Forest authorities said that the shocking incident took place in the Kalgaon area, in the Sivasagar district of the northeastern Assam state, as the villagers were collecting firewood.
5 of the group were injured in the attack.
Indian leopards are under threat of extinction due to poaching for their skin. Villagers also regularly kill the cats when they stray near settlements.
A female leopard was beaten to death just weeks ago in a village in West Bengal’s Purulia district.
Daily Mail
The 7-year-old, fully-grown leopard is reported to have suddenly charged the group in a desperate attack.
The villagers said that to ‘save their lives’, they attacked the savage big cat with sticks and beat it to death.
5 of the group were injured in the attack.
A female leopard was beaten to death just weeks ago in a village in West Bengal’s Purulia district.
Villagers were reported to have spotted the animal near the village and attempted to chase it.
But in its fear, the animal ran into the village instead of away from it, and entered a cowshed.
It was quickly cornered by hundreds of villagers and attacked with sticks and axes, and killed.
The leopard’s tail was severed during the attack, and its paws chopped off, after which its body was suspended from a tree.
Leopard populations are often found quite close to settlements and even in semi-developed areas in India as their forest habitat disappears.
Under the Indian Wildlife Protection Act (IWPA), hunting or attacking a leopard is illegal as it is an endangered species. The offence carries a sentence of up to three years of imprisonment or a fine of 10,000 rupees (£106).
The forest department has also been trying to set up traps so the leopards can be stopped from entering human settlements.
Daily Mail
45 comments:
Scary
Yep nice move by them, instead of watching the beast kill them.
Hope some white folks somewhere won't start campaigning that another Cecilia has been killed.
Don't they have animal control service dere!! Na wah o!!
Lol..... this one na barbecue abi kilishi...
#Dankwata
Wow! Nice one frm them and if dis was in Nigeria pepper soup meat wil b d order of d day.
Ok. Seen
Omo, see meat.
makasi bro kunjungi juga download software gratis kadekkrisma.blogspot.com
Whats graphic about this pls?this is eran igbe(bush meat)
This is utterly disgusting... Animal cruelty at its worse.
Lmao
Omo this is what they call burning i swear..
DS BIG THNG...GUD FOR IT....TOMJERRYSWIT
This will be really and serious bush meat...i just hope they didn't just burnt it to ashes.
Least they could do was at least preserve the skin
Americans will take this up now and start condemning.
:( :( :(
lol
Awwwn....it shouldn't have done that
Where those stupid white americans? Wouldn't they cry for this one? Rubbish
No sympathy for the leopard...
Is good as they killed the leopard
Dis Leopard don enter 'one chance' motor. Linda take note!
mouth sealed
Nawa ooo
Too bad, maybe they should relocate all these endangered animals to settlement to enhance their chances of survival.
Anger in action
See me c wahala leopard. Attack me y I no go attack am bak na sekf defense killed or b killed
Animal cruelty.
Oloshi ppl.
How do they knw the leopard is 7yrs now?
Shege
Tell Kimmel to start his online donation for the leopard....Mr. jack***
okay...
Meanwhile do u want to know how u can enlarge your joystick and stop premature ejac?? Check my profile n email
Enough meat be dat
See meat oooo. If na 4 naija, just trust us na. Those guys go share d meat shapenly without waste of time.
They had to do what they did to protect themselves. So its okay.
Sick. This is ain't right it's just a mindless beast they should have simply not gotten in its way.
Sometin weh dem go giv me make i chop. see as meat dey waste.
Linda sef. What's graphic about killing a leopard. Killing a chicken must be graphic to.
Humans are encroaching into their territories, it is quite unfortunate, the leopard is just defending it's territory.
Damn
Thank God it was killed before it kills someone and before all these "I too knows" begin to speak English on how and why it should not be killed but captured by authorities. It's so annoying when animal life is placed above that of the human.....................Bia Africans you people had better stop this madness......no be black man sickness o.