Don’t listen to We Are The World by African all stars unless you’re trying to get a bone out of your throat-Etcetera | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 August 2015

Don’t listen to We Are The World by African all stars unless you’re trying to get a bone out of your throat-Etcetera

This is another article by Etcetera where he thinks listening to 'We Are The World by African all stars' is a waste of time and thinks the song is rubbish.
"Well, I think I’m finally safe to write this article, since I’ve set up my e-mail software to automatically filter out any messages containing swear words. Sincerely, I don’t know if there’s any song that made me change the TV station faster than this one. If I didn’t, I’d have been doomed to have a group of adults with hideous and unsync voices chanting,“we are the children” over and over in my head for the next six months.
And that certainly isn’t all that’s wrong with the song. Michael Jackson would probably be spitting and cursing in his grave right now, like a pregnant woman with whitlow on her ten fingers and toes. What the heck were they thinking changing his beautifully composed piece of art to the most insipid crap ever written?
I’m going to tell you this for free; don’t listen to We Are The World by African all stars unless you’re trying to get a bone out of your throat. That is only when the song would be useful.
We know that African music isn’t made up of the best singers anymore, but honestly, how did they think that they could fill up a seven-minute song with nothing but monotonous chanting of the same feeble chorus over and over again?
ADVERTISEMENT
The humorous highlight of the song is Kcee’s ridiculous line “There’s a choice we making, we saving our own lives.” Never has the word (saving our own lives) meant so opposite. And the only choice that could have been made by the organisers was not to have included Kcee in the song. He was even off key for Christ sake. Kcee, your hilarious accent is to be commended.
Luckily I could warn the rest of you who haven’t listened. Kcee is the first reason this is the most repulsive rendition of this song ever.
There were other worse vocals like Sean Tizzle’s, but Tiwa Savage sounded like a two- year- old being dragged out of a toy store. She should know when to keep the vibrato off her voice. And For a minute I thought Banky W was going to faint. Whoever chose the key to this song should have been reminded that most Nigerian singers are all about auto-tune and can’t hold their notes.
Jesus Christ, what is happening to music? This is easily the worst combination of voices in human history. Only the most despicable revisionist historian could possibly claim that this song is anything close to good. It’s nothing more than a hideous irritation festival from the individual who sold the idea to the sponsors.
While writing this article, someone suggested that maybe vocals wasn’t the criterion for selecting the artistes. REALLY? Are you kidding me? Then they should have gone for the kill. Artquake should have been in there somewhere, Or perhaps even Daddy Showkey. A number of you are probably thinking “hey, come on, I kinda like that song.” Of course, every lover of today’s Nigerian music will surely like the song. This is the musical equivalent of Agege bread: it’s meant to be packed with so much artificial crap that it’s bound to appeal in some way to Nigerians.
No matter how musically credible you are, no matter how much cutting-edge indigenous songs you listen to, whether you snore in baritone in your sleep or not, this song is a shame. It is the kind of rendition that makes today’s Nigerian music uncool. If you have listened to it, the fact that the singers were trying too hard to sound like the original version should have made you turn off your TV in disgust. If you haven’t, download it right now. I dare you to try to make it through the first 10 seconds. It is the ultimate endurance test.
If you’d care to suggest another song for me to review, you can always feel free to do so by e-mailing me at mail@etceteralive.com. If you’re the guy who e-mailed me about being a Wizkid fan, for the love of God, get some help.

186 comments:

Chaiii, lindodo...you are awake posting news by this time. God will keep making you bigger and better...

#selfmadefinalist

FOLARIN said...

This is kinda hilarious to me
And why shud u compare Agege bread to Kcee? Not cool you know.

Joblesshousewife said...

ITK

obiora said...

I've always loved you write ups but I must say this is rather childish, disrespectful and totally uncalled for.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

This guy's blunt. Chai.

Singing we are the world now

Tola Abegunde said...

I don't even understand why you bloggers keep publishing this etc dude. My goodness

This dude no get Chill at all..... Abeg I dey laff with Esan dialect. Iyeeeee mee ooo. LWKMD!!!

This guy seriously needs help, such a whinger.

The song na rubbish

Hahaaahahahahahahahahaaa.....dis guy is evil,he can kill wit his words. Let him be sure dat if one of our stars die right now,he's responsible for it. #ExceteraTheMurderer

4 d very 1st time I agreed wth ds guy. D producer shd b arrested 4 crimes against humanity

Hahahaha...jeez my kcee that you finished like this ba. Even tiwa. lwkmd!!! Please where is the song. I need to laugh. I agree with you completely about nigerian music, their songs are only about beats and auto tune. No one I know has a nice voice apart from dare, banky, tiwa and a few other. Lolzzzz! Etc Ur are crazy!!! Please dnt yab kcee like that again in d name of giving reviews.

Lolzzz..lwkmd chaii dis guy is a comedian @been draged out frm a toy store. Jezzz omo dat was hilarious, let mi go and download d song*google search* lolzz

Attention seeker.

Etcetera e ga egbu mmadu le

Just listened to d song, d song is just rubbish n I think they r suppose to give Legend micheal Jackson his respect by including his own part from d original song just like d did in d Haiti own. Dey shd beta delete d song

The song is a stupid nonsense

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Yes, I agree d SA musicians were beta off. Tiwa needs to chill I little, Kcee KCEE may God help us.

ETC, while I totally agree with the fact that Nigerian music needs work, you must first understand the music industry is first a reflection of the society. The Nigerian music industry - like any other industry- will never amount to anything if the society isn't changed or more accurately, as goes the society so goes the industry.
The society makes singers the way they are - they are smart to go with society, that's why they are more well off.
So stop flogging the cart ; address the horse

I actually like the song,etcetera just promoted the song ironically.

Very funny his right in a way I listened to the song trust me I wasn't impressed I was disappointed

I actually like the song,etcetera just promoted the song ironically.

I think this homeboy is seriously developing some mental health issues, depression especially and is taking his frustration out through his writing of all this bullshit....Always criticizing and never gives props. Shows he is angry at himself.

Chy 🌹 said...

Never heard abt d song..i'm dulling oo
Lemme Google d video and download.
Etc don come again!!...Lmaooo

Josh Atuanya said...

Can someone please define BUSY BODY for me again?

Why would this guy be mentioning artistes name like he tutored them...is he still on cheap drugs?
If he thinks composing any song is easy,y did he quit music. One moment this guy would be sounding normal,d next moment,he would be sounding helplessly confused...

So what if Kcee was off key and all,plz MR PERFECT, just PRETEND TO BE MATURE for once...sadist!

Lmao
I agree with etc on this one jare.
So many horrible voices, but kcee' own was too horrible

samnie said...

Etcetera has come again o. Lmao

Etcera or whatever he is called... has now proved himself to be a verified IDIOT. What has he done that we no of. Apparently, empty barrels make the loudest noise

chinwelovesnseikpeetim said...

Oga which have u sang??..If not for one thing I would have said u re frustrated nd jealous.

Etcetera, I would have digested this write up with relish if only I hadn't listened to ur album. Ur genre of music (soft rock) was a caricature of the real thing. I don't think you are in a position to cast aspersions or hurl derogatory comments on these artists, considering you had your chance forever ago and blew it to the wind...ur album (then) still is one I regret buying. sing ur own make we hear!!!

I have listened to it long ago and I enjoyed it. But hey! Etcetera is only trying to promote this song..thats the irony of it all.

Hahahhaa...Etcetera u nor go kee me. This is your funniest article yet and im glad i dint find it as obnoxious and insukting as the rest in the past.
Whilst i agree with the humor behind ur article, i also think its a bit harsh calling out names of artists that you think would make the song hunt you for a while.
Finally, omo support your african artists small cos its not meant to sound as authentic as the original version but somewhat like it and i think they all did a good job. Not even u cld have done better.....we are trying our best in thos part of the world. Try watching desperate housewives africa n ul get my point... Its a fantastic copy of the american version. Open ur mind sometimes, it helps.

Esperenza said...

Well Said ETC!, I taught am the only one that noticed the load of crap they chunked out! KCee wasn't only the worst. Harrisong and SeanTizzle were A DISGRACE!!!!. Praize tried, Donjazzy tsk tsk tsk that's not your lane at all. Nigerian musicians needs serious vocal cord training, its not their fault its the society that partronizes such mediocre. WELL SAID once again #thoughnotafan

In your personal opinion.... Anyway, anyone who wishes to succeed for long in art business must subject his works to criticism - abut a constructive one

samnie said...

Fans of people you dissed are gonna come for your balls be ready!

Why not just release a song and let's see the garbage you have in ur head.

Chy 🌹 said...

I'm back.

Etcetera, d song wasn't as bad as u painted it ok?am I free to call u a bloody hater?.Its nt easy to pull out inordinate pitches and notes on a technical song like dat.
I can only agree with ur take on Kcee...Nigga felt he was on "limpopo" remix,no life,no energy in his own rendition..It was so bland.
Tiwa Savage did well...I love d video.U can download from tooxclusive.com
*tongue out @ ya*(Etcetera)

Oshercole said...

Let him do his own version make we listen to it.

I downloaded and listened to the song before I finished reading the write up. The song's not bad. He's just a unconstructive hater. Is he being paid to write these rubbish

This guy should stop seeking for attention

......Hit the studio and let's hear urs

Mihearty said...

U are sick in your dick. Stupid motherfucker . Gerrouthia now or..........

As in eh!! The irritation I feel from that song is just something else. First off, Kcee is a clown, in fact the whole five star music are jokes. I don't know how people enjoy their music or their anything. Etcetera, I usually don't read your BS but today, you are right about this one.
Linda, if you like no post my comment. mshewwwwww

Very very funny....makes me want to listen to the song

ogeee said...

Lol. Dis guy talks too much

Well said, best article ever.... He made lotta sense...... Myself n my brother analysed it before now..... People who knows the real we are the world would know african version was crap.. Yuck!!!!!

peace said...

Thank Your stars that you left the music industry o. Anyways, you make small sense sha!

DOE said...

Hilarious post. Sounds really spot on.

Lol! I really don't know why I enjoy reading this dude's write-ups. Etcetera will make a good comic writer. As for the song,he had a point, South Africans were the only saving grace in the song. Etcetera abeg review Kiss Daniel's Laye for me.

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

AMIJEZ said...

Hehe,this guy again.

Tho he sounds bitter dt he Cudnt partake in d song but den he's saying d truth

It was in a rush.. I tot I was the only one who noticed the production was bad. With terrible vocalist like kcee etc

Nothing but the honest truth that's the way Etcetera gives it. This writeup is so funny, couldn't stop laughing. People will still curse him out for saying the truth and saying what his colleagues know but are afraid to say so that they won't be tagged. Nice piece Etcetera

I tink the producers of the song will have to thank etc cos this writeup will no doubt shoot up the song's popularity most ppl who have not heard the song before will be curious to listen after reading this. Secondly, I tink this writeup is total rubbish cos the song was actually their own way of speaking against xenophobia during its attacks in SA so it has nothing to do with trying to copy the original artists... Instead of bashing their voices, etc shld have bin more patient to find out the purpose behind the song first... #mytwocents

Etsako Pearl said...

Lmao!
He is ryt tho....smh

You just the way I think. That was a get to gather of some group

De British said...

I've always known Et-cetera to be a musical prodigy and a humdinger of a writer. Tho havent listened to this "We are the world' by Nigerian stars, but for Et-cetera 2 condemn it, there's definitely everything abysmal abt it.
Et-cetera, U gat ma backing.
Thumbs up!!!!

Lol, I finished the song o

You are very stupid etcetera..your singing career was dead before it started so don't come here and lecture us about music Pls.hediot be forming music police.

APPLELIPX said...

Hahahahahahahahah
This guy is a clown
Pls I need morning laughs like ds
Lol!!! Jokers!!

Lmaoooooooooooooooooooooooooooo this guy get bad mouth

frank oddy boy said...

What is wrong wit you I dont know if ur name is haundai electra or what having made mention of kcee's name.show u dont even what to say. Pls go get a hair cut or better still a very big comb.

Dis guy must be sick..dat song is very lovely..abeg etcetra go find smeting beta 2 do with ur time..

For the first time I agree

Hahahaha it gets pretty scary wen another singer is abt to take over! Electra gat me on this one! Jst wondering y they came up wif dat shit jst to embarrass us

Anwulika said...

Dare I say Etcetera is the only honest man in this country?......first time I heard this song, I was looking for people like Tuface, Omawumi, Waje....etc. People that can actually sing. Instead who did I see? Kcee!!!! Then I saw Banky and said to myself "okay, there's hope. Then he opened his mouth...smh". We are indeed the world.

Hahahaha it gets pretty scary wen another singer is abt to take over! Electra gat me on this one! Jst wondering y they came up wif dat shit jst to embarrass us

Ectetera is Right on this one. The music is crap, very disgusting, the KC guy sure made a mess of his line.

I somewhat agree with you on this occasion; I blame the music producer and director. It lacked coordination, some vocals were off key and extremelyyyyyy questionable. It's not the worst song ever but having listened to the Original for yearssssss....this did not do it justice atall! I believe they should have taken time to get artists with the right voices for the right roles/parts but heyhoo I guess it was slapped together with the artists they could get their hands on/available.

Hate-ladened but a beautiful and near-truthful write-up.

koshey said...

Wahs wrong with this man? Honestly to me,peoples's success choke him too much

Yeah! That song is terrible, if all Nigerians were like me. These guyz will not sell their records, Pathetic!

seyi crown said...

When this fool dey sing, wat was his song about or his he a better singer make this guy go sit down. It's not their fault that u didn't make it in music industry...jealous goat

Ok we have heard u

Ok we have heard you

naijaboard said...

i agree with this guy for the very first time.....our peeps really messed up

Hahahaha... I agree with him sincerely.. I almost cried when i listened to it, who chose d artists for d song? No waje, omawumi, timi, darey, tuface etc.. Terrible.. I agree with you today...

Keep on saying the truth my man.

I love etcetera, no homo. He says all I think. It may be obvious that few people think this way: there are few sane people left in Nigeria.

So says the writer turned musician with a read career

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Heheheheheheheheh I beg no kill me oooo, laugh wnt kill me. I swear dis is etcetera is clown.

zicog said...

This is the
musical equivalent of Agege bread: ?

Etc abeg tell dem ooo....we africans re too fake wen it coms to music,too many artificial stuffs,dats y u can hardly c life performances in africa.all we see is d idiots singing to dia song playing on CD,so y did dey get paid for being there?

i knw so many pple ll curse u,but dey re no match for ur musical understanding n prowess...kip on represent we dat knw wat good music is all about..

zicog said...

This is the
musical equivalent of Agege bread: ?

Etc abeg tell dem ooo....we africans re too fake wen it coms to music,too many artificial stuffs,dats y u can hardly c life performances in africa.all we see is d idiots singing to dia song playing on CD,so y did dey get paid for being there?

i knw so many pple ll curse u,but dey re no match for ur musical understanding n prowess...kip on represent we dat knw wat good music is all about..

This has confirmed that your failure in life as a whole has made you both depressed and delusional so much so that you think you are an authority in criticism.... You have gone on relentlessly on how much of a failure music is in Nigeria but you have failed to bring music which was your first love back to its former glory or are you not a musician again??? Sometimes I wonder if you are spiteful because you know you do not stand a chance against the music of today crappy or otherwise. I think it is safe to say that you are fighting to stay relevant... You can actually do that without bringing others down you know!!! But how does one get that message to your myopic mind. You are a very small minded person and I really feel for the people that have day to day dealings with you.

Lik seriously whr does d man come from you must be a racist.song wey sweet lik sugar.

I won't even wast my MB on that. Even without ETC warnings I already knw it will be nonsense.

Lolzzzzz.... this guy is sooo funny... I am beginning to fall in love with him oo.. however, I can deduce a bit of advert in the write up. he has successfully played to someone 's psychic like mine to download the song. Nice one ETC.

AdenikeYA said...

Pronto! Well said. Really shitty version. Poor Michael!!!

AdenikeYA said...

Lolzzzzz.... this guy is sooo funny... I am beginning to fall in love with him oo.. however, I can deduce a bit of advert in the write up. he has successfully played to someone 's psychic like mine to download the song. Nice one ETC.

Damn right Etcetera.. Damn fucking right. God i just heard that shit last night. Nothing to write home about.

I love this guy he's so on point.

E de pain you cos dem no call

E dey pain u cos dem no call u get a life and stop concerning

Dis guy get bad mouth I swear. Linda take note!

Not good enough...but definitely not as bad as he painted it...Knee's rendition was d worst...lol

"...Tiwa Savage sounded like a two-year- old being dragged out of a toy store " Spot on!

I agree with him. It was just once I heard it completely, just because I wanted to know the artists on the project. It was boring, no creativity everyone was just chanting "we are the world". If the project was handled by COHBAMS ASUQUO it would have being much more professional. Lastly, we only have entertainers in Nigeria not musicians, it only music head that will understand that.

Etc u no go kill person#getsomehelp@wizyfan#

frank said...

This is what you do when failure takes your surname. This man is just a failure that wants to run every other person down

Gbam!!!! Etcetera you are so on point. Just spoke my mind

Paris said...

Lmao, clown

This Dude is pathetic.
Stupid Fuck.
I think he's Retarded or sufferin from some form of seizures.
His criticism doesn't makes sense at all.
I don't see him prospering in life.
Dumb Fuck.

You need new sets of ears. No wonder your music career failed cos I am sure if you did sing half as much as this, you'll be almost be as famous as Vic O. Olodo this is good music. Writing sef is not your thing either. Maybe u should try plumbing.

He be like say Kcee collect ur woman.. lol!

I agree with you 100%. Totally ridiculous.

oh my God!seriously this cracked me up.I think i really need to listen to the song to get the gist.dis guy sick gan ni o.

Lmao! I thought iwas alone in this. Seriously, nothing has ever been so true Esp kcee's part, wen i first heard it iwas like WTF???

To be honest this was a brilliant piece and i will listen to it just because he asked 😂

Lmao.... What pained was that they repeated same song as westerners, since they claim they'v got talent , why can't they compose their own song αи∂ dedicate to Africans???? Why emulate Westerners to that extent.....
Αи∂ KC Limpopo spoilt everythn, forming Lil Wayne

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Buhahahah this man don finish them. Choi. But he said the truth though. Myself being a long time singer with an especially sensitive ear for off tune vocals I can name a handful of Nigerian songs that so much irritated my sense of hearing and that song topped the list. What really put me off was Savage's monotone. Till today am still trying to reconcile the voice of that Tiwa with the one that sang the inter-tine of Don Jazzy's Dorobucci. It is well sha.

mr Goldberg said...

I think etcetera is an ardent publicity hound. He's always seeking attention with his obnoxious controversial articles. I think dat song is cool. There will always be pple like him tho. They make d world less boring.

Zetsu said...

I love reading his article if not anything but for the cutting edge similes and his astute and rational review.. well I stop listening to our indigenous songs since wizkid sisi Nene sounded like a relic compared to Michael Jackson Billie Jean .. and I pray we transcend the retarded monotony of beats and auto tune we call music ..

Baddest babe said...

etcetera just spoke out loud my thoughts. the so called african all stars battered, murdered,turned this song of a lifetime to a week old shit. i agree with the guy abeg

After reading etcetera's article I had to listen to the song to see whether is was that terrible and yes it is. it had me laughing at how ridiculous most of the artists sounded and how off key they were. Some could barely carry the notes. They were trying too hard to sound like the original and they flopped.

Please, next time if the can't do justice to a beautiful song, they should not sing it. They actually murdered the song.

You're just one messed up SOB. Failed musician pointing accusatory fingers at SUCCESSFUL singers. Na there u go tey

Diary of Dido said...

Lol.
This article was funny sha.

you are always on point, I love you courage dearly and the way you make us understand most of things that are going wrong in the country, but be careful for your life an play save please

phatgal said...

honestly african version of we are the world is pure nonsense.kcee and harrysong made a mess of it

finally someone saw what i had seen.. WHACK is the song.. apologies to the southern africans who made it listenable somehow.

Some people may take a short cut of criticizing or even cursing this write up of etc without properly examining the facts behind. Crappy music have so awashed the Nigerian soil for quite a long while now that pple have either lost or have no more memory of what quality music sounds like. Some have never even listened to quality music as they were born after the extinction of quality music. Nigerians are now swimming in the pool of mediocritical compose sold to them as music. This is a typical case of "when the desirable is not available, the available becomes the desirable".

This Niga aint killed himself yet?Go and sleep jare

For this guy stupid write up i had to go check out the song,and the stuff came out as a great work of music....is this guy still a musician? If yes,let him do his own BETTER listening kind of music or he keeps silent forever

Gbam!! God bless you! I heard the song and starting crying.....I cried becos Africans destroyed MJ's effort....

Gbam!! God bless you! I heard the song and started crying.....I cried becos Africans destroyed MJ's effort....

blesyn said...

i truely agree wiv u dat kcee(limpopo mater) destroyed the song wiv his igbotic voice and accent.

B+ said...

I don't think the song is bad at all. It's alredy b given all a good song requires by the original composer ( good lyrics, beats and really meaninful). African all stars on the other hand only mimicked the song and I think they did quit a gud job... at least no 'Kukere' or ' kpangolo' in the song :D

Absolutely spot on.. I was confused after few seconds of watching the video. I thought it was comedy show.... then reality hit me. utter nightmare

the only thing dis guy sabi do is criticize..... mshewwww

oiza said...

I think ETC needs help! Even the kaycee that's is worse amongst them is far better than you vocally that's how horrible your singing is. And u dare insult wiz kid when his getting accolades internationally ?How foolish are you ! I bet you are still figuring how to pay your next rent while these artist you insulting are balling. One word for you though stop being bitter about people's success if not you will continue to struggle to pay your rent!

Jus listened to it nw....look Oga....ur jus hatin and analysing unnecessarily.....diaz in nuffin wrong about dat song....it doznt have to be perfect...it jus haz to remind u of d reason for singing it in the first place...Which is love:So quit tryin to get people read ur article by makin such accusations...In heaven evri1 will sing....dunno abt gud voices....bti knw it will be awesome

Fucking cynic. There is vacancy in other professions that could save u from this disgrace. They never meant for d song to be perfect, d dictate of d times occasioned it and d message was communicated. It's like u are looking for market and hoping for subscribers to your site, what u are selling though, ohn!, ohn!, We ain't buying

A very interesting fact about life is that it is easy to criticise than to create, I feel etceteras' point is that he feels bad not to have been part of the team and he feels like the only part to play is to point and Kill, but the fact is, he is only promoting the song more, so I say thank you for making us watch the song and enjoy it.... sometimes perfection isn't the target, an objective positive try might just be the aim...etc

Lol....jobless man

You are a good vocalist; this song isn't about displaying talents but passing a message. The message was passed. Stop destructive criticism and praise a genuine and purposeful attempt.

Sweetelixs said...

This is so right..jeezzzz kcee n seantizzle's part were so boring..i blame it all the producer..a Nigeria producer wld av done better

When did "igbotic" become the issue? ode

Thanks for making me download the song. its good. By the way, Like you rightly predicted, I LOVE IT. I think etc just wanted to hype the song somehow.

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Hahahahha

Thank God for South Africans in that song... I mean what were they thinking?

@its_korn said...

I agree with etc jor, the song was crap to the core. (-_-)

Mr Del Piero said...

At least we know him... Who are you??

Tom said...

Some fans are just pure asshole shit commentators. Nigerian music is below fair save the likes of darey; bez and others. Our telecoms sponsors kept promoting jargons in to our ears to nurture our misery and sell their products. KCEE shld go and play football.Harrysong is a song clown

Kaycee limpopo is that u? Pls learn how to sing. All ur songs are all wack.

lammies said...

A million likes!!!

WORD!!!

@queen_maggy said...

Please etc needs to be banned from talking and using social media... Excluding the positive impact it had in the world, the song was done by the best African musicians of that time

I no fit shout biko

Ikuku AmStrong said...

Well thanks to him, i'mma go look for the song ASAP

My goodness! First and foremost, tanx etc for making aware of this version! I tried my best not to be biased especially after reading your review but to say I was dazed is putting it mildly! The Nigerian artistes (with the exception of Praiz, Harrysong and Donjazzy) ruined it! Yemi Alade, Tiwa, Banky and Kcee being the major culprits! Kcee should never go close to a mic ever again! How these people ever thought they could successfully pull off an evergreen song (one of the greatest songs of all time) such as this is way beyond me! The South Africans almost saved the day but.....the Nigerian music industry was greatly exposed by this!

BrendaN

You must have a good hear for music! The artiste you mentioned would have changed the dynamics of the song. What was the producer thinking! Or did the Nigerian artistes aired pay to be included? Cos I can't comprehend why the worst of the bunch were chosen!

BrendaN

I dnt know what to say but im moved to want to listen to the song and confirm it again if ectera is right.

this etc guy is always awkward, though i don't have time to west on reading his crap

I had to go listen to the original version to flush out this from my head! I'm genuinely offended by this, why try something if you can't replicate or surpass the original. I love this song so much and it gets me so emotional but thanks to the African all stars who made a mess of it all. The artistes, producer and director should tender an apology for this insult! Did they see the calibre of artistes that made up the original? This song can never be surpassed or replicated ever! There was no effort made whatsoever but screams and bad tones. I must commend the South Africans though!

BrendaN

This fool is the most foolish person ever to have lived and am so concerned why he is Still alive.....all the artists that he is critizing are doing something with their lives.......the questn is 'what are you doing with yours'. BITCH

Harbie said...

This guy dey find cheap publicity make e go sleep..

Lol ect will not kilk me ooo

TUNDEJOHN said...

ETC is right

Good job ETC. This type of journalism is welcome wholeheartedly in any society. People should stop berating ETC. How are we going to elevate ourselves from mediocrity if we are not free to analyze and criticize as necessary. Simon Cowell made a career/fortune out of this type of journalism and society is better for it. This analysis was justified mainly because Nigeria particularly keep parading and promoting bathroom singers as international musicians. Nigeria need to sanitize its music industry, filter out the wannabes and encourage real talent so the world can take us seriously in that department.

Buzz off.

Etcetera, as much as I agreed with you that it's only few Nigerian artistes that are talented but the truth is you're not one of the few. You're quick to condemn others and you're not better. It's true that majority of us listen and enjoy the 'pangolo' more than the good music but the talented ones still hold sway. They might not command the fan base of the 'regular' artistes, or match their commercial success but it is known widely they are talented. Let me help you with some names Etcetera in case you don't know, Timi Dakolo, Bez Idakula, Asa, and some few others. Clearly you're not among the best. So, stop your useless castigating of other artistes.

Best article in recent times. Wow... My thoughts exactly. That song was murdered.

HOPE HE DID HIS RESEARCH WELL
COS I'M SURE MR. BANKOLE WELLINGTON WILL SOON COME FOR HIS ARSE AS HE DID WITH REUBEN ABATI

I QUITE AGREE WITH HIM THOUGH. YOU NEED TO LISTEN TO THE TWO SONG TO APPRECIATE HIS POINT.
I THINK WE'RE TOO FAST IN JUDGING ECSETRA COS HE HAPPENED TO BE A FAILED MUSICIAN TURN MUSIC-CRITIC

I think he has never bn spot on as he is on this article. It was a popularity contest rather than vocals. For goodness sake harrysong?? Tiwa??! Don Jazzy( whom I have mad love for but the truth must be said)?! Kcee??! Sean tizzle??! Haba! Unfortunately Banky didn't bring his A game so that leaves only Praiz saving the day.

Bros no be only u! I de find Timi dakolo, Tuface, Cobhams self, but I no see. If they were going to a perfectly similar rendition of a classic great song like this why didn't they thoroughly research our media and artist properly. Or why not just do a different version all together that goes with the current jollof trend of music? Most people calling it hating are either complacently tone deaf or were probably born in the era of wizkid and alomo music. that's why their orientation cannot connote Etcetera's point and perspective.

etc is a typical african not wanting to be african....just go bleaching if u tink everytin is wrong.

Oponu, Ode...U dey Naija dey find american style

Exactly my thought!! Bless you

Though I haven't read Etcetera's long epistle, I must say that the copy-cat 'We are the World' music video by Africa all stars was completely irrelevant to xenophobia. I mistakenly stumbled upon it on TV and it was pathetic and annoying; they should have composed their own song.

TWITS said...

sadist.

Coco Arielle said...

I totally agree with etcetra!

lol... ok lets review Execteras song.... o wait.. no one knows any of his songs... SHUT UP PUNK..YOU FAILED AS AN ARTIST!.. o and by the way... the original is as
monotonous as they come..

'bathroom singers'. LOL

my dear talk am well,i taught is only me that fine fault on it,other African countries did well more than Nigeria..Nigeria music industry should wake up

U are right

Which tiwa pliussz are u dat silly she can't sing hear her life always figetting and miming

When all d girls want to sound tiny voiced d original Tina turner sounds real whitbeys aunt real Diana Ross real cindy real all d Nigerian female artist fake auto tuned grow up guys u all sound alike like flies singing the southafrican's nailed it and praise helped banky wat happened,d producer would have suffered from too much fixing.Rip Micheal Jackson dis guys killed u again.

U lack knowledge of quality music sorry,u wish even children won't say dat pls don't disgrace Africa change it to artists we are d world.

PriME said...

First of all... Who is this dude?? .. Yes.. Kcee wasn't supposed to take that part of the song... but criticizing the whole production is not fair... Truthfully.. I think you know very little or nothing about music ... cos if you did you'd have noticed the likes of Yemi Alade, Praiz, Tiwa .... Don Jazzy and Praiz ... cmon..
You really should not hate on them .... Besides , last I checked you did not do well in the Industry.. So stop condemning people who are doing well... You should really think of what you are posting before you do ... I love the song... its not as good as the original thing... but am sure Micheal would be happy seeing what 'they" did with his song.. Oh.. Dude... You do not know what you are saying...