Nigeria Military jail Lt. Col., 15 others over abduction of Chibok girls | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 December 2014

Nigeria Military jail Lt. Col., 15 others over abduction of Chibok girls

A Lieutenant Colonel, a Captain, a Second lieutenant and 12 other soldiers were sentenced to two years imprisonment by a Nigerian Military Court Martial which sat in Kaduna state yesterday Dec. 23rd over the abduction of over 200 female students of the Government Girls Secondary School Chibok, Borno State, by Boko Haram insurgents on April 14th.

According to Punch, the soldiers, Col. A. O. Ojo who was in charge of Chibok when the abduction took place, Capt. O. O. Ogunrinde, and 2nd Lieutenant V.I. Godknows were all handed two years imprisonment for what the  General Court Martial panel termed failure to perform. Col. Ojo was reportedly found guilty of passing out unverified information about the return of the abducted girls as well as not reinforcing the military personnel the night the abduction happened. In his response, Col. Ojo said he got information about the attack at about 1am at his station in Biu which was already late as the sect members stormed the school at about 11pm.

2nd Lieut. Godknows was charged with cowardly behaviour during the night of the attack. Counsel to Col. Ojo, Mr. Shuaibu Isah has however said his client would be appealing the verdict of the court martial through the office of the confirming authority which is the Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah.

74 comments:

2years? I'm just worried abt d state of mind of these young ladies

Good for them ..God pls protect your children

GREG_GPEL said...

Issorait

APPLELIPX said...

Wahala dey ds country

REALY,THE WHOLE ISSUE IS MIXED UP.SUCH THING SHOULDNT HAVE HAPPENED IN THE PRESENCE OF MILITARY.IF WE ARE SAID TO BE SECURED AMIDST SECURITY OFFICIALS AND WE ARE STILL BEING ABDUCTED SO FREELY,THEN THERE IS A LOOP HOLE...AKA...WORRIED

not sure I know how to react to this. Should the most senior military personnel in every state be jailed for all kidnap that happens?

Gbam...now dis is how it's supposed to be!

becckyd said...

Good for them

Dave Mide said...

Now that they have sentenced them , i hope that brings back the gals.

Zoƫ said...

These military should keep this kind of news away from the press. When did civilians became advocate for the military and when did military business became civilian affair?

Imprisoning them won't bring the girls back. They should have shown them mercy it's not an easy task atall 'smh' #onelovefromSnow#

Uche Emma said...

My fear and worry is this: will all these jailing not cause acrimony among the military???

MR EDDY said.
At least it's better than being killed.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

MR EDDY said.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

MR EDDY said.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Nigerian military is a joke and the present government are the worst joke of the century. Blaming people they are not supposed to blame while the culprits are there enjoying their deeds. God punish them all.
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Abeg! That isn't going to ease anyone's worries or pacify their fears!

Linda Fashion Blog said...

so so disheartening how the lives of these innocent girls changed over night due to failure/negligence of duty.

they deserve more than 2yrs imprisonment because had it not bin for their nonchalant atitude those gals wouldn't hv bin abducted.I hope the gals come back soon

Abeg make them Have mercy on them oooo, to at list enjoy this Christmas with there Loved ones..

.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

This is serious
War commanders Failed to perform their duties, and consequences of it was transferred to another group of military personnel.
Come to think of it, after chiboks girls incident are they to wipe out the insurgents, they can't cos they are not capable. What's a shame, big disgrace....

Maybe they were even working with the BH people sef

Atleast dis is better than death sentence

How clueless can this country get.....i blame these soldiers....they shld fight bk after all they are the back bone of these country...those in military authority are really fcuking up

Hmmmm! I pray the girls come back.

Na today? After we won't hear anything again.

Ok you've jailed them now...but will that still #bringbackourgirls? Still wondering why people stopped talking about them

#Omoh

Stupid people, they are busy jailing and executing their own people while terrorists are at work.

since how many months? hmmm may God help this country.

haba. I understand the need to follow the rule of law but this is harsh and unfair.

Daris God.

#King said...

Nice one..but I don't even know if all dis is real..but jail d bastard..coward.....................................#KingOfKings #6God

Good one.

Failure to perform? sigh

befrank said...

Under this GEJ govt the military is in shambles.The soldiers are not motivated and don't want to work.we need a change.Change is the answer.

Were d sentenced soldier adequately equipped? But if they were properly equiped they should face d music

Story for the gods!

Good

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

They should be talking about how to rescue the girls not all these blames game.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Kponskii said...

Oooh well, someone has to take responsibility. Unfortunately, the are the fall guy(s)

Hmmm capable hands in bringing back the girls are either beign killed or jailed. God please help.

Just 2 years??

Cowardly behaviour?na wa o.all these charges

Will it help rescue the girls?

Ooops!!!!!!

this is a welcome development

How To Grow In Faith

3 Things That Make People Cry

3 Things Christian Churches Can Do to Fight Ebola

VIDEO: Rivers State CarniRiv 2014

Hmmm Naija...

ka chukwu mezie okwu.

Good move. Isn't this a prove that the government is still struggling to bring back those girls?

Let d army take care of BH once n for all rather than making money out of d whole thing

princess said...

They should keep jailing and giving death sentence instead of doing d right thing and eradicate bh like they don't know who they r. How many boko haram sillitant has been jailed? Nonsense

Imprisonment wont bring those girls back. I pray they find those girls.

Some people will just open dere mouth and say rubbish, if dey don't punish d military personnel cos of dere negligence Nigeria people will complain. To me Johnathan has rely done his own part let d military go back to d draw board and re-organize themselves.

Everybody is blaming d president for BH, I beg d states no get governor ni or na only Johnathan go carry go fight BH ni.

People running their mouths on this forum. The problem lies with the authorities and people are not seeing that. These soldiers get killed everyday. No one has asked about the number of soldiers assigned to th town and the calibre of weapons given. D terrorists attack in thousands with sophisticated weapons and we still blame the few soldiers with outdated equipment...it is well!!!

Thought the government never believed that girls were abducted.

I like it.

Y 2 years ?

its d same as 1 year

Nigeria never seizes to amaze me.

Y not life imprisonment

God for them, it's better late than never. Negligence of duty, who knows if they had no connections with the sect.

OBEYA FRIDAY's Official Website said...

I must sincerely say, thank you, Linda Ikeji for spraying this news more and more.
This is what they should have been doing all this while. Thanks to them a hundred times.

OBEYA FRIDAY's Official Website said...

If I should see the very army that did this great job, I promise to give him one bottle of gulder and three big Gbosa (s)

hmm jus passing by

good one nice development

Looking at the list of the names to be executed concerning BH the other time, I discovered they were more of southerners, here again, these three are southerners. What is going on? When the kingpins of the whole nonsense are Northerners. Abeg military doesn't necessarily mean suicide, they should live innocent people alone and tackle this matter sincerely.

KWEEN said...

Eddy wiz pardon me o, I'm just curious but must you post the same comment 3-4 times on most posts? Is it a mistake or it's just a ploy to be noticed? Just asking.

Thats how it soppose to be...if they r not ready to serve the Nation as they ve promised then show them that kaki no be leather... Keep it up.. Appy xmass to all LIB Readers....

<<1stBenueSon100%Nigerian>>

This information is very incorrect. Not all of those involved were sentenced. majority were discharged and acquitted...

Punch should get info right before posting Rubbish in the papers...And i know cos a family member is involved.

thanks anonymous . I think Punch should b sued for this. msheeeeew

Dem dey take wood go fight person wey hold gun? If you people knew half of the story you would ask God for forgiveness. Gallant men being sentenced for the a collective failure of a systerm. Odiegwu!

I don't know ...

First and fore most d soldiers are ill equiped they lack motivation they are frustrated by d system they see their "gallant"colegues that went on suicide mission with sticks against Avtomat Kalashnikova 47 mehn I don't blame dose soldiers dat were charged for mutiny but dem sef over sabi worry dem small.d money allocated for security sef dey wonder me dey allocate plenty money and deduct thiers and give peanuts to d military ...b4 d small given sef gets to where it will go dey don deduct dem own one corner ....u now expect me to face bokoharam dat have generous sponsors dat is obvious ...where do u pple think boko haram gets GUNs from sef ?