Court orders DStv to suspend increase in subscription fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 April 2015

Court orders DStv to suspend increase in subscription fees

In March, MultiChoice Nigeria Limited, owners of DStv announced a 20% price increase for all its satellite pay TV bouquets in Nigeria. Multichoice said the increase, which was supposed to take effect from April 1st, was necessary for them to continue offering good quality programming to its subscribers. But the increase is not going to happen for now after a Federal High Court sitting in Lagos restrained the company from increasing the tariffs.

The restraining order was given at the court following a class action suit filed by two Lagos-based lawyers, Osasuyi Adebayo and Oluyinka Oyeniji, challenging the increase. The judge said there should be no increase until the court meets on April 16th to hear the case.

172 comments:

Abi ooo. Dstv won't let the commoners breath again. Abah! They should calm down. Heb 11

Yay! Lindaobserve

Good Stuff

Peejay said...

My heroes! God bless your hustle. Shame on you Multichoice!

Wow! Better joor..

How To Attract Your Own Husband

very very insensitive of them.....they are exploiting us too much in this country.

I DON TIRE FOR DS DIA SUSCRPTION MaTA...WETIN WE DO U DSTV..TOMJERRYSWIT

That coy needs to be shut down in Naija. Or revert to very low tariff.
It's pure exploitation with the archaic programmes they air from over 2 years back and movies from yesteryear.

They should keep increasing while we keep defecting.

That's good news. We pay way more than other subscribers do in other countries, yet we get less. And our views and payment plans are not as flexible as they are in other countries. Cheats!!! Change must come, and it must start with how Dstv, Mtn, etc treat us

God bless those people that halted their move

That's a good one but dey haven't reduced the price in benin

God bless them, those South Africans don turn us to maga. The rubbish dey dare not try in their country. i wish a strong competitor would emerge to challenge them like it happened with MTN. Linda take note!

Oh, glory be to God. My best news for today.

Ghenghen!

blueprincess said...

I jst renewed mybsubscription today nd der was an increase ooo 😕

Thank you o,what rubbish!, increment for what?

So what happens to me that I have already paid the new rate?!..Niaja Ma Kountry...Smh...

Best news ever....

increase for what? fools

Thank God for social media, the increment news went viral and a lot of people vehemently protested, am happy they were charged to court, if u go to South Africa they do pay as u watch, but in Nigeria here we pay monthly whether u watch or not, I bet you most of us don't really enjoy the bouquet we pay for due to the epileptic power supply and busy schedules..

GREAT!!! Enough of this foreigners reaping Nigerians off.

mr brai said...

The increase they have started already,? Or linda u don't v a DSTV/Gotv I paid extra #500 on my plan last week. Is very bad the way this cable network are treating Nigerians

amaka said...

It's really increasing rapidly, am feeling very pissed off about them.
this is mere wickedness.

Very good move, this South African bastards Has been Exploiting us for way too long.. Be bribing political figures for them to keep quiet

Betty said...

Are these people for real? 20% increase for what stupid quality or better services? When it rains, you cant view dstv, yet they are talking about increase. Anyways, it is only in Nigeria they can do this rubbish, they cant do that in other countries. Thank God for those lawyers, who stood up to them. Enough is enough.

Very good move, this South African bastards Has been Exploiting us for way too long.. Be bribing political figures for them to keep quiet

Thank God for social media, am happy they were charged to court, the increment news went viral and a lot of people vehemently protested... If you go to South Africa they do pay as you watch, but here in Nigeria we don't enjoy the bouquet we pay for cos it's monthly, we don't get to watch due to epileptic power supply and busy schedules..

GREAT!

Thank God o. i was going to switch to GOTV! lollllll

APPLELIPX said...

I wish they can fight for every thing that doesn't benefit the common man with utmost seriousness as this

mel20 said...

Not just increase oo, all there programme is stale, plus we want pay-as-you watch, enough of this cheating, I don't blame them but our own selfish Nigerians that are board members make them to do all sort of things to cheat us.may God punish them all.

bigboy said...

They should be stopped. Am glad Nigerians have stood up to them and their constant increase In fees. I hope the same happens in Ghana here soon.

Its about time! MULTI CHOICE /DSTV have been taking Nigerians for a fool. IT MUST BE PAY PER VIEW LIKE IN OTHER COUNTRIES WHERE THEY ALSO OPETATE otherwise they should pack up and leave nija. NONSENSE!

Linda, they are not adhering to the court order. I paid for premium bouquet on the 28th March and my subscription was to expire on 8th April. I noticed this morning that i have been cut off. I check my dstv account online and i was told to pay the 20% increase before my account would be activated.

They don't have that right biko!

This is good news

Helena said...

Na so

Dstv should be scrapped. Dey r just extorting money from innocent Nigerians. They shuld get missing with their services.

Better,they just keep increasing tarrif and dey kp repeating movies every week,u pay and u dont get value for ur money

KOT said...

Nice one,wetin dey no fit do for south Africa..

"KOT"...send from presidential villa.

That serves dem right they think they can just wake up and impose high tariff on Nigerians like dat, pls no one shud pay that increased charges to dem, come to think of it Gotv n dstv na scam cos they keep on repeating programs n films, no new thing and what time do we even have to watch it except on wknds! #MultichoiceScammers

This is a good one but they should also tell them to make it pay as you view platform so that people that pays and end up not viewing it due to NEPA or PHCN would not be cheated.

That is not what the Order says

4rm #11,600 - #13,600 Abah, nt nice @ll

Good. Dese pple shud stop extorting pple jare

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Very good !
Those niggas need to be placed in check

They've already increased it cos I just subscribe now

That's good news. It shld decrease not increase.

Yaaaayyyyyyyy! Weldone guys! Stupid Dstv.

Please sue those motherfuckers!!! At dstv!!!

Dstv is pure scam, how can they create two BET channels and they are showing same old program from the old BET. i just tire they way they are treating us sha.

Best news I've heard in a while. DSTV is really taking nigerians for granted. They don't try this rubbish in other countries. I don't blame them though, it's coz of the level of corruption in Nigeria. Another thing they shd look in2 is "pay per view" biko. Arrant nonsense!!!

Yaay! Dem dey do us anyhow

i guess no member of the House ( both chambers) uses DSTV?....

The increase is uncalled for......

Jesus may ur name be prasie
Dey won kill person wif deir high price

Kponskii said...

20% increment! Make them press abeg.

Not only must they stop the increment in the fares, DStv must be compelled to introduce the 'pay as you watch' fares. Why on earth must we continue to pay for services not enjoyed. We pay even for not watching DStv. This is madness of the highest order. Wether you put on your DStv or not, after a month, you must pay for another subscription! We Nigerians must stop this nonentity collectively. The government should come to our aid and put a stop to this killing act. The service should be like that of telephones. If you make a call, your credit goes down. If you don't, your credit remains intact. (Thanks to Globacom for saving Nigerians from MTN and other yeye networks that initially said per second billing is not possible in Nigeria).
In South Africa that they come from, they ’use pay as you watch’. Whey must they continue to extort us unnecessarily?

Not only must they stop the increment in the fares, DStv must be compelled to introduce the 'pay as you watch' fares. Why on earth must we continue to pay for services not enjoyed. We pay even for not watching DStv. This is madness of the highest order. We Nigerians must stop this nonentity collectively. The government should come to our aid and put a stop to this killing act. The service should be like that of telephones. If you make a call, your credit goes down. If you don't, your credit remains intact. (Thanks to Globacom for saving Nigerians from MTN and other yeye networks that initially said per second billing is not possible in Nigeria).
In South Africa that they come from, they ’use pay as you watch’. Whey must they continue to extort us unnecessarily?

PLS Linda dis shud be taken very serioulsy. DSTV have been exploiting their Nigerian customers, why cant they extend d pay as u watch pattern their customers enjoy in South Africa...Nigeria being their largest customer base, they make way too much in our country and it shud stop. Our subscription shud not be reading when we ar nt watching, in other words it shud be #pay as u watch. Thanks

who be the court? i yaff laff i yaff taya, no infact i yaff vex, these two foolish lawyers should have also sued Cadbury, Nestle, All landlords, All meat sellers, All tomatoe and pepper sellers for increasing their prices. infact all Danfo drivers with their conductors shuld be sued too, cos they increase their prices at will and they dont give any explanation for it even when the price of fuel is stable. Rubbish! Dstv is not buy force! Simple

If. They increase it,I will forget my dstv $ buy go tv

estakoboi said...

now what will happened to those that have already paid. becos I just paid today. kai he dey pain sha

estakoboi said...

now what will happened to those that have already paid. becos I just paid today. kai he dey pain sha

Icegirl said...

And some well meaning Nigerians decided to speak for the masses. FINALLY!!! They should be suspended afterwards walai. Bombastic elements...

lulu said...

Very good, thumb up. I don't know what this south African company takes Nigeria for. Thank God that we have people Who cares.

lulu said...

Very good, thumb up. I don't know what this south African company takes Nigeria for. Thank God that we have people Who cares.

Nigerian shld kick against exploitation frm foreign investor more especially Chinese,Labanese,and Indians,we pay through our nose to watch DSTV I dnt blame all this investors,we shld blame all these government agencies for allowing all this rubbish in Nigeria. I just wonder when will nigeria get it right

who be the court? i yaff laff i yaff taya, no infact i yaff vex, these two foolish lawyers should have also sued Cadbury, Nestle, All landlords, All meat sellers, All tomatoe and pepper sellers for increasing their prices. infact all Danfo drivers with their conductors shuld be sued too, cos they increase their prices at will and they dont give any explanation for it even when the price of fuel is stable. Rubbish! Dstv is not by force! Simple

marytin said...

I am so proud of these two lawyers. ......Nigerians are not fools. Evn if multi choice may hv bribed der way through with NBC .......who r suppose to guarantee Nigerian consumers protection against MNC's greedy head, we still have patriotic lawyers that care about Nigerians. These lawyers could afford to pay d new bill but the behaved exceptional. .....thumbs up!!

Kiya kiya mk una nor wait tym oooooo, ds DSTV ehen der own is too much. GOTV ur nxt after subscribing der will b no netwrk yet 1 hs paid. Nyc 1.

Linda, they still went on to increase oooooo

if this is true and followed,then the CHANGE we are talking about is truly here.

This is nice i wonder why they are increasing the prize!! i guess they need a competitor so that they can sit up!!#team@seybyth IN D CLUB DROPING SOON DOP SHIT

Can u imagine..nd I jst renewed my subscription dis mornin.. dey shud refund me d 20 percent oh.

Ayo DiNozzo

Damilola said...

I love these lawyers already!,God bless u and urs. This dstv people have been 'taking the mickey' for so long. So they think we are not exposed in Nigeria right?

Oh No. I have already paid the 20 percent increment.N13,980 against N11,650.

***ECHOMASS***

tommy said...

Abeg make dem reduce am...or else, they shoud send them away.

Yes, good. they can nt try this nonsense in any other country

Beautiful news.weldone to the lawyers that took them to court

dstv do you hear.get ready to refund my money.

Its high time multi choice stoped extorting Nigerians,enough is enough why is it that even when you aint using the decoder your subscription keeps reading?. something need to be done on this too.

Wow, this is good news for people like me.

lol .. after seeing this tweet , i went to dstv to pay for premium bouquet and it is 13,980 naira/
abeg carry concrete news. they said nothing like that expect you no wan watch dstv

Please ban Multichoice from operation If they don't go by Pay as Use same way they operate in SA....nonsense

after seeing this post . i wnt to pay for dstv premium for 13,980 naira.
they said nothing like that .. next

I love this.
Dstv had to cut some people's subscription, so that they can subscribe before april 1.
I don't see the reason for this increase too.
I love the fact that nigerians now know their rights, you can't increase things for no reason.

Naijasportscrib.com said...

Are you serious? Peeps aint joking. Check out here for sports news

Good, don't know why this people keeps exploiting only Nigerians.

This is nice one. I love Class action once it succeeds.

Thank God! Finally, a step in the right direction. I pray the Judge will rule in favour of the subscribers, DSTV own is getting too much

That's a very very good one, i pray it materialize oh cos dstv has really dealt with Nigerians and no single bonus from them, the height is launching African magic Igbo and placing t on a high bouquet.

joy Egbunu said...

Gud one! Bloody extortionists!!!

Ken said...

It's not about suspending the increase in subscription. Govt or Court should order them to make it 'Pay As You Go.' Your subscription should run only when u watch. Thanks.

Thank God

Jus paid 4 ma dstv via atm,I was charged #14080 for premium...its crazy..dats extortion...

Good one here. The exploitation is too much. Kindly open a register where we can all sign to protest. Linda can also create a voting platform to get peoples reaction to Multi Choice services/charges.

Finally somebody is speaking up

sean said...

Time for change

Very gud. It should be pay as u watch. Make them no dey use our brain jare.

Dstv had already started collecting the new subscription tariff. I just renewed my subscription yesterday.

Tri. said...

About time too.

Goaldyn Boy said...

I love this and I pray the Lawyers win when the matter is heard! It is time for consumers to stand up and stop the shylock exploitation of Nigerians by multinationals such as Multichoice! They have been increasing their subscription prices arbitrarily without restraint! The worst culprits are the telecommunication network providers! They impose their service on you and deduct your money without your consent! ......The other day Airtel just woke up and deducted my money and sent me a text that I have subscribed for weekly international news! I began to wonder, was it in my dream or in real life that I subscribed to such crap! These exploitations must stop or they pack and ho back to South Africa!!!

Chidinma Grace said...

De av already increased it bc I just renewed my subscription 2 days ago.

Pay per view should be the next case.

Hugo nwosu said...

Good one Suyi and yinka,im proud of you guys.

These people are just using us like rams. I am going to be out of the country for more than a month, yesterday i went to their office to suspend my account to save my money. I was told they dont do so, hence my subscrition would be wasting away.

This is great news! I hope it applies to GoTV also. This Multichoice whatever are so merchantilic. Kudos to those lawyers

Good. News

shzy said...

Yippie!!!.....we demand a pay as u watch system. Multichoice is so exploiting us.

I AM COMMENTING FOR THE FIRST TIME...I AM SO HAPPY FOR THIS.DSTV IS RIPPING US OFF.

Wot rubbish can dey do dat in South Africa. How I wish dey can be handed a banner if they carry out wif the increase jst as Obasanjo did to MTN den wen they propose to tk their headquater to SA dat if the do then they shud be ready to park out of Nigeria. All this foreign investors now take us for

Good!

DSTV/GOTv wit their fake services, and mostly poor services wit showing same movies over, and over again. I wonder wht am paying for if am watching same home video over, and over again. They don't hav right to increase d price. They r milking us. Poor Nigerians.

Nice...Enough of all dis extortion

The new rates are being charged at shoprite Alausa outlet o. What do we do?

But they're still collecting 3,600 na

Fuckin THIEVES!!!!!
THIEVES!!!!!!

People wey don pay nko? Dem fall mugu or what?

thank God. There own is too much oooo. It should be pay as you use

hey linda, its a big lie ooooo.....i just paid the new amount......cant anyone in nigeria takeout this DSTV guys......say BABA

I am honestly impress Nigerians are beginning to wake up, no price control

Nnamdi said...

That is good.. So happy cause in SA is not that expensive thou

WELL COURT RULINGS DONT SEEM TO HAVE ANY EFFECT IN LAGOS...I PAID TODAY, AND DESPITE THE RULING, DSTV STAFF INFORMED ME OF MY SUBSCRIPTION WITHOUT BATTING AN EYELID. and yeah half of the office was parked full with customers complaining about poor service, the other half where i was, also parked full with customers hearing the complaints but eager to pay!!!! i believe dem use jazz for us ooo, these SA people!

I just paid 6k Oooo, will they refund?

Why we dey watch am free here

This DSTV people r just exploiting us! Every year they increase, abroad they upgrade boxes for free! We should all protest cos in the end they can't afford to leave d Nigerian market hence we can dictate!

True man

Asin eh...I love this...time to tell all dis foreign companies dey cnt inflate prices on us anihow......we hv become smarter...

oiza said...

You are the biggest fool that will ever exist! Idiot

I guess they give them free subscription that's why their mouths are shut

DSTV GIVE US PAY AS YOU GO OR PACK YOUR LOAD AND LEAVE NIGERIA. Wicked people

mrs Bello said...

Thank God o!wat agreat relief.these people just they extort us any how because there is no competetion.'deres god o!

Ope ooooooooo Awon ole

Som said...

I'm an ardent reader of LIB but I don't comment. However, this news is the best I've ever heard today and deserves my comment. May God bless these lawyers.

Wilsoniyke said...

It's so because Lagos state government of Fashola and APC have a stake in the company because in the Eastern part of the country we have CTL and Metro as alternative with better services. That is why Lagos state government clamped down HI TV... Sorry my people... .where are Oba and Afolayan... .

I think this is getting ridiculous. It's not by force to buy DStv. buy what you can afford and let us rest jare. Court injunction for a private company? ridiculous! all you "entrepreneurs" are next! you can not force a company who incurs costs to provide you a service to reduce it's prices. You can get what you can afford na. Nawa for Naija. This thirst for "change" is beginning to make people unreasonable. Anyway, na una know.

Seriously. I think most of the peeps commenting here are ignorants..I bet 60% don't own DStv in their homes...isn't this the blog where I see over 1k people commenting when Linda is about to givewway 20K only? Abet, DStv NO BE BY FORCE ooo!!! You fit siddon for house watch NTA or LTV, shikenan.

And you a bigger fool!! Is Dstv by force? Am sure u dnt evn have one sef, y am I wasting my time on u. trash! Mtchewwww

Please, note that the increase has been effected. Made payment for compact bouquet today @ 6,000 which use to be 5k. 20% effected already. They r in contempt

Yayyy.....I love this. They think they can rip us off and go scott free!

jamal cojo said...

Foreigners colonise us too much...mtn DSTV

Wilsoniyke said...

You are the ignorant fool, all government around the world control private monopoly and exploitation... . Go back to school and stop making noise that you have 1000k dstv or 6k...

Ure a big food. U deserve 2 b living in d bush, isolated and alone in ur foolishness.

Keep quiet Juliet...Ono na ulo mara I've ahia zuru.
Dstv also increased their tariff in South Africa this April.

It's a big lie. Dstv South Africa doesn't pay as you watch...you pay monthly, stop feeding people with lies. I'm in SA

They charge so much an their customer care is very poor mstweee

That's the only good comment I've read, this is business if you don't like it quit or switch to another one.

If you can afford it reverse to free TV channels we have our own nta and others for free so you people should understand what is business

Why you leave gotv out nan?!

The one wey we don pay finish?

its really sad the country we are in. A lot of people live a fake life. if you cant afford DSTV buy GOTV or use startimes. The pay per day on sky sport london charges you 7 pounds for just a days match which is almost 2500 naira per day and Dstv charges you 13980 for a 30 days not just the matches alone but also other programmes repeated or not. When they start per view i assure you that you will pay more.Just stck to your NTA if you cant afford the shit ,its a luxury product not a necessity.

Williebanj said...

They need competitors. Startimes should work harder to be in same range with them. When more competitors set in, they will beg us to have the decoder for free and pay 5000 for subscription. We saw same thing happen to telecomms. Now SIM card wey me buy for N35,000 dey sell for N150. SMH

dansignature said...

this is a stupid message from the court of appeal, the news have been ongoing since feb that they will increase the tariff by 20%, the court did not attend to it in march when the increment was to take effect on 1st of april. after so many people have paid the increment of the 20% the court is coming to suspend the increment on the 7th of April. what is going to happen to subscribers who have already paid the 20% increment?. medicine after death

dansignature said...

this is a stupid message from the court of appeal, the news have been ongoing since feb that they will increase the tariff by 20%, the court did not attend to it in march when the increment was to take effect on 1st of april. after so many people have paid the increment of the 20% the court is coming to suspend the increment on the 7th of April. what is going to happen to subscribers who have already paid the 20% increment?. medicine after death

dansignature said...

pls this has been effect despite the court injunction

great news. enough of their 'nonsense'

jlo said...

great news ever. enough of their 'nonsense'