His lawyer Sasinan Thamnithinan told AFP that his sentence was 60 years - a decade for each six Facebook posts he made but this was halved as he had pleaded guilty.
"It's broken the record," she said about the severe jail term. She further added that because Pongsak was arrested while Thailand was still under martial law there was no right to appeal the sentence passed by the military court.
Under Section 112 of the Criminal Code, anyone convicted of insulting the king, queen, heir or regent faces up to 15 years in prison on each count.
(Photo of Thailand's King Bhumibol Adulyadej and Queen Sirikit)
42 comments:
This is uncalled foir. . . . . .
Click Here to see Pastor caught with another member’s wife in the hotel
Click Here How Some Rich Men Take Advantage of Poor Secondary School Girls
Click Here Things some Doctors do with Nurses inside their office.
Click Here Mother Exposed her Own Daughter for allegedly Cheating with her Father
the King is very wicked
Nobi small thing......
Hmmm! Ok
Na wa o!
Thank God am from naija
Can we read the insults? If men were God...tufia!
Like seriously!!! The guy has also passed his boundary but justice should be tempered with mercy
Where's freedom of expression?
Ehn! Dis one na "one chance" motor o! No freedom of speech for there??? Linda take note!
30yrs for just insulting monarchy? What kinda world are we living in!!
Madness,no freedom of speech
What?!?! 30yrs? For fb posts? Nawah!
I hope we can say what we want here. Lol
...Mama J...
Hmmmmm this is serious.
WTF? That's just ridiculous.
We in Nigeria ought to be thankful we can post and say anything about the government and go scotfree because we are under a Democratic umbrella. Some people are not that fortunate. They have even given PMB a new nick name "BuuBuu". SMH....
If this were to happen in Nigerian, 90% of our youths will definately go to jail. But I think the purnishment is too severe though. Law is law anyway.
Na wa ooooo
We in Nigeria ought to be thankful we can post and say anything about the government and go scotfree because we are under a Democratic umbrella. Some people are not that fortunate so sad.
Punishment well deserved!
Thanks to GEJ
Its not the king, its the law, the young man new this yet he was still being stupid, am sure he can handle his consequences well......Henry Eze
90%...If am in such country i for they serve life sentence by now......Just imagined how many it would be if the USA is used a case study Henry Eze
this should be omojuwas fate if not for saner times and benevolence
I thank God for life too, cos .....
Ahba just like that...
We dey flex for Nigeria oh! We dey yah anybody
No be small thing oooo, for Naija we fit carry d insult reach d highest authority self, insulting d president is our daily meal, fit tell am any word 4 fb, twitter even send am straight 2 his mail, Hehehehe and dats democracy 4 u, unlike some countries dat is been owned by some certain group of person or persons where u der not speak ur mind. Seriously 30 yrs is no more punishment but wickedness of its peak.
crazy people
Do you have a problem understanding English? Didn't you read the part where Linda wrote, the country is under military Rule? Did she say it was a monarchical rule?
Good 4 him
Nonsense law, thank God am a najia
For what na
no matter the title you give yourself, every human must go to the toilet and what comes out stinks whether rich or poor.
Serious Gbege
Haba! This is uncalled for....
Err it's not the world. It's in Thailand