Let's talk about this N21billion that was raised for GEJ's campaign | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 December 2014

Let's talk about this N21billion that was raised for GEJ's campaign

So on Saturday Dec. 20th, PDP Governors, Senators, Business moguls, technocrats, multinationals and others donated a total of N21.27billion to support Jonathan's re-election campaign. (read here).

What happened is normal and done everywhere in the world...presidential candidates gather friends and associates to donate towards their campaign. But what I don't get is a private individual like Tunde Ayeni, the chairman of SKYE Bank donating N2billion. So, if you donate that amount to the president, is it for something you will get later from his administration or it's just goodwill?

329 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 329 of 329

The oil subsidy scam of years back and subsequent industrial corruption was used to support the financiers of the last election and the probe report swept under the carpet by the presidency. 21 billion naira is 2.1 million naira for 10,000 families. bcos we are naive in regards to numbers, they keep enjoying the loot with little reactions from us. The will use the next four years to keep looting in multiple folds to get their money back.

#BringBackMycomment Linda, do something about our comment. It always take too long b4 comments are visible.
Employ more hands to make the job more easier for you.
As for the donations, they are investing with the hope of reaping the dividends after GEJ (God forbid) return to Aso rock

in this hard times and yet, they could raise N21.2 Billion for just a campaign! my question is, i hope FIRS will tax that money and the tax accrued to be used to help our economy?

Mischievous said...

Corruption begot corruption.

Good vibes said...

You are not God to come to that conclusion. Let's fac it,GEJ hasn't done much in the 6yrs he's been in office, let's try another person.

GEJ till 2019.

He sure will lobby for political appointment wen/if GEJ returns to power......na sure way to invest nau, hez buying stock ni......

Good vibes said...

Honestly, this country needs a change cos we can go on like this for the sake of our future

We are owing money and the naira has lost its value why don't they use that money to pay Nigeria's debt. What kind of government is this? .. #PainedNigerian

It just depicts one thing; we have irresponsible people in the place of responsibility.

Remy Dee said...

Linda!!! Stay on the issue and stop this your APC campaign strategy! If you heck the breakdown of what is done and how it is done....you will know that PDP and the donors are all in line with what is right!

HisVessel said...

This us just plain indiscipline n corruption. You'll never hear of such inappropriate thing concerning buhari. Vote wisely.

Later gains joor

Certainty said...

Linda is just another evil instrument in the hands of our politicians. If she's this thoughtful, then y hasn't she asked us where GMB who has gone to the bank to get a loan to get his presidential ticket would get his campaign money? We know how much it will cost anybody in this country to tour the 36 states. Is he going to the bank to get another loan or he will resort to get it from the corrupt accumulated wealth of other politicians in APC. I think its more than obvious where Linda's loyalty lies. She's been paid. That's y u will never c her castigate any action of the APC.

Good vibes said...

You are not God to come to that conclusion. Let's fac it,GEJ hasn't done much in the 6yrs he's been in office, let's try another person.

MOSIWOMEKA said...

GOOD WILL KOR? HE HAS INTENTIONS. HE ISN'T DOING IT BECAUSE HE SO MUCH LOVES GEJ OR BELIEVES IN HIS ADMINISTRATION. HE'S A BUSINESS MAN O, HE'S INVESTING JOR.

Tunde Ayeni is a fraud. Where was his N2b when there was ebola, children orphaned by boko haram, lack of good medical facility or the level of poverty in the country? Shame on him and all those channeling Nigeria's money into the wrong cause.

MOSIWOMEKA said...

YOU HAVE A FRAGILE HEART KOR. THE DUDE IS INVESTING O. THEY SHOULD COME AND MAKE ME CAMPAIGN MANAGER FOR YOUTHS NAO. I WEE DO THE JOB WELLA

Goodwill by foot!!!!!!!!! Buhari 2015

@Bad wife.I can see u av a very low IQ. If u av been following Lib well.I'll say she published more news that favours PDP than APC.What is bad is bad.How can a banks MD donate 2 billion naira for presidential campaign and 2mrw they will tell their poor depositors they don't have money.How can a president accept 50 million naira each from state governors that are struggling to pay workers salaries. U seriously need ur brain examined.

U just said my mind, good one boo

There should be a cap on the amounts donated. In any civilised country this sort of amount cannot be donated so blatantly. It is electoral malpractice. Tony Blair was impeached for this sort of thing after Bernice Eccleston, the Formula One boss was also punished for his large donation.
Very very few Nigerian youth have exposed themselves to ethics. It's a huge shame that when a blogger like Linda has the social conscience to ask the question she did, people do not think deeply enough. This donation was not a goodwill gesture. It is payment in advance and it is the bank's money.
What a lawless country.

Dangote is smarter than this fools putting themselves out like mumu.He tactically avoided the show of shame because as a sensible man and perceptive investor he know Jonathan ain't comming back.

Don't hate pls u will sure do d same if u have d opportunity.

Black Anchor 2 said...

All na paddy paddy Government.. Thier headache jor....

What you do not know is that Ayeni is a front for Alams. Do your aproko work well

So they can raise such amount of money in just one sitting and people are hungry Chai!! They are all investing in his government if he win the bank chairman that donate 2b naira dnt be surprise if he is the next CBN governor! All those governors are looking 4 Favour. There is God ooo

do u tink itx 1million or so we re talking abt here??

You sound like a kid. You actually think this is like you lending your friends money to throw a party. There are massive acts of corruption TO YOUR DETRIMENT taking place before your very eyes but your egg them on. That is what Nigeria has become. People who love their oppressors.
You cannot state one single valid reason for your support of GEJ.
In the last year Nigeria has had more terror attacks than Israel and Pakistan combined.
I do not subscribe to either men however based on the tone of GEJ's tenure this country will suffer irreversible damage if it enters another cycle that emulates the last.

linda isnt into government

I know they will all recoup the money if GEJ win. Via BB bold 1

Buhari has already been at the helm so your rather passionate declaration is already wrong.

Please don't be silly. Electoral campaigns are not a charity fundraiser. They are essentially a shareholders meeting. And while we're are talking about charities, whatever happened to the finds raised during GEJ'S Ebola fundraiser.
It's baffling how anyone who lives in Nigeria admist all the suffering can want to continue in that vein.

dilinger said...

Excellent view point, Linda is biased and has probably being paid to bad mouth GEJ. GEJ all the way!!

Dey all know wat dey wil gain @ d end

Oprah is in private enterprise so she can donate all she has.
A bank executive? No way is that legit. If you have money in this guys bank you best withdraw it all because once GEJ loses that bank will fail.

Thank you. I wonder what people like the good wife are exposed to for them to have such limited understanding of the system they live in.

Campaign donations are not the issue. Linda's question is about a bank executive donating such an amount. Oil companies, banks do not donate to a candidate's campaign. That's electoral malpractice. Universally corrupt practice.

Exactly
So when Nigerian youth support PDP it is confusing. The youth are the main victims of PDP greed.

Som1 like u can never, will never & shall never b a Good wife. Dumb ass

Really? How long will it be before boko haram march southwards? What you should ask yourself is "Are you happy with the government that has ruled your country in the last 3 years?"

oyekunle bunmi said...

No be politics? interest dey plenty

You are stupid!

You are stupid

Ask the private individuals in the US who donated to Obama"s reelection course...LINDA!

The money plenty
Of that kind of money is used to support just presidential campaign

You are wise...smh for nigeria

Duhhhh! They gonna get something back

OneVoiceMagazine said...

Hmmmmm
Photos: Nigerian Musicians and wives http://bit.ly/1sMDEOM

Seriously .... Nigeria in motion

dear linda,

here are cold fact for you to run with dear.

1st and formost, 9ja journalist are intellectually lazy hence there is no real investigative journalism. if there is then, they would have dug dip into who is this new kid on the block... 'tunde ayeni'

these are the simple and basi stuff they need to find out, report on and some of the question you asked can be situated within in its proper context. it is that very simple.

no 2. and a direct answer to your question; those people donating money are either expecting patronage, will be patronize or they are fronting for the person they are donating for. its as simple as a.b.c

dr. tunji olowolafe is apc/asiwaju 'man-friday'. apc too do it so its noting strange there. sadly though.

so let me get your mind working like a very hardworking lady that you are: a little lead...

'tunde ayeni was introduced to Alamesia early in his 1st term. the bobo just got luck...anyone who can lick ass(and so many of us can). he fronted alamss to buy anything buyable and in the process made some 4himself too. of course he always drops in to say hello to oga deputy too anytime he go see oga alams.

his buys for oga alams include stakes/directorship in john darlington bond bank. bond merged with other to become skye bank. today the guy (or is it on alamesia behalf now) retain/his oga's stake firmly at skye as chair. today, john darlington is dmd ibadan electricity disco. ayeni is chair.

of course we know that oga alams considering his antecedent have to just lay down low...abi?

so me think if alamasia by any calculation is gej mentor who do you think the ayeni is working for?

they don buy nitel, buy shipping line, buy nepa, buy bank, buy others we dont know for now sei, oga jona no go retire well. abi you think say the most richest woman in heaven and earth with oil block no dey front for somebori?

abeg..think.

baby, do the maths...

we are watching o.

Leave dem be. If you got it den you give it.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

Am indeed worried and I really hope it won't be bloody

Bike Packing Blog said...

Sharap uninformed Nigerian

Pls shut up ur mouth nd think very well before u write anything here

Chi chi said...

If you are so sure he can never win why post twice to make your point.

Amen, dey won't last.

Very true point at wilfred

KAYODE said...

Why not ask if all parties should raise revenue openly and account for it to INEC. Why not ask why there is no limit to amounts individuals and corporations can contribute towards campaigns. That attracts progressive comments

Chi chi said...

Oh man of God speak the truth and it shall set u free.

2b from a chairman of the bank is probably stolen public funds kept in his care or like people have suggested an investment.

God help Nigeria!

Chairman not MD

It's just an investment Linda.

Dividend is expected wen the investment yields

This is an investment, do you think an average banker will put his/her kobo where there won't be huge returns. Goodwill my foot, why didn't he commit the money to charity if it's just goodwill.

talk2frankky said...

Hmmm Reno Omokri you are here on LIB.

Those are the people he is selling the country to. Its why he doesn't giv a damn about the displaced and dying people in Borno, Yobe, Gombe and the rest. If only he'd spend all that money on weaponry and relief programmes for the internally displaced persons! However it is, we av had enough of Jonathan and he must be voted out!

WD said...

I did my research and i came out with this fact that 99% of the people that gets LIB give away supports Linda's opinion on issues (Bonario, Onyx and co) . You are buying peoples mind with your give away. Now, What is Linda expecting when she is giving the giveaways?
You are not an APC supporter but you are an enemy of Nigeria Period.
U question the integrity of everything the president/PDP does, u querie as if you don't know that fund is raised everywhere,Obama raised fund in U.s and some Africans genuily raised fund for him.
I expected you to write more about the man that does not raise fund and claimed he does not have more that 10million naira in his account and yet he is paying for bill boards, TV station adverts and the rest. Do u know how much that will cost?
If Ayeni had given the money to APC, the head line would have been different and read " Ayeni, a patriotic Nigerian who wants to fight corruption at all cost by given 2billion naira to Buhari. I must write my own cheque of 10million tomorrow bcos i want change" What a Nation!!!
You pick stories from Sahara and all you do is discredit this government for what? When APC did anything wrong, u don't bring it up here. I am not a PDP supporter but will vote GEj, and i am not the only one we are many only that we dont make noise.
And please note that we also want change but we dont want change that is anchored on Bloodshed. we dont want propaganda change, we want real change not a change that kill people in other to discredit the govt in power.
To tell u apc is a propaganda party, they wanted to wash their name from Boko and they chose a pastor, why not a common man in politics, u want to tell me that they cant choose Oshiomole or anybody else aside a pastor. They went ahead to create another twitter account of RCCG just to show how foolish and desperate they are.
I want REAL CHANGE but not Propaganda CHANGE.
APC is a desperate party and everybody in that wagon are desperados that is why some of us cant trust them. We will vote for the man that looks slow but is not evil.
A man that forgives a corrupt person not a tribalist.

You might fool others but you cant fool me and your ignorance can't stop me from coming to your blog.
If u refuse to post this comment it shows i conquered u like u did in the past. I still like u but hate your Ignorance
N.B Everything is not about money dear

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Dr. Tunde Ayeni, chairman of Skye Bank Plc, a lawyer and businessman, is widely known for his philanthropy...
It didn't start with GEJ presidential bid..
For example, members of the Nigeria Bar Association (NBA) can testify of his numerous massive financial interventions in their affairs, for which they always celebrate this man for his large-heartedness...
Ayeni is a Jonathanian to the core...
No Jonathanian, who commands his kind of wealth, will do less than what this great Nigerian has done to boost GEJ's chances in the next general election...
For one, owing to the present government's patronage, this man's business interest in the oil and gas sector has grown and recorded unprecedented successes...
Today, Ayeni is one of the country's biggest players in the oil and gas sector..
Besides, only lately, the president conferred him with the national honor of Commander of the Order of Niger (CON)...
Indeed if I were this Ayeni, rich and Jonathanian as he is, I will even dish out much more to the GEJ cause and have Buhari thoroughly disgraced in the coming election...
And nothing must be spared to bring the former dictator and coup plotter to sob like a baby, just like in the past elections...
I am sure if Buhari were the one commanding the same support, the meaning his supporters and spin-doctors would read to such largess would be different..
They sure would drape the donors in saintly hoods, apotheosize them and call them nice names like patriots, harbingers of change, etc...
At the last APC convention, it was learnt that so much slush money did exchange hands in order to push the chances of Buhari, and that the mothafucking traitor Rotimi Amaech was at the head of the sleaze, yet prejudicial South West press failed to pooh-pooh the malfeasance as exemplary corruption...
Later fools would say Buhari is incorruptible...
Tell that to the marines!
Jonathan is returning to Aso Rock in 2015 and no amount of blackmail or subterfuge will be able to stop the moving train!!!!
If you bellyache over the fact that so much financial support is coming GEJ's way, wait until you start throwing up when the Buhari spell over some of you unravels, as the truth about this Satan-appearing-an-angel-of-light hits you like Mike Tyson's blow!

yes nah Linda is for what he is getting from the government of course

Steady said...

we all know how it is, you cant tell me that you dash person that huge amount of money without expecting nothing.... this is not an issue joor

For those who think Linda is bias or supports APC, U're getting it wrong. N2b is a huge sum of money. To come frm a bank manager as donation to a campaign fund, 1 can't help but 1da: is it his personal money or depositor's fund? No wahala if it's his personal money. But what if it's depositor's fund????? This man is a banker and obviously a businessman. He's investing his money where he's sure to make good profit!!!

The number of internally displaced people are increasing due to continued attacks of BH on their town and these good for nothing people couldn't do anything to alleviate their sufferings instead they are donating for PDP. It's insane.

bosslady said...

I pity Nigerians! So you all still want Jonathan back. People are dying everyday yet they cannot contribute this money to buy weapons to secure our citizens instead they are using it for politics. TWO people died in sydney, Australia last week and the whole nation shook. Here nobody cares anymore

bosslady said...

Some of you are in the South West, you have not lost anyone due to Boko Haram slaughter, so its easy for you to run your mouth. Do you know what it means to loose your home, your peace, your life? Until we rise up this nation will keep going worse. Are u guys not tired of suffering? are you not tired of staying without common electricity? we just dey look like JJC. May the wicked never know peace. May all those who have eaten pensioners money never know peace. May all those aiding boko haram never know peace

Lol... He's return will be in multi fold. Linda abeg what of dangote Na? Hw much him donate cos he bought this country market on certain items by sponsoring pdp presidential campaign few yrs back.

He's definitely fronting for some people. They paid the money to buy Nigeria from the mumu village clown Jonothing who doesn't know what he's doing.

Nigerians, over to you. Vote him again at your own risk.

Le bebe said...

What else can we call it if not vendor registration.

Some people are very generous........

John Olatunde Ayeni is a wheeler-dealer man, an established money launderer and front for politically exposed individuals in this country, as at year 2000, this same man was driving a 1996 Honda Civic, but after he was introduced to the then Bayelsa State Governor Dipreiye Alamieyeseigha by another South West Governor then his life changed tremendously, he was upgraded and he started the wild acquisition spree of state-of-the-art luxury cars and expensive properties. We all know he was a major brain behind former Bond Bank now part of Skye Bank,that bank was floated with stolen funds by Otunba Gbenga Daniel, Former Inspector-General of Police Tafa Balogun and Dipreiye Alamieyeseigha and was coordinated by Tunde Ayeni. He was arrested and detained for a long time by the EFCC under Nuhu Ribadu for facilitating his escape from the United Kingdom after jumping bail, alongside one Yahaya Mohammed and Senator Unim Musa Adede, owner of Kings Airlines for airlifting Alamieyeseigha from Cote’D Ivoire to Port Harcourt. Now he has bounced back in full force under the administration of Alamieyeseigha’s protégé. They are encouraging looting of public funds and laundering it under various guises. He now owns ships, private jets and all sorts. Now he is donating billions to Jonathan campaign fund, the fact that he still sits on the board of a major financial institution is a shame on the laws of this country.

There is a law that companies and their directors must not donate to political and charitable causes. CAMA or ISA. The laws are there but enforcement is a different ball game entirely only in Nigeria

#rubbish#

There is a law that companies and their directors must not donate to political and charitable causes. CAMA or ISA. The laws are there but enforcement is a different ball game entirely only in Nigeria

#rubbish#

Some people are so ignorant! hia is bank Chairman same as bank M.D. Ignoramus readers and writers.

What evidence do you have to call Linda an APC supporter? So anybody that criticizes govt is an APC or Boko haram. Why does he have to campaign if he knew he is popular and sure he can win? This is first class corruption in our own very eyes. This is not 2 naira we are talking here! Those are d people who loot the country. They are investing. Do u think it is easy to just donate 2billion like that without expect anything in return? God is going to put them into shame soon.

Linda..is APC paying you? Please refuse to be bought and used ooo. I trust you sha

Emeka Emeritus said...

Bloggers comparing this to Obama's campaign donation should do their home work very well. President Obama started with grass root fund raising where individuals donated as little as $5.00. As a student in America, I personally donated $20.00 to support his candidacy in 2008. Millions of young people (students inclusive)were involved in his fund raising.And for the big campaign donors, there is a set limit to which an individual or a group can contribute no matter how rich or connected you are. This is where our INEC and the National Assembly should step up. The idea of one man giving 2 billion naira for a political campain is simply not prudent.

Ur an imbecile. Ur entitled to ur vote n so am I period

Ur comments rarely make sense.

Shut up what do u know

Why yoy no boycott LIB? Mumu!

Hmmmm Linda I guess dis discussion wil b save 4 d futur.

My thoughts exactly.it's just that the money is from federal govt purse.

oniisaac said...

JONATHAN, INVEST THIS MONEY INTO POWER and I WILL VOTE FOR YOU!! INFACT, YOU GO THIRD TERM SEF.... BUT IF NOT, TO HELL WITH YOU AND YOU CAMPAIGN!!!!! #BUHARI ALL THE WAY......

I knew someone would come up with this...other areas. Stereotyped kinda mind Nigerians has got. Who told you they've not been investing and supporting in those other areas? At least na him money...not urs! If u have an account with Skye bank this won't stop u from withdrawing ur chew gum money.
As for linda...it is for goodwill... Unless ur giveaways are also tied to a white elephant.

Thank u...biko ask linda again. I guess her giveaways ain't for goodwill.

Mumu...so it's Buhari that is the better option? Mo sori fun e...am sorry for u #GEJ2015

Ode!!! GEJ will rule Nigeria including ur silly self. Unless u want to make do with d lagoon after his victory in 2015. Onye nzuzu

Ur money no miss...so let them be! At least Skye bank never fold...my money is still intact in my Skye bank account.

B n B said...

Atleast I got family... poor demented bastard

Buhari can never ever rule Nigeria

Sorry, but the post said 'an individual' and not skye bank. So stop making noise about CAMA

Chudi said...

I thought there is a difference between the Chairman and an MD of a bank? understand well before you comment.

Na poverty mentality dey worry you. if donating 2billion looks strange to you, then am sorry, you'll never get there.

Chudi said...

Come and force us to vote for him na. The likes of Tinubu, Atiku and Amaechi that are supporting Buhari, are they holy saints from above? They are the most corrupt...

Marketing plus others.

@Anonymous 11:32. You are a shameless bush animal. It is your frustrated self and useless family that Buhari will rule. GEJtill2019

LMAO! whya re this people foolin dem selves ehen 21billionNaira donation we not stupid as you people! tcheew

Keep f*cking ass and sucking cock..you will get there.

So, if you donate that amount to the president, is it for something you will get later from his administration or it's just goodwill?....dumb question.

Isn't it Nigeria again? Scratch my back and I scratch yours.

May God punish all if them in EFCC INDEED, chasing and arresting 100k fraudsters, BASTARDS!!!!...Should they not be probing and arresting this bigot for this money and such a donation in the western world like America will be very well questioned and infact given back to the donator as being rxcessive.

AMEN!!!!

AMEN TO THAT ANONYMOUS 11.32. THIS HEIGHT OF BLATANT CORRUPTION IS DESPEECABLE. .

This should open people's eyes not to vote this bigot!!!

THEREFORE PEOPLE OF NIGERIA DO WHAT IS RGHT AND SEND THESE PEOPLE BACK TO THE VILLAGE, WE NEED DISCIPLINE BACK IN OUR COUNTRY, ENOUGH OF THIS CORRUPTION.

Can u image,they are the people who don't want us to have power supply as a medium to make money from diesel sales, they also b control that shit.

Seems ur fathet is or relatives are part of the corrupt people that need to burn in hell why so much stress over this piece...foolish spern swallower.

Anon 11:32...u are just a sad soul! Calling someone names for expressing an opinion? Shaa gather your boko members cos GEJ will be back in 2015 ..

PRETTY GIRL said...

LOL na real goodwill

TAYO said...

it is called investment

HOW DOES THAT CONCERN YOU

gmog said...

all of them na thief and if u cud imagine,most of them wr still owing their state or organization some debts whc is yet to cover and dey are there spending money on what wont walk

STFU! ameachi is a public figure which is allowed, ayeni is a private person, a bankmanager for dat matter which should never be done.read well before commenting your rubbish!

Mazikazi said...

Reading through the thread, one can easily infer that one of the problems of Nigeria is bad followership. When people can't be objective in commenting on issues such as this then there is a problem. How can government agencies donate to a party cause? Two billion Naira is not two Naira. Thats more than the yearly allocation of most local governments in Nigeria. Until Nigerians start asking the right questions of their 'leaders' and taking affirmative action, then we would remain on the path to ignominy as a nation headed to Golgotha.

Enough said...... Mazikazi.

I guess some people genuinely believe in GEJ and yes some want favour back.

She asked a question, can you contribute to the discussion or just shut it.
ZZ

Good wife, are you pretending to be clueless or what? So the donors "did not say" they want the money back means what? So that is ok with you? A single individual donating 2billion naira? Even in the US the citizens kick again such ungodly amounts. If you want GEJ back I'm 2015 just vote for him and stop making silly observations.

ZZ

unfortunately all these donors will lose their money as GEJ is going will be thrown out in 2015. Change is coming to Nigeria in Jesus Name, whether Asari Dokubo or Tompolo and other ijaw foot soldiers likes it or not.
Haba this is too much!!!!!.

Linda you na anti GEJ o...... wettin concern you. If e pain u just write Buahri 2015 for your blog

Latoya said...

With the fact say people dey suffer people fit pump in such amount for election nah wah!

#SIMPLE

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 329 of 329   Newer› Newest»