227 Nigerian soldiers protest unlawful dismissal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 January 2015

227 Nigerian soldiers protest unlawful dismissal

227 soldiers serving in the North Eastern zone of Nigeria have protested their alleged dismissal from the Nigerian Army by the General Officer Commanding 3 Armoured Division Jos, Plateau State.

According to Leadership, the protesting soldiers led by Sergeant Abiona Elisha stormed the Nigerian Union of Journalists, Plateau state secretariat yesterday January 16th, holding placards calling for their reinstatement into the army.

According to their leader, they were dismissed from the Army on Tuesday January 13th after being called from their various operation units to face a panel at the barracks and without being given any fair hearing or told what their offenses were.

Some of the soldiers alleged that their refusal to fight members of Boko Haram in October 2014 led to their dismissal.
“We were dismissed this week Tuesday from the service of the Nigerian Army after sending us to go and suffer fighting insurgency in Adamawa, Yobe and Borno states. All of a sudden, we were recalled to the barracks and made to face trial. Even at the trial, we were not given the chance to defend ourselves. They just took a decision and dismissed us. We were not even told what our offences were during the so-called trial. We are surprised that we can be treated like this in our own country. We were sent to fight insurgents without weapons; a lot of our colleagues were killed in the course of defending our father land. Even those who are in hospital treating injuries they sustained from the battle field were also dismissed while still on hospital admission. The worst situation is that families of our colleagues killed in Adamawa and Yobe are languishing in hunger as the Nigerian Army refused to pay their entitlement ”Sergeant Abiona said 
When contacted, the the deputy director, army public relation of the 3 Armoured Division, Col Texas Chukwu denied knowledge of the dismissal of the soldiers.
“I have no knowledge of the issue, I just came back from Maiduguri, I am not aware if any soldier was dismissed.” he said

128 comments:

Interesting..

God help them...
Bcos dis wil mak no difference.

Labour market here we come.
Wit all dis our labour market is in trouble.

Why Would He Be Aware of Their Unlawful Dismissal.. Wicked Set Of Leaders!!!
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Are they ready to fight boko now?

Neks said...

>>>> News from Nigeria just getting worrier by the day. <<<<

Smh....shits are happening in dis country o.

ah ah ah these clueless general go give them death by hanging ooooo, o na better run.....richlyblessed007@gmail.com

eka said...

hmm, the matter should be settled amicably and hopefully,all these new developments and tales from the army would lead to a better welfare scheme 4 them...............

Things are turning from bad to worst...chaii

Killings and Lawlessness didn't start today in the North. All the below list of bloodletting are verifiable on Wikipedia:

1.) "Google Nigeria's Pogrom" It took place on May to October 1966, where more than 40,000 Southerners were MASSACRED in Northern Nigeria. Some were buried alive, others were crucified and killed gradually by having their eyes plucked out, their ears chopped off, their tongues cut and their manhood hacked off. The luckier ones just had their heads severed from their body. Women were raped & thereafter broken bottles forced into their womanhood.

2). 1980 May: 2467 Christians killed in Zaria

3). 1980 December 18‐20 Riots in Kano. The Maitatsine sect, 4,177 were killed.

4). 1982 September 29- October 3. Disturbances in Kaduna, Kaduna State. 53 killed and many churches were burned.

5). 1982 October 29‐30. Further trouble in Maiduguri, Borno State by the Maitatsine sects. 118 died.

6). 1984 February 27-March disturbance in Yola,then
Gongola State by the Maitatsine sect,568 died, Mostly Christain

7). 1985 April 26‐28: Riot in Gombe, Bauchi State by the Maitatsine sect. 105 Mostly Christians died.

8). 1987 March 5th and following days. In Kafanchan, Kaduna State, Christians and Muslims clash at the College of Education.100 Churches were burnt.

9). 1987 March. Katsina, Funtua, Zaria, Gussau and Kaduna (Kaduna State). A wave of religious riots, many churches were burnt and property destroyed, and many lives were lost.

10). 1991 April In Katsina, several lives were lost. Shiite sect in Katsina led by Malam Yahaya Yakubu stired up trouble.

11). 1991 April, in Tafawa Balewa University (Bauchi State) over 200 lives were lost with properties and 20 churches destroyed.

12). 1991 October 14‐ 15. In Kano, the attempt of the Izala sect to stop Rev. Bonnke from preaching became violent. Thousands of Christians died & property destroyed. Conservative estimates (3800)

13). 1992 February 6th and then May 15‐ 16: Zango Kataf, Zaria, Kaduna State Communal clash becomes a religious clash, with lives and property destroyed.

14) Funtua (Katsina State). Kalaka to religious sect assaulted a village head. 50 lives were lost and properties destroyed.

15). 1999. May 20. Muslim‐Christia n riots in Kaduna, for three days, several hundred were feared dead. 3200 conservative estimate,mostly Christians

16). 1999. July 18: Hausa and Yoruba riot in Shagamu, over 60 are killed. This led to trouble in Kano where over 70 were killed.

17). 2000 August 11. About 200 were killed as the army intervened in Taraba State

18). 2000 October. Sharia Law in is introduced in Zamfara State. 19. 2000 February. Riots in Kaduna over the introduction of Sharia. Over 400 are killed. Mostly Christians

20). 2001 September 7 Christian‐Muslim conflicts in Jos. Over 500 are killed.

21). 2001 october 12‐14 In Kano, there were anti‐American riots, because of USA intervention in Afghanistan. At least 350 are killed Mostly Christians.

22). 2006 February:Sectarian violence sparked by cartoons of Islam’s most revered figure spread to 11 Nigerian cities resulting in the burning of 28 churches and pushing the total death toll to more than 650.

23). Dogo na hauwa masacre 7th march 2010.

Well, according to northerners, GEJ was responsible for the above history. Their argument is that North has always been peaceful before the emergence of Good Ebele Jonathan.
The above recap shows North has always enjoyed spilling the blood of innocent Nigerians mostly christians, yet they want one Nigeria.

What an irony!

Eagle Eyes Media said...

The answer to all these is: vote GEJ out.

Hmmm! Soldiers are been killed almost on daily basis by the insurgents and Army are dismissing such a huge number of soldiers. Who will then fight the insurgents!
@Mr Endowed via Lumia number

You refused to fight BH and you're still looking for reasons? Have you all forgotten what you swore to? Well, in as much as I share your sentiment for refusing to fight, you should always know you're supposed to obey the last order any time

No comment just passing

Genesis said...

I beg the leadership of Nigerian army to reconsider what they are doing. They just provided Boko haram with 227 willing mercenaries . With good intel of the army formations in the northwest. If its based on CNN report there better ways to identify the culprits. Please be wise.

Amidst all these crisis, how is NDA suppose to quell the threat of the insurgency?!

Genesis said...

I beg the leadership of Nigerian army to reconsider what they are doing. They just provided Boko haram with 227 willing mercenaries . With good intel of the army formations in the northwest. If its based on CNN report there better ways to identify the culprits. Please be wise.

I just can't understand this. Why can't the military be well equipped and trained? Democracy in Nigeria self.

Who will now fight BH people eh? Make we dey tink before we do some kind thing nw mtshew nawa o

nnejichichi said...

wot a wicked world

useless govt

I don't even know what to say. God go help una resolve d matter. Linda take note!

A green card is all i need......

These pple can talk wat i dont undastnd....Hw can U not be aware? must U bepresent physically bfore U can be aware of wats going on ........Let dem continue to protest but in peace

These people are not serious oooo, I'm so pissed off right nw, hw will they b dismissing soldiers @ dis critical state dat d country is in nw, the General commanding officers needs to be sacked with immediate effect

Jessy says so

From Mutiny to unlawful dismissal what other story is coming from Nigeria Army.#sighs#

that is what happen when u have a stupid, wicked, clueless, incompetent person as a president with nothing but selfish agenda. the presidency is the sponsor of the boko haram to enable jonathan remain in power. Nigerian Army have never been this vulnerable if not for personal agenda of jonathan.

may God deliver us from the wicked goat called jonathan

Phew! Waiting for the military authority in their usual manner to refute this.

Nigerian army has become a joke right now.

CELEB said...

This country dey behave like possessed people we watch on tv. Which kain bad negative news everyday na? God, na ur hands I commit nigeria!

Na wa oooo....

I wonder where dis current govt is taking dis country to.???? Very weak Govt

If this is true, then shame on Gej the army commandant.

We dont have gvt in this country..

SWILL MARTIN said...

Grave injustice,did they expect dem 2 juz give thier lives up like that,who wud?if d oga's @ d top y dem no go face d boko haram demselves,mchhheeeeew,provide weapons to fight dem they hesitate,wetin dem won mke d soldiers do eh??mke dem go fight me boko haram use dem practice thier shooting skills.they should be given a fair trail,afta thorough investigation tho.

If they were asked to fight and they refused, dismissal is the most linient treatment!..I mean what are u still doing in the army?#smh..some fools here will soon start shouting GEJ

As #FailBuhari 14th draws near. If you're voting remember these facts:

1) In 2 years Buhari spent in power he didn't build a single university

2) Buhari Sacked more than 50,000 Civil servants and cut
allowance of lecturers in 1984

leading to brain drain.

3) Buhari re- introduced payment of school fees in all schools. He also banned school feeding program.

4) Buhari's failed economic policy caused alot of hardship to Nigerians. Many cried while queueing for their portions of scarce commodities like rice,sugar, salt, milk and toiletries

5) Buhari critised Federal Govt for being harsh on bokoharam members

6) Under Buhari's watch,Islamic terror group called Maitasine slaughter more than 5,000 Nigerians with mere Bow and Arrow yet they say the Old man can defeat his Bokoboys

7) Buhari Increased Nigeria externel debt by $3billion in just 1 years. Drove up Inflation by 41% , one of the worst in the history of Nigeria

8) Buhari used gun to attempt to
force down prices of goods in
1984. What a novice in
Economics.

9) Buhari is an Islamist who want sharia to be enforced all over Nigeria

10) He is also a jihadist

11) Buhari promised blood bath if he does not win elections

12) Buhari ask his supporters to Kill anybody that tries to rig 2011 election which led to the killing of many youth corpers.
Pls Remember to
#VoteGoodluck

God hv Mercy.

Nigeria government should stop deceive us. They are not doing anything to tackle this insurgency, all the monies claimed to have spent are being diverted to other things. These soldiers have been complaining of being under equipped all these while. FGN and the leadership of Nigeria army need to tell us where they put our monies

Beautiful wifey said...

Lobatan!

Na wa oooo naija

As am talking rights now, am in Maiduguri where we all known is headquarters of boko haram, suicide bombs, we that are living in Maiduguri, we all known the way soldiers are suffer in those three state, which even I not mention their name u all known, am living in barrack, there is nothing u can tell me about how soldiers are suffering here,that I did known, all those our officers seating in abuja,did known what is happened here, but they like to give an order with out skills, how can u give someone katapot to fight person that holding AK47, is impossible, if our soldiers are whiled equip, only 21 armour bridge, can concert those boko haram,for me this dismiss that their dismissed those soldiers, if they not take a necessary action and call those soldiers back, I can tell u there is big problem are yet to born,God will help us in Jesus name.(amen)

Our soldiers keep on protests God will sure exposed their plan.

Good ?...tnx

Well, I don't think dismissal of the soldiers is the best thing to do. What of if they decide to support the Boko Haram and fight the NA. Their should other better ways to punish them if they have erred.
God Bless Nigeria

Clueless government. You are just creating angry/hungry trained solders. Wouldn't take much for BH to woo them to defect to their side.

My brother!, no be today e start...if only our gullible youths will read history

If they shd dismiss them then they shd do it the right way

They nor want die but they wan go heaven #in2babaVoice

Can't imagine another 4yrs like this...#Votebuhari

NAIJA REBRANDER said...

How many soldiers do Nigeria have talk less of dismissing some of them....

www.naijarebrander.blogspot.com

#GodSaveOurSoldiers***

Nawa oo

What Secondary school boys and girls do during break time

Married Woman Caught Red-handed Cheating with 2 Men at the Same Time in her Husband’s House

Big Disgrace: See what happens to fela’s daughter on stage

God bless you for these facts. If only some ignorant people would listen

DaBabe said...

At a time when soldiers are needed the most, they are actually being dismissed...very interesting

Shits keep piling up cos of the weakest, unfocused leader any country can have. All his government knows how to do is deny their weakness without any form of amendment

And the military heads will be talking gibberish when CNN broadcast such news. Smh.

The masses needs to come out and support the protesting soldiers. We've heard from the soldiers that they are not well equipped, they and their families are not cared for. What evidence do we need again.

If ur numbers r facts which i doubt, y r u tellin d number of xtians killed? Is it only them, wt started d violence? U see pple lyk u r fools and cos of u even ur own house wnt develop. White folks dt raped and enslaved ur grandmothers they are d ones u dnt mension. God hw som dump heads lyk u think

They should just pardon them, u don't expect them to fight with nothing, just equip them

This anonymous with plenty history about the north must be very mad, stupid and foolish like jonathan.

Idiot!!!! I bet u blv GEJ is more dn jesus crist. U see mentionin buhari makes u luk lyk a fool. Gej has done worse dn all ds u mentioned

Dont know what really transpired but When a soldier refuses orders from a superior officer, then something must really be wrong somewhere.

I can imagine...
God help them

The Nigerian Army has code of conduct which is in the terms of employment agreement they signed. If they violated any, then they should be dismissed. You weren't forced into the army but you joined willingly which states that you must obey the last command. The only place you soldiers have strength is when you see defenceless civilians. Disobeying order in the military is tantamount to mutiny. Whether you were giving weapons or not, your terms of agreement, states that you must obey order from your superior. People shouldn't get emotional about this.

Ucee said...

This is height of wickedness,Jonathan shld do something abt this pls.

This is not the Nigeria we use to know...

So many things gone wrong

I wnt shout GEJ but my d almigthy lord put u in far worse sitiuation dn them

charles ems said...

We shld hear both sides of the story b4 judging!

Emeka Facts said...

Corruption everywhere.Even in d military sector. Dismissing dis guys without hearing from them means u are pushing them to join bokoharam.

@Emekanews reporting from ur village.

They should match straight to Aso Rock to meet with Mama peace and the Oga Joe Joe.
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

I think it's high time the govt. Looked into the situation of these armed men, treat them with respect and provide them with what they need to fight this insurgency. May God heal our land

I think you are a fool! So they should go fight heavily armed terrorists bare handed and on empty stomach???? What takes place in our army does NOT happen anywhere else or heads will roll. The demonic leaders and their greed frustrated the US army out of Nigeria last year when they came to help With d chibok girls. And wat was their report? CORRUPTION!!! People take oat to join the army with the mind that everything else, not 'will be taken care of', but is already taken care of - e.g., arms and ammunition to fight in the battle field (boko haram), welfare for them and their family if anything happens to dem in d course of carrying out their duties.
Don't open ur nasty disgusting mouth to spew shit here cos you have phone or laptop n fingers .

And Linda try post comment!!

Colonel texas is a fucking liar..if those men don't get reinstated some of them may consider joining the Boko haram sect without thinking twice

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Aw can d PR colonel said he's nt aware of diz? Dis military nd dia lie sha.
Davido's GF

my thoughts exactly..... we sidon dey wait. as usual na satanic dem go call am

Do you guys now believe what the soldiers were saying on CNN. The present government is just useless. Believe it or not.

They have forgotten blood sucking demons

You're just a pathetic loser. You brought stories which are long gone and settled by the government then. The Boko haramm issue is different from all what you listed above. Boko haram is a terrorist group not an hausa or igbo or yoruba fighting ish. The president is not doing enough to curb what is happening presently in the north. I don't know if the money they're paying you is what is diverting you from saying the truth but I pray it'll not be late for you to reason well. The soldiers are complaining, and here you're quoting thrash from the old school. When last did u witness yoruba and hausa clash or igbo and hausa or igbo and yoruba? This is terrorism we are talking about. If the president can't sort it, he's not fit to be called a president. Will it be like this if the terrorism act was happening in bayelsa??? Just ask yourself. Na me even get time to they reply you.

Princess G said...

Very very interesting and disheartening.

what do dey want again,shebi they said there is no weapon for them to fight,let them go home and rest nau,in as much as we blame the federal government in this insurgency fight,we should also take the time to look at the approach of the ordinary Nigerian soldier,are they really commited to fighting this war or have they now turned to cry babies?

ibeakwadalam said...

Ah, if only President Jonathan would fire Major General Ihejirika and bring in competent people who are better equipped to handle Boko Haram.

Oh wait, he did!

You have Chief of Defence Staff, Air Vice Marshal Alex Badeh from Adamawa.

You have Minister of Defence, Retired General Aliyu Mohammed Gusau from Zamfara State.

You have National Security Adviser, Retired Colonel Sambo Dasuki from Sokoto State.

And you then have the Inspector General of Police Suleiman Abba from Jigawa State.

The fact these men still hold down jobs and are yet to be fired is an indictment on Mr. President. Or is he afraid they will say he does not care for the North? Maybe this one, he is part of a Southern conspiracy to destabilize the North using Northerners?

Next thing they will tweet and call the drmonstration satanic. I weep for my country.#occupyasorock.
...Mama J...

HUMBLE EVE said...

Lol.Una dou

HUMBLE EVE

With ur comment, hav com 2 realise d@ u are royal mumu. Stupid boi

elovi said...

Hmmmn dnt have anything to say

umoh Linda said...

No na, dis is not fair at all..

This is not good.

I talk am! So true wot CNN said! Fighting widout weapons! Chai naija!

So many things are going on in the Nigeria Army that Nigerians don't know about. I have 3 brothers serving in the army and one of them is battling presently with his life as he was shot 2 weeks ago by BH. This whole thing is politicised, they only send soldiers that are southerners without food and equipped weapons to fight BH. This is not just a speculation, it's very real.

Nigeria!

Yinka said...

Nothing pisses me off as remembering that am a nigerian sometimes.

Meanwhile, I still have a crush on #lauraikeji

Do U really take time to think before writing this post? I doubt. Sometimes, I wish Nig av no army. Pple lik U wud av ended up bn BH's SUYA.

gab2shoes said...

This is politically motivated...
The gods are wise!
Gab2shoessaysso

ChincoBee said...

So what or who do we believe now?

God have mercy on this country

DON™ said...

Stalemate

DON™ said...

Stalemate

U knw d reason naw! U even made mention of it

Just a question, are they not the same soilder who betray the Nigeria army ? Linda post my question.

As long as we keep looking back we will never progress in Nigeria

Niyi Sodimu said...

Assuming all the facts are true, then the soldiers have a good case against the Nigerian Army. No one should be convicted unheard; this is both a natural law as well as our constitutional prescription. Using the case of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden as an illustration, even God did not convict either without first hearing them and giving them a chance to defend themselves. I advise they get a good lawyer to sue the NA on their behalf for this unlawful dismissal. It is totally unacceptable.

We're gonna give him our 100% vote

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Only God's intervention can help us in this country

Mumu.....i doubt if ur IQ is even up to 10%. So if ur aga command u may u kill ur self, u go do am abi. Ode

The army would forever deny. There is so much corruption in this country. Why would they send the soldiers to go and fight Boko Haram with little weapons when they know the Boko Haram guys have more sophisticated weapons.

Killings and Lawlessness didn't start today in the North. All the below list of bloodletting are verifiable on Wikipedia:

1.) "Google Nigeria's Pogrom" It took place on May to October 1966, where more than 40,000 Southerners were MASSACRED in Northern Nigeria. Some were buried alive, others were crucified and killed gradually by having their eyes plucked out, their ears chopped off, their tongues cut and their manhood hacked off. The luckier ones just had their heads severed from their body. Women were raped & thereafter broken bottles forced into their womanhood.

4). 1982 September 29- October 3. Disturbances in Kaduna, Kaduna State. 53 killed and many churches were burned.

5). 1982 October 29‐30. Further trouble in Maiduguri, Borno State by the Maitatsine sects. 118 died.

7). 1985 April 26‐28: Riot in Gombe, Bauchi State by the Maitatsine sect. 105 Mostly Christians died.

8). 1987 March 5th and following days. In Kafanchan, Kaduna State, Christians and Muslims clash at the College of Education.100 Churches were burnt.

9). 1987 March. Katsina, Funtua, Zaria, Gussau and Kaduna (Kaduna State). A wave of religious riots, many churches were burnt and property destroyed, and many lives were lost.

10). 1991 April In Katsina, several lives were lost. Shiite sect in Katsina led by Malam Yahaya Yakubu stired up trouble.

11). 1991 April, in Tafawa Balewa University (Bauchi State) over 200 lives were lost with properties and 20 churches destroyed.

12). 1991 October 14‐ 15. In Kano, the attempt of the Izala sect to stop Rev. Bonnke from preaching became violent. Thousands of Christians died & property destroyed. Conservative estimates (3800)

13). 1992 February 6th and then May 15‐ 16: Zango Kataf, Zaria, Kaduna State Communal clash becomes a religious clash, with lives and property destroyed.

14) Funtua (Katsina State). Kalaka to religious sect assaulted a village head. 50 lives were lost and properties destroyed.

15). 1999. May 20. Muslim‐Christia n riots in Kaduna, for three days, several hundred were feared dead. 3200 conservative estimate,mostly Christians

16). 1999. July 18: Hausa and Yoruba riot in Shagamu, over 60 are killed. This led to trouble in Kano where over 70 were killed.

17). 2000 August 11. About 200 were killed as the army intervened in Taraba State

18). 2000 October. Sharia Law in is introduced in Zamfara State. 19. 2000 February. Riots in Kaduna over the introduction of Sharia. Over 400 are killed. Mostly Christians

21). 2001 october 12‐14 In Kano, there were anti‐American riots, because of USA intervention in Afghanistan. At least 350 are killed Mostly Christians.

22). 2006 February:Sectarian violence sparked by cartoons of Islam’s most revered figure spread to 11 Nigerian cities resulting in the burning of 28 churches and pushing the total death toll to more than 650.

Well, according to northerners, GEJ was responsible for the above history. Their argument is that North has always been peaceful before the emergence of Good Ebele Jonathan.
The above recap shows North has always enjoyed spilling the blood of innocent Nigerians mostly christians, yet they want one Nigeria.

What an irony!

Truth be told~ it's really sad how Nigerian soldiers are treated.

You and ur family members should go and fight boko monkey

How can dey triumph over BH?when dey keep treating soldiers like slaves. I pity dem.

With what? Kitchen knifes and catapult?

Stinking shots I tells u.

What kinda govt do we have for goodness sake

ok.they refused to fight boko haram and they were dismissed.what is wrong with that?Are they expecting to fight the pope?...as for me i will only fight for my linda toto......linda please dont take note.

Jones said...

Is anyone wondering if there is a deliberate attempt to weaken the Nigerian military? The soldiers are being slaughtered daily by the better armed Boko Haram terrorist, some are court martialed to death while others are dismissed. it is disturbing that while the soldiers complain of lack of weapons and guns to fight Boko Haram, our government grants license to militants to procure warships. Are the warships going to be useful in landlocked Baga or Sambisa? Where is the sense in procuring warships at this time when soldiers do not even have guns to fight Boko Haram? Their have been other reports of ex-militants involved in arms deals like the South Africa seized jet saga last year, and so many others may be taking place unreported. It seems their is an evil propaganda to demoralize the Nigeran military and strengthen certain guerrilla forces/militants. Maybe it is all part of grand plan to disintegrate the nation if the election does not favor the incumbent government. I am very afraid for the future of our dear nation. I pray God will see us through.

@Anonymous,

Let me giv u piece of my mind since u don't respect ursef and d views of others on dis blog...

U r d biggest fool on planet earth and real muron on dis blog.

Ur English is baseless and out of point. I suggest u go back to school.

U can hug d transformer or probably jump into d lagoon for all I care.

Learn to respect readers views on dis blog.

Good riddicks to bad rubbish.

@Anonymous,

Let me giv u piece of my mind since u don't respect ursef and d views of others on dis blog...

@Anonymous,

@Anonymous,

@osinanl dan y will b a bigger fool dan I though

madam "i must comment".if you dont know what to say,you keep quiet.And you have to post the same nonsense 3 times.

I did we get here? Just tired!!
Mrs Feyi

What the hell is going on? Are these the same soldiers who risk their lives for this country? So what kind of govt treats its soldiers this way? Is this what they get for their years of service?