"The historicals [party leaders] agreed that as a way forward, I come and pick these nominations forms and I offer myself for the position of party chairman and NRM presidential candidate for the period 2015-2021,”The 70 year-old has been president of Uganda since 1986 after he came in through a coup and has been re-elected three times since 1996. Surprisingly, a recent poll suggests that 71% of Ugandans will vote for him again for another term.
The elections will see Museveni challenged by his longtime rival Kizza Besigye, and another contestant, Amama Mbabazi, a former prime minister.
Image Credit: Reuters
48 comments:
I pray he doesn't succeed, greedy man! Same ish Obama was talking about....! Dan banza!
Greedy old man d liks of baba go slow. I hope u dnt die dia
Absolute power corrupt absolutely
He definitely wants to die there. Power greed
Na dis kain selfish president obama dey talk about.. na wah!
Na long throat go kill am
He wants to die in office
I feel actitude of the led encourages these peeps to sit tight
Mbanunu, oga dis is too much biko. Linda take note!
Oh No! Indeed power corrupt d mindif not he wouldn't wat to die in office by stil holding on to power. I wish him all d best!
Since his people still want him, no problem then.
After all the british throne has been a family affair and no one questions them.
that is Africa for you......................They want it all,greedy in nature
He'll die in power since it's his wish...old fool
Na till when God calls him.
African Leaders and greed...
Time to quit old man,give that chance to another person,OMG,Whats wrong with this african leaders self!
Try Dis nonsense in 9ja.
Na death dey hungry am
Power is like fine wine.....u can never get enuf of it...if d people wnts u again,it must be 4 a good reason.....Ping me let's do biz 2geda...bridal makeup, Makeup products,cakes, natural hair tips.....24d3c49c
Simple logic, that shows the people love him. And that's a way of showing him gratitude. Engr Emy
Nawa
Nawa
I don't blame him.Until the power of luv supercedes the luv for power, the world will keep producing greedy old men as leaders & peace will eventually elude us.
Good for him.
If it is constitutional to run election as many time as possible I see no fault in that hence he is doing well and the populace are for him. #makehimcarrygo
#Dankwata
This is one of the reasons i hate African leaders. Ode people.
Is it that there is no one competent enough to run against these men that have being in power for decades?! That is just absurd and a shame to Africa. Cos thi only happens here.
African leaders mitchewwww!
He must be an evil man....., Tyrant
This Africa mentality of sit tight does no nation good.
African leaders and sit-tight syndrome.
The issue with some African presidents/heads of government is that they do no know when they have out-stayed their usefulness and rather than be applauded at the end of their reign, they get humiliated out. And no lesson is usually learnt, unfortunately. His claim that his people asked him to contest for the 5th time is neither here nor there because if he drops dead today (God forbids, even though it is a possibility), somebody will surely occupy the post. God is the only indispensable equation to humanity. If he cannot honourably do the needful, he can request for tutorial from IBB on how to 'step aside' and I am certain he will be obliged.
There is something abt dis man's hand dat look scary
It's constitutional for them, that u run for presidency as many time as possible...
It must be an east African thing. Isn't Kagame altering the Rwandese constitution, which sets term limits, to run for a third seven year term? This is after he promised to walk after two. Burundi also held a contentious poll that re-elected its presido. Could it be due to a lack of opportunities? The elites have nothing better to do than to run the country to stay on top. Lol.
Why is virtually everybody negative about this?
If it is constitutional that one should run for the seat of presidency as many time as possible, what prevents him from running for the seat hence his party gave him the flag and he has the support of the people?
In Nigeria the legislative house has unlimited tenure, most of the people there have been there since 1999 when Obasanjo came on seat. It's no different from this case. The only difference is the office and country. The likes of Ike Ekweremmadu and David Mark have been in the senate house for more then 3 tenures.
Remember he was dully elected in 1996, and has kept running and winning elections. What else.
In Germany, the chancellor Angela Merkel has been in that office since 2005 and yet she has always ran for the seat and kept being re-elected.
If Yoweri Museveni is not doing well,let the people vote him out. If he then rigs and it's obvious, that is when UN will intervene.
#Dankwata
African mentality need to be wash with Hypo detergent
Lolllll
He should better die while on seat oh. Olojukokoro somebori.
Buh has he been a good president
@Maxwell Good question there.
Ole,
Thief,
Barawo,
My brother I tire o!
The only reasonable comment so far.
This is what dey call stupid poof, he looks like a drunk sef, am sure he was drinking Ugandans strong drink d day Obama addressed africa union. Aiiiii only in africa, no sign of an intelligent president in him no wonder Ugandans are so impoverished and den they get so angry easily over nothing cos d poverty which d president spreads around has a way of affecting it's citizenry,dont be surprised pple will still vote for him, am so sure d Burundi page gave him hope to show face, since nobody could stop d unconstitutional 3rd term in Burundi, some of dem accept anything, chai nigeria try shall. Greedy man. Make sure u stay dere till you are 180yrs old ok.
Dont be stupid. Is it who occupies the throne that is the head of the British government? It seems u know nothing about government
He has been rigging and tampering with the constitution
Thse old men be fooling themselves
#MugabeSyndrome