Question of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 16 January 2015

Question of the day

Is it right for a company to monitor its staff's social media accounts? Thoughts?

150 comments:

Daralohi said...

No its not right.

Miss indomie says so.

Social Media? Nah, that's invasion of privacy. I think it's wrong.

No. Buh yes 2 sum extent. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

I don't think so except said staff has been known to give out sensitive company information online
Pls visit my blog..

Liflblog.wordpress.com

No no not right at all.

Invasion of privacy. Its wrong! The company can insist staff should not use their computers and company time for social network which is still not cool but monitoring your staff is taking it too far

I don't think is right
It is the enployEe private life
Whis is not suppose to be invaded

EbonyAma said...

Yes and No.

I don't think is right
It is the employee'a private life
Which is not suppose to be invaded

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Total rubbish,Not ideal

GEJ till 2019

!! BIG BROTHER SAYS SO !!

Princess Deedee said...

Hahahahahahahah. ....It is not right at oll..Dt is the staff' s privacy. ....

ebony said...

that is not right. its like stalking you employees.

Maye73 said...

NO,because is my private life.

No, ain't right
Not right

#Commentinf thru Glo 4G LTE

Depends on d kind of company.if na waka pass company who born dem to monitor my account

Hian! Please what's their business with ones social account if it's not a company's social media account then should face their work ooo!

APPLELIPX said...

For what na....
Na dem dey buy the mb???
Totally out of place

Oya people who are passionate about office work start answering. Lol

Hian! Please what's their business with ones social account if it's not a company's social media account then they should face their work ooo!

it's not right and never will it be right

What for na?

@Sophia Stephen

that girl said...

Its annoying but if I guess they can. You know the whole are you keeping the company image clean.

Maybe security agency like FBI or CIA

Yes....infact that's why most companies don't allow staffs get access to anything social media but if u must, d company monitors everything.

To a reasonable extent yes..but I'm not going to give my reasons...James 4:17, col 3:14-17. @Bishop_Dammy

I WOULD SUE THEM FOR THAT IN MY RIGHT MIND

Nooo, that's not right now, they can monitor the staff's official mail account, but it ends there!

Very Wrong when our An Employee but Good to an Employer..
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

No sane or wise person will mention any of his/her fraudulent dealings on any social media.

@Sophia Stephen

kblyte said...

It's not right, it's like infringing on the personal life of its staff

It depends on d company's policy, but sha its not gud to veer into people's privacy. Linda take note!

Hmm.. Complete breach of privacy. lets have the opinion of the lawyers in the house.

Is bullshit y will Det monitor my account

It depends on d company's policy, but sha its not gud to veer into people's privacy. Linda take note!

It depends on how the coy operates n their standard. What u call social media could be used for other things that could harm the company. It's called being@ alert.

Bokunor said...

Yes if na big firm company, Buh if na all dese small scale biz who born dem, dey no dey die ni

They may as well monitor the activities in their bedrooms.People are smarter this days.They open accounts with pseudo names.

Its not right... but its only a staff who cannot separate his or her career from private life that will have an issue eventually.

Brown bear said...

Worng worn worng that's their private life! The only time as a boss I check my staffs social media is when they pull a sicki and you know they are lying lol apart form that I think absultely not!!

General said...

That is STALKING, and its definitely not right

kblyte said...

It's not right, as long it doesn't have anything to do with the company's image.

Even if you work with the CIA, they have no right to monitor your social media accounts, they can read flag certain words but not outright monitoring! That's plain wrong, it is a gross invasion of privacy.

It's not good. There should be privacy for the employee.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

obietrezy said...

Well I think if both parties didn't agree on that via employment process then they shouldn't but if they did then no stress.

U said it all dear.

Moreso it not every company dat has d luxury to do dat.

GCN( LADY G ) said...

Lolz.. True talk.. Linda pls don't forget my 25k which i won last month.. Jor o, i need d dough badly

Its nt right biko
Dis one wey girls answer different names for social media nko

No its bridge of confidentiality.....not in support of it.
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Lol @wakapass

Its very bad. and il log out of it or pen another one

It is not right. That is innovation of privacy.

GR8BABE said...

to me i don't think its ideal, but it depends on what the company does and if the company has to check then u may keep your privacy by not working wt them.
u may bear some funny names and your company will not know its you.lol

Princess G said...

If a crime is involve, yes. If otherwise NO

Its bullshit. for what na

Yes. The purpose should be to monitor and curtail inappropriate use of the company's resources (internet access, computers and company time) for private use.

Unfortunately, a few people may see that as a "perk" that comes with the job but it qualifies to be deemed as theft (does this sound like calling corruption ordinary stealing?).

This ranks in the same category as taking company stationary (photocopying paper, pens, pencils etc home for the kids or personal schooling needs).

Only if the company handle issues related to National security.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide

It's not right

For why?...ahan if it's nt aa company's acct abeg mk dem swerve...it's ones private shit! n if dey want dem to ave accts on behalf on d company den no p! Buh dier private acct? Ma dear dat ain't gon happen

Amerie's blog said...

Nah
Www.ameriesblog.com

Princess Deedee said...

Not right at oll

Still On Still said...

For what? Is my privacy oooo.

Haba, its very wrong. Instead just disallow people from opening it while at work.

Depends on d kind of company u are working for,but no in general,no body's private social life shud b monitored cos of their job!

Where I work, we dont have access to internet on company system. We use our phone and tablet for browsing, so they don't have access to our social life

Dani said...

Yes because when you start working for a company you represent them and they become responsible for you any negative thing you say can be used against them

No. It's not right for a company to monitor its staff social medeia activities. It amount to invading their privacy.

***ECHOMASS***

no its not right..........its ones private life.

DEBBYKURU said...

its good and bad though

It all depends...
Often times some staff come to office to surf internet and leave their job undone. This has to b tracked.

While some companies deliberately track d social media of their staff in order to knw their social life on media if dey r denting themsef or not.

For crying out loud they represent d company. If u don't lik it, u hit d labour market according to my General Mgr.

Frederick said...

EXCEPT YOU ARE WORKING FOR THE CIA BUT LEFT TO ME, I AM NOT COMFORTABLE WITH IT NO MATTER THE PAY #WINK

It depends especially those working in CBN.

It all depends...
Often times some staff come to office to surf internet and leave their job undone. This has to b tracked.

While some companies deliberately track d social media of their staff in order to knw their social life on media if dey r denting themsef or not.

For crying out loud they represent d company. If u don't lik it, u hit d labour market according to my General Mgr.

NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!
DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

It all depends...

Yusuph said...

It an awareness for the staff not to create a bad name to the company

No nt right

No.....is not their business

Nope....its personal

Neks said...

>>>> Depends what kind of company, Security company, its definite, or should be. <<<<

dayballher said...

honestly its annoying cause my Boss does the same, didn't even know how he got to know my FB and IG accounts claiming its for security reasons, he is even on my BBM chai! i have suffered, sometimes i feel i work with BBA, but all the same i am myself and can't pretend to be what i am not #shikena

Wat rubbish...hell no!

Jsticks247 said...

No it isn't.

Even if na dem de buy de MB. Its private!

REXOVIC said...

NO, ITS NONE OF THIER BIZ!

Editor said...

If them want monitor my social media account; oya make the come monitor my wife give me join. mtcheeew

It depends on d type of company nd wht dey do.....dey myt chk incase deres a snitch or traitor among dere staffs

This is out of placeyahoo.com

princess Dorcas said...

Why will the monitor my social media account am i not doing my job again pls the company should stop that expensive joke biko

They are the image of the company, so yes!

It depends on what the company does, for security purposes; some companies should monitor it

Besides you should know what u signed up for

Nope

It's not right! that's ones privacy

Rihanna said...

Its not right but the workers should be careful to avoid being duped of the company finance

TEEDEE said...

Have no right what so eve

RUKKY said...

Vry wrong

Many people in USA has got fired because b of what they post b on social media. Some companies review your profile online before hiring you. That's why it's not good to be or post a nuisance on social media.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen

no its not. everyone has a life to live and everyone needs their privacy. my private live should not concern my professional life.

LADY B said...

Erm! There's something called Privacy for a reason! You dont just inflict on an old persons rights no matter how much you paying the person!

The Company's image. But still dont feel its right!

Making sense moses, companies don't allow access to social medias anymore.

Not right

Jessy said...

Mba!!!! so inappropriate.wont take that

ElsieNene said...

For What??

Hmmmmm

It all depends...but to me it's not right to invade into someone's privacy that way

nooooooooooooooo but their activities during office hours can be monitored

No!

SWAAG said...

WELL, IF THE COMPANY PAYS ME WELL, THEN ITS OKAY..... NO WAHALA. AM GONNA LIKE IT AND CALL IT RIGHT....

Rose - sweet16 said...

is not right

WRONG WRONG WRONG.IF THAT IS A LAW BEFORE ONE JOINS AN ORGANIZATION,THEN ITS OK.A LAND THAT HAS NO LAW HAS NO SIN....AKA...NET POLICING

Rose - sweet16 said...

not right

@Damesel, AKA miss indomie, you dey find indomie endorsement Abi ? Lol. It's wrong oh. Your privacy should remain private

Not so right ooooo. As long as it not part of d office account.

Privacy thank u

invasion of privacy...........its not right at all...

pretty girl said...

Not right atall on which level nah

very wrong

SEX TIPS said...

Every employer will want to know if the bulk of their employees work time is actually spent working.

I say YES.

Ohumotu said...

Funny thing is late last year our manager informed us that we should cut down the rate at which we "consume" data in our office as this is making us spend more money on internet subscription.. which is funny because I'm using my desktop to send this right now. He even insisted that if it's not work-related i'e. returning or sending mails and everything we should hibernate our systems. LOL It's kind of annoying watching over your shoulder or closing your tabs when you feel your boss is coming

Chop Chop said...

Nope

Emeka Facts said...

No its not right. But if sb suggest that,it means they are suspecting sb that is trying cause a bridge in security.

@Emekanews reporting

Chop Chop said...

Nope

Benkzee said...

what for? I don't think is cool!

Its not right abeg. Every employee deserves his/her privacy.

Very very wrong!

.....LIB addiction.....

onyeka kelvin said...

What for? I don't think is cool!

No, not right at all

Fashola wants lagosians to know that Ambode is a small boy in todays politics if not why is he backing Buhari of 73 yrs? if he likes let Agbaje be 100yrs he will win lagos.

its so so wrong...... the fact that am working for you doesn't mean i shouldn't have access to my own private life.

#secret admirer

eniola said...

Huh sorry miss indomie I guess u wana b noticed. So u can share some monday giveaway huh
Miss indomie

Yes! Once in a while general check...don't stalk them tho!

It's not right for any reason

Actually ur d only sensible responder I hv read here. Imagine Richard Quest of CNN posting his drunken pics from his night out with friends, or posting a tweet under d influence....then imagine what it would do to CNN's reputation.

i think it is bad... we should have our lives outside the office mehn

Funke said...

I so agree with u deola.

@Eniola,and u noticed her abi,its definitely werking lol

Nomso said...

Nope but its right for them to restrict some sites sha

So so wrong!

Not right at all biko.

It's absolutely wrong.

Hmm, that's what we suffer in the hands of ndi UK o. I have decided to change my name to an igbotic one and my great grandfather's name on Fb with zero tolerance of colleagues adding me.na today...mtcheww
Even when u get home,u r still being monitored.

Its not right atall

To an extent yes cause you're representing them.

They should avoid their social media at work. They can use their personal gadgets for socialising.