Injustice at the hand of the Nigerian Police - LIB reader tells his story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 2 March 2014

Injustice at the hand of the Nigerian Police - LIB reader tells his story

A LIB reader says he and five of his friends were wrongfully detained by the Nigerian Police Force simply for discussing and analysing Nigeria's political situation at their neighbourhood bar. Sounds strange to me but read his story below and share your opinion in the comment section...
It was around 4pm on Friday afternoon. A group of us – six young graduates, some of whom have been unemployed for years thanks to a broken system – sat nursing our choice of beverages at our neighbourhood bar Onishaga International Hotel in Akesan, as we fervently debated our latest political quandary: the celebration of Nigeria’s centenary in the face of terrorist attacks in Northern Nigeria. As was our tradition, we argued the merits and pitfalls of our Government until we reached a consensus.
On this particular afternoon, unbeknownst to us, a group of undercover policemen had infiltrated the hotel bar. They listened attentively to our heated debate, then, without warning or reason, arrested us at gunpoint. We were led, guns to our heads, our hands raised like wanted criminals, subjected to humiliation and ridicule in front of our peers into the unmarked police vehicle. We were powerless against these police officers. Our protests fell on deaf ears. We had no choice but to fall in line.
They drove us to the Igando Police Station headed by CSP Ben Osuji, where we were detained. Some of us were physically assaulted under the watch of Inspector Bola, who claimed to be an SIB (State Intelligence Bureau) with a female police officer repeatedly assaulting one of us with her shoe.

We were released eight hours later. No explanation was given for our arrest or release. We were simply free to go. But not before two of out of the six of us were informed that our houses would be searched. Of course, no evidence of whatever it was the police officers were searching for was found in our respective houses.

In a purported democracy such as Nigeria how is it that law-abiding citizens arebeing arrested for simply speaking our minds? The emotional turmoil inflicted upon us and our families as a result of this unlawful act cannot be quantified. It is an injustice of the highest order, a violation of our human right.

We demand no compensation other than a written formal apology either from the DPO or on his behalf, and an assurance that such wrongful detention of innocent citizens will not repeat itself.

Sincerely,
OlutolaBadejo, jnr; FeyisayoOgun; TaiwoAlebieoshu;OlaunlePopoola; AkinolaFawibe (Osha); Anthony Agbede.
Forwarding address: junior.badejo101@yahoo.com

118 comments:

Police nd deir stupidity

jerome said...

Such is life,bt if una dey wait for apology una go old..

Sorry jare.....that is only what they know most....they never do their work in their life....instead of arresting people causing problem or trouble in the society....they wont do that....na innocent victims they will be torturing for nothing....God will judge them

Pastor Caught in Adultery with his Friend’s Wife
Here

See what this Naughty Tailor from Angola is trying to do to a Woman
Here

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.
Here

See what this Dog is trying to do to a drunk girl on the floor
Here

Nigerian police is famous for injustice, for unlawfully detaining citizens, for all kinds of wrong doing

Mba9 said...

Huh!

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Those police men are very stupid

With all the bombings going on you decided to make yourselves suspects by discussing sensitive issues in a bar at that time of the dead. Bros they swear for una?

The last time I checked, democracy involves the freedom of expression expecially when it has to do wt political instability.
Did I hear you demand for an apology.A fine shd be paid for damages nd mental instability it has caused you guys.
Btw who ever wrote this must be a poet
Good write up.

MARKET MONITOR said...

The emotional turmoil inflicted upon us and our families as a result of this unlawful act cannot be quantified.
what the??see photos from the annual Naked festival In japan

na so all these police dey do...

Adeiza said...

Since it wasn't a usual police raid and was by the intelligence unit, I can't comment until I hear both sides of the story. I wish you luck guys

Anything in Naija

Lol! This is Nigeria where anyting goes. People have been arrested by de content of their fone sms 4 no reason. Mind u nobody is rendering any apology watsoeva. If u keep waiting 4 dat u will simply grow gray hair. Sorry 4 wat happened 2 u guys but just get over it. Welcome 2 9ja where de citizens no get mouth. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Nnodim said...

Those guys should quickly contact a human rights lawyer who should take up their matter. It is a typical case of violation of their rights to liberty through illegal arrests and detention. The Nigeria Police is very fond of this. The sooner the citizens of this country take their fundamental rights seriously, the safer for all of us in a country that is quickly turning into a police state.

Miss Obie said...

2015 things! I'm

Dear LIB reader,am not tryna discredit your story but I believe there is no smoke without a fire.You guys must have said or done something that constitute a crime in Nigeria.Except if the guys that arrested you were fake or your enemies!

Bestman said...

hmmmmmmmm Nigeria police!

we need serious prayers cos nigeria is nowhere. I am ashamed of being a nigerian. Killings, corruption n many evils is now d oda of d day. God help us plssssssssss. NAFISAH

No hope 4 9ja said...

Nija police! #OloriburukuPeople

Maybe the police were trained in London or SA cos Nigerian officials can do no wrong. #justsaying

Police force in nigeria is wah!!!things get worse day by day

Hmmmm very pathetic. Learn to bridle ur tongue. Tnk God we are in 'democrazy' just imagine it was during Abcha's...

Nigeria police force sucks! just imagine....

I encourage you to go a step further and engage the services of a lawyer to ensure justice is served. Such action will eradicate the perpetuation of this kind of injustice by the NPF. We must all recognize our responsibility to actively engage and challenge Nigerian authorities through institutional channels.

Nigeria Police... I hail una...

cynthia said...

Good construction of words..... Sorry 4 ur plight

That's naija for you! I'm sure they will claim that they're acting from a tip-off that some criminals are using the bar as their hide-out. After taking all from us, now they wanna take our voice too - by His grace, the people shall one day overcome!

Ok! Heard u! What do u want us to do here?

naija police…

second to comment!

do not expect any apology, be it formal or informal 4rm dis men in black..... i had similar xperience too

Stupid drunk with him ugly face..guys you need to check out the guy on facebook hahahahahahaha

Amarachukwu said...

Sorry dear but that's Nigeria police for u.

I know dat feyisayo ogun guy o.mehn nigerian police r just wicked...is dere no freedom of speech in dis country

i hate police with passion trust me #THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

In nigeria dia z freedom of speech buh freedom after speech na hummmm anoda wahala sorry bro dat is niga for u
Love frm mary

All dis useless police in Nigeria,God help us.......funny story tho!!!!!sowie bro

Zoë said...

When u tell them stop insulting GEJ, they won't listen...... El rufai ur boss stopped and since talks intellectually. learn how to debate, analyse, assume intelligently without insulting our dear President.

Carefulness is our second name now in this country...Nigerian police will never change.

It's a pity. That is the kind of thing you encounter in the hands of Nigerian Police. Police is your friend. Abii no be so?

kclub said...

My dear that's why ALL doz police officers never ended well. Curses upon curses. And God will surely make the spirit of d inocentz citizenz huntz dem 4eva

Please tread carefully. Nigeria is not safe. If prominent people can be slaughtered and till date nothing has happened then there is no hope for the common man. Be vigilant when you are out. Things will only get worse with the current government that is giving out awards while we are trailing behind countries like ghana. We are the only "developing" african country without constant electricity yet we have oil that others dont have. Its really pathetic

winniekoko said...

What are the fundamental right of a citizen... 1, freedom of speech. This is Nigeria u have to be careful where u go and say. My fellow liber, asking for letter of apology means u are standing on a long thing, u have to wait for decades to get that.lol

wonder s shall Neva end. Na wa for naija.

What were you discussing in particular? Doesn't common sense tells you to be cautious of what you say in public especially in presence of the Police?

diamondblinqZ said...

Na wa o

U story is not complete. What did u say in ur conversation and what were u planning to do, if anything? U said it was a bar. So u guys were drinking and must have said some things that alerted the officers. If u were of northern origin, it may have been worse for u, because this is how boko is recruited.

I had a friend who once said in public, that he wanted to blow himself up out of frustration. Had to placate him and console him. Imagine if there were cops there. Anywhere in the world, they'd pick hm up grounds on reasonable suspicion.Were u people out of control? Did u fight Insult people around? Tell the whole story.

Find a Lawyer and sue immediately. This govt habitually intimidates any political opposition and I see comments on here supporting it. Now that it is happening to ordinary civilians, maybe we'll get the message.

Dj Gentle said...

And that's a hell of another jungle justice you gat there. God help us all

"Unbeknowst" ko "Beknowst" ni,...is this one writing comprehensive passage or a real tale of his experience? Coz I don't just get d grammar in btw d lines! So u can speak grammar like dis n u waste ur time in d bar instead of getting sumtin like an handwork to do! What ever happened 2 entrepreneurship? What happened 2 secondary schools? U could pass 4 an English teacher u know....D problem with these graduates, they neva wanna settle 4 less! *Phewwwww* That's y I sufree sufree go get myself enrolled in a makeup school after completely a program in catering! No time 2 wait 4 d fuckin government! And Yes! Ama graduate, Ama Med. Lab Scientist, I'm unemployed but I refuse 2 be tagged like 1! Ama Lady! Ama entrepreneur! And fuck d government! I run my own government coz I choose not only to be outstanding but to standout!

#Praiz

Kai dis is bad, which way naija?, dis is enuf to turn one into a harden criminal. Mtcheew

This story is just so strange, our police are jobless, but I have never known them to release anybody without extorting them! It's just too strange, even for the Nigerian police.

sholly mama said...

All we nid do is prayers !!! All dis bad act can't stop wiff out prayers ( God help nigeria)

The Nigerian police arrested someone I know for 'thinking nonsense in mind', I wonder how they knew what he was thinking!

Lyndy said...

Lmao...this is so funny esp d shoe assault. I would av said sorry bt u didn't state d consensus u guys reached. Was it to start stealing since there re no jobs?

duda said...

But seriously what is dis country turning to?

I'm sorry for laughing but I just imagine the six of u wit ur hands above ur head and looking confused n scared. Back to reality, written apology ok but compensation even better coz u may need a lawyer, trust me good ones don't come cheap so a little something to foot that bill is not a bad idea. Sweet anonymous.

Candy said...

Na wa oooooooo. I don tire 4 9ja police.

This is unfair.Tank God u re bin release peacefully it dosnt tak dem anytin to place a wrong allegation on U .

FDJ

Foolish idiots

Foolish. Idiot

Ok, is dis news?? Abi na today u come 9ja?

NK said...

My dear thnk ur God that u guys were nt killed, many ve died carelessly in cases like dis. God will help us

Mate fuck u, boko haram Nigeria police assault u. Collect the gun n shoot the bastard

Sorry to say this but you guys are jobless! So the reason for this letter is for them to tender an apology. Lmao, I pity una!

I'm proud to see yong Nigerians demanding for their rights... They can't continue to treat us like animals in our own land and soil. If they won't give us the respect we deserve as citizens, I say we take it.... God bless the youths of our dear country!!!! My name is Lucky

You can be suspects for taking weed and all...there r many things mahn

Hmmm, 9ja police I hail o. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Janelicious said...

Stupid police men.
Thank God their gun was not mistakenly fired. Forget about the apology because it will not come.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Dis is what I hv been talking about GEJ, Government is intimidation corruption insecurity Government I'm tired of PDP and GEJ, Government, let us say d truth what re we celebrating centenary for? Easy for oppression corruption insecurity assassination leaders Nigeria hv produce? dis is just d sign com 2015 let us wake-up all youth of Nigeria we cannot continue dis way, do u no dat is GEJ dat give the police men order 2 intimidate u guys?, I condemn d art of all those police men dat detain u guys, dis is injustice to we youth of Nigeria we cannot continue dis way, we no what to do com 2015 we shah see.

You must be lucky that they did not frame a charge against you. This is nigerian police for you. They still say that the police is your friend

Leecia said...

In Nigeria anything is possible,tank God u guys were released,may be dere was unholy languages u used dat triggered dem 2 do wat de did my opinion sha.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Dis is what I hv been talking about GEJ, Government is intimidation corruption insecurity Government I'm tired of PDP and GEJ, Government, let us say d truth what re we celebrating centenary for? Easy for oppression corruption insecurity assassination leaders Nigeria hv produce? dis is just d sign com 2015 let us wake-up all youth of Nigeria we cannot continue dis way, do u no dat is GEJ dat give the police men order 2 intimidate u guys?, I condemn d art of all those police men dat detain u guys, dis is injustice to we youth of Nigeria we cannot continue dis way, we no what to do com 2015 we shah see.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Oloopa! I begi sir
Sallysmart

Angelo Bazzini said...

Nigeria is bloody police state. I realized it when i walked in a meeting with a Governor only for him to read several of my FB posts. Interesting if you ask me

Nigerian Police, a totally useless buncha unskilled idiots, instead of them to apply their undercover skills to apprehending those behind the wanton killing of innocent citizens they r doing undercover work to arrest innocent youths engaging in a harmless discussion in a bar, Gawd I can't stop laffin in Ekiti dialect, for their incompetent minds dem don do undercover work o, Well personally by default, Nigerian police never comes to my mind wn the word "security" pops up I will think of Nightguards(Olode) first.

That's why they die like rats...this country self...

Police a treat to d citizens in naija..God help.

I think u guys should sue.then social media will hype. You deserve more than a written apology if u ask me. Go to office of the public defender along fade before you get to stadium. You will get legal services for free there

urrrggghhh .....na today...our police force re all illitrates....i think u guys shud get a good lawyer to fight this...#dtzall

This our nigeria police will neva kill us ohhh...it is only in nigeria shit happensnif I had my way I would sue the police for breach of fundamental human right....

Jade said...

Its just so sad. They deserve compensation. Dealing with unemployment is not a joke and now assault in the hands of law enforcement officials charged with the duty of safeguarding the same citizens that have been maltreated.Shame!!!! Shame!!!! Stop arresting and assaulting innocent citizens while criminals run free! Don't let God arise and strike you all with tragedies!

Naija shaaaa

dhobiz said...

That's what happens when you have nothing but conscienceless people at the helm of affairs,hope you get your apology though

Pls am hungry, re u crious u want to put an end to d way of life of sm group of uniform men, hapi trying

Remeba freedom of speech is guarrantee,but freedom after speech is nt guarranteed!we all learn everydaydt we shuld be conscious of our speech especially in public places!sorry abt d harrassment dts 9ja for us,as for d police na over sabi dey wory dem#busydoingnothing

I'm sorry but this is Naija, no one is going to issue any apology.

Thelma said...

right to speech is one of the fundamental human rights..... and it is granted, But freedom after speech, you are on your own!....

Na wa oooO,una don tlk una mind enta wahala..9ja police I hail una ....

mz vee said...

Naija police sha, #smh#

Bunch of unfocused and uneducated beings. Later some one will tell me they are well trained. How? With such attitude? Why will a group of young men nursing their sorrows in a bar be taken to the cell in a democratic nation? Were they causing havoc? This Nigerian police ehhh! God is watch ing you people on 3D. Linda please post my comment.

Una go wait 4 that apology. Are u sure u were discussing Nigeria politices or America tax return. Yahoo boyz discussin poilitics if I hear.

What nonsense??? Is that the new style? So one is not free to air his/her view again in public? Is this not a democratic govt dat we r practising? Gone are the days of abacha's dictatorship.. We nid som fresh air.. I hope d police wil hear this and apologize asap. Or else I support they charge this to court.. What sort of dehumanization is this?? FREEDOM!!! LIBERTY!!! Say no to NEOCOLONIZATION...

Nigeria is a mess. It's high time we start helping ourselves.

You guys ve a good case. Apology 4rm DPO or none, isn't d issue. We ve bn cowed over d yrs, probably as a result of long Military dictatorship. Sue the IGP, u ve names of officers invovled & d station u were taken to , so, u cldnt be cooking up ds story. Get a piece of ds National Cake & teach those ass holes some good lessons.

Adeiza said...

my point exactly.

Seriously seconded

It just an everyday show of shame from Nigeria police police though the are worst.To me Nigeria is not save to live with our police force stupid action...

Dont mind them, if them see boko, they will run. Foolish force

You are un employed and you have a case that can give yo 5million naira each and you don't want a lawyer, how now will you get to leave your compensation money that would have helped you out of unemployment and start a small business for you so that you can also employ people yourselfs. In shot for free legal services, (email Kokokingsley@yahoo.com ) so that you will take it up with the police.

Make una no vex such is life ,what do u expect frm sum 1 dats wears black 24 7 so na dere way be dat

joachim said...

Its well. They are not the first and dey won't be the last except we stand up 4 our right and fight back*through the MEDIA* av dier name published, evry1 of them and 4 justice.

Miss X said...

They should get an apology and compensation.

Then those "humans" that refer to themselves as "law keepers" be fired and face a court.

skilful_ said...

THIS STORY IS VERY TRUE. ONE OF THE VICTIMS WAS MY COURSEMATE IN UNILAG. AND I STAY IN THE AREA TOO. THERE IS A LOT OF POLICE BRUTALITY IN THAT AREA. SEVERAL OCCASIONS, I HAVE BEEN PICKED UP FOR NO REASON COS I DECIDED TO TAKE A STROLL IN THE AREA. THESE POLICEMEN NEED TO BE CAUTIONED.

Bailey said...

And your write up is immaculate.

All this illiterate Nigerian police should go back to school, they are too rude and aggressive.

This is a classic reason why Nigeria is "nigeria"...imagine @ jerome said such is life to this kinda thing.. Nobody still said nothing about where this happen we want to know pls..

@Bonita Islam do you live in Nigeria? I pray you never fall into the hands of police. Those people are animals... they act, look and reason like animals not disrespect just the truth....

Learn to use ur time well. Do better thing money go come na tru word I dey tell u so. Graduates in a beer parlour drunken and discussing rubbish what a shame. Who knows how nuisance you people were bf the police made their arrest. We know that our police get their own coma but be wise in whatever u are doing. A word is enough for the wise oh mr graduates

MONEY CITIE said...

well....i wont want to judge in this kinda situation. who knows what dos guys ve said wen dy wer arguein... anytyn cld ve bn said during deir argmnt....anywy dat doesnt mak dos Pz ryt eida.... may God help diz country....

olu said...

Usually I view people who insult others on here with some measure of contempt, but for you young lady, I'll make an exception... You have to be the most ignorant educated (quality highly doubtful) person I've read from in a while. It's very hard to follow your train of thought, and I'm pretty sure you won't end up with a job that requires too much thinking (God forbid managerial requirements)... When you do get a job that is. What has their location or employment status to do with the fact that their fundamental rights were infringed?
And I also noted that you managed to make the whole thing about you. There's a word for people that do that you know... Asshole

Chop Chop said...

This is normal in every nation. but shouldn't be subjected to torture of any form.

You lot can never be satisfied. If the police didn't do anything, you will call them useless. Now they did something you still call them useless. If they had reasonable suspicion about those guys, then yes. In d interest of protecting lives and property, they have d right to arrest them. Grown men sitting in a bar discussing politics. Mind you, d writer hasn't even mentioned whatever it was that they discussed. Drinking in a bar, you can imagine them all talking over each other cos sincerely, in arguments, no one waits for d other to finish. I bet they can't even recount all that was said. If in their speeches, they seemed to incite violence, terrorism, danger of any kind, then I'm gonna say, please arrest them again. Question them. How r we gonna be protected if the police aint vigilant. Go to d American airport or air plane; and other countries' ones too. Mention "bomb" jokingly and see if you if you will have mouth to talk. Them fit no find your bones.
If however these people mentioned nothing threatening or endangering or causing fear, suspicion etc, then by all means sue them

Dear Linda, I tried to post this a dozen times. If it posted more than once, kindly delete d rest. Thank you.

AnnMarie said...

they will never change

It happened to me on saturday 1st March. I was brutally beaten by more than 12 policemen. I was bleeding from my eyes, nose and mouth. My right eye is still red.
There is no hope for the common man in Nigeria. Only God can save us.