Fayose's aide blasts Ekiti Speaker over closure of filling station, says "He has no right to own private business" | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 23 October 2014

Fayose's aide blasts Ekiti Speaker over closure of filling station, says "He has no right to own private business"

Special Assistant to the Ekiti State Governor on Information and Social Media, Mr Lere Olayinka has described claims by Speaker of the Ekiti State House of Assembly, Hon Adewale Omirin that his filling station, T5 Petrol Station was sealed up for political reasons as the height of mischief and misrepresentation of facts. 

He said as a public office holder, "the Speaker does not have legal rights to own private business, and one wonders how someone prohibited by law to own private business while in office can be said to be the owner of a filling station that is under construction."

Olayinka, in a statement issued in Ado-Ekiti on Thursday, said; "as against the falsehood being spread by the Speaker and his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC), the Speaker's Petrol Station, alongside three others were sealed up for contravening environmental laws."

The governor's aide listed the four filling stations affected by the government action to include; INIS Integrated Services located along Iworoko Road, Ado-Ekiti; belonging Hon Churchill Adedipe, NIPCO Petrol Station (Morolu Global Services), Isato-Oke in Ado-Ekiti (belonging to Mr Oloko), T5 Petrol Station, Ajilosun in Ado-Ekiti (owned by Dr Adewale Omirin) and PHENROSE Limited, Ajilosun in Ado-Ekiti (owned by Mr Gilbert Igweka).

Olayinka, who advised the Speaker to thread softly so as to prevent himself from being pushed into perdition, added that; "Code 2 (b) of the Code of Conduct Act prohibits public office holders like the Speaker from participating in management or running of any private business, profession or trade.

"Therefore, those making noise in the media that Dr Omirin owns a filling station are only trying to throw him inside the web of the Code of Conduct Tribunal, and the noisemakers won't be available to help him out of the mess they would have put him."

Speaking further; Olayinka said; for clarity sake; "Four filling stations were sealed-up and one of them belong to an Ibo man. Are they also saying that the Ibo man is a politician and being coerced by the governor?

"Are they also saying that Mr Oloko, the owner of NIPCO Petrol Station (Morolu Global Services) is a member of the APC and a serving member of the Ekiti State House of Assembly?"

He urged leaders of the APC, especially the immediate past governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi and his godfather, Senator Bola Tinubu to accept their fate and let peace reign in Ekiti State.

53 comments:

Plz can sum1 read d story 2 ma hearing?

He has a right to own private business.

Ghen ghen waiting i say ghen ghen waitin for part 2 as for fayose hmmm

This is just the beginning,what Ekiti people got themselves into coz of bag of rice and keg of kerosene.

He has a right to own private business but not while still in office.

Foolish and overzealous SA, show me a politician that does not own a business in this country. Vendetta politics

@Charming_rascal said...

Politics is something I will never get myself involved in.. Is he the first public office holder to own a private business? I think if that is truly in the code of conduct that public officer shouldn't own a private business code of conduct bureau shld make sure the law is enforced and mke sure no public officer holder have a private investment..

#The Theist

APC are noise makers, and the speaker should be arrested for building filling station with public funds.

princess dee said...

Who doesnt have private biz in Nigeria??This is obviously a case of oppression.
Fayose should take note that nothing lasts forever.That you are governor today does not mean the tables won't turn against you tomorrow.If you misuse this second opportunity God has given you,your koboko/cane is waiting.Continue!!!Go and ask Agagu and others...

Neks said...

Omg that filling station is too close to a residential building. wtf

are you kidding me??? political office holder does not have right to own private business??? fayose should slow down ooo.if the man does not want to decamp to PDP he should let him be!

Easy-E said...

Whoa an office holder? Wat bout David mark dat owns hotel?

Hmmm, Fayose don start his revenge work.

Bad belle sumbody. Why nt go nd invest ur stolen wealth sumwere than disturb a smarter thief.

Uche Emma said...

God save Ekiti State

The Ekiti people voted for a madman

Isn't it a country of mad men running a democrazy system of government? The laws in Nigeria does not apply to the rich only the poor, so if he likes he should own GLO, he is covered by the same law that prohibits himlace.rom such in the first pal

first to comment.......Politics !! @sodiq4ever@yahoo.co.uk

Ghen ghen, looks like Ekiti will be having loads of drama ..

first to comment..........Politics !!!!

Power drunk idiots witch-hunting thieves

All this is happening because the guy refused to sort the governor and his boys. If he did, this wouldn't have made news. No be Naija again. Lie lie politicians.

JUST GO ANG GREASE AYOS HANDS...........THAT'S WHAT HE'S TRYING TO TELL YOU.

K

pooker said...

All these Fayose's boys will soon put him in trouble. Trust APC to reveal all there private businesses too. *fingers crossed*

This media aide is a dunce. The code of conduct act prohibits participation in the management, not individual or trustee ownership. Fayose is just trying to regularise his thuggery. Obasanjo owned ota farms while he was president. Jonathan owns hotels in Bayelsa. Are they in breach of the code of conduct act too?

Dis fayose shud take it easy o
Befre they call on the service of the amazon queens dt handled abacha on ur case

Big wahala in Ekiti

Nothing wrong

pay back time.....lol

Bonario ur party APC na wah o! U guyz should chill a little. The constitution says he can't own properties for now! Obey and don't complain! U guys are nt in power! Nonsense losers.

i seeeeee ok ooo.

Political war......no b ma biznx

For heavens sake this man has been in the news way more than miley Cyrus self and all so controversial! Fayose is a big problem to himself, this is exactly how he will walk his way into expulsion from the govt house yet again! He will always choose trouble over peace.After all that God has delivered him from. He said he has learnt a lot between his last tenure and now but I am beginning to doubt that. This is a time for him to befriend all the many who don't like him.Just imagine Jonathan does not come back as president, you will be standing on tender grounds in Ekiti state, Because the politicians who don't support you are way more than the ones that do. You are seizing filling stations, what for? Mr Fayose remember where you are coming from, so God will not remind you by taking you back. It's a pity no one can talk to you. Never seen a human berift of any form of cautiousness. The whole Nigeria knows you for trouble, controversy, womanizing, thuggery, fighting and more. If I was your child I will be ashamed to call you my father. And to think I supported you during the election. May you find help.

Is it true that he shouldn't own private businesses? Do not tell lies o. Fayose's actions tell a tale of someone who is going to fail woefully at governance.

I tell u, anoda four years in hell...

Fayose and thugs,isn't it a trifle too early for this strife.

Bonario or watin be ur nam. Shut up if u don't have anything to say

I'm really surprised by ur comment Bonario I raised u higher b4 untill wen dis comment jst brought u down can u go back and have ur glasses on to recheck this fuel station pic is it in the right place? You fucked Bonario I think ekitians deserve an apology 4rm u..... #W.G#

Let the war begin .

U are lousy, tell me if fayose or any other politican does not have a private biz. Besides it's still an on going project. Mind u, we are all waiting for fayose's performance in d first 100 days of been d gov. I hope his achievements won't be nabbing APC executives and legislatures or perhaps d judiciary.

Linda.no news on fayemi's\ekiti 3.5billiin naira show off opulence laden govt house.this is what apc/fayemi stands for-rob the poor pay the rich

Dear PA INFO & SOCIAL MEDIA TO D NEW GUV, U HAV NOT HELP UR BOSS AT ALL WIT D INFO U SENT OUT HERE, I LIVE ABROAD & AV JUST READ IT IN OTHER PAPERS ONLINE DAT ONE OF D REASONS FOR D CLOSURE OF D FILLING STATIONS IS BCOS SOME INCLUDING D SPEAKER OWN IS LOCATED WITHIN D RESIDENTIAL AREA IN OTHER WORD 2U CLOSE TO WIA PPLE LIVE UNFORTU U NEVA SAID ANYTHING LIKE DIS IN UR OWN MSSG ABOVE INSTEAD U KEPT TALKING ABOUT D LAW AGAINST PUBLIC SERVANT OWING A BIZ DAT IS NOT 2U GUD. IF U DONT COME OUT WITH GUD REASONS ON SITUATION LIKE DIS, U WIL END UP CAUSING PROBLEM 4 UR BOSS

I sincerely believe that Fayose is driving the Ekiti people into what may never be forgotten in a hurry. Fayose misused the Ekiti people's money, had a case to settle in court but the court adjourned his case till after election time since PDP knew the election would be rigged in favour of Fayose, now he has become the governor but court said he has immunity clause! There is God

O ga o.

Politics in the air

Same Fayose who swore in front of Pastor Kuyumi not to persecute anyone at him 2nd coming is the sealing up.the Speakers filling station. As to the scallywag SA's assertion about owning private businesses maybe Fayodse should shut down his Spotless Hotel a.day Anisulowo his campaign chief should close down Aetna Hotel. Demented fellows with shallow thinking

Fayose is insane!
Tell me any public office holder that has no private business.
Just tell me one. Oga Jonah group of companies.
There is God

Can you please cite the relevant section of the constitution?

There is a big difference between "owning" and "running" a private business. You are not expected to close down your business just because you are going into politics or stop investing because you are a public office holder.

abujakenneth said...

These my people self. See this unknown Igbo man going to a remote state like that and building a filing station.

Can Mr. Governor just calm down. He comes across 2me like another Amaechi.
No be by GRA-GRA. Relax man, u 'hv got a long way 2 go. Habaaaa