our politicians even at 80 and because of greed can cause havoc rather than watch a youth rule talkmore of a teenager.

This can never happen in niger

I Rep 27th May

Gov. Amaechi's Girl said...

When una no go stop to vote people like Buhari. How will we have things like this?

Never can nor will... when obasanjo cannot face his farm, nor amechi rotimi act like an adult, nor rochas behave like a man in power, and the list goes on... it'd never happen sha!

Forget it

What were you doing at 20? For me I was in my diploma.

cannot happen. at least not for the next 50-100 years.

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

This is what happens when an election is free and fair.
Unlike all these biggoted old men we have in nigeria that wants to die in power

rossy said...

How can this happen in Nigeria? When our president elect is 74years.

Lol. Never! Not in 9ja

Nigerian youths wake up stop subjecting yourself to thuggery, you can also be a leader at this age if only you support each other. After all you are still the ones they use in writing fake result..

You no shout Sai Buhari today?
Come and be a leader even at 30 let me see. Sai mumu!

i weep for nigeria when the likes of buhari and other politician are still contesting at age 72, 66 and above. I asked myself when are we going to get to this stage and the only answer that came to my mind is that we youth need to rise up and take the leadership role by fighting for our right and making positive impact in our society. enough is enough. God bless Nigeria

David Iyke said...

Here this is the age the tugs and area boys/girls doing the dirty jobs for the elderly politicians!

David Iyke said...

Here this is the age the tugs and area boys/girls doing the dirty jobs for the elderly politicians!

David Iyke said...

1daful

That's definitely an achievement.

Of course she had to have what it takes to have been backed by the Scottish National Party in the first place.

Nigeria is better than it was some years ago so it is can happen in Nigeria as far as whoever it is has what it takes....and has a god father wink*

Kylie,Kendall and Co should come and see something biko...

Wow from my uni. Cool

George wey hate linda! said...

Our politician go assassinate or use juju kill that person!

macnat said...

Madam LI:-Not In Nigeria we have Age restriction here For one to be a member of the Green Seat Chamber you must be 30 not to talk of the Red seat Chamber where David Mark is still occupying seat for Years

Well.. we just voted a different 74 year old man as president. How can we ever get there. Forever backward mtchew

Nigerians excelling everywhere in the world. Kudos

Chinwe Uba

saw this on the news. Amazing!!! nah doubt it can happen in Nigeria

Eyere1012 said...

A 20yr old with no money?......Na children parliament u go win for Naija. Lol

Olanrewaju said...

It can happen in Nigeria 200 years to this time

Luck u if want to contest in Nigeria hold Billion Naira when coming if not no show oooo ,that's how we roll Naija election style

What a mistake! She is too young and would lag the maturity for the the position. Making laws is not for babies. I rather feel sorry for her and those who elected her/who she will represent. They will bully her and take advantage of her youth... just watch and see. Oyinbo people are the most cunning and dangerous... if think I'm saying nonsense, go and watch Scandal.

Obi U. said...

Very impressive, showing that young or old, you can always reach your dreams.

Obi U. said...

Very impressive, showing that young or old, you can always reach your dreams.

This can,t happen in Nigeria with the present political situation,politics of money bags!
tokskinbol@gmail.com

FOR THOSE SAYING SHE'S TOO YOUNG, THAT'S NOT TRUE, JOSIAH IN THE BIBLE WAS 8YEAR OLD WHEN HE LED. PLEASE, THE YOUNGER , THE BETTER.

Azzin!

Good to hear.

It's possible. It can happen here in Nigeria. Let's all start thinking and stop blabbing. Nigerian youths should ask themselves questions and be focused.

claris Davids said...

Stupid anon 12:16. Witch. Even b4 30 he will achieve greatness.

If they had sold parliament forms for 10million ( convert to pounds) ....wld she have been able to context.?

Shinelle said...

And what makes yall think he isnt already 30? Kikikikikikkki

Shinelle said...

Famzer oshi

prettiyz said...

Make I hear say e happen for ninja

Hissss, imagine how lowest ur mentality is. Maturity my Ass.

Them dey quick get sense you hear me!

You need to travel and see.

Hahahahahahaha!

Laughing with Carmel teeth.