Photos: NAFDAC partners with Monalisa Chinda's Uterine Fibroid project | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 16 January 2015

Photos: NAFDAC partners with Monalisa Chinda's Uterine Fibroid project

The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control [NAFDAC] has partnered with Arise Monalisa Foundation [AMF] to further safeguard the health of Nigerian women.

After 8 years of supporting major autism campaign causes, funding education for the less privileged, organizing charitable visits to orphanages and prisons amongst others, the Arise Monalisa Foundation has embarked on the Uterine Fibroid Project, this year, aimed at creating awareness, sensitizing the populace and sponsoring treatment of infected women across the country.

Speaking during the meeting which held on Wednesday 14th January 2015 at NAFDAC's headquarters in Abuja, Monalisa Chinda, multi-gifted actress and Founder of AMF said, "It is in giving our lives away that we find meaning... We appreciate NAFDAC for this strategic partnership
as we look forward to propagating awareness of this fast spreading yet widely neglected uterine fibroid, which has become very common among women due to ignorance and stigmatization."

According to Dr. Paul Orhii, Director General, NAFDAC, "We are proud to partner with the Arise Monalisa Foundation in mobilizing this timely project throughout the six geo-political zones in Nigeria, and this also marks the flag-off of our projects for this year."

65 comments:

God bless this woman

This is indeed commendable.

That's a very nice initiative, go monalisa

Nice initiative, way to go! Kudos guys. Linda take note!

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Nice one!

That's good

Wow dats awesome!

God bless the project...God bless Monalisa and Nafdac. It is well. Psalm 85:12. @Bishop_Dammy

fresh emmy said...

Way to go Mona! Keep up the good work

Great move

So thoughtful of her,to adopt such project.

The woman is going places....Nice one
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

S*X AND INTIMACY said...

Who is the Giant of a woman Dwarfing eveyone there in the picture? - where all four were standing.

vanity fair said...

quite the novel idea as many women in nigeria are afflicted by this disease. however, uterine fibriods cannot be classified as an infection.

Great!

so cool...Nice on e Mona......keep soaring

If only the intention is pure and right........it's a good initiative because it will create more awareness for the female populace but hope it's a prog to steal the shine from Stephanie Okereke VVVF NO which I know is a successful one. Ms China, is your intention pure?

Good one

Many God bless her

Good one

.....LIB addiction.....

Infected women ke? Uterine fibroid is not an infection gwanu!

Looking fresh always #monalisa

uterine fibroid not a good tin oo. d quicker u get it out d beta 4 u. thank GOD ma sis has gotten rid of it. smh

BLAQ said...

Patrotic actress! Patrotic Monalisa remain blessed!

Patriotic i meant.

Patrotic actress! Patrotic Monalisa remain blessed!

Bokunor said...

Up u

Bokunor said...

May God enlarge ua coast

God bless u Lisa

Benefits/Dividends of supporting GEJ.

nice one Lisa. keep it up.

LezRock via Old itel Mobile

Daz a nice one. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Dr Magic, UK said...

I'm not sure what she intends to achieve with the project. Firstly, uterine fibroids are not infective. One out of four women has unterine fibroids especially if black.

Women do not die from fibroids, yes their periods can be heavy but most of them can be easily treated.

This is however different to debilitating conditions like vesico-vaginal fistula (VVF). I think she should do something else like ovarian cancer awareness, which doesn't show until it's too late or awareness for women who've gone through menopause and bleed, and who need to have endometrial cancer ruled out first.

#just saying!

NICE INNITIATIEVE HOPE THE CAUSE IS FULFILED AMEN JC

Monalisa remind me of Michael Jackson..

This is nice of NAFDAC, thumbs up to them.

GOD bless u mona

More power to her elbow...

good for her

#secret admirer

Medicine must have changed since the last time I graduated. How do you get infected with fibroids? I thought they were growths that are yet to be linked to any organism

Munachimso said...

Thank you. I was about to say that. This is not an infection bikonu

Just knew someone'll make this daft comment.

I love it. Women moving the world

Amen na my mama

Way to go AMF!!! God help them.

Jeni_zee said...

Very good initiative cos uterine fibroids is common among women of colour Nd even among women in their 20's

welldone Monalisa

Wow so impressed. This project should start ASAP. Can't wait.

@Sophia Stephen

Black Anchor 2 said...

This has the entirely laudable aim of preventing and early detection of fibroid in women. well done girl.

This doesn't make sense- a project against uterine fibroids??? 25% of women have them. They are not an "infection". Most are symptomatic and even when there are complications they are hardly life threatening but treatable with surgery or medications. Efforts should be focused on diseases that have worse outcomes if not detected early such as breast cancer or other diseases of public health importance. I am disappointed that NAFDAC went along with this. Is there no single soul in NAFDAC that is knowledgeable on public health matters? Nawa o.

extremely daft... oh well, what else can u expect from someone whose profile name is "s*x and intimacy"

Wow! Lucky her. good that she's really helping out and making an impact. Beautiful woman

Good good.

DaBabe said...

Way to go! Great job

Nice one..

Nice one. God reward her and them accordingly.

Kudos to Monalisa, I hail you.
I'm still to see what Omotola is doing with her exposure...re Time Magazine. How has she drawn the international community to a particular cause. She was put on an international platform with Time Mag, recently flaunting some paper from..whia? Amnesty International ?. So which international players, donors, philanthropists has she brought their attention to some particular problem plaguing..let's say... the girl child, females, or even the mentally sick who are being castigated as witches & wizards due to ignorance.
What I saw this January was she & her hubby giving out little handouts thereabouts. Good, but like I said bc of the platform which she's purportedly operating on, with some hailing her blindly, she can do better, if not way better.
Her PR team should take note.
For a better world.

Nice one,dem oge dey go collect chief title for village...lol

"sponsoring treatment of affected women.." and not "infected women..". Uterine fibroid isn't an 'infection'. Just saying...
Good project; kudos to Monalisa.

360mom said...

Thank u so much Monalisa for helping women in Nigeria. It gladdens my heart when I read news that help improve the lives of women in our country. Thank you so much, may we never relent in our fight to help our fellow women.

Nice one!

God bless her