Why Pay So Much Monthly Just For Premium Satellite TV? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 December 2014

Why Pay So Much Monthly Just For Premium Satellite TV?

Since the inception of Satellite TV in Nigeria we have always had to pay through our noses to watch some of favorite TV stations like MTVBase, Nigezie, BBCWorld News, Nickelodeon, Aljazeera etc.

The most frustrating part is that more than 80% of us are never at home to watch TV. Yet at the end of the month your TV subscription would be over (whether you put on your TV for the whole month or not) and to have access for the next month "Maga must pay".

Don't you wish you just paid way less for access to the same TV Stations?

The guys at ACTV are now offering the same quality for way lesser price. We took the liberty of doing some sharp comparison.

ACTV
Others
Price
Our lowest Bouquet goes for N1,999 and full Bouquet goes for NGN 4,999/month all with PVR and HD channels
Full Bouquet with PVR option costs NGN 14,000.00
HD/PVR Option
Available for all customers and packages
Not available for all decoders
Cost of HD Decoder (with PVR) and Dish
NGN 15,500.00
>NGN 30,000.00
Indian Channels (Zee Cinema, etc)
Free with Full Bouquet
Extra Cost on full Bouquet
Booting time for Decoder
Less than Minute
Over 5 minutes
Extra Channels on Demand
Yes
No
Energy Saving Decoder
Yes
N/A

Now that you have seen the difference in service, you must have questions. See some of the questions you'd want to ask with answers below 

What kind of stations do you offer?
Our ACTV Prime has 18 channels which include BBC World News, Channels, AIT, STV, and new channels such as Area TV (with PIDGIN content), OJI (with Igbo Movies), IBILE (with Yoruba Movies) and RANA TV (with Hausa Movies)
Our full Bouquet ACTV Premium has 60 channels which include MTV Base, MAN-U TV, FOX (News, Movies, Crime, Sports, and Business), NAT GEO, Nickelodeon, Sky News, Aljazeera English, and American Spanish Drama

Would I pay extra for HD content?
No, you don’t. Our HD channels come with whatever bouquet you choose.

How exactly do the play, pause and rewind feature work?
It’s all in the remote control. Details for use exist in our TV guide.

Can I stop my kids from watching too many Nollywood movies?
Yes. There’s parental control and it is so easy to use

What else can I achieve with this super ACTV-6000 decoder?
You can watch movies and view pictures that you have on your hard-drive by connecting it to the decoder. This means whether or not your TV is smart or dumb, once you have the movie on your flash drive, you can watch it via our decoder.

How can I contact you guys?
If you have any questions or enquiries call: 01 255 1111, 080 70 700 500. To order now, call: If you have any questions or enquiries call: 01 255 1111, 080 70 700 500. To order now, call: 08182443389, 08182443340, 08182441154, and 08182443260
You can follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Website.

132 comments:

New people don come again, will they be like dstv, cos its still the best

Dave Mide said...

Linda's bank account be smiling so brightly this period o

Organized thieves......its still the same thing....Gotv all the way....u pay less and watch all ur favorites stations

Please nothing is different with what we've been using. We pay either ways so I'll stick to my DSTV

Hope they have good channels?

Yeeeeeeeee omo see cheating.... Chai... Thanks for the info....via....gentlelarry31@gmail.com

Zoë said...

Gotv is 2900 for decoder and a month subscription. They should compare with that. It's expensive jorrrr

Yeeeeeeeee omo see cheating.... Chai... Thanks for the info....via....gentlelarry31@gmail.com

Can we watch soccer on Actv?

bella said...

Dstv wanna kill it's users.... way too expensive, even with my 5k subscription no good channels r opened....... I beg Mk ds close them up from Nigeria jawe

Happy sales!!!
DSTV still remains the Best,
Even though their charges are killing and choking, i am yet to see any network that can provide even half of what DSTV gives, lets be sincere.

With time abeg dem go change. Story for the gods
••CoolCat••

This is what I have be routing for. Let' stop the monopoly of dstv, I hope it works .

ammy said...

No Telemundo.

Haha. Linda u don chop money for thier hand abi. What is premium about thier package when uu Cnt guarantee at least 30.000 Nigerians access to epl, la liga and uefa champions league. Abeg mk dem carry thier wahala comot.

Nice, but seems it not too different from the others

Satelite TV is for remote places, when are we going to move to IP Tv... we need to use all the functionalities of our smart TVs please Nigeria!

No mention of live football matches channels.barclays premier league, la liga,seria A,bundesliga..without them u r nothing

Seems reasonable

Uche Emma said...

What's the difference biko? All na wash!

This people must really think we are stupid. Ur offering us "ibile" TV when we have epl to watch on weekends. If u think u are serios go and gt rights to bring epl to our houses. Then we will tk u seriosly.

That's cool..

this is good at least, it will break the monopoly of dstv and in d long run force price reduction

Smh..vewi poor

What kind of sport stations do u have. If u don't have spanish, English, Italian and others leagues showing on ur sport stations u better forget it, give us what we want with your rate then we'll know u r serious.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

If it not pay as u use na still d same wit others ooooo

Nice idea. Bt we Cnt pay 4500 to watch sky news. They dnt Evn hv CNN or E!. No epl no champions league. Long way to Go. 9ice start tho.

all nah still money!

Na wa o, when is Nigeria going to develop, we are far way backward. All these channels (MBC, Al Jazeera, BBC, ZEE, Bollywood, Fox Movies, Max etc) are free here where i live, except the sport channels and some channels for latest movies.

Mtcheeeww una don strt. Hw is this better than dstv. I was thinking i'ld see more TV channels or no subscription. Mtcheeew

charles ems said...

Abeg! We want channels that ll show live football! EPL, champ league, laliga and the rest!

its too expensive for a new product....haba......make i just dey manage my gotv abeg......

Chopping dollar.com said...

Someone should gift me a whole year subscription for xmas..... Lol

Ammy Becky said...

Nice..

Dis is really nice and affordable

Edyby said...

Akuko

Karlsson said...

Interesting. Ubanagum

Do you show Premier League? If no, I'm not interested.

gab2shoes said...

This is a nice development, if they mean business and serious, not like hiTV, don't come to d Nigerian market wth small quantity, we plenty and we ready to taste....
Gab2shoessaysso

You can watch movies and view pictures that you have on your hard-drive by connecting it to the decoder.

Now dats smart...

#itcanonlygetbetter

9ce 1, but my question is that how many premier league and Spanish matches can you show per day? This is what make differences.

Football?

helen jubril said...

Mcheeeeew Wat is the difference ? Taught they were offering something better. Dstv can't be compared. Gotv too is trash now ACtv.

Jeni_zee said...

Gud, hope they wnt pack up like the other one, cnt remember the name again

If nobi DSTV e no fit be like DSTV.
With Gotv I will get better stations including what they (ACTV) has to offer.
No interesting stations abeg.
Dstv is distinct.

Geeday Dina said...

If you want ppl 2 pay 4 ur service, jst get epl and champions league showing live. That's all you need to do. All these other ones is not what DSTV uses 2 captivate d audience.

Wooow. That's great.

This is what I call great competition.
The painful part of the current satellite TV provider is the fact that even when not in use,you still pay another subscription the following month.

Hmmmm...Shebi the others they r reffering to is Dstv. This package is too good to b true. That's how they start, when people start rushing and buying it, the price will no longer remain at 15,500 and the subscription go take style dey increase. All na market strategy

Where is the pay as you go option na? It's costlier than Gotv though.

Sport?

GR8BABE said...

ACTV- SOUNDS BETTER BUT I HOPE IT WORKS BETTER THAN THE REST.

MR EDDY said.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

good one.

Josh said...

Sports, especially football is what sells cable tv and if you don't have that , chances are that you would struggle. Thats the edge DSTV has had over the years. remember how HITV made them panic when they got the premiership license over DSTV? thats what am talking about

that is a nice one,i might try it

God will help them if the know satellite TV would not frustrate them out of the market except it's owned by another top government official.

abeg dem get telemundo?

Manageable

Still not clear on these explanations. In αѕ much αѕ am no longer pleased with Dstv. Am yet to find an option.

Kpakpandu said...

Still costly too oga... If I buy Urs, it's d same tin cos I go to work in d mornings,return in d evenings... No tym to watch too...

Disclaimer: FAITH IS A TREASURE
****fb: Julibel EMERALD ***

It kinda make sense but don't hv E tv, telemondo and others right? Without those channels I'll still prefer my dstv

Nice one linda hopefully I can get one of this!!! JC

Good vibes said...

Is American spanish Drama the same as Telemundo? Hw abt sports Channels, soundcity and HIP tv? If u've gt these then I'm in...hehe

I probably watch TV 2-3hrs a day..
I wish this ppl can just make us pay for channels and per hrs watched.

Good morning y'all.

*My R1.50c comment*

Exactly, only at home at evening and i maga must pay.

What exactly is the extent of sports? Would live football matches be aired?

Sport channels nko

mtcheeew no sports channel not. interesting

#Linda's give away

I nees an extra conviction to switch from Dstv. Though it annoys me that the movie channels i love r expensive and I'm not even at hime to utilize what i paid for coupled with power outage 80percent of the time.

InkDrop said...

thought it will be totally free o.

HIM ALONE IS WORTHY said...

NOW THE COMPETITION BEGINS!
a very good one but I think what will sway customers more will be content. how rich ?

and still this does not address the issue of paying ( whatever be the amount) for the times you are not using it. or does it ?

HIM ALONE IS WORTHY said...

NOW THE COMPETITION BEGINS!
a very good one but I think what will sway customers more will be content. how rich ?

and still this does not address the issue of paying ( whatever be the amount) for the times you are not using it. or does it ?

Tony said...

This is a good one, they will really give DSTV a good run for their money if they can offer league matches played over the world. Please Linda hope their services are not limited to certain geographical location?

Nice, I just hope they don't fold up 2moro.

Kool

Like seriously???? 18 yeye channels for how much? I would rather stick with my GOTV

MAN U tv?? Great! Finally DSTV can take a chill in the hottest part of hell. Blood suckers.

tani said...

Come back when you start to show Premiership, La Liga, and Champions league football. And not one or two matches in a weekend o....every single match or at least almost all.

tani said...

Come back when you start to show Premiership, La Liga, and Champions league football. And not one or two matches in a weekend o....every single match or at least almost all.

GR8BABE said...

HOW ABOUT FOOTBALL CHANNELS?

Enroe Rockafella said...

No Sports????

Enroe Rockafella said...

No Sport?????

am okay with my GoTV

Akukoo

Walahi ama go get 1 for my room sooonest,we are tired of this DSTV 14k thing.... Nice concept really. SUPERSLIMC4

I doubt if it can be replaced with dstv sorry, beta tin na moni kill am so keep your cheap shit.

NICE ONE.THE FUNNY PIC LOOKS LIKE GEJ...AKA...GEJIKACHURE

Live premier leagues matches?

B_S! said...

This will end up leading dstv to increase their sub fees again... Cos the channels are still below what dstv is offering! Wish they cud go get some channels from the usa, they've got great stuffs there... Hbo, oxygen, revolt, abc, espn, mtv 2 and also in d uk sky sport and the rest! That will put them a step closer!

Engr. Kene said...

hahahahahh....well to me, no football stations, no satelite

After a month or 2 they wud disappear like the others

UMUZE OCHUKO NEVILLE said...

IT IS BECAUSE THEY HAVE THE MONEY AND CAN AFFORD TO PAY FOR IT BUT IF U CANT GO FOR THE ONE YOU CAN COMFORTABLY PAY FOR WITHOUT AFFECTING YOUR FINANCES DRASTICALLY.

Oskirin said...

Zoe,gotv na 4500 n nt 2900 dt u said.coz if u buy d deoder,u will av 2 buy d antenna separate.so dnt let dem deceive u.dstv n gotv is enjoyin monopoly coz of d ball dey are showin.i pray oda braze up n brak ds monopoly.as 4 ds new 1,i will giv it a trial,imediately i c say una fuck up,na inside jabi river i go go tro una decoder straight.....

Liv said...

I don't know about this but I do know that GO TV isn't a bad choice and is way cheaper than what you are advertising here.

Mtchwwww... dey dnt get disney or food channel. U cant beat dstv

CHOICE IS A BEAUTIFUL THING.
We hope we'll soon be able to port like with the GSM providers.

A big NO to expensive decoders and a service focused on increasing the taxation of subscribers

peter said...

we need to strongly fight this out with one out with one Love.dis guys are exploiting us out of the politics of the system.

Mz Naija said...

Ok seen..Next pls

Black Anchor 2 said...

See Advert.. You go fear now...

Adebowale Adejare said...

I am have being clamouring against this rip off so to say. Linda kindly lead the petition while we follow. Biko. i have never commented but this interests me. thank you.

oyekunle bunmi said...

Gotv na baba

Unmmhhh naija people, competition is good and healthy for the economy. The more companies like this show up the more dstv will realize that they've to step up their game n avoid losing customers. Ways they can do this is by giving you more for your money or dropping prices to keep their customers! Got it? With the EPL thing! Y'all are obsessed! Hian ! Bye

They need serious competition

It's still the same as others. Gotv is even cheaper. With decoder now 2,900 who wants to pay over 15k for this one?

The only new thing u guys can do is to introduce "pay as you watch"

Like u said, we hardly hav time to watch TV sef and bfor u know it's expired.

#just my thinking#

Dstv has the channels and programs that we've come to love exclusively. It'll be difficult to usurp dem.

Nonso Okoh Via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

They seem cool. I was part of a run they organized in Magodo

...the additional feature that can offer meaningful competitive value is a PAY PER VIEW option. If I don't have to pay for days or weeks I didn't watch my tv, then I will leave Dstv for them.

They Do Not Show English Premier League. So its Useless to alot of us, regardless of the great prices.

...the additional feature that can offer meaningful competitive value is a PAY PER VIEW option. If I don't have to pay for days or weeks I didn't watch my tv, then I will leave Dstv for them.

Dear Linda, does this thing show the English Premiership? La Liga? F1 maybe? No???? I seeeee..............at least now u know why I pay for dstv. Lol. Do you know how much to watch a live game at Old Trafford? I can see Man United from the comfort of my parlour . Lol

i think is time our minister of communication curb this bullshit about this cable tv guys in nigeria. they all rippers. even with this new one...is it pay as u watch and when u switch off ur subscription still remain in tact? abeg Naija open ur eyes. lets all shun DSTV and they ripping motive abeg.

Kels417 said...

I tot I was the only person thinking that we hv been ripped off by DSTV, prayed something will happen some day that DSTV will go under. I pay 12k every month yet in SA they don't pay upto that

na only u waka come! abeg dstv all the way, u pay the amount u want to pay.

I think is really time we Nigerian do something about DSTV....

PRETTY GIRL said...

Interesting....But am sorry,if it's not DSTV, then I just can't......There are programs I really enjoy on DSTV that i just can't replace...Am generally used to paying more for better quality Lol

U guys don't av super sport channel

Well ... everybody with their choices of stuff.
Enjoy while it last.

Ok noted

this thing about we pay soo much for satellite stations and we are never home to watch it is soooo true

God bless una o.

Na God go bless you o.

Abeg no waste your money. Go buy Gotv. You will enjoy way better value for your money.

Am sure these same guys marketing this limited ACTV all have DSTV or GOTV in their homes to watch epl and other interesting programmes ..na free market u pay for what u get....and want

anonymous said...

Pls it's good if u can offer us a better station like live sport like epl champions league spanish Italy copa de rey FA cup and orders and steady broadcast so that will be completely competition with DSTV the subscription will gradually getting low like communication networks, I will love that

anonymous said...

Pls it's good if u can offer us a better station like live sport like epl champions league spanish Italy copa de rey FA cup and orders and steady broadcast so that will be completely competition with DSTV the subscription will gradually getting low like communication networks, I will love that

receptor satélite said...

Great Job!

Informacion de Decodificadores Satelitales said...

Decodificador satelite said...

Very good information, congrats!