Lecturer rapes 18- year-old female seeking admission in Unilag | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 6 August 2015

Lecturer rapes 18- year-old female seeking admission in Unilag

A part-time lecturer at the University of Lagos, Akoka, Afeez Baruwa, has been arrested by the police in Lagos for allegedly raping an 18-year-old girl, identified as Caroline (not her real name).

It was learnt that the victim, who was reportedly raped inside a study room, was seeking admission into the University.

Baruwa who was arrested by the Surulere Police Division on Monday, August 3 told the police in his statement that the sexual intercourse was by mutual consent, insisting that he did not rape the victim.
ADVERTISEMENT

Caroline got to know the lecturer through her Dad because they both belonged to the same landlords’ association in the Abesan, Ipaja area.
It was gathered that the victim’s father had allowed her daughter to follow the lecturer on July 23, to UNILAG for an admission process.
According to reports, Baruwa allegedly took the girl inside one of the study halls, bolted the door, and raped her.
After the incident, Caroline, who told her parents about the rape, was taken to a non-governmental organisation, Mirabel Centre, where she was tested and the medical result reportedly confirmed that the teenager had been raped.

After the confirmation, Caroline was taken to the Lagos State Office of the Public Defender, where the matter was reported at the police station. Baruwa was subsequently arrested.

A police source in Surulere said:
“The suspect is actually a friend of the father of the girl. The girl had written the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination, and she needed assistance with the post-UTME.
“So, the father sent her to meet and discuss with the lecturer.
“But, it turned out that on July 23 when the girl visited the suspect, he raped the girl in the study room.
“The suspect confessed to the act, but his claim is that the sex was by mutual consent.”
The Director of the Office of the Public Defender, Mrs. Omotola Rotimi, said the OPD would write a letter to the UNILAG Vice-Chancellor on the incident, so as to ensure that such did not happen again to anyone.
She said,
“The victim’s father wanted the lecturer to assist with his daughter’s admission. On the fateful day, the girl left with the lecturer as early as 5.30am, and they got to the school at about 7am.
“No one had arrived at the hall except a woman. While the exams had yet to start, he raped her. She went home, and the father found out that her daughter had been raped. He took her to the Mirabel Centre, which then informed the OPD.
“The centre also contacted the police at the Surulere and Isokoko divisions, and the suspect was arrested.
“We are going to defend the girl, and we are writing the VC. The suspect is said to be in the Department of Accounting. He claimed the sex was consensual, but that is not a defence.”
Baruwa, who is currently in custody, will be charged to court on today, Thursday, Aug 6th.

The Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Patricia Amadin, confirmed the arrest.
She said:
“The suspect claims to be a part-time lecturer, but not an employee of the University of Lagos.
“He has confessed to the crime and the medical result proved same.”

Punch

125 comments:

Where is the foolish rapist? I am even more pissed than the father right now!

Things that happens cos of admission in nigeria,feel sorry for the girl!

So sad.
Yoruba people.
Sex pervs

Hihihihihihihi

Good for him. He may not have raped her though,but wetin u dey do with 18 year old girl, mr lecturer ?

SMH, the evil man should have his thing cutoff! No respect at all

On another note....Linda u don wake up na na dey blog , na wa for u o....

This yoruba man is lying. It can't be consensual. The girl will not tell her parents if it is.
Yoruba people. They can do anything for sex including juju.

Dave Mide said...

Ruined his own career by 3 mins pleasure ( if that cud be called pleasure). No pity for the wicked

Situations of life.Life is place of numerous challenges the ability of how you control your challenges is what makes you a true living being

What female students go tru in the hands of male lecturals is very heartbreaking.....this is even small der are more cases Dan u can Eva expect..

Stupid man, hope You rot in jail.

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

What a shame.

Stupid he-goat. Castrate the a**hole!

Odiegwu!

*lib's namesake*

Foolish father,I blame u for all this,u ar careless,sending ur daughter to an "unfriendly friend".May be u ar a randy type too.

Too bad

Unilag lecturers are perverts! Nt news

What a shame (if its really true)..... The hustle to gain admission into Nigeria higher institutions in recent times is really appalling... From jamb transferring students to private sch to raping or taking advantage of them sexually and financially.....

What a shame (if its really true)..... The hustle to gain admission into Nigeria higher institutions in recent times is really appalling... From jamb transferring students to private sch to raping or taking advantage of them sexually and financially..... ###

Why for just a little help it may be the turn of ur daughter tomorrow. Beware.

All dis men dere libido dey para all de time, i tire o

Useless man

This has got to stop. It's time for universities in Nigeria to lay down rules and avoid situations like this. Sad

Animal

Animal! Some Lecturers turn into beasts d minute dey seea girl!

That's bad.....
Trust no one

Trust nobody.

Some men r just beasts. Jeez!

And I can assure you that this is not his first time his cup just got filled, he has bn waiting for ds opportunity to take on d poor girl, u need to see how some so called family friends defile deir friends daughter nd even threatened dem not to tell.chai uncle why? But does a student who read and prepare for her exams need an assistance?I doubt! Lecturers used to bring my answer shit to class and seeked to no who I was cos I was damn good in my mass communication class, and i bet u no one saw my face I didn't need dem cos I knew what I wanted,dey taught me, I bought deir so called text books attended tutorials never missed a class read like dere ws no 2moro ,Anyway just hope d stupid fathers friend will rot in jail nd meet d same in jail.

Can you imagine!!!!

LADY B said...

Na wa sha! All dese yeye lecturers nid to b dealt with.

Odeniigbo said...

the lecturer should be reraped inside a prison.

Ndį»‹ Nne Mama!!! ƙgĆØgbĆØ Ezinį»„lį»... Nzukį» į»Œgį»į»stu Ebidokwara. O nweere ihe m chį»pį»„tara maka nzukį» a mgbe m mpere mpe, ka anyį»‹ kwuo maka ya na okwu m nwere maka ndį»‹ nne. Interestng, open and read http://www.odeniigbo.com/2015/08/ndi-nne-mama-ugegbe-ezinulo-nzuko.html
Igbo ga-adį»‹rį»‹rį»‹.
Visit the 1st Igbo language Blog
www.odeniigbo.com

Hmm..a friend of d family !

What in the hell was he thinking when raping her.... Some people no just get sense shah....

Apple Berry said...

Wicked people. Let him go down for his crime. He no dey shame

1. I do not support rape in any guise.
Having out that out, parents need to be more responsible. you don't ship off an 18yr old in the company of a neighbor to a University for 'assistance' in writing an admission exam. It's just irresponsible. Whatever happened to all the sentiments of children's first day at school etc.
3. Nigerians should learn to have things by merit. Which foolish assistance are they looking for up and down? Mtscheeew

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Oloshi man!!!

AND THE GOAT HAS a child i guess dumb goat

seyi crown said...

I don't trust that girl? Have this feeling she's not saying d truth...y can't she scream? @7am inside unilag someone will hear her

When a useless father allows his daughter to follow a lecturer for backdoor entrance into university, this is the result. What did he expect? He was part of it.

He is no different or maybe worse than the woman who took her daughter to a sex trafficker for a job in Dubai on purpose.

The father should be arrested by the police for university entrance malpractice and bribery. The motive was bribery and corruption. Why did he not follow his daughter! Senseless father.

Oh! Wht a shame...
Mutual consent my foot@d study room.

He should b punished accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others. Rubbish!

Yeye man, I hope he rots in jail. Linda take note!

It is obvious the man took the advantage of the poor girl, he must be compelled to pay high for this.

And where is the Hang Man?Put him where he belongs,piece of crap!

Gbese re oo!!!
Unilag and wonders

I'm glad she reported the rape. I pray for her quick healing

Face of d stupid-part-time"lecturer"

I am celebrating dz,more lecturers will be caught,dts my prayer..

Face of d stupid-part-time"lecturer"

Trust nobody

There are many of them out there, they should be fished out one by one.

Why can't the girl shout and call for help? I think that is not rape, but with her consent... So to F**k girlz nw, ppl need to be careful... That's blackmail.

Mihearty said...

Is the girl a virgin in the first place. If not, she also deserves punishment for losing her virginity at such age. Children of today enjoy adult things more. She left with the lecturer by 5.30. Abeg which type of exam is that. Mtewwwww yeye dey smell.

chinnybest said...

Kongi is badt.......buh y d rape, is never d best option.let him bear d consequences Rapist.so sad

Whether consensual sex or not, why would an elderly man like that have sex with an 18 year old girl? This life don spoil finish

LET HIM B SACKED IF TRULLY HE IS...TOMJERRYSWIT

Na wa o......shameless man!! *Mxchewww

Na wa o.....shameless man!! *Mxchewww

bad market for him

Nawa ohh.dey shld punish him well

Yoruba men are expert rapist ... I give una hand

WONDER SHALL NEVER END..Admission to Sex!!! Aramighty

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

The punishment for rape should be cutting of the D.

He ought to be castrated....wicked man

He isn't even a part time lecturer. Scammer. But what kind of post-utme assistance was she looking for? Study hard and pass your exams, these kids of nowadays will not agree. There's no excuse for rape but she brought this upon herself.

The sex was consensual. Only a mad man will rape a girl in a study room! Why didn't she shout or something?

Learn to control urself. Dats all.

Really you should be ashamed at yourself telling people to be careful when they want to rape a girl. Are you kidding me?

Chy šŸŒ¹ said...

Y shld d dad leave her in the hands of d man.Trust no one abeg.Uwa na cho ikpu.

All this randy lecturers sef. They always learn d hard way.

You are a bastard! Tribalistic bigot

To me the sex was consensual. How do you rape a girl in a study room without attracting passerby's. Parents should protect their children coz no one can be trusted not even pastors. As for the lecturer if found guilty, it will be the end of his career except otherwise.

Moses' Blog said...

Must your child go to higher institution before gaining success? What is this crazy education frenzy anyway? Or what is true success?

JJC,you dey talk like who nor go school for naija,if a lecturer wants to frustrate you to sleep with you,if you like read all the books or pray those stupid prayers,na you wan mark your script abi?People like you go be wor wor and nor get better body na him make dem nor put eyes for your body.If babe fine and wear hijab or cover body,if man don set eyes on you,u don dey one chance be that.

JJC,you dey talk like who nor go school for naija,if a lecturer wants to frustrate you to sleep with you,if you like read all the books or pray those stupid prayers,you dey so good na him you dey write shit instead of sheet and using seeked instead of seek.Na girls like you go either be wor wor or nor get good body,you go be like ruler,just pray say craze men wey like ruler babes nor find you,na that day you go know wetin be frustration.

U ddnt get him... He is not encouraging raping, but be careful of girls you have sex with.. It can just be blackmail.. Perharps, why can't the girl report instantly in the school premises?

Its so obvious you're product of rape, maybe a Yoruba man raped your imbecile mother and she palmed the preganacy on your foolish supposed father! And they both wasted their little resources to get you the limited education you have, hence the way you think and write. Omo ale!

liz swt 16 said...

As in eh...can u imagine!

Shame on him! For him to have done that to his friend's daughter, a girl that could pass for his own child, shame on him.

Many are mad but few are roaming about.......

I'm highly disappointed. It was early. It's a only a matter of time before she stops struggling. It doesn't deny the fact that it's rape. Gosh you're so despicable.

And to think a female wrote this?

You've never been to a school before or whatever moral lessons they taught you eluded you and whatever degrees you have got is of no significance as at now.

She's not even in school yet and her parents are allowing her tow this line. Ridiculous.

'Lecturals'?hah!!!

U are dumb.

So because she isn't a virgin she cannot be raped? You heterosexuals are messed up big time.

linda,I know Mr Baruwa very well.He was my lecture and HOD marketing Lasu Agege campus.This man chase everything in skirt.chai this man frustrated our lives especially when we were writing our project.

You just advocated rape with your kongi is bad thing.. why am I even dignifying you that write 'badht' with a response. Mtscheeew

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

His entire thought process is skewed. Did you read that they left Abesan past Oshodi for unilag very early? Did you read that they were the only ones at the school except for one woman who will probably just be minding her business (the Nigeria way, if you come out as a witness you'll be prosecuted as well)???
Shame on you

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

God bless you

Pauper, rape reports r mostly from d east

teamchryz said...

friendly fire

Guy u no dey last for bed?

To be honest, that was what came to my mind. Am not in support of rape oo, but you know girls of nowadays, they can do anything to get whatever they want

This is wrong of Mr. Lecturer. Even if it is mutually agreed, Should it be in the class room? He should be punished. However, this is not peculiar to a tribe as some people started saying these Yoruba people.

If you know where Abesan is to yaba and is an exam for that matter, then 5:30 is not early, maybe you don't stay in lag to know how stupid the traffic can be..... don't just talk next time, verify

lmaoooooooo..@ANON 10.21..u dey craze oooooo..but u r so damn rgt..hungry lions all arnd on campus

Dr Adekoya(nephrologist)at Lagos state university college of medicine is an expert in d rape business.females be warned!!!

Shut up, Mr. Anon. I attended Unilag and I can authoritatively tell you that if she was truly raped during exam period around 7am, someone would have heard her cry for help. I mean, in a study room of all places! Retard.

Oluwadamilola said...

As in some people have guts..

Anon 10:15, Did you read the post at all? She's not yet in school, dummy! She was a post-utme candidate. I'm a man by the way, and I no wor wor.

He is a pervert

Ewoooooooo

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Hehehehe, some people actually talk like that.

Kharid said...

Anon 10:21, you r damn very funny....You got me cracked up...

ola murphy black said...

Why do you have to be so naive. You started writing like a learned man and finished like an illiterate. I Pity your wards, with this kind of mentality. *spit*

Guess you were 3 times a victim!

Ade said...

This happens frequently only that not all victims have family to take them to NGOs....he should be jailed

bee said...

U re a big fool....idiot

Oh yes, I was a student of Unilag also and I can say yes to that. I know too well so I'm not surprised...

@anon 10:21. U r a senseless person,u r d type dat curse d females in ur generation by useless talks....dere is nothing prayer cannot do,n dere r beautiful girls wif lovely bodies dat lecturers tried 2 molest but never succeeded,bcos dey had something dat lecturer can never fail Dem no matter how he tried,I am one of such females,I had d owner of all universities n lecturers on my side...#getsense#stop uttering trash,u jez might b cursing ur daughter

God bless u big time

I pity ur lineage....Shameless he-goat

If you have ever been a rape victim then you will understand that it's not easy to just tell anyone about it especially in naija where people will still blame you for being raped. The question is what does the girl have to gain by blackmailing him? Absolutely nothing!!! All these perverts need to face the consequences of their actions and I am soooooo happy for the courage this girl has shown. And to all the guys out there that finds pleasure in this despicable act, may all the females in your generation face what you do in hundred folds!

God has disgraced u Mr baruwa! Dis same man while I was in lasu part time,caught me in d exam hall spying @ som1 paper,he asked Me to follow him or he will cease my paper and list my name on d cheat list, I followed him to his car, he sat on the driver's seat and brought out his dick,ask me massage it,i shouted sir am a married woman n my customs doesn't permit these, he said so how do I make up,i jst gave him 2000 n he collected n dashed out of d car! Devil has disgraced u finally

I was a student @ lasu agege too,he harassed me in the name of sex but I refused him,#bastard#

She is saying the truth,when I was in lasu part time,a lot of females do complain about mr baruwa, whenever he ask u out n u refuse he will wait for u till exam period,he will enter d start finding fault from u, as for I spied on my friend's paper and he hurriedly collected my script and copied my name and matric number and ask me to see him after exam else he will put down my name on malpractice list, after exam I followed him to his car, and he brought out his dick asking me to massage it,i shouted sir am married, then he ask how do I make up,i jst gave him 2000 n I left!!! #so it is true#

Yea he was our lecturer at Lasu, seriously that man is a goat, he's fun of disturbing females during exams and he wud seize ur answer script in the process of u begging him he wud start tellin u nonsense am actually talking from experience

The rapist will definitely lose his job. They should cut his penis, idiot

let him pay for his sins if he actually did this.

Mr money maker you're very foolish. Your father is a rapist im very sure. Tribalist msheew