Why are international media houses reluctant to carry Charlie Hebdo new mag cover? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 January 2015

Why are international media houses reluctant to carry Charlie Hebdo new mag cover?

French satirical magazine, Charlie Hebdo, who lost 10 of their staff members last week Wednesday Jan. 7th in a terror attack, unveiled the cover of their new edition today January 13th which has a drawing of a weeping Prophet Muhammad holding up a sign that reads “Je suis Charlie.”, with tagline “all is forgiven,” but I noticed that most international media houses, including CNN, Daily Mail, BBC, Mirror and more refused to carry the cover but talked about the issue..

Because them no carry am, me sef I fear to carry am..lol. But why though? Why are they all reluctant to carry it? Meanwhile, the mag said they are planning to release 3million copies of the new issue. Readers of Mail Online, BBC and others are blasting them for refusing to carry the cover. See some of their comments after the cut...

"Never thought I would see the day when the French are heroes and the BBC and Daily Mail are trembling like little girls."
"DM why on earth have you not posted the cover yet? You're not usually the ones afraid to tell it like it is."

"DM is a disgrace - where's the cover?"

"So where is it? Gutless lot......."

"The daily mail is either pandering to the politically correct for fear of causing offence, or, it's running scared and has been BEATEN by the terrorists. Which is it?"

"Just like the politicians, lots of words no actions. When marching the other day it would have been better if they had all marched holding up posters of Charlie Hebdo's cartoons. Now that's standing shoulder to shoulder! DM publish you cowards."
"You've published the article without the picture that the article is about. Not very Je Suis Charlie. Shame on you."
"Go look at The Guardian, a paper with the guts to print it."

"It will be interesting to see if any UK news media, has the guts to show what they (CHARLIE) print on Wednesday, or will it be a case of not in our back yard. Cameron talked about free speech, lets see."

"The Guardian has 10 times the guts of the DM - the Charlie Hebdo cover is on the front page."

"No paper will show the cartoon in this country, every one is too afraid of reprisals. In this respect the terrorist have won.// Absolute rubbish, the picture is on the front page of The Guardian."

120 comments:

For fear of being attacked agn. Linda take note!

Linda, if you were in Paris after the massacre, would you carry it ni? Its sad na

Fear of future attack, that incident is spoiling business for them

You can't risk such till you are sure your security details is 100% Linda. Too manylone wolves killing under the disguise of Islam

Finally recieved my BB PASSPORT.......So cool....Thank You Linda Ikeji....God bless U real good.....

Precautionary measure. Na I'm be d reason.

@Sophia Stephen

Fear

Linda sitdown look,na be dog name

The same reason as yours. "Fear"

We have advocates and we have people who refuse to be cowed.

You do not support the killing of innocents, but knowing that you are dealing with people who can be irrational....why stick your neck out!

I live outside Nigeria and I would like to place an order for a copy, but I wouldn't because I don't want to put my life and my family at risk.

Dey no want mk isis blast them

Bcos it irrelevant to them...

No value attached to it as far as they r concern.

This my own personal opinion bcos they knw better.

It is well

Anything that will cause more havoc should be avoided. We want peace.

Shalom to Nigeria. Amen!!!

You want to be attacked? Nobody wants to be gunned down while trying to make a living because someone perceives that you have somehow insulted their religion because you are seen to support something they feels errs their god! Biko better safe than sorry,

don't know

But u too can carry it nw???

#hehehehehe the same reason u dint carry it! Lol

Wetin dat one come mean biko???

Umm na dem sabi.

Blaq said...

Nobody wan die bt dem wan go heaven lol
Even CNN dey fear

My sis life no get duplicate o jst mind dis ur keke business wey u Dey do here nd Dey get peace of mind o. I no wan lose u o

Linda you dey fear make bokoharam...no trace you for where you dey.lmao....who wan die?

Linda, u go fear fear. From what i understand, it is offensive to publish images of the Prophet irrespective of what the image is depicting. So LInda, for your muslim brothers and sisters, don't you dare

Wait lemme go and ask them...but seriously why?
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤
¤¤QUEENMAYA¤¤¤

Everybody dey fear death na!

They would never learn....is that d next step...Aunty Linda no carry am abeg

tunrayo said...

Lindaa a shey o ti e le!!

The fear of terrorists is the beginning of long life...Who wan die?!

dogworthmontreal.blogspot.com said...

Nobody wants to die.

carry am na if u no dey fear dis muslim guys wey dey use bomb drink garri.............
#dion

Hmmmmm..They are looking for trouble again..soon a new group of possessed militants will storm a new location and kill people and leaders will come and march again................................#KingOfKings #6God

Its degrading to Muslims na.its nt right dey should nt carry it abeg

Steady said...

Idealess fans

Looool them dey fear for their heads nau and its good you follow soot oooooo. If u no wan gbege

Because it is against the Muslim religion to draw the picture of their prophet. The simple act of drawing a person representing him is forbidden talk less of drawing insulting images of him. That is why the responsible media houses don't do it and they won't endorse anyone who does. Charlie Hebdo is a satirical magazine and their goal is to provoke, it is extremely sad what happened there but their drawings are not innocent.

Lin, u follow dey fear? Make dem no come bomb ur blog (again). Lol.

Mystique said...

It's just a wise decision not to, it's not about cowardice but it's not right to mock other people's religion or beliefs. There so many other things they have published. So said they died but still right is right and wrong is wrong!

guy she is sooooooooooooooo cheating on you

Caution is the watch word

THE ACT OF SEX said...

In need of job? Come and work at Canvasas an make 5,500 a day. Capa bus stop Oshodi. 08038821289. Young school leavers only.

Abeg linda everybody is afraid the world has already seen enough blood!!!!may God helo us JC

Linda, u copied this or you wrote this?

Shalom to Nigeria, Amen

Abeg linda everybody is afraid the world has already seen enough blood!!!!may God helo us JC

Something is wrong somewhere.

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Everyone is scared.....lool

Visit my blog

visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

1 million copies l heard in my own version off CNN oh. Whoever that is not afraid to be the next target of this lslamic fundamentalist should carry the cover first. Una think say na Naija wey everybody dey carry talk. Omazo

faheez akinwumi said...

Y u self no show the pics?

VICTOR EKEANYANWU said...

Well Let's look at it this way: If Charlie had the right to mock people's religion, do we have the right to mock people's Sexuality? At least those are the two very sensitive things.
Officer Ahmed died defending the right that Charlie had to mock his religion. I am not a muslim, I don't support the killing at Charlie but do I support Charlie making fun of people's religion? NO! Sony turned down the screening of #TheInterview. Because they didn't want to take chances with Human lives. Can Charlie do that? No!!! We are not modern day slaves to Charlie. Charlie has his opinion and we respect the fact that he has a right to have an opinion. That is it. Not everyone is Charlie. #JaNeSuisCharlie.

SOrry I am referring to Charlie as a person but I mean the entire establishment

Linda,some international media actually did carry the new cover.you can check the link below to confirm;so you can actually go ahead too if you want but then....

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2015/jan/13/charlie-hebdo-cover-magazine-prophet-muhammad

You want those animals of Islam (Problem of the world) to attack them?

British people dey fear those guys well well

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2015/jan/13/charlie-hebdo-cover

Gentletee said...

There apparent fear of terrorist attack is enough reason I think.

fear of the known

Blogger Recieves Public Flogging For His Online Actions In Saudi Arabia

Nka ka na si:Okuko si na ihe ya ji-ele anya n'enu ma ya na añu mmiri bu na ihe na-egbu si n'igwe abia

Visit www.blessinghammed.com

Abeg Abeg dem no wan die. Lol, these religious extremists can do anything oh. So leave them alone.

If CNN no carry it,who dem born hin papa well to carry it?

Wait, what? What does the prophet have to do with this.
Btw linda if u carry that cover, you know you will lose a lot of Muslim fans

Lmaooo... Nobody wan be the next victim..
We understand.....

Lol. Dem de fear?

Ndi ala mohankita.

Are they afraid of something? I don't get it

It's fear of been attacked..
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

I DON'T KNOW Y SOME PEOPLE THING DAT VIOLENCE IS THE BEST WAY OF SETTLING RELIOUS ISSUES..WELL ,I DON'T BLAME CNN ND OTHER MEDIA,THEY RE JUST TRYING TO PROTECT THEIR OWN.
DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

EGWU NDI AJO MMO NA MMADU!!!!

Hawtberry said...

Linda it is more wisdom than fear. You know how these islamic extremists can be. They will start saying Prophet Mohammed is being mocked and use it to start mass killing of innocent people across the globe all in the name of fighting for Prophet Mohammed. We already have enough killings by these people...

The cover is here--> http://www.businessinsider.com/this-will-be-charlie-hebdos-first-post-attack-cover-2015-1

They're "afraiding" nah! Who wan die! The fear of terrorists is the beginning of journalistic wisdom! Lol! Abeg oh Linda don't carry it oh! There are enough terrorists here in 9ja to do the job oh!

Hmmmm.

Neks said...

>>>> Terrorism can never win, and no one is afraid of the, the thing now is the world should refrain from using their prophet (Mohammed )in cartoons, hence its sensitive to them. <<<<

No carry am ooh, make dem no come slaughter u nd laura...

jola said...

They are being wise.
Bashing someone's belief and putting the prophet in funny and disrespectful cartoon art is uncalled for and all they do is hide behind the so called "freedom of speech".
If the government do not intervene in this section by telling the media to restrain or rather be caution of what they write about other people's religion, this ungodly massacre will continue.
Its a simple solution, They(Muslim) do not want you to disrespect their prophet, then honour that but instead the french media do otherwise.
Kudos to those that didn't use it and you shouldn't too Linda.

Moi said...

Been hearing about this so published new cover but not seeing pic. I had to google to see it. Everyone is afraid, no one wants to die now.

I understand there fear, but does it mean the whole world is afraid of fcuking islam.....they better publish it ooooo, so that this bastards will know we are not afraid of them.....not publishing it, will just be like a pat on there back

KC said...

Dem dey fear... U no go blame dem sha

Who no dey fear Fear

Linda, i don't think the international media is scared ,it's a deliberate action, expect to see full scale reviews and pictures from tomorrow . Meanwhile,Aljazera and CCTV carried it with the cover picture

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Everybody is afraid

GEJ till 2019

.👏BIG BROTHER SAYS SO.👏

Dere cup of tea

who wants the die? I guess people realize some of these terror's reach is far and deep.

What stopped you from(LINDA) carrying it,that's what stopped them also

Engr. Maknun said...

But why do you guys intentionally insult our religion and Prophet? Why?

Nations have become weak dogs because of a few demons, that is why we need God and the David's of this generation to rise

Love or Trust, Trust is much more important than Love. If someone loves me, it is more of that person’s business than mine.  But if the same person trusts me, it places a duty on me to live up to that trust. In other words, Trust challenges one to reciprocate; Love might not always do that.....what's that ISSUE that gives you sleepless night in your relationship? Its time you talk to someone.
For your relationship issues and psychological counseling halla at
Petersonconsultant@yahoo.com
Or add up on 27FCBFBE for one on one conversation.

Na wa. Who no like life?

Mankind said...

Once bitten twice shy.

life they sweet them. they no won die

SWAAG said...

LINDA, MAKE WE JUST DIVIDE THIS WORLD ABEG........just kidding o... GOD'S KINGDOM IS THE ONE AND ONLY LASTING SOLUTION TO THE WHOLE OF MANKIND'S PROBLEMS

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

They don't want to be blasted into oblivion. But they can't let terrorists carry the day.
Pls visit my blog...

Liflblog .WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

Let peace reign. Terrorists re not human. $oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Everybody donot want to die

Pls tell dem. A big diff btw freedom of speech and insult.

Life is too precious!

olajide said...

WHO WAN DIE??????????? MAKE THEM CON DABARU THEIR OFFICE........ HMM

Your opinion isn't that smart is it? Terrorist hasn't won! We all should just be tolerant of one another and shouldn't go around deliberately offending people. Spread the love not insults!

Why should a journal make mockery of a religious Prophet.Why?The killings were barbaric and unjustifiable but the publications also provocative.
I am a Christian but also feel there is the need to respect religious beliefs of others

Well said!

As a Muslim, I’m fed up with the hypocrisy of the free speech fundamentalists

http://www.newstatesman.com/mehdi-hasan/2015/01/muslim-i-m-fed-hypocrisy-free-speech-fundamentalists

They r afraid 9/11 might repeat itself again. Nawah o.

“Defending freedom of expression in the face of oppression is one thing; insisting on the right to be obnoxious and offensive just because you can is infantile,”

Khadr wrote. “Baiting extremists isn’t bravely defiant when your manner of doing so is more significant in offending millions of moderate people as well. And within a climate where violent response — however illegitimate — is a real risk, taking a goading stand on a principle virtually no one contests is worse than pointless: it’s pointlessly all about you.”

Kai, your stupidity knows no end. Am so sorry, but do u even think before u type?

Je suis linda's future husband

No one on earth knows what the prophet Muhammad looks like. This is exercise in futility.

It is important to respect other people's sensibilities. Can you call a black person a nigger? or call a blonde dumb without a back lash.

I am a Muslim against these terrorist acts. But I am also unable to fathom the warped thinking of the people who made those comments.

No one in earth knows what the prophet Muhammad looks like. This is exercise in futility.

It is important to respect other people's sensibilities. Can you call a black person a nigger? or call a blonde dumb without a back lash.

I am a Muslim against these terrorist acts. But I am also unable to fathom the warped thinking of some of the people who made those comments.

@ya doctora please LIVE and let LIVE, don't kill others because they drew a senseless cartoon about your GOD. Afterall he is a supreme being Andhe can fight for himself. #marshallmatters

Fear of terrorists is the begining of wisdom.So oyibo they dey fear too? Choi! I think say na dem be shina rambo!

AGB said...

It is totally disrespectful to be intentionally mocking people's beliefs. We need to respect and embrace each other's beliefs.

This people are looking for trouble, just posting dat pic will give d extremists a very good reason to attack and kill, linda pls no post am wo

eze cee you are a bastard for reffering to Muslims as that. useless idiot.

Buqore said...

Congrat dear,I will also win nxtime

Bellanaija has it up

Na fear nah

Well don't desecrate their religion ooo that's all I have to say