Armed robbers who killed Newswatch Editor arrested, say why they killed him | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 October 2014

Armed robbers who killed Newswatch Editor arrested, say why they killed him

The armed robbers who shot and killed the Deputy Editor of Saturday Newswatch newspapers, Toyin Obadina (pictured left0 on February 3rd along the Itoikin Old Ijebu-Ode road, have been arrested by men of the Lagos state police command, eight months after they carried out the dastard act.

The notorious armed robbers named Adeshina Festus, Sunday Samuel, Ibrahim Adeokin and Babatunde Makinde, (all pictured right) were arrested after two members of their gang led the police to their hideout in Ikorodu.

Speaking on how they were arrested, the Lagos state police commissioner, Kayode Aderanti, said;
"Based on the information, a team of crack detectives, led by the officer in charge of Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, Abba Kyari, swung into action and two suspected members of the gang, Ibrahim Adeokin and Babatunde Makinde, were arrested. Immediate search conducted on them led to the recovery of two cut-to-size locally-made single barrelled short guns, with 12 rounds of live cartridges. During interrogation, they confessed to belonging to a six-man robbery gang who has been terrorising Lagos State and its environs. They also confessed to be responsible for the killing of the owner of a Toyota Yaris car with registration number AKD 701CE, which they snatched and later abandoned with the corpse at Ikorodu. The victim was later discovered to be Mr. Toyin Obadina, the Deputy Editor of Saturday Newswatch. Their confession later led detectives to Ikorodu area where one Festus Adeshina and Sunday Samuel were also arrested. They mentioned Olasheun and Omo Alhaja, who are at large, as members of their gang, while Oke and Benjamin, who they claimed were members of the gang, were killed in a shoot-out with operatives of SARS at Mile 12 area.” he said

On how and why they killed the 50 year old editor, one of the suspects, Shina Festus said Mr Obadina was shot dead by their leader because he tried to struggle his car with them
"We were coming from Imota, while he (Obadina) was going inward. On reaching a bad spot, he slowed down and we blocked him with our vehicles: one in front and the other behind. Four members of the gang came down from the vehicles. While two of them positioned themselves to wade off intruders, Oke and Benjamin went to the man in the car. An argument ensued between Oke and the man, and Oke shot him dead. When one of us asked Oke why he shot the motorist, he got angry and shot the gang member for challenging his authority. At the end of the operation, we collected his phone, laptop and some money we saw in the car. When we got to our hideout, Oke told us that the man struggled with him. We did not know the man was a journalist and my job is to drive the operational vehicle.” he said
Police Commissioner said the suspects would immediately be charged to court.

Source:  Vanguard

37 comments:

Uche Emma said...

Until unemployment is eradicated .....

Is it luck or our cops really good but doing a very outstanding job of appearing bad? Cos this is a good job.

Kudos to the Lagos state police command on a job well done.

Say no to crime
Heartless ppl, long jail term/ death...any by the judge

Dave Mide said...

Good riddance of bad eggs from the public. Shame the lost live(s) cant be brought back!

How heartless can people be, so after it all it was laptop they took in exchange for his life? This is crazy
fashionitazbybuiti.blogspot.com

someone should tell me tell me how i can comment with my name pls cos have tried it severally but it is not loading

N.C. Chima said...

May his soul rest in peace.

just like that they end people's ONLY life

Nigeria is really trying o
Nicr one detectives nd d anti robbery squad!

OMA said...

You did not know the man was he a journalist? well, he was more than a journalist, he was someone's husband, son,father, brother, nephew, cousin, colleague and many more. And you just shot him without a thought. May you not go unpunished!

No nid for court case abeg, they shd just waste their already wasted life for dem. Devilish Bastards!

Bunch of idiots
They should be killed

Hand of God don catch them. Tochikwa!

This guys are bad..May God keep us from the hands of the wicked.

Look at their useless faces.... They should kill them instantly abeg.....

busayo said...

just too bad

May Heaven deal with these murderers! Thanks to Lagos state police for apprehending them. RIP Sir.

so bad

Dats not an excuse u will have to face the court of law
Faceoflib

#king said...

Bastards..u shot him cos he argued with u..stupid idiot..I swear they dnt deserve jail..kill dem slowly for at least a week...............................#KingOfKings

Nemesis has caught up with them. The wicked will not go unpunish

m said...

They need to be in jail for life

Until unemployment. Us eradicated u wil keep stealing abi? *sigh* onyoshi

Does unemployment has anything to do with killing of innocent people? Stop saying rubbish abeg. @ uche Emma

They should be killed, it will reduce crime in d country.

They need to be punished

Brainless idiots.

Aheadahead9ja

KWEEN said...

I keep wondering why such cases need to be charged to court. They have confessed to committing murder and God knows How many more people they have killed. Such people need to be executed immediately. They do not deserve any trial. Kill the pieces of garbage. The world doesn't need creatures like this.

Unemployment is not the cause. Who will kill will kill. So many people are poor but can't commit crime.

So these are some of the ppl making naija unsafe & scaring ppl away from home.

Sign up a gmail account using ur full name. Then on here chose the Gmail/Google account option to comment.

Pls punish dem severely

Easy-E said...

Armed useless nd nonsense robbers...una case dey God hand.

They should be killed no need taking them to court, its waste of time and energy.

Nemesis.....He who kills by the gun should also be killed by the gun...They had not atom of sympathy or human feeling when they took lives they can never creat...They are God forsaken.

Na wa ooO dis life sha..