The epic Oscar selfie that broke Twitter record, retweeted 2.2m times | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 3 March 2014

The epic Oscar selfie that broke Twitter record, retweeted 2.2m times

Oscar host Ellen DeGeneres took a moment out from hosting the show to take a selfie with some of Hollywood's biggest stars, including Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, Julia Roberts, Meryl Streep, Jennifer Lawrence, Lupita Nyong'o, Channing Tatum and Kevin Spacey in a photo taken by Bradley Cooper. 

When Ellen posted it on her twitter page, it broke twitter record for most retweets. The pic got over 2.2million retweets beating the 778,000 most retweets previously held by President Barack Obama. The tweet also 'broke Twitter' as the site crashed for a few minutes because of the traffic from the pic described as the 'best photo ever!' See more photos after the cut...

107 comments:

Loool its really cute

WOw! Congratulobia

Funny,they al having fun.. Sweeeeeeet

Nice one #bright bravo#

Chikkie said...

I don't wanna read meaning into Lupita's position I'm that photo

Woaw......first time in history.....they all look happy.....nice photo

~Beautiful Lopez~

Gaia said...

Awesome; I love seeing stars behaving like normal people :) And Ellen is golden; love her comedy and stuff :D

Ellen is da bomb in anyfin she does.
Hope lupita ddnt enter d pics sha o

Wow.... Look at the number of retweet and favourite.... Omo, this is record.....

lil missy said...

LWKMD!!!!!!.....i knew sumtin bout Lupita's pose was goin to cme up.Abeg y'all shld giv her a break.lol.Linda u almost Neva post my comments, dnt lemme vex 4 u o.

Beautifull people, but were our londoner mr chiwetel... Ever since that malam reject naija his four fathers for enugu come start dey show am pepe.. U no go win any award again..... Lupita won a supporting actress what stop him frm winning the lead actor am guessing bcos he just reject naija...

Better don't. Its just a photo, she been at d back doesn't mean anything. Can't u see her broda at d front?? U just wan raise unnecessary dust, idiotic chikyansh

Lol,so cute,lutipa I wanna be like you wen I grow up!

She did my dear, check her out at d back. U can go shoot urself now, moron

Thk goodness my Lupi showed

Na wao oh! Na so person take they make am oh! Congrats to the Nyongo family

I died when i saw this

Jobless idiot.Get a life,boy.U disgust me with ur stupid comments with ur Sun-Dried brain.

Endtime pic

IBK said...

Ellen!!!she might be hosting again soon

Sexy pple alive.....I jst luv Ellen

www.crazywrita.blogspot.com said...

CUTE

www.crazywrita.blogspot.com said...

CUTE

chibuike ibe said...

No Matter where you are from your Dreams are Valid...Thank you Lupita Nyong'o for the Oscar Awards on ur 1st feature film...Ellen is Golden...Indeed record breaker

Instead of making meaningful contributions and raking in the millions in the process, in Nigeria she would have been lynched or probably behind bars serving a 14yr jail sentence imposed by an adulterous, corrupt judge and the self righteous populace would have cheered on , happy another lesbian is behind bars

DON TEE

bradly and jolie made it awesome

Lamo!!! People...cant people just stop reading meanings and start understanding them???????

That's gOod

You animals said gay people are evil,and possessed by demons,Look at ellen a lesbian,she is hosting the oscars and making people happy around the world, so what are you foolish animals saying.mumus

OMG!WOMAN said...

Wow! I saw it on E! Real epic.

proper bini girl said...

Lupiter Abi Jupiter, see how she be like darkness for the picture. Abeg na u find trouble for urself ooo. She really looks like the white men's slave. Lolll. She dey struggle for d pics. Oyibo people no give am chance. Slave girl indeed.

great! record breaker. hard work pays

White folks always appreciate themselves

Lol!!! having such amazing pple in a picture!!its sure gona break any record !

@izzSinzu said...

Lupita, kpele.

U see their life no faking, no body was like don't mess up my suit, don't mess up my expensive gown. Dats how real celeb shud live. Am loving dis pics...

I'm sure some naija morons will now believe that gay ppl are great ppl. Incase you dint know, Ellen is one!

Didn't u see d lupita male version in front...

Love

Damie said...

Mehn! Nice Selfie! If I were Lupita's brother, I'll definitely cherish the picture for life! He's sooo lucky to be in that selfie! Wow! Love them all!

Gbam dats it, it give d ordinary man hope

Luvly people

Linda's record is coming too...

@BOBO_EDO said...

Selfies are d best *shines teeth*

@Bobo_Edo

Olori Tolu Alabi said...

Ellen. You tell me what fun is .I respect you.

suzydiva said...

Cos it looks natural n fun not some tensed professional pics...

dera said...

If na naija now all of dem go dey form. Ike rita domnic,genevieve etc

love the pic nd every1 in it... good to see them normal... nice 1

fly guy said...

beautiful jennifer lawrence

And u shouldn't. Watched it live and no one put Lupita there she did. Even her brother that came as her date is in front very close to Ellen.

The part I love most was when Ellen ordered Pizza and the pizza delivery guy came and she shared it amongst the celebs. After that, she took Pharrel's hat and started collection money with it to pay for the pizza. It was damn so hilarious. That lady is so good at what she does.

Where's Channing Tatum? #PricelessPictureMoment..

Nice One

katrina said...

Wow nice one,love me some bradley cooper

katrina said...

Wow nice one love me some bradley cooper

katrina said...

Wow nice one,love me some bradley cooper

If I were 2 be in de. Could have broken more records dan dis lol. Cute. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Happy moments, congratulations. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

She's a lesbian,and you beast open your unless mouths to say gay peeps are demonic and are going to hell,see how everyone is happy in that pic and ist because of ellen and her funny jokes and persona

I know u want to say bc she is black dey didn't show her well in d picture dats a lie bc he brother is black and not even a star and he is front and center in all the pictures. So stop reading ur meaning

C_izzle said...

Exquisite!!! :)

Waow dys pix look so alive...

Diary of Dido said...

Lol. You're really funny.
Channing Tatum also had a rather undesirable position.
I love how excited they seem- like giddy school children.

Igor said...

They all look happy.

It worth it anyway
nollywood news and gossip

And Lupita's brother, black guy beside Cooper, became an instant star the world over. Lucky him. Talk about being at the right place at the right time.

u beta not...cos u ll also av to read meaning into angelina jolie's position in the photo...*wink

Call it star power, you know how many oscar winners are in that one picture? Their net earnings could buy a country.

Can't wait to watch the show today...

Miss X said...

Nice shot. I love such selfies just looks like a good time.

Maybe i should photoshop myself in...heheeeheeeee

Bigtymerbitz said...

Lovely pix

Lyndy said...

Lol...Chikkie that's funny. Nice pic

dazzy said...

I lovr it!

Janelicious said...

MMMMMMMMM

Funny n cute

FDJ

Note 3 is d shit fone of life iPhone cnt take dt much ppl in one pic lol

Bullshit news

proper bini girl said...

Linda post my comments naw. I noticed u don't want to post bad comments about lupita.

Why wuld u post bad comments abt Lupita? I'm sure u're a burnt bleached gal with a very no self esteem! Gerrout frm here!!!

Selfie. Word of the year! It's really doing the rounds around the world.

Chikkie said...

Babe check am na, #nobemegotalkam

Prom pic! The stars are ordinary after all.

Chikkie said...

Tnksy'all, Diary of Dido#Giddy pikin #I'mfeelingyou #newlIbcrush

this is lovely and real.no fakery, no duck lips just a bunch of happy people.
Ella

Mehn I so love d whites.....if na genevieve n co dem go dey form. N btw n lesbian wey host am if na naija nw dem go put am for prison....dis is a woman dat inspires pple all ova d world. I wonda wen naija go mature.

Mz Cee said...

Lolz...So cool

You are older than lupitav so shut your gutter

Nice.

@proper bini girl, you are so sad. Learn to rejoice with those who rejoice. FYI, no one asked Lupita to stand where she did in the picture. And in case you do not know, the young black man in front is her brother; she obviously had no problem with her brother being in the front while she stayed at the back. Finally, if you knew anything about world history then you would know that slavery has been experienced by different races, including the whites, at different points in history so your statement about Lupita and slavery is very distasteful and ignorant.

Your face alone shows end time already.... Kolo like you.

But Dencia doznt know who Lupita is? I'm still so disgusted @ the display of ignorance...

She inspires only you not me,,, she was disgusting,,,,and fake

AnnMarie said...

happy looking people

Its realy colourful...wish I was dia

Realy luvly

Bini girl,you the bleached up mugu,what's your position in life? Gulping white cum on your back? Or opening yourself up for dogs to ravish in italy.......
Abeg shut up,ure referring to an oscar winner.something no one in your generation will ever see.

Hosla said...

Wen Real recognise Real,it breaks record.. Jux wanna c maself on dat selfie

Aby said...

yea, this is what am saying mehn...

Be yourself, have fun and enjoy life unlike some people that will be forming

I, d queen of selfies, give it a thumbs up

Hot Cool Gist said...

Exclusive! And highly extra-nice

Badoo, you are foolish. How do you know her age? And what she said is just a regular saying.

Made up shit...

www.promonigeria.com said...

They look beautiful

www.promonigeria.com said...

Beautiful pix. They all look harmless and wonderful

best opinion said...

LUPITA NEEDS to TONE, VERY SMALL SHA.B4 UNA CHEW ME U KNOW U WERE THINKING IT TOO.IM JST BRAVE eNOUGH TO SAY IT

proper bini girl said...

@ best opinion I think u r one of the realest people on this blog. Fake ass Nigerians always following the crowd. @anon 11:23am shut ur mouth up what is very no self esteem. Anuofia. And to others rejoicing with lupita for una mind una knw how far. I no need talk the rest. Why lupita find dencia trouble in the first place. Trouble sleep yanga go wake am. Always learn to mind ur biz nd stop dragging others names in d mud lusipher. Hehehehe.

AaronKore said...

But for the love I have for badoo of Toronto I would have given him an acrobatic,sumasaulting,jumping knock on the head.Guy ur comments are very controversial which I don't have a problem with.but dude u gotta be consisent."A noble Badoo of Toronto fan"

mehn people are funny. You are saying Lupita struggled to be in the photo but can't u see her brother right at the front? abeg nice one Lupita...