First case of Ebola recorded in New York | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 October 2014

First case of Ebola recorded in New York

A US doctor based in New York who recently returned from treating Ebola patients in Guinea has become the first person in the city to test positive for Ebola. 33 year old Dr. Craig Allen Spencer (pictured above) had been working with Doctors Without Borders in Guinea, and returned to NYC on October 17th. He tested positive to the virus the Bellevue Hospital in Manhattan New York yesterday October 23rd.

He and three other people he had contact with in recent days, including his girlfriend have been placed in isolation at the Bellevue hospital. He's officially the 4th person to test positive on American soil.

Many are alarmed at this new case due to the population of the city but the New York mayor while confirming the recent case said New Yorkers have nothing to fear
"We want to state at the outset, there is no reason for New Yorkers to be alarmed. Ebola is a very hard disease to contract." Mayor Bill de Blasio said

49 comments:

I hope this virus is contained fast in America before matter pass be careful.

Michael said...

This sh!t is really spreading.....smh.

ILcity's Finest

Cynhams Cakes, Abuja. said...

I hope he gets cured.

this ebola is getting serious in western countries oo..may God help us...

Funso Samuel said...

The mayor said Ebola is a very hard disease to contact.Okay o.
God help them o

OLODO said...

eh eh dis disease sef, may God help ua. amen

May God help him and the rest.

WATCH HILARIOUS VIDEO HERE

Pastor caught with another member’s wife in the hotel

Chinese ‘Mistress’ Got beat Up beaten senseless by a Mob of women on a busy shopping street

Guy leaks private video of university girl because she was rude to him

Pregnant woman and her lover caught in hotel by her husband

Nsogbu abiakwa ..God help us in this world

na wa ooo

It is well. It's a global issue now.

OmG. i pray God interceed just like HE did in nigeria

Nao Nao said...

oh my goodness! God where are you

OK oooo...If Oga Mayor says so....I wish dem well

hey! nawao! pray he gets beta soon.

Neks said...

I'm not worried about the American, of course he will be fine, but still going to wish him recovery.

God give them the strength to curb it.

What does that gat to do with the money in my bank account? Next person pleas!

Papa-shango said...

Na wa ohhhh...... I pray he too would be treated with immediate effect....

Hope they contain it ooº°˚˚°Âºo cos NY is populated.God help them#iamswish#

Nawa o, it's well. I wish him safe recovery! #onelovefromSnow#

Temmy said...

Mayor, iro le pa yen o. Ebola is easier to contract dn HIV. Newyorkers epele o

punished for doing a good deed.. I'm sure he'll be fine.

Julz Cakes said...

Oh no! I pray he recovers and the others don't come down with the disease. Ebola has overstayed its welcome

The Mayor is brave & outspoken
I wish Dr. Allen quick recovery

Jesus Reigns said...

Wow, this is bad, but on the other hand, this will make America to take very seriously the research and release drugs for Ebola. May God heal u all

Demola said...

A case of back to sender . Americans with population control measures. Now they face it too. Hope u people will send the drugs for combating this virus to Africa ..
{ I DON'T MIND MA BUSINESS } #IDMMB

Na wa o
Pray they find their way out of dis

Huhmmmm.

Did this guy just say Ebola was a very hard disease to contract? I don't think there's any disease that's been easier to contract in the history of diseases. What total nonsense

somebody accused America of engineering ebola, if this is true then America is like an adage of someone that throws stone in the market....., will surely share out of the pain that follows

Americans can be so carefree! Many if them never thought this could get there, I remember when it hit Africa some of em where making fun of Africa forgetting it was a global crisis! I don't wish them bad but somehow they had this coming! Cos if the world had taken precaution that Liberian wouldn't have entered the US with the disease!!! Ebola is not AIDS

UN should declare US Ebola Threat. Independent ladies shld add me on 7f61a4f9.. *winks*

May God help us Ooº°°Âºoo

Na that hospital I born o cheiii..

For your exotic party wines at wholesale prices (red, white and rose) champagne, Brandy, Irish cream add 24E9FAD7

Cynthus said...

Hmmm bad! Bad!! Bad!!! US d p spread is getting outa hand... Do something.. Pray to God because he did it for Nigeria...

Ebola is a very hard disease to contract."?? Mr major please dont sound like government of federal republic of Nigeria.
Ebola is easy to contract, even easier than the flu because at least your monocytes and macrophages fight the flu considerably. But Ebola? Once it sees a permissive cell, its a done deal!
I pray God gives the country the wisdom to contain this virus before it gets worse.

Really? Oga Mayor, hard to contract?? Thank God for ur understanding of Ebola.

make dey com learn work from Nigeria, on how we take control our own.

I'm so happy!!!!!!!! Ebola has made it's way back to its makers!! Good for them!!!! Sadly he is white so he will be fine. But still, at least he will feel the stigma and discrimination he brought on Africans.

Sad that some of you celebrate this. Your lives must suck really badly if this is a joyful announcement to you. This man was saving lives in Africa. Have you ever flown across the world to volunteer to help people with a contagious deadly disease? What have you done with yourself besides spew vomit on Linda Ikeji's blog? He's a hero, who did what you hate filled losers never would.

GOOD. I hope he survives but the more the West deals with Ebola personally the quicker it will end.

Kimmy*****

I can't believe some comments..the same Americans who volunteer their lives and their money to save people...omo na wa for Una ooo...how many of Una fit go infected countries go work for free..na siddon make money fall from sky Nigerians sabi

Hmmm....Hopelessness is when Americans starts to drink and bath with salty water to be protected like Nigerians!

Mekus

Amablaze said...

Hmmmm mr mayor it is hard to contract..buh if it's Africa it will b vry easy bah.bias murda f**kers.

Rubylicious said...

He is healed in Jesus name, Amen!

Uche Emma said...

May God heal you.
I know you will recover

Angel Judith said...

Mayor na only u waka come o @ ebola is a very hard disease to contact. May God erase ebola from the world. Amen.

Do u realize that he was just in African helping Ebola pt??.
U people comment without thinking.

He was helping u morons treat Ebola. He didn't contract it in America!!