CNN interview: Boko Haram and Black West Africa not a priority | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 January 2015

CNN interview: Boko Haram and Black West Africa not a priority

You want to know why world leaders gathered in France when 17 people were killed and none have particularly shown much interested in the madness happening in Northern Nigeria with Boko Haram? Well, it's because West Africa is not a priority to world leaders. Boko Haram is not a priority to the US. Wanted to share this video because this kinds of utterances need to be brought to the fore; this ultimately shows the way we as blacks or "Black West African" are viewed by advanced countries. Unbelievable. Please watch

303 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 303 of 303

If Goodluck showed competence, they won't talk like this, abeg the problem starts from us.I don't blame them. Our government doesnt make security of lives and property a 'priority' so why should they?

Wht is Unbelievable???
For crying out loud who r they refering to as "Black West African"? We r black and beautiful and to add to it "PROUD".

D interesting tin is, wit or witout their help, Nigeria wil b victorious over BH battles.

When US refused to sell weapons to us we went to Russia and bought. So wht r they talking abt. We r far better now than when we started.

We r independent nation and we r doing better. They can go to bliss wit so ever assistance they hav to render. It a priviledge for them if we allow anyone of them to assist us.

They r not our priority either. We don't need their help. " CASE CLOSE".

GOD punish dat motherfucker...imagine my life no dey important bcos I be black..he thinks there's no GOD

Apparently, the stake they expected to gain when they initially wanted to come and help fight BH didn't work out, hence the 'not priority' conclusion. It is well with Nigeria and Africa as a whole.

==Dobbie==

Not surprised,they've never liked Africa but they are not God

This is not news. How about Nigerians save Nigeria? See BH as the country's instead of a northern problem and come together to quash it. Outsiders see BH as yours alone. Own it and fix it.

Don't post my comment naw. No be the same Nigeria we all they scream "PLEASE HELP US" for?

This is not the time for you to be sentiment.

What will you gain from suppressing freedom of speech?

Look at where Nigeria is today bcos her leaders won't listen to her people.

Are you nuts?..she always writes on Boko Haram activities

Our govt. doesn't take it seriously but you want America to do so right?

Your president doesn't say a word about 2000+ people killed but the moron is sympathizing with France. And someone is telling me the same guy should be there for 4 more years.

chaste bobo said...

Thank you Bona. Every country is facing terror attacks. Why should Nigeria be their priority? Even our leaders don't have boko Haram or Nigerians as their priority.

I have never felt so discriminated and hurt! In fact, this is my first post ever on this blog.

The audacity of this utterance is certainly as a result of our corrupt leaders in power and their inability to consider the interest of the people as opposed to their personal interest.

If Africa, especially Nigeria has not woken to the reality of her inadequacies, I bet this will, rather I so hope it does.

Why should it be a priority when our govt is doing nothing about it?? Abeg,we cant expect manna to fall from the sky without working hard...

He shouldn't be Ashamed of being honest. He's telling the. Fact we need to. Hear and U can see he said: "its sorry to say".... that's how the world was set up and we back should be ready to tackle our Problems too. If our. President show leadership like others in other countries do, maybe we'll be priority. White people are. Very reasonable and won't take us serious so far. Our leaders don't.

Just a racist comment...May God save us all,Nigeria Unite

But it is also not a priority for our own govt so charity begins at home

Mtcheew watched it! Its our cross we carrying,we shall scale tru!

They are simply telling us that we are on our own. But that's fine. There's. God ooo

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Imagine he is saying "BH isn't a priority because is in west africa",Thanks for being so honest. Go to hell white pig,we don't need their f**king help.

GEJ till 2019

!! BIG BROTHER SAYS SO !!

GEJ till 2019

!! BIG BROTHER SAYS SO !!

Intelligent

obiora said...

This is so disheartening.

Africans are so sensitive..But are they lying tho? Is Boko haram and africans a TRUE priority to the US?

Well said!!!..

Maybe u guys need to be a priority to yourselves first...these guys r more serious and real...

U have a brilliant mind.

Tose said...

I get his point but saying that makes him sound pretty insensitive. Black West Africa? Haba!

Oh shut up already! What solutions do you have,you great old oaf?

When you finally have the willpower and good sense to get up and fight for yourselves!

Enough said!

You can weep from now till november, if you don't learn to fight your battles you will never beget respect! It's that simple!

Princess Deedee said...

Dats not fair

1000 likes...

You will live long!

God bless u for this statement.

How convenient! It's always easier to abdicate responsibility to God! You forget even the Israelites didn't just pray alone, they took action!

English o!Someone is murdering you here!

You are even more foolish!Calling a human being like yourself a dullard!How are you beter?,If I may ask?What posit I've contribution have you made to even an ant around you?Ewu Gambia!

Yoruba go talk say "wa gba iyi"! Please help me tell the pity party to disperse and face the real issue here!

Aunt Lindiway to be candid..he spoke the butter truth.. those folks don't give a Damn about we black and African..cos it will be a waste of their resources and unnecessary loss of lives of their soldier..tomorrow Oga Jonathan will send out 10,000 troops out for. Peacekeeping..mtcheeeew

True words Bonario, GEJ and the military heads don't act like there is a major crisis despite the staggering death toll daily from attacks.

Linda,Linda, Linda!!! I know you wont post my comment, you are uncomfortable with constructive criticism but nonetheless on the off chance that you do, i'm going to undergo the laborous act of trying to get you to think deeply! Respect begets respect! If we do not prioritize our own issues how on earth do you expect others to? Would that not be a case of crying more than the bereaved? We africans are very good at ignoring the real issues, focusing on minutae and throwing a huge pity party with myopia being the singular criterion for an invite! It is not about racism, it is not about hating blacks, it is about the indolence of the african and our "helper" mentality! Your leaders squander daily, the resources for fighting insurgency then cry out pathetically for the west to come and help. If you had a friend who constantly spends all her money on designer bags and stuff but comes to meet you for money to buy sanitary towel and bread and sardine, will you not get tired of her one day? We sit and weep and say "God will help us". God will not help you! Yes, not unless you want to be helped and it isn't by focusing on sentiments instead of the truth behind the man's words that you get help. They say when a man realises he has a problem, then that problem is already half solved. Until we are ready to confront the elephant in the room and realise what the real problems are, i daresay God will also sit and watch. You forget that even the Israelites didn't sit and fold their arms wallowing in self pity, they prayed then got up and fought back. Whenever they fell into the victim mode, God would send a prophet to reprimand them. I wish God would send his angels to give some of your readers heavy knocks on the head so they can wake up and smell the coffee. If someone insults you, don't just sit and cry foul, spend some time in introspection, you just may learn a thing or two you hitherto never realised. That is the way you grow! Until then your position will not change because you have refused to move past yourself!

when the nation had the OPC problem in the West, Yoruba leaders went out there to sort it out. When we had problems with Bakassi Boys in the East, Igbo leaders rose to the challenge and when we had the militancy in the Niger-Delta, South-South leaders, including Goodluck Jonathan went into the creeks to talk the boys into disarming.‎​Now, what have the Northern leaders done about Boko Haram since it started its rampage? Some wring their hands helplessly, while others like Buhari make political capital out of it! Of course, all Boko Haram wants now is a Northern president who would establish Sharia all over Nigeria and Buhari will give them that. But what that means is that they used the power of their guns to impose on us a national leadership that would take us back to the Middle Ages. I have no scruples with Buhari and his kith and kin that want criminal Sharia, but they cannot impose it on the rest of the nation above our Constitution. I will not vote for my own death! I will not vote for my people’s death!  I will not vote to take Nigeria through the darkness that I know a Buhari presidency represents!

(18) Think about the fact that we lost more people to communal, ethnic and sectarian violence under Obasanjo, including deaths by political assassinations, yet everyone is conveniently forgetting this fact and proclaiming Jonathan a weakling. Would we prefer that Jonathan and the military give communities the Odi and Zaki Biam treatment in the name of fighting Boko Haram?Think about the National Youth Service Corps members and the almost 1000 people that lost their lives up North after the last presidential election simply because Buhari did not win. Did Buhari’s reaction at the time show him as a statesman? Did it show him as someone who cares for the life of Southerners? Is that not the same man who has promised that dogs and baboons would be soaked in blood if the election is rigged this time, which in fact is a code word for massive violence if he loses?

Amazing response. I don't blame white people at all. If our leaders treat us like monkeys, how should we expect to be treated by others? Stop blaming white people. The same thing happens in naija daily. When robbers rob people every second, it is not a priority. As soon as wealthy person becomes a victim, arrests are made.

Linda I have a story for u... there was problems in my school(Unical) yesterday! the problem started when Muslim students who where holding their programme in school, stationed their speakers towards d hostel and started insulting Christians annd calling Jesus a bastArd! Over 200 students came out Frm d hostels and chased dem out...it was chaotic and would hav been worse but for d timely intervention of school security!

SuperDuperNaija said...

Why should they care when our president doesn't? We need to get our act together and stop seeing ourselves as a charity case.

JohnCrown said...

Well, I don't know why I am not surprised.

but what is still the matter with Nigeria and Africa we have the league of Nations, Africa Union and ECOWAS so we as an African Nation are not strong enough to tackle the menace of Boko Haram. I believe Africa as a whole can join forces together to fight this madness

WHY WOULD THEY TAKE US AS PRIORITY WHEN OUR SITTING DUMMY PRESIDENT COULD NOT EVEN MADE MENTION OF IT, THE INNOCENT LIFE SLAUGHTERED ARE NOT GEJ PRIORITY BUT HIS RE-ELECTION THE WESTERNER ARE ACTING RIGHT IF IM IN THEIR SHOES I WILL DO THE SAME.HOW DO U EXPECT STRANGER TO APPRECIATE YOU IF YOU DONT APPRECIATE YOUR SELF ?

omg this is sad...

They're mean

akin said...

No God will not fight for us. We first have to take responsibility and not expect other to do our jobs for us.

The point exactly.

Exactly

Sound one, tell them what they need to know

@Apple. U just said it all

Why would we be, when our leaders don't take the country they rule as priority?

If we want then to help or take us as priority, why don't we tell them to come rule us while at it, mtchew. Let all man solve him problem. Naija politicians always looting money, even money meant 4 arms are been looted.($1 billion loan )

True talk bro, pls just ask any soilder that has gone to fight insurgency and is back, ask him well and you would see that Nigeria govt aint ready to really fight it, infact to them it's an avenue to embezzle money

Why are we always blaming the white man? Is it the white man that's killing people in the north? It's our so called brothers and sisters that's doing that. It is a black man that's our president who has clearly failed and unwilling to tackle this boko haram issue because he wants to be reelected. The same president that sent condolence message to France while keeping mute about the killings by book harm. If the black people are not the priority of the white man, why can't we resolve our own issues when we can.

Only u sir/ma listened carefully. Nobody caught d "white or black Africa" phrase

When we behave no less

You are on point.

common sense is not common...idiot white people

What Secondary school boys and girls do during break time

Married Woman Caught Red-handed Cheating with 2 Men at the Same Time in her Husband’s House

Big Disgrace: See what happens to fela’s daughter on stage

Thankz jare....Nigerias still to dependent....I mean how will dey nat see us as trash wen all we do is cause problems for ourselves en expect dem ta always zoom in en save dah day...our own leaders don't even treat us right...so hw do we expect dem ta see us....we do make foolish decisions by giving them our petrol for free...I mean...sellin en buyin at more expensive rates is considered as free ta me....so even if dey call us waheva now...we kinda caused it ....peeps are diein en we focused on elections...I mean I really wonder how dis political peeps still got a lot of followers despite dah complaints en insults we hurl at dem...just look at dier campaign en rallies....even apes wuld know how ta spot a rotten banana from good ripe ones...so in that Case ain't we worse Dan apes?

nj said...

At least they had courtesy to say where they stand concerning the issue

Omalicha Speaks said...

Hold on people. Before we criticise them, I think something went wrong. Remember the US and other nations gave our nation support during the #bringbackourgirls phase. The US was willing to help us fight Boko Haram but something happened that made them pull back....something u and I don't know. I sense our leaders must have done something shameful and utterly ridiculous that has caused these people to loose all respect for us. They definately know a lot that we don't know. I'm guessing they discovered a whole new level of corruption and greed in Nigeria. The guy sounded like they knew our boko haram problem is from within. Think deeply before you criticise the US.
Enemies Of Progress-click my name to read more.

OMG!!! I cldnt have said it better.
You are the smartest blog reader I've ever come across! Keep it up.

Hmmm....we must ask our leaders past and present how we got here...We have been incapacitated by fear for our lives forgetting we will all die one day....I am sure most of went to church today, how many of our Pastors made a mention of he killings in Baga service today? The level of moral decadence in Nigeria is unprecedented...this problem must be solved by us or we will all be worse for it. We must speak out now and hold our leaders accountable for the embarrassment and shame they have caused us.

princess said...

U r very correct

I wonder why we clamour for help from this so called fools while our own government did nothing reasonable about the Boko boys

OMG!WOMAN said...

They said it, we're not a priority. They have the right to chose what they make a priority and what they don't. It's not their home that is in fire so they could care less. We haven't even made ourselves a priority yet we expect them to place value on us.

Femi-nist said...

You are not their country or continent and they have ade SEVERAL efforts to help us. In Egypt, the people fought injustice ruthlessly and got rid of the Muslim brotherhood. In Libya, the people fought Gaddafi tooth and nail till they ousted he and his family. In Nigeria, we've been dealing with Boko Haram for years and haven't even held our leaders or the army accountable. Not 48 hours after 2000 people were slaughtered in Baga, Jonathan was partying at his niece's wedding. Why oh why should they prioritise us? When they shout about human rights for gay people, we arrogantly tell them to go and deal with their country. Now we are being bombed everyday and they are meant to leave their own issues and other major international issues from countries who are doing their best to curb issues to come and help us. BYE FELICIA!

I watch this future movies where the world is no longer that inhabitable and a new world had been discovered but only for the affluent nations.
We all know the continent that wud be left behind in the inhabitable world.

that girl said...

I swear you the only one who has spoken the truth here. I'm so angry at people saying God will help us.... He has already done that, but because of our level of I don't care attitude and corrupt minds both citizens and leaders alike we are waiting for someone else to come clean up our mess... Nigeria is a huge joke and so the world will treat us as such.

Favour belle said...

And so what anon 10:22? An important question is being asked for a remedied solution and you are there shouting first. Foolish you

Seriously how is this news? Even their own black Americans are not a priority to them after we saw how they were killed like chickens recently, is it now black west African that will now be their priority? Long hiss. Abeg, CNN should show film if they don't have news again.

The CNN correspondent from Jos raised some valid point on why the west should take Boko Haram as aa major threat to their own peace. The fight in Libya brought the arms through our boarders and gave more strength to the insurgents, if a news reporter (ie the 2nd guy that spoke in d interview) could analyze issues as they are on ground, then it shows stupidity on the part of an army officer to say the issue of Boko Haram is not high on d scale of preference of the united State. I hope our leaders see this interview and understand on d west view us. After they will tell me that racism is over

They simply just don't want to identify with failures and bad leadership. Africa's leaders are corrupt, they lack Development, no respect for human rights, rule of law etc

weren't they the once that supplied the weapons to Libya, without actually knowing how it was going to be controlled?? these weapons eventually landed in Nigeria??It should be their priority na, pieces of shit.. Its the same useless white people that that more or less destroyed the African race by going there and colonising us, did we beg them? The same idiots that started taking us as slaves..

Serves us right jare, our leaders are bringing shame upon us

True

Jack Ubong said...

Boko Haram is never a serious issue! The Americans are right. Nigerians and their Leaders can eradicate BH. But hungry for power and selfishness wont let them. Pls God let them not visit Nigeria for d so call BH issue. Even God is angry with Nigerian Leaders.

To you, it's not a priority but to us, it's the most priority.

Boycott US products and buy Aba made right? Be sincere with urself for once. If this statement was made in another country I would have believed it .Does a Nigerian believe in Nigerian products?

How can we be their priority when we are the ones killing ourselves.
We are also not sincere about helping ourselves, we still don't know if the government, ruling party or opposition party has a hand in Boko Haram, there is so much talk about the people that are supposed to solve this problem sabotaging it either because they are responsible for it or because they are just too corrupt and greedy.

Don't be very stupid,this is unbiased journalism and report, if you have a problem with it, write to CNN.

You make sense

Linda we caused it, when we don't respect ourselves how can anybody respect us?even our passport is one of the most powerless and FG is taking Nigerians for granted, the developed countries are seeing this from afar, they have their own problems too u know....

Not anymore

We don't need their help. they are not even interested in any help. Whatever they give to us is a greek gift. They are part of our problem and God will expose and disgrace them thoroughly.

why r we complaining abt the assistance of the help wen the repoerter said it all.. They arent willing to help coz our govt isnt doing enough. Hope you guys heard what the presenter said abt baga.. Our govt sent condolence message to paris and refused to utter a word of sympathy about wot happened i n our domain within the same week.. its obvious, we cant blame the west anymore, we need to get things right and start doing it right. Anoda man no fit take panadol for our headache anymre

lets call a spade as spade;

the president needs to act and stop being a figure head.

if he coulde exercise so much on his campaign thanking Nollywood stars. he shoudl sit down and rethink

he is the commander in chief. equip your military office with weapons and not sakabula. we have to wipe this people out

Barbara said...

But think about this. Shouldn't Nigerians or Africans be tired of always asking the west for help.? Is it not the same brain God gave us! If someone comes to your house asking for money all the time, won't you get tired. You say you want independence, yet you will always go and ask for one help or the other. Your leaders don't even like you and have sold you out to them. If you were in their shoes, will make that person a priority?

Barbara said...

Thank you! When we cried #bringbackourgirls! She be they came here, and saw the nonsense that the boko haram in government were doing! They carried their intelligence back to the US, and now we are crying again and we expect them to fly abi! OYO for us!

Barbara said...

Which goods of the land? In case you don't know, the US have Oil( the so called goods) now and are now the no 1 crude producing country in the world knocking Saudi Arabia off the no 1 spot. Why do you think oil prices are dropping and the naira is depreciating more.Nigeria offers the world nothing besides oil. So what are we talking about.

Barbara said...

I just laugh when I see ignorant Nigerians critisize the US or the West. Even God! Let me repeat it again. EVEN GOD will not make you a priority if you don't start to do what is right in his sight. Let's assume you carry a cause of no marriage as a girl in your family, if you don't do the needful of "fasting and praying", pls answer me, will anything happen? Nigeria and Africa deserves whatever humiliation they get! Not worry my Darling, all the Angels in heaven and all the humans in America will fly and come and fight for Nigeria.Idiots"

Rightly said. We should clean our own house, and stop waiting for the west to help us.

Uuntil u stand up for yourself, no 1 ll stand up and fight ur cause! It's time for Nigerians to stand up and fight to hell wit USA! If we d pple are not a priority then our oil reserves should not be a priority too!

People are misunderstanding the Major General. He was trying to poke the American Government in the eye without using the word racism. He said that Black west Africa is simply not a priority and then he pointed out again that white africa would have triggered a different response. He is saying this because that is the reality. The US has not prioritized West Africa because of racial prejudice. So until that happens and they start discussing Nigeria at Joint Chief of Staff meetings, the direct interpretation is that Nigeria is deprioritized. He was trying to be stark in pointing out the problem that we face as black people. Best said coming from a white man.

OMG!! So if we constituted of a fraction of the white population, we could have been helped. This is a case of Racism. God will forgive us

OMOOBA said...

We don't need you people, you can go to hell for all I care. Rubbish!!!

Amazing! Now the truth is out! This is incredible. I can't believe what i just heard!

Dont blame anyboby for what you can handle yourself. They know we can handle that. Buhari said "vote for me I will stop Boko Haram" Pls lets be sensitive. We will continue to pray Nigeria.

I suggest people stop blaming the "white people" because the last time I checked the President in the U.S. is black!!!!! He took his own decisions to send air strikes to Syria and troops back to Iraq and Afghanistan. He also signed an executive order to grant amnesty to illegal immigrants in the USA. So ask yourself this? Is it the "whites that are failing to help Nigeria or is it a "Black" man?????

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 303 of 303   Newer› Newest»