President Buhari initiates move for domestic weapons production | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 August 2015

President Buhari initiates move for domestic weapons production

President Buhari has initiated moves for the production of weapons in Nigeria. According to a statement signed and released by Senior Special Adviser to the president on media and publicity Garba Shehu today August 7th, President Buhari charged the Federal Ministry of Defence to produce a plan for the establishment of a modest Military Industrial Complex for the local production of weapons to meet some of the requirements of the country's armed forces. The statement after the cut..

President Muhammadu Buhari Friday in Abuja directed the Federal Ministry of Defence to produce a plan for the establishment of a modest Military Industrial Complex for the local production of weapons to meet some of the requirements of the country's armed forces. Speaking at the graduation ceremony of the National Defence College, President Buhari described as unacceptable, Nigeria's current over-dependence on other countries for critical military equipment and logistics. "We must evolve viable mechanisms for near-self-sufficiency in military equipment and logistics production complemented only by very advanced foreign technologies. "The Ministry of Defence is being tasked to draw up clear and measurable outlines for development of a modest Military Industrial Complex for Nigeria. "In this regard, it is to liaise with other strategic MDAs and industries to re-engineer the Defence Industries Corporation of Nigeria (DICON) to meet national military hardware and logistics requirements," the President said. President Buhari told the gathering that his administration had, since its assumption of office, reviewed the nature and character of Nigeria's security threats and challenges. "We recognized first and foremost, the external dimensions of these threats and the need for international cooperation and common security mechanisms to tackle them," the President said.
President Buhari added that in the light of this realization, his Administration was "convinced that the best approach was to work within the framework of the Lake Chad Basin Commission (LCBC) to mobilize a collective regional effort in the fight against terrorism and insurgency.
The President urged the graduates and officers and men of the Armed Forces to work harder to win the war against Boko Haram, terrorism and insurgency.
"We must apply a comprehensive strategy and coordinate all elements of national power against terrorism and insurgency; we must show result oriented leadership at all levels of military Command; we must set up an optimal organization to manage and sustain operational performance; and we must show confidence and winning mentality," President Buhari told them.
The President assured that the Federal Government under his leadership will strive to meet the operational, logistic, training and welfare requirements of the Armed Forces of Nigeria.
He also reaffirmed his commitment to ameliorating the hardships of people living in areas most affected by insurgency and terrorism.
"We have the will, resolve and conviction to apply a comprehensive strategy and coordinate all elements of national power against terrorism and insurgency," the President reassured Nigerians and the international community.
President Buhari said that the National Defence College had fulfilled the vision of its founding fathers, by becoming a strategic human capacity-building institution, making credible contributions to Nigeria and other friendly countries.
The President urged graduates of the College's Course 23 to resolve to make "a marked difference in your future deployments and contribute your quota to the evolution and implementation of national security, defence and military strategies."
"You should be the source that lights up the environment wherever you find yourselves," he told them.
Garba Shehu
SSA to the President
(Media and Publicity)
August 7, 2015

86 comments:

Sai Baba!!!

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Hope for naija....

If they ever do that,that means the shooter will be shot on him/herself cuz Nigerians always copy copy

Gr8 Idea Mr. President but must not lead to proliferation by some miscreants hungry for arms.

Joblesshousewife said...

sai baba... respect

Sai BaBa!!!! Ruler of Nigeria! I love this Mans mentality

I hope that this will not cause more havoc in the country.

You know I've always likened Nigeria to isreal.. this country is special chosen by god and any step we take, God would see us through. John 14:27

OLAMZ said...

nice... i like that the government is keeping us abreast of what they intend to do. They are trying to carry us along in their government.... Ride on Buhari! God give you the strength to execute you plans

I love that, I know and believe that Nigeria has the human capacity, knowledge and the maturity to be able to produce and use its own weapons rather than depending on the western world for arms and ammunition then they deny you assistance based on one stupid law they cook up to arm twist nations into doing what they dictate

This is my president, time for Nigeria to assume its place among the comity of nations and stop being at the mercy of others for what we can do.

Yes pls dats how Britain started n now dey r d most industrialised country in d world

anonymous said...

What a big shame to a country that prides itself Giant of Africa. Still, after 55 years of Independence, it is now our useless govt right from independence till date is waking up from its Slumber to start manufacturing their own weapons. South Africa are manufacturing theirs, India, China, Pakistan, Israel and other countries do the same. Why should it take 55 years and the Insurrection of Boko haram to think in that direction? Just hope this is not another avenue to divert scarce fund available to the country

Sure this is ok? It won't be abused? Considering BH too?

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

He spoke well and I pray all dat he said should b implemented and not thrown into d dustbin like we experience in other govt's.

Business Barbie said...

Hmmmmmnnnn..........don't go and let guns full Nija oh. Look at what is happening in America because they produce their own weapons. Hope you know what you are doing baba

Action man. I so much love him

Hmmm ok

Good moves

Good move

Slim Down Your Tummy, Discover shocking nigerian meals that help you trim fat. click here to find out

Okay, that would be nice.

Golda Awosika said...

Ok o, stl on d watch tho

Good one! We can't keep depending on America for every damn thing.Its high time we start thinking outside the box.

Good one

About time Nigeria.

We love our country like dis...look at USA bcos of large production of fire arms, ordinary civilians are now holding heavy fire arms,some are even using it to do evil,we had of kids using real guns as toy which leads to death...is a good Idea but hmmm d disadvantage is plenty, bcos if Nigeria starts producing guns,Nigerian Forces can't regulate/control d use of dis guns...which means cultist,Robbers will have easy asses to guns,our military men will b using 4 business dats 4 sure...he should rethink please,Bcos we ol know dat Nigeria can't make high tech guns 4 now...Fight boko haram please sir and stop all dis propaganda

Nice one there from great Sai Baba.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Nice one, but hope corrupt Military officers won't start selling it to thieves?

INK_HER said...

LET DEM NOT USE IT AGANIST US LATER OOH....TOMJERRYSWIT

this man actually has a vision for nigeria. things lyk this were never taken seriuous under jonathan's tenure

Ok,cool

Ok,cool

Yea i think its high time we rely and equip our weaponry.

Rough Diamond said...

Nigeria is gradually stepping up to its status as 'Giants of Africa. This is a good move, #WellDoneBuhari

Linda, I no like dis dude before o, but e b like say I dey feel am na. Dis is good news, I pray from there we move to producing other thngs. It may b time to come back to naija.

Oh

Better!

Oh

Better!

Lets wait and see.

Finally Abba made guns, the guns will be jamming for the soldiers while fighting

Yup and d cock crows for buhari...u 4 siddon de look naa

Yeah I agree with u on this.. We also have functioning brains on our head, not stone so let's that thinking with it..👍

Blessing, ode nie sha. Oponu alainironu. So bcos cars are prone to accidents u will choose to walk from Benin to Lagos?! So, Nigeria and Africa as a whole shd remain primitive and beggars bcos of the dangers of development? Let me think like u for a minute, Internet shd never have been developed bcos it allows stupid pple like u to air views that shd b flushed down d drain.

You dont have to like him, his actions are now been decolourized under your microscope of ethnicity and religion. Senseless critics like you has vilified the likes of Bonario and Abokiwarri here.

Thats a good one ,but ihave just one fear can we be able to control these arms?

Please reconcile industrialization with weaponry biko?

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

I'm sorry,kuku change your name to Karishika

FRESH said...

If you had any little sense,you should be applauding the thought line & intention.

How many Nigerias abeg

Well said,

He spoke well and I pray all dat he said should b implemented and not thrown into d dustbin like we experience in other govt's.

Mihearty said...

Action mr talking machine

You are one of the few igbo guys here with correct thinking cap...
God bless you bro.

momma said...

Great idea but we should be very careful. www.mommaxclusive.Com will teach you more about relationship and life.

US citizens have weapons not because they make weapons but they have laws that arguably allows them....
UK makes weapons too...

SportGist said...

Your brain is binti(small)

olu said...

News flash sweetie... Cultists and armed robbers already have guns. And if you're going to cite the U.S. as the stooge pigeon for "how things go wrong when you manufacture weapons" keep in mind that we (Nigerians) are already killing each other just fine without weapons manufacture. People kill people... Not weapons

God shall continue to strengthen him. Linda take note!

OMG!!! Nigerians are hilarious!

Sai baba

Sport gist u r simply on spot.

Unbelievable we're just tuning into making weaponry after 5 decades? Nothing to cheer. what happened to the brilliant inventions of igbos, obu whatever etc...i guess your answer is good as mine. Ojukwu was quoted to say: "Necessity is the mother of invention" they invented tankers, mortars and converted vehicles to ATV's etc. Wake up Nigeria; don't wait till Boko haram, civil war, et al come to you before you re-invent yourself and quit consuming!

Brother...everything is not about tribe... there are foolish and shallow minded people in every tribe... Just as there are sensible and smart people in every tribe.. pls correct that mindset thankYou.

Military weapons are not for sale to any individual. It's harder to get than imported arms used by the police and the likes of you who cannot think. Read before you talk nonsense.

Rasputin said...

Awesome speech,

His boys or brothers are now producing bombs. So what is talkn about?. Gworo Master.

I knew before now that things ll CHANGE if Baba becomes the president... At least our thinking has changed... Pls pray for Baba to succeed on his plans for this Country we ll all smile.. Its a promise..

<<100%Nigerian>>

Another avenue of siphoning and draining a dying cow. They come up with giant projects only to dump it half or quarter way with reasons you'll never understand. Please Buhari fulfill your electoral and campaign promises and leave this drain-pipe you are canvassing for. We have more than a million federal projects dumped over the country. Ajaokuta steel is still there rotten away, no one cares. And I believe steel will be required to start this huge project GMB is soliciting for. I guess we will have to start importing steel for it.

According to Prof Kole Omotoso, "In 1979, the federal Government of Nigeria under Olusegun Obasanjo, signed a global contract that was opened to bidders from the whole world. The leaders believed then that without a functional steel industry, there can be no industrialization and no material to built infrastructure. The project was abandoned,after it had become one of the bottomless drain pipes of the national coffers.”

I believe that what GHB should be seeking for is how to complete Ajaokuta steel industry for any form of industrialization to take place in Nigeria. Let the foundation for industrial development take effect first before we begin delve into what to manufacture and what not to.

Time will tell. Pls check out my website

I believe there must be a reason why other governments have not considered this. So, let us look before we leap

Nice move we shall learn from that......!

anonymous said...

Fresh or whatever your name is, I do applaud the thought line but my grouse is that why did it take so long to have this kind of thinking.

This is surely the right step in the right direction. This is long overdue. correct me if I'm wrong but some few years back during GEJ's govt,some Israeli investors came with a plan to produce weapons locally n the senate president at that tym was saying it was not a priority, that we(Nigeria) didn't need such investment. N Boko boys were just getting started at that tym. Why do we always wait till things get out of hand b4 we do something about it. A stitch in time saves nine. nw we r beginning to see how indispensable it is to strengthen the military. I just hope it's not too late.

Likened Nigeria to Israel?? Hahah. Let Hausa/Fulani muslim no hear this. Because muslim Emirate hate Israel. Na only Igbo/Biafrans people have a connection with Israel

emmrey said...

Day a great move by Sai baba, hope we realize dis in good time

Ahahahahahahaha!, anon 3:48 u will not kill me with laughter. Lol

Vino said...

finally, Aba boys can do it.

This man is Nigeria's MESSIAH, he is obviously God sent, may God grant him the power to do all the good things he is planning and any person or group of person's against this change will see no good in his/her/their live(s)....Amen....

Better move

Reina said...

So in other words....They shouldn't abi? Ode ni e.

Na 4 dis one I no 'Sai-Baba', der's already 2 much small and side arms in circulation in Nigeria. Part of the efforts 2 improve security wud be mop-up di illegal arms in circulation. If dis is not done 1st-plans 4 arms production will only worsen Naija's situation.

Good move

Girl,you are just full shit.

anonymous said...

To anon 5:38. God bless you for your comment. If any govt in Nigeria is serious, let them first deal with all the abandoned projects and then they could think of new ideas. Let buhari start with the revamping of the steel industry. Steel is the pillar of western industrialization

Edidiong Udoyen said...

Hmm.. no b small