PTDF tells FG- Force Oil companies to employ Nigerians | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 3 August 2015

PTDF tells FG- Force Oil companies to employ Nigerians

The Petroleum Technology Development Fund, PTDF, has called on the Federal Government to make both local and International Oil Companies (IOC) operating in the country to employ more Nigerian oil and gas professionals.

Speaking at the Close Out seminar in Abuja, Executive Secretary of the Fund, Mr. Femi Ajayi, lamented the fact that it's not fair for Nigerian professionals to burn the candle, work hard and graduate with flying colours then end up unemployed.

According to him, the Federal Government needs to put in place, measures that will ensure that both local and international oil companies employ indigenous professionals, especially scholars of the PTDF scholarship scheme.

He said,
“The issue is not just competence and capability, there is also the need for political will among the IOCs and the government. We cannot rely on the goodwill of the IOCs when it comes to the issue of employing of our people; they have to be compelled to do it.”
He emphasized the need for all stakeholders in the petroleum industry to contribute their quota towards ensuring that indigenous professionals are gainfully engaged and also that the funds and efforts expended in training these professionals are not futile.
“When we train all these people, give them the research competence and the experience that they have, there is the issue of getting them gainfully engaged locally.
‘There are certain roles that government should play and the role that the private sector needs to play; everyone needs to play their individual roles, because at the end of the day, if we put so much money to train these people, yet it does not lead to domestication of some of these things that we want domesticated, it means we are just spending money, we are not getting the results,” he noted.
Ajayi, however, commended the federal Government for setting up the Nigerian Content Development Management Board, NCDMB, urging the government to empower the agencies and others to deliver on the mandate.
He further stated:
“There is no running away from funding, training, research and development. It is not by accident that the most technological advanced countries in the world, they have the best communication systems, they have the most reliable power systems, they have the most efficient transport systems, and it is not by accident. So if you want any of these things, you must fund training, you must fund research and development.”

Vanguard

38 comments:

Brilliant idea...but I dont think this current federal administration is capable of making such happen.

emmysags said...

Mehn dis a good initiative.not by graduate seeking for job and they will say 10 yrs working experience bt employ foreigners with low IQ on d job

This is a welcomed idea

Yep its a welcomed development, with good training and investment in research, Nigerians can even do better than the expatriates.

Hmm

Na now dry brake. for una....Useless PTDF

So that they will use corruption to spoil it. ? Ko Jo >:(

That should be the case

Amy said...

At least 80% of their workforce should be citizens. We have experienced young people whose potentials are yet to be uncovered, but we don't make use of it.

Tochi Paul said...

God will surely bless Mr Ajayi abundantly.
The employment should also extend to construction companies.
Time without frequency we see white men who our youths are better off in academics and expertise working in our oil companies.
I wanna ask; is it their skin that get them the job or their certificate and excellence?
God bless you Mr Secretary.
FG ngwanu, zopunu ya bu ije,
Employ our youths oooo
#Dankwata

yea nice one!

well,PTDF is right. all this oil and gas especially the multinationals only employ people from their country,while they make so much money from Nigeria. These people as not even as experienced or have most certification as Nigerians counterparts. The problem is ,these companies don't believe in the capability of Nigerian Graduates. FG should look into this matter Nigerian Graduate suffer alot in the name of Job hunting.

seyi crown said...

Yeah, love that, if they can employ Nigerian make they go bck to their country biko...we are intelligent not jst given the chance

Supported!

dessymal said...

Ok...I hope this scales thru

Dem go gree!!

Pls tell them ooo. I'm actually a PTDF Scholarship recipient, graduated in 2013 and till now, I've been unable to secure a job. The FG seriously needs to look into this issue.

Nice msg, the man is making sense here.

They already do idiot. Being statistics to back this claim. Statistics show most IOCs have majority local staff . What about the hefty corporate tax they pay to the Nigerian treasury. Let us talk about what we do with that money. Using this as a smoke screen.

Dats nice. cuddos to you

Exactly! Dat would go a long way for our economic. Linda take note!

i support the move by PTDF.becos am also a petroleum engineering student.

Hmmmmmm. Dis is nice development dat is if Nigerians r competent to occupy d position's.

True talk...

supported. Time to equip Nigerians with the necessary too than foreign expatriates.

sure...thats a good trend

It's a right thing to do

Yes, I support it.....

*Sipping Tea*
Na today!

Continue to sip d tea. Lol

I said the exact same thing a few weeks ago when I visited PH. In the hotel I stayed there were lots of foreigners staying there too and I could not help but notice that these were just manual labourers and I told a friend that Nigerians can do a lot of what these guys are doing and some policy was needed to force them to engage Nigerians.
I did a little research and found out that what Angola does is not to give them entry visas, that way the IOCs are forced to employ and train Angolans for those jobs.

Apple Berry said...

When more Nigerians are trained and employed at these companies, what is the need to hire foreign supervision? This is a brilliant idea. I hope the government takes this into cognisance

This is the most brilliant thing ever said. Encourage local content

well said