President Jonathan's 2014 Christmas message to the Nation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 December 2014

President Jonathan's 2014 Christmas message to the Nation

A message from president Jonathan
Dear Compatriots,
I greet and felicitate with you all once again as we celebrate the birth of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. I join all of our Christian compatriots in giving thanks to God Almighty for the divine gift of Jesus Christ the Messiah whose earthly incarnation we commemorate today.

As we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ who the Prophet Isaiah heralded as the Prince of Peace and Wonderful Counselor, I believe it is very appropriate that we all, Christians and non-Christians alike, reflect more deeply on the virtues and ideals which the Messiah espoused during his earthly mission.

To my mind, there can be no doubt that the greater internalization of the virtues of love for our fellowmen, tolerance, Godliness, honesty, fairness to others, selflessness, and peaceful co-existence with others, by all adult Nigerians, and the inculcation of the same in our youth,  will definitely help our dear nation to overcome most of its present challenges.

Peace and love for others, especially, were a constant refrain in the Messiah’s teachings and admonitions to mankind.

Therefore, as we celebrate his birth, I urge all Nigerians to offer special prayers for a greater manifestation of divine peace in our country and the vanquishing of all demons of hatred, divisiveness and disunity in our midst.

As we celebrate Christmas, let us also remember and offer special prayers for all of our countrymen, women and children who have suffered and continue to suffer untold hardship, deprivation and death at the hands of terrorists and insurgents.

Let us also continue to pray for our gallant soldiers and security agents who remain at the forefront of the national effort to overcome terrorism and violent extremism, even as the rest of the nation celebrates Christmas and the coming New Year.

In this season of goodwill, I urge all patriotic Nigerians to rededicate themselves to doing all within their powers to support the brave men and women of our armed forces in the ongoing war against terrorism, and also support the Federal Government’s efforts to provide more succour to the hapless victims of terrorist atrocities.

The Victims’ Support Fund which we have established to raise additional funds to assist our compatriots who have been adversely affected by continuing insecurity in parts of our country remains active.

I call on all individuals and corporate organisations who have not yet done so, to donate more generously to the Fund which is being efficaciously deployed to ease the sufferings of victims of terrorist violence in the country.

Dear Compatriots, we are also celebrating this Christmas against the background of preparations for next year’s general elections.

I seize this opportunity to reassure the nation that my administration will give the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) all necessary support to ensure that it delivers very free, fair, credible and acceptable elections in 2015.

National security agencies will also be given all necessary support to enhance their ability to ensure that the elections which should strengthen democracy in our country are peaceful and violence free.

I urge our political class to be law- abiding and place the greater interests of our nation above all personal or sectional interests in the countdown to the elections.

Let us all be more statesman-like, conduct issues-based campaigns, and eschew the promotion of falsehood, division and hatred of others as we seek the votes of our countrymen in what should be a peaceful competition among contending points of view for the progress and development of our dear nation.

I remain convinced that God Almighty is still  with us as a nation even in the midst of our current challenges which we shall surely overcome with greater unity of purpose, dedication, commitment and perseverance.

Let this year’s celebration of the birth of Christ the Messiah rekindle, strengthen and reaffirm our faith in our national ability to overcome all challenges, with God on our side.

I wish you all very happy Christmas celebrations.

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR

President,

Federal Republic of Nigeria

89 comments:

Amen!! you say Wetin??

.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Thanks Mr president wish you the best of the season #onelovefromSnow#

WISHING HIM THESAME...AKA..PATRIOTIC

And you too, merry Christmas

Didn't one of this loyal servants call him the Jesus of our time ? SMH. This is the Judas of our time o. Nigerians be wise don't be like the foolish people of Ekiti State.

AQO said...

Wetin we never hear b4?

Osheyy jona.

Nick

Thank you; My mr president I wish d best.

Registration has be difficult to do. I reall wanna Vote but it's been very hard to register

MR EDDY said.
That's so thoughtful of him.. Nice one MR Reno.. Merry Christmas and a happy new year.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

SANDRA said...

Wateva

awwwwwww.....love love love

Merry christmas my county people.

Wish u the best sir....tnks for ur warmth msg and assurance of fair election next yr

Merry xmas Mr. President

I pray that my region experience peace an d tranquility which surpasses all human understanding.2015 unnerves me

khemorah said...

Abeg it's too long. Can't read. Long and short. Merry Christmas to u too.

Alo said...

God bless you too, I have read a lot of article on this site and most them are pro apc article, Jonathan has done a lot of things, Nigeria has the highest gdp in Africa this year. Am Yoruba and I think we selling ourselves cheaply to the Hausas who feel superior, Buhari wont bring the change we need. Most of the roads apc are doing in the state are federal road which was allocated to them by the federal govt. please think wisely while casting your vote and don't be fooled by anyone.

God bless you too dear President.

Desiq said...

nah, u no compatriot of mine

Not all who call lord lord ....

Thegreatdammy said...

I hope a lot of Nigerians will nt make d biggest mistake of their life during d nxt election by voting wrongly, just think deep and beyond surface, compare and look out 4 where more advantages are 4 u, 4 ur kids and d unborn kids of dis grt nation b4 u cast ur vote! So be wise, make d right choice not bcos of anything but bcos u be confirm Naija.

Mr president, pls d only thing i want for Xmas is for u 2 remember d suspended staffs of Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority and intervene in d situation, cos i knw deep down u re a gud man, thanx in advance, may God bless u, bless Nigeria, bless NCAA!

2015???

Thegreatdammy said...

I hope a lot of Nigerians will nt make d biggest mistake of their life during d nxt election by voting wrongly, just think deep and beyond surface, compare and look out 4 where more advantages are 4 u, 4 ur kids and d unborn kids of dis grt nation b4 u cast ur vote! So be wise, make d right choice not bcos of anything but bcos u be confirm Naija.

Mr president, pls d only thing i want for Xmas is for u 2 remember d suspended staffs of Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority and intervene in d situation, cos i knw deep down u re a gud man, thanx in advance, may God bless u, bless Nigeria, bless NCAA!

Thegreatdammy said...

God bless u too Mr.president

Fuch him!!!!!!!

smh.......after raising 21 billion from criminals lol.

Thegreatdammy said...

So long *yawns* merry Christmas Mr president

He should keep his message to himself abeg!

#Omoh

Mischievous said...

Thank you very much for your message. It is my praery you celebrate the next Christmas as ex President of Nigeria in your Villiage-Otueke.

Please anyone to turn this into a rap song for me? SmH

Blackberry gives you the best and make you forget the rest.
David (dave_gino)
»Commenting from my BLACKBERRY 9900«

Thegreatdammy said...

GBJ should do something o he should not let boko people kill us o
Chinyereoluchi26@gmail.com

Gej God bless u n give u more wisdom to lead this country in his will..God. bless Nigeria..

merry xmas n a prosperous new year with GEJ re-election in 2015...God bless all lib reader..

LiLi Nwa chukwu gozie gi.

God bless u Gej n gv u more wisdom to lead our great country Nigeria in his will...God bless Nigeria.
God bless all lib readers...
Lili nwa chukwu gozie gi.

PGEJ too like long speach.

Daniel Manuél said...

Rubbish! Why isn't GEJ's administration not internalizing the values of transparency, integrity, fairness, and equitable distribution of wealth. This guy isn't being fair to Nigerians. He is a hoax. This general election will oust him out. Just #Bringbackourgirls and sat nothing more. Their lives are on your conscience.

And who is gonna read all tis??? Huh

janelycious said...

Well said Mr president. Come 2015, u have my vote.

OK na

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

Abegi! Wish ursef and fam happy christmas cos I no see any happy stuff in this xmas sef

Pack your load from ASO rock sir
Enough is Enough

Please sir tell your dog Asiri Dokubo
To star the war on Yoruba people now
Because as the lord of host lives for ever in present of whom I stand .you will not win this coming election.
Mark my words sir what ever you and Asari plan to do after you have lost the election will back fire against you and your people.
Sir mark my words if you say you depend on those arnonition you and asari are hidding to cause war where God has put His permanent peace. You will not enjoy your loot

Please sir tell your dog Asiri Dokubo
To star the war on Yoruba people now
Because as the lord of host lives for ever in present of whom I stand .you will not win this coming election.
Mark my words sir what ever you and Asari plan to do after you have lost the election will back fire against you and your people.
Sir mark my words if you say you depend on those arnonition you and asari are hidding to cause war where God has put His permanent peace. You will not enjoy your loot

Good one.

Ok. Noted

GEJ let me ask you a question re a christian,there is no atom of love in your heart,you don't value human life,I dislike you on that area so much..just have it in your mind that you allow terrorism to prevail in this,is a shame that it happened when a so called christian president is ruling...**EMZEALLOUS**

Amen to that, but the compliments co-joined with campaign strategy

Oshe

Tahhhh! Shut up!

Wow. Really impressive writeup. Wishing you a peaceful Christmas Mr. President! May Jesus shower you with wisdom to tackle the coming challenges.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

Merry Christmas sir

Amen o. God indeed will fight for this nation. He will vanquish every evil and promoters of evil and help those who have been made to suffer the most by their fellow countrymen. He will also preserve those at the forefront of the menace and grant this nation His divine peace and tranquillity in Jesus' Name. Amen.

Not interested!

Same to you.

Good but this is not what we need! Merry christmas tho

Mr All Talk BUT No Action.

Osi kini?

He should better sit up. A huge challenge awaits him come 2015.

Same to u sir.
GEJ 2015

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

could not finish reading it, sorry, just want him out

#ILOVEGEJ

BB Passport ON my Mind said...

Mr. president you are highly welcome

Dani said...

But 185 girls got missing and he couldn't make a statement just sad the kind of president we have #out

u ve my vote. GEJ.... Apc should go and die..... Tinubu .... ole....Linda if u like publishe my msg

Zoë said...

Nice peace. God bless you my President. .Come 2015, you will be victorious.

I no send Johnathan returning 4 second term at all at all, but on a second thought, just imagining a presidency without a first lady like Patience Johnathan a.k.a Mama Peace, E go boring die.

Which of the wanna-be president's wives can be as 'Lively' as Mama Peace, with enormous FUNNY TRAITS to ridiculously say things that can make the whole nation laugh over serious economic and security issues facing the nation, which none of the leaders is ready to solve, and it trends?

'DIARIS GOD O' will remain one of the best funny trends of 2014, and it came from none other than the one and only Mama Peace and I bet you've not heard anything yet as more are still to come from her to help you laugh the economic hardship away since they can't solve it.

Again, which of the wanna-be president's wives can carry herself in high esteem like Mama Peace despite her shortcomings with the 'Oyibo' language? None, not one at all.

Come to think of it, E no go make sense to have a too serious president as well as a too serious wife as first lady in a too seriously bad economic state. I guess someone is frowning asking, what the hell is this writer talking about?

I just won't wanna miss how I always use Mama Peace's DROOLING SPEECHES to cool off and laugh off the economic hardship in the land. If you love humour, please BRING BACK MAMA PEACE in 2015.

Pass on to your contacts to make them laugh their way into the xmas and new year. Merry Xmas and happy new year in advance.

Merry Christmas indeed! What is der to merry about, when salaries haven't been paid. You and your Asari boys are busy buying warships and warming up to divide dis country if your rigging plans fail. God permitted you to lead this nation, and your time is up, if you ever want to force yourself on Nigerians again, his wrath and judgement awaits you, cos naija no dey ur pocket.

Mischievous said...

...prayer

COINGOV said...

waoo that is gud to hear allo sir

we don't need speech but development.......na only you waka come 2015
AIRTEL BRING 3G TO H5

Compliments of the season to everyone

Thanks mr. Prseident. Same here.

OBEYA FRIDAY's Official Website said...

Thank you, Mr president. I must tell you what we need it's not speech but development and change for a better Nigeria.

FOOL, in capital...

@gej's_supporters God will run your lives the way GEJ is running Nigeria in Jesus name I expect you guys to say a big amen to that if truly you believe that Jona is doing well no hypocrisy please

brownhottiee007 said...

Merry Xmas bawo when you jona n aunty Ngozi failed to pay salaries, m so pissed at you guys, this is one of d reasons jona will never come back, who needs a timid president, if it was Muslims you would have paid 10 days to their celebration, u keep taking xtains for a ride, I will rather have a Muslim who might not understand what it means to celebrate Xmas as president, than to have a xtain president like Jonathan.

laitan said...

E be like say God won punish jonna

Mezie Eze +2348064123664 said...

Same to You Mr. President

God bless Mr. President! I wish you and good meaning Nigerians a great Christmas and a wonderful 2015.
I see Nigerians can be so silly that a simply Christmas Message has called for insolence and so much non-sense. To these ones, may God give to you good measure, press down together and running over what you wish Mr. President. And let the people say "AMEN".
I believe very strongly in my heart that come February 14, God would grant Mr. President a Love Package that would stun all ill-thinking Nigerian. If I were them, I would go home praying for their 72 year old alternative called Change just so they don't have a medical emergency.
Since they went political let me remind them that APC is nothing but a dirty copy of PDP. When a PDP candidate losses a ticket, APC becomes the garbage bin - what kind of change is that?

What has being Yoruba got to do with voting for the right person. Check out the top positions in the current govt and tell me how many Yoruba's you know. One more thing, having the highest GDP in Africa has got nothing to do with a good living standard unlike GDP per capita. GDP per capita is a more reliable measure for determining the economic state of a nation in an individual perspective. India may have a very high GDP but the standard of living is rather low because of the nation­s extremely large population. In contrast, Luxembourg with its not so impressive GDP will rank as one of the highest GDP per capita because of its small population. Life in such a country is much more rewarding indeed as clearly indicated by its GDP per capita. Let people vote for whomsoever they want and you vote for who you want. Let everyone educate themselves so they vote for the person they believe will move us forward.

And don't forget that the naira has been devalued, the economy has lost over $40 billion and the foreign reserves have been depleted.

Taiwo said...

May Jona run your life the way he has run Nigeria. I expect a hearty Amen....

ode ni e.... @Taiwo

I don't know....