Troops foil terrorist attempt to occupy Damaturu while Mission to reclaim Baga is ongoing | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 January 2015

Troops foil terrorist attempt to occupy Damaturu while Mission to reclaim Baga is ongoing

Find the military press statement below
Troops are on mopping up operation around Damaturu after successfully foiling and containing the terrorists attempt to occupy parts of the town. The terrorists had launched massive attack from different directions of the town on Friday evening, but troops were promptly mobilized to repel the attack that lasted the night resulting in heavy casualty on the terrorists before the rest of them retreated. Weapons including IEDs and Rocket Propelled Grenades captured from the terrorists are being compiled while their dead as well as civilian casualties are yet to be determined.
Pursuit of the fleeing terrorists is also ongoing while the 5 soldiers who were seriously wounded in the attack are being treated in the military medical facility. Although normalcy has been restored, the town is also being reinforced with more troops. More details later.
Meanwhile the situation in Baga is still being studied to determine the appropriate action that will restore law, order and normalcy to the community after the attack mounted by hundreds of heavily armed terrorists last weekend. A total of 14 soldiers were killed in action during the attack, while over 30 who were wounded are now receiving medical attention. Most of those declared missing in action have also rejoined their unit in the ongoing reorganization for further operations.
Although several of the terrorists died in the course of the attack and efforts at repelling the assailants, the actual figure of civilian casualties is yet to be creditably determined as is being propagated in certain quarters.

The Nigerian military has not given up on Baga and other localities where terrorists activities are now prevalent. Appropriate plans, men and resources are presently being mobilized to address the situation. The Nigerian component of the Multinational Joint Task Force which retreated from its Baga Headquarters last weekend and more of the troops are regrouping for necessary debrief and briefing for subsequent missions.

It is necessary to reassure Nigerians that the Nigerian Armed Forces and security agencies are capable of flushing out the terrorists from Baga and all parts of the nation’s territory where their activities are prevalent. No portion of Nigeria’s territory has been or will be conceded to terrorists.
The use of all available resources within the armed forces will continue to be maximized to sustain the tempo of the counter terrorism campaign towards containing and eradicating terrorism in the nation’s territory. The support and understanding of all partners and neighboring countries will however continue to be utilized where available and relevant in the conduct of the mission and in line with existing agreement and understanding.

42 comments:

Good Boys... Nice One Men..
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

I dont believe a thing from the military.. Dont know who lie more btw them and GEJ

CHERRY said...

God help Nigeria!

Am just wondering why the attack is on the increase during this election period, : this is becoming too, the blood shed and the tears of the innocents. God intervene nah
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Story for Olokun...2Moro u hear a different story

Nice development. More of such news.
God bless their efforts.

This is great news,let them flush out all the terrorists.

MR EDDY said.
May the souls of our heroic soldiers who lost their lives in the attack rest in peace.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

Akwaugo said...

Confusion na wa ooo

Lib ugegbe

May the lord strengthen, keep and protect our military in the battle against the insurgence.

***ECHOMASS***

The problem isnt the capability of the khaki boys,its the politicks going on in higher places.Today we've won,but how about tomorrow? A friend of mine who's in Borno gave me a shocking revelation.Only one unit of soldiers left between maiduguri and the terrorists.The rest towns have been captured.You can imagine what will happen if this guys capture a state capital with airport? God forbid.

Stupid fools....

Abdulmalik Yusuf said...

God help our gallant soldiers, and may the souls of our fallen heroes rest in peace....

Abdulmalik said so via Motorola T191

May the joy of the lord be their strength. I wish them well. #MyPrayers

God bless our Army

eka said...

Good news........may God protect our soldiers.

God help us,dis pple just dey pop blood anyhow

Kudos to the Nigerian Army, they are fighting an unfair fight!

It is well..

demilade said...

God should help them!

We need to pray 4 our country........ it's getting outta hand

May God continue to strengthen d soldiers and protect their lives as they help reclaim our pride.

May God continue to help nd streghten d military. there will b no more loss in d land

Linda's no1 supporter

It is well.

Dis Nigeria military sabi lie, tomorrow na anoda thing we go hear. Linda take note!

Good I wish you all the best ..

i wish them more success

They need better weapons not this bullshit they are carrying May God protect them

Really I suggest u go down to Baga to find out the thruth ur self.

God will help them to conquer

I commend the effort of our soldiers. It is not easy to wage a war against insurgency. However there is room for improvement in the area of intelligence gathering and surveillance. This will help the military to proactively contain and ward off attacks from the insurgents. How do the insurgents get their supply of arms and ammunition....who are their sponsors...how are they able to mobilize and strategise to launch massive offensive against our military...overrunning communities in the process. At the moment, the strategy of waiting for the insurgents to launch attacks while our military repel such attacks is not too comfortable. It should be the other way round. The military should be launching more offensive against the insurgents and not wait to repel attacks from the insurgents. Having said that, my heart goes to soldiers and officers who have lost their lives in this senseless war. May God continue to comfort and strengthen their families. It is the ultimate sacrifice. To lay down one's life for the country. Can Linda Ikeji extend kind gestures towards these fallen heroes. Financial support could be extended to the families of soldiers and officers who died in this war. They have wives and children. They have aged parents and other dependents. God bless Nigeria

Nice job..

Hope goes a long way brother..

....THE ARCHITECT....

Pls shut up, u Nigerian are so ungrateful. For once can't I just appreciate what this people Are doing. U have the opportunity to sit freely at home and make stupid comments, but there are people's father's, son's and brothers out there dying so u and your sorry ass can feel safe.

has d $1b been used or nt!!

A maa dupe o. May God help us
Sallysmart

Our Nigeria army have failed us! Our govt. have failed us. The Nigeria army is not a fire brigade squad, that go to put out a fire after the damage has been done. The army sld prevent the fire from happening. It's taken too long to squash this hooligans. Innocent poor civilians are dying in thousands!!!

All this lies they keep telling us,army are dieing like sardines,my Broda called me and told me they where over ran,about 2k boko haram member with weapons more than the amry have,its just a game of wasting life's.i have an injured Broda and Jonathan is celebrating merrily with his daughter,just days apart,thats cruelty in inhumanity in the highest other.pls linda,post more about the happenings in the north,let the people be knw wats happening,army are dieing

You're just daft and senseless with some of your posts. I have a younger brother who is at the war front sacrificing his life for imbecile like you to live and you are here vomiting rubbish!

good job lads

abass said...

Corruption here and there,
Don't believe these people tho

Well done guys