Dear LIB readers; if you suspect a baby isn't yours, how do you go about it? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 3 August 2015

Dear LIB readers; if you suspect a baby isn't yours, how do you go about it?

From a male LIB reader.
My girlfriend gave birth on July 3rd but I am convinced I am not the father of the child. For one, the boy looks nothing like me, and secondly, I didn't sleep with her nine months before the baby was born. We had sex in early September last year before I left for Germany and I didn't see or touch her till Christmas 2014. She gave birth July 3rd, ten months after we had sex. Isn't a woman's term of pregnancy just nine months? If she had given birth in June, I wouldn't have bothered but as it is, I have my suspicions but don't know how to say it to anyone in case I am wrong. What do I do?

320 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 320 of 320
GoldRay said...

Babes may delay @times my friend am a mother my first babe came ten months due to delay in maturity,pls don't say dat,u can still do a DNA test but pls learn how to trust her if not u leave her & go 4 sum1 u will learn 2 trust.

cheezy said...

Paternity test baba, but also you should consider how this is going to affect the child, remember this not only affects you and your girlfriend

You're stupid. Your girlfriend not even ur wife? Nonsense!!

Maslow said...

If the lady gave birth to the child in July 3rd which makes it 10months or approximately 11mth then the baby is probably yours as a woman can give birth from 7 to 12months.

For you to be satisfied you go for a DNA Test to clear your conscience.

Mr man some pregnancy last for 10 months b4 delivery.

MAMA IYABO said...

IF U SO DOUBT IT, GO FOR A PARTENITY TEST BUT DONT RULE OUT THE FACT THAT IN AS MUCH AS THE TERM FOR PREGNANCY IS NINE MONTHS, IT COULD BE 2WKS BEFORE EDD (EXPECTED DATE OF DELIVERY) OR 2WKS AFTER.
MEANING IF SHE WAS GIVEN AN LATE JUNE EDD, POSSIBLY, IT CAN ENTER THE NEXT MONTH (JULY.
HOPE I MADE A LITTLE SENSE SHAA

Lufizz said...

Poster it is ur kid.pregnancy is 10 months oooo

Mik said...

it's simple.....go for a DNA test! Don't be shy oo

U r just a silly man to base ur assumption on dat. If u were a good partner u would have know that pregnancy last 40/42 weeks which is actually 10 months. If u r so bothered get a DNA test

Then go for DNA test....

You are a fool Mr, u need to get ur self educated! Pregnancy is 40 weeks sometimes 42 weeks which is even more than 10 month.

tuffcookiey said...

Some babies can stay up to 10months in d womb.. some will even enter the eleventh month. I carried my first child for 10months b4 I gave birth after being induced. Its possible, u r the father... if u hv money, go for a dna test.. and stop thinking of putting the poor woman pains.

Dna nah Wetin u dey wait for? Anoda thing u can do is check genotype and blood group. Jst innocently suggest it to her. If things don't tally, escalate to dna test

Probably she was supposed to birth her baby in June and had delay till july

Very simple,be patient after the baby turn 3months then go for DNA test.

you must be an idiot.

first off how many weeks does it take for a woman to develop a baby fully? 40 weeks.

ask any doctor.

after her 40th week, the baby can come at any time (although some babies come prematurely). it can be a week or 2 after, and for some women they even have to induce them when the baby refuses to show.

i myself was a 10-month baby.

doesnt the baby look liek you in anyway? and note that their faces change over time. worst case scenario do a dna test. its not like its rocket science or something.

feel sorry for ur babe/wifey. u have major trust issues.

Foolish man don't u know a woman can stay up to ten months before giving birth that's how u go around labelling good women and calling them out for not sticking to one man pls pls leave this place you are not a man

Pregnancy is ranges btw 38-42 weeks. Lucky for you, the stone ages are long gone so a DNA test would do

A woman can still give birth 10months, but if u are nt convienced, u go for DNA test

Pregnancy is 40 weeks which is actually 10 months. So the child might be yours. A simple blood/DNA test can help you out.

andreawills said...

Go do a DNA test, my cousin had d same issue and later found out the baby wasn't his till ten years later

Oga,its 10months o,not 9, if u check it well..they even say it in the hospital when u go for ante-natal, if you still have doubts,go for a paternity test. And mind you,you cannot see your face in the child just yet,give it a little time,like 3months

pregnancy is technically 40 weeks and sometimes the pregnancy can be overdue by u to two weeks, i think the baby is his

andreawills said...

Go do a DNA test, my cousin had d same issue and later found out the baby wasn't his till ten years later

dna test is allowed

mercidion..... said...

Go for a DNA test... shikina

42 weeks is not nine months

Lol..... it's not ur baby

Start savin 4 DNA Test!

Confront her with d aforementioned facts. This is too critical to ignore or start looking for how to lace it with love before confrontation. Pls confront her angrily and d truth will come out.

simple go in for a DNA

Oga, don't go creating problems that do not exist for yourself. Except you have proof that your girlfriend was cheating on you at that time. A baby conceived in September is technically due in late June /early July. The pregnancy period lasts 40 weeks give or take 2 weeks. Meaning that whether she has the baby 2 weeks early in june, or 2 weeks later in july it is a normal occurrence.

Don't go raising dust if you don't have any other reason apart from the ones you've raised. That a child doesn't look like you in their first few weeks doesn't really mean anything. As they grow you begin to see the resemblance and sometime the resemblance isn't even physical, it could be character traits, mannerisms.

If you don't have any real reasons to doubt her, don't argue your child's paternity, women never forget things like this. If you must, whatever happens after it, (especially if it turns out that you're wrong) you caused for yourself.

Oga dat ur child biko, ur calculate 42 weeks

GO IN FOR A DNA

In response to d above, a woman's first pregnacy could last btw 9 - 11months, d baby might b yours who knows, but to b very certain i will advice u take a DNA test.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN JULY 3RD AND JUNE?? OBVIOUSLY YOU ARE IGNORANT ABOUT IT...PLS MEET A DOCTOR TO EDUCATE YOU MORE ON PREGNANCY

mrs Lade said...

women don't just give give birth at exactly 9 months, at exactly 9 months is usually too early. it's usually btw 40 to 42 weeks or earlier.

Yes its possible some babies are born late.@ 42 weeks which is about 10 months

moi said...

Go for dna test

It's possible you are the father. My Mum carried I and my siblings for 11plus months. Beside u could do an exclusion test i.e a blood group and genotype test for all three of you that way you can have an idea. Good luck

moi said...

Its notdifficult tell her, before doing a dna test because sge nay feel offended

It's possible you are the father. My Mum carried I and my siblings for 11plus months. Beside u could do an exclusion test i.e a blood group and genotype test for all three of you that way you can have an idea. Good luck

pregnancy is actually 10 months. but a baby can be born from 36 - 38 weeks (9 months). Pregnancy is 40 weeks Sir.

delphine said...

Get a dna. Test na, by d way not every woman gives birth after 9 month, some stay till even 11 until a labour is induced

keep ur suspension to urself until d child is sick n needs blood transfusion.. then u kno wat u are into.

DNA test now, haba!

Oga ur not serious,take d baby for paternity test nd confirm,if u have doubts about how long a baby stays in d womb go to ur mother for enquiry or even a doctor,a woman can give birth any moment from 36-42 weeks.it varies from one woman to another.june ko july ni

Your suspicion may be right by saying the boy doesn't look like you but where you said a woman's pregnancy is just nine month is very wrong because it's either two weeks before her due date or two weeks after her due date which means if she was two weeks after there is possibility to birth by July but in whichever case go for DNA shikena.

please confirm with your doctor before you make any mistakes. my elder sister was pregnant for 10 months and have to be operate on before entering the 11th month.

Oga i conceived November and my due date was in August.. its actually 40 weeks not 9 months

Women carry pregnancy for 40 weeks, which if u divide by 4 gives u 10 months. Secondly after that 4th weeks, some women still don't go into labour. They will be allowed to carry the pregnancy for another 10 to 12 days to see if labour will start naturally that's assuming the baby and mum is healthy. And if after this 12 more days nothing happens, then the medical team will have to induce the baby. And calculating from ur early September sex , I will say it checks out, except if there is any other thing with another man. Anyway my second boy doesn't look anything like me or my hubby when we had him. Don't really know who he looks like now. Also if you had asked all the right question and got all the right info during her antinatal and stuff thru out ur girl's pregnancy, u won't have all this thinking. Having said all that I understand what you might be going thru. So in think should find out for your own satisfaction because it might prevent u from loving your child and being there for her. Deep stuff like this one eats away at us without us knowing. So find out jow before its left for long. Am sure she can understand ur point of view if you were wrong.

Hope it helps

Chyachebe said...

Dear poster, a pregnancy last more than 9months, u should know at what week she gave birth, then calculate backwards. U can as well go for a DNA test. However, the baby must not look like u, he/she may take after the maternal side or even ur parents/ grand parents. And the baby's face keep changing so at one month it is difficult to be certain of who the baby looks like

Guy there are some women their pregnancies last 10 months, if you feel the child ain't urs then do a DNA test...that's the only way

I suggest u go for a DNA test.

Gosh, and you think this is where to bring this? Why not go to a hospital to get properly educated or better still Google is your friend to educate your stupid self. Pregnancy isn't exactly nine months, it's between 8-10 months. I already pity your wife for marry a man like you. You think it's 5he 1st day you sleep with her that the baby starts growing? Gosh. This is prob the most stupid post I've come across in a long while.

Simple just do a DNA

A woman's term is actually 9 months but not in all cases. I stayed 10 months in my mum's womb, my baby stayed 10 months as well. I had been scheduled for an operation since my baby wasn't forthcoming but a day to the operation date, labour stated and i gave birth the next day. So wait for some time and carry out a DNA to put your mind at peace.

Awwwwwwww. But u said if it had been June, u won't have been bothered. There rili is no difference btw June and July 3rd. A woman can go as long as 40weeks and dats like 10months. Mine was 36 weeks. So there might be no reason for doubt... 'Might'...

ada said...

I think the baby is yours, a woman must noot gv birth exactly nine months. Talking about not looking like u, I think the baby is too young to determine that. Don't abandon ur blood for mere suspicions except u have proof ur baby mama wasn't faithful then u can go for a DNA test.

My dear dat is not enough evidence as dere re some pregnancies that stay more than nine months like mine stayed 11months and was through normal delivery. ... good luck sha +only the mother of a child knows who the real father is , so I ll advice u talk to her abt your doubts.

Mr. True Talk said...

It is simply bro, do DNA without your wife knowing.

you are not serious. you are responsible for that pregnancy because July 3rd is a perfect time for her to give birth if you has sex early September. pregnancy takes at most 42weeks which is 2 weeks after nine month. Gosh i hope she realizes how foolish you are.

No baby its normally nine months but in some cases it comes at 8 months 2 weeks or two weeks after the due date

I should like ur comment

nnukwunwanyi said...

Mumu,the child is yours,....from early September to july,...is approximately 9months and 2weeks...which is accurate.....you wan run from responsibility abi?

some pregnancies say as long as 10 to 11 months

See as una (and many below) just finish the nigga career. Well, since he didn't ask of libers opinion before eating the apple, why ask now of their opinion??? Whether 80weeks sef, you better go see a doctor. Better still, chat with a doctor on www.hidoctor.com.ng

She may be a ho as many babes these days....but hos have to stick together.

Good job guys

Seduced by the doctor kwa?
Nawa o!

Induced....fish brain

Hahahahahahahaahaha, u so funny biko

And who told u every child looks like their parents??

Toks said...

This story sounds similar to the one i know and im wondering if this is the guy.
I know a lady who gave birth exactly in July 3rd but the guy she claims owns the baby have not come to see her ever since she gave birth but in this case the guy did not travel to Germany but to another state in Nigeria.

The twist is that this same lady was having an affair with another guy i know who claims to be the father of the child but the lady insisted that its the other guy who have not come to see the child that owns the baby.

Thank GOD fore DNA test and i would like this guy to reach me on goldencireclelink@yahoo.com as i have a strong feeling that this guy is a Yoruba guy and the lady in question is presumably a 23 year old Benin girl.

Your just been naive. Have u not heard of pregnancy overdue up to two weeks or more? Or early pregnancy? Please sometimes make research before u make accusation to avoid issues with someone. Be responsible and take charge of a lovely gift God has bless u with.

Mihearty said...

Am not a doctor

sparkle said...

visit the hospital for DNA

Fate Harry said...

Just like must people have said, the only sure way to prove your doubt is through DNA Paternity test.

It is unfortunate the increasingly rate of infidelity among couples these day, but knowing that one might be caught in ones net will help curtail its prevalence.

A friend of mine who noticed sudden attitudinal change from his wife decided to conduct a DNA paternity test on their three kids. It was shocking that two (2) of the three (3) kids are not from the man's blood. Hmmmmm, wonders keep happening.

You might find this contact helpful www.bodutechnology.com +234 8035466923 or +234 8039461596

Cheers!!!

U are such a bufoon. Go get a DNA test and stop saying rubbish.

@Anita gold, u just spoke my mind, na real ode talk.....mtchewwwwww.

DNA!

40 weeks is edd. Dat could be about 10months. Some the baby comes 2weeks before edd or 2weeks after. Which could be 42weeks.

Some pregnancy last for more than 9 month n some r not even up to that. U should be man enough to tell her how u feel then both of u can go for a test, this is for your peace of mind God help u that the child is yours she may not forgive u for not trusting her. So it is up to u. Pickin way person just born no dey look like anybody.

@poster, 9 months or 10 months, still d same tin. Some people hv over due pregnancy. It must not be exactly 9 months. Moreover 3rd july is still same as June. Pls get some sense. If u r not convinced go do DNA.

@Linda, u must not post anything dat comes ur way

IGNORANCE- A FULL TERM PREGNANCY IS 10 MONTHS - 40WEEKS. IF YOU STILL SUSPECT THE CHILD IS NOT YOURS THEN DO A DNA

Pregnancy lasts 10 months. Only when you have gone through it will you know. Mine for my first child lasted 43 weeks which if you divide by 4 is almost 11 months

T-Babe said...

Thank God someone finally said something knowledgeable. I don't know why people always think pregnancy is 9 months. After all, 40 weeks equal 10 months

T-Babe said...

Lol nice one...

T-Babe said...

Lmbo... nice one & thanks for setting the record straight with correct facts on pregnancy

Pregnancy last for 40weeks,shes just few days overdue.the baby is yours biko!!

Bunny said...

Ignorance is bliss! She gave birth 3rd of July, just few days from June and you're counting it as ten months? When was her expected date of delivery? Ask her that or check for the paper it was written on b4 you start embarrassing yourself

nneoma said...

Pls Linda from all I 've read there is every possibility d child is his. Babies re born 2wks b4 n 2wks after and d baby came in early July. Man d baby is urs

Apple Berry said...

Simple

Don't know why 9mths is generally accepted when its really ten months. Go do a test. This is not the kind of stuff you try to be nice about. It a big obligation.

you can use the babies saliva some pple even use the hair as DNA sample. just a tiny piece is suffucient.

Dear concerned Man, pregnancy is never 9 months. Pregnancy is due date is always 40weeks simply put 10 months as pregnancy is counted in weeks but to lame men or men in general, they say 9 months.
Also, it is not compulsory for the child to look like you the least bit plus babies keep changing and only take their definite look between ages 5 - 6years but change from time to time before those years.
However, it is advisable for you to go and carry out DNA testing in order to clear all these your doubts.

U re very senseless nd heartless, must u comment? He shud send her out of his house? What if d child Is his? People like u nai dey give girls belle deny dem at d end of d day. Nonsense

Toks said...

This story sounds familiar to a case i know between Yoruba guy and a 23 year old benin girl who leaves somewhere around Egan.

The lady gave birth exactly july 3rd last month and the guy is not in lagos at the moment but did not travel to Germany tho but within Nigeria.

I sens ethe lady is also having a fling with someone i know so if the guy is who i think he is,he can mail me on goldencireclelink@yahoo.com

Nevertheless even if the lady cheated on him,a DNA test is stil the way to go so that the paternity of the child can be ascertained.

my mum carried me upto 11 mnths before i was born...just because she had a miscariage when she was pregnant but baby couldnt leave completely..so baby was trying to build up some tissues she lost then, that was why i was carried upto 11mnths before i was born..so my dear,it is very possible for a woman to carry her baby more than 9mnths...if you are suspecting then go for DNA...Case Close!Goodluck.

Induced not seduced!

Oma said...

Lol.guy do paternity test na.you never can tell so don't deny your child

The 1st question to ask you is, are you guys married, if so remember you do not have right to remarry so I would say carry on with the DNA and if confirmed you are not the father seek God face to forgive her and move on. Its hard to take though!

Mr man ...just go for a DNA test..it is not a big deal...its only in nigeria that paternity questions seem a big deal...whether you are married to her on not and whether she is your gf or you slept with her centuries ago doesnt matter. Once there is a reason for doubt and suspicion, the only way to clarify is Simply through DNA. Spare yourself the mental tortue.

Omg!
You're so stupid and senseless!
Goshhh!
Your English suck!

Dis 1 na real moron...as foolish as d writer. Lmao. Quarried kwa...pig

mary nwa mama said...

there is something they call post due date, when a baby doesn't come up till 42 weeks, sometimes doctors will have to induce the woman for the baby to come if baby is not showing any sigh of coming out, so 10 months is nothing to worry about. if you are in doubt go for a DNA, this is 2015.

MAY BE UR SON IS A GENIUS. ALBERT EINSTEIN WAS BORN AFTER 10 MONTHS

Thanks joor. The baby is urs so no run wen in Sept did u sleep wit her?

Olive blessing dats just stupid

pregnancy is actually 10 months. you can do a dna test just to be sure.

Mumu....real ode.

My candid advise is for you to get DNA test. Using months does not work because some women experience prolonged pregnancy. I carried all my three pregnancies for 43 weeks, how many months is that? DNA is the way to go dear.

Looks very likely you're the baby daddy. Anyway to clear any doubt go to Path care laboratory if you're in lagos to make enquiries about paternity testing. They have branches in VI,ikeja and LUTH

OMO!!! you have to trust your babe, unless she was cheating on you before you traveled to Germany..... but i guess the baby is yours..cheers!!!

Mumu. Gestational age is 10 months. I had my two kids at 40 wks. Abi u no wan father d baby? Ode, the baby is urs. July 3rd is in place as some pregnancies are overdue. Some even get induced eventually. I hope ur gf is not aware of ur doubts, as this will affect her psychologically. It might even ruin d relationship if u do a DNA and find out d baby is urs. Tread carefully, this is a delicate issue

She gave birth 3rd July meaning sh was delayed... She didn't give birth after 10months cos it's early July, som babies delay while doctors use hot drip to induce 2weeks after ur suppose delivery date... So I tink it's ur baby unless d woman met wit som1 else d exact period of time she met wit u...

uncleval said...

Ode why dont u calculate what a full term pregnancy is trust me its 40 weeks and see if thats 9 or 10 months .....my ode friend full term pregnancy is 10 months and by the way havent u heard of what they call DNA?????Goat wen u dey cain e dey sweet u now u wan run ...

dessymal said...

I will...
Treat the baby well like RUSSELL WILSON, make the biological dad jealous like FUTURE and cherish my girlfriend like CIARA...
#runsaway

dessymal said...

DYA test???
Tell me about it

DNA test.

Bros there is nothing like terms of pregnancy Ok. Some babies do stay between 9 and 12 months as the case may be. So if you are not sure you can have a paternity test done between you and the baby. But If you are sure you had sex with her without protection, be it beginning or end of September 2014 then that baby is for sure yours because she had the baby just first week of July 2015 even if it's July ending it's still Ok because that is when that baby wants to come out. as for the fact that the baby does not look like you, let him grow up then you can know for sure if there is no resemblance at all. However he may decide to look more like the mother as you were not always around her during the pregnancy.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 320 of 320   Newer› Newest»