Cultural appropriation - White girl posts a photo of her braids with an apology | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 August 2015

Cultural appropriation - White girl posts a photo of her braids with an apology

This is what she tweeted as she shared a photo of herself in braids in Barbados...and she got really positive responses

Cultural appropriation according to Wikipedia "is the adoption or use of elements of one culture by a member or members of a different culture"

The girl probably apologized in order to avoid a backlash from Black twitter. Some white girls have been previously attacked online by Black twitter for wearing braids and corn-rows because, according to them; braids are part of black culture and therefore should not be worn by whites.

But her apology was unnecessary as no black was offended by it.

89 comments:

Is not bad on her.... I love it.

Braids shouldn't be worn by whites? Then should black girls rip off their extensions and silky weaves?

Who says it looks better on black girls??? Braids would look good on anybody biko. Depending on the shape of the Head. Linda take note!

But its the truth..she looks like.an albino this way... it's so funny that blacks always tend to emulate the white folks lifestyle but it never goes vice versa!

Who says it looks better on black girls??? Braids would look good on anybody biko. Depending on the shape of the Head. Linda take note!

Quiny said...

It looks gud on her

Looks good on her though, nice one.

Awww! Blacks can be so insecure atimes and they end up being the ones guilty of discrimination.
BTW it looks good on her.

We blacks sha, and our level of stupidity. why should we attack the whites, for using things that belong to our culture? Meaning every time, we wear the trouser, skirts, shirts, suits, ties, shoes, anytime we use the cups, spoons, anytime we drive the cars, ride the bikes, anytime we use the mobile phones and any other thing, that originates from the western world, we should apologise. atleast she has courtesy, she used our material for the first time, she apologised, we that have been using theirs for decades, when have we ever apologised? yeye!!

Hmmmm! Ok

She knows what might cook up.. so she had to take precautions. Phil 4:13

Abi o

Does not make sense to me.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Amaka.u.l said...

Hmmm,ok.no p.

She looks good

Joblesshousewife said...

lol imagine

Looks good on her

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

twalelive said...

k

OLAMZ said...

calm down linda... maybe the apology cooled their temper... she just played safe which is absolutely normal... she still get sense

Don't owe anyone any apology baby. Looks good on you. Love you sweetie.

You're wrong, Linda. They're not attacking whites for wearing styles most common among blacks. Amandla Stenberg explains it best for you: "Cultural appropriation occurs when a style leads to racist generalizations or stereotypes WHERE IT ORIGINATED but is deemed as high-fashion, cool or funny when the privileged take it for themselves.” In other words, it's cool on whites but ugly on blacks. For example, faux locs were cool and edgie on Kylie but ugly on Zendaya. JLo's big butt is a wonder but disgusting on black women. Cornrows, which are indigenous to Africa, became the gorgeous Bo Derek braids when worn by white actress Bo Derek in the 70's but unacceptable on Africans.

Blacks especially the African Americans dem Ne the most hypocritical racist for the world. The hair extensions, bleaching cream ( Abi toning as them dey call am to deceive themselves) the hair straightening is all white, yet no white don complain.

She looks so cute

it looks good on her tho

It looks gud on her though no doubt.....

Well we should be happy is playing by our culture too!

Okay that's nice

Ok,cool. She looks nice

That's a poor explanation of what cultural appropriation is. Cultural appropriation is when one culture adopts a foreign culture and then does not acknowledge the source or attempts to smudge out the source and claim the adopted culture as their own. I also think people need to understand that in the west these features that whites are currently adopting were made fun in the past but because these hairstyles or big lips and round butts are now in....when found on a white woman it is highly offensive.

I like...it suits her much!

But black women wears weavon, wig and even tune their body in order to look like the whites. Well, I don't see anything wrong in a black woman wearing braids or even dress in our cultural attire cos we do wear theirs

She looks good,whatever rocks her boat.

No need for the apology...looks good on her tho...

Linda, which one is black twitter again?

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

Yes it looks better on Blacks and am proud to be black. Black is not just color it attitude.

She looks great with the braids

Amy said...

Afterall we fix their hairs. Suits her btw.

NONSENCE, Who come tell u say na some ppl culture....it is a normal style for everyboby.

Unnecessary yeah?? How about d fact that, mayb no Black was offended cos she apologized b4 hand?? Blacks just have serious issues. As if they dont copy the Whites by wearing long weavons. Imagine every white person picking an offense everytime they see Blacks with their 'type' of hair? Nonsense

Never mind lady you look very beautiful it fits you very well

B. V. Jerry said...

Can you blame her? Black girls are normally offended by every single thing There's, in this world.

Well, looks good on her.

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Mydear it look very good on u 2. U are beautiful

Lol! She. Already knws d blacks r aye! So she wanted to juba! Lmao

It looks good on u too.. So keep on rocking it. Black is beautiful.. If only Blacks will let complex stop tormenting them..

Timi Da Uyi said...

IG they werent offended cos she apologised before hand. smart move if you ask me

and by the way, she kinda resemble linda

Golda Awosika said...

Nice move. Apologize bfor black mouths descend on u

She looks like linda

Awww. Love her already.
I'm going to follow her.
Black people ehn...The fear of una...

WELLD MANERD SPEECH,.....TOMJERRYSWIT

Do white and Asian people disturb black people for all the nonsense hair we buy? No! They are happy because they make money from producing the hair.

Instead of black people to market braids and encourage black women to make money off it, they are busy claiming title.

If she was kylie or a Miley Cyrus or a celeb,stupid jobless black twitter will go after her.

I'm tired of our lazy asses choosing when to adopt what?

should black girls also apologise when they wear brazilian weave? this is why no one wants you

Nky said...

Next

She should see it as cultural donation and it actually looks better on her.

Wow! D hairstyle looks good and nice on her. She looks gracious and lovely. Thumbs up to her!

You have nothing to apologise for. Black girls go around with Brazilian hair, etc so if braids rock your world, please feel free to enjoy it.

We blacks sf gt prob, na our head she take carry am?

Ok seen

INK_HER said...

Well na her cup of Burukutu

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Omg some peopl care a lot what others think. You look good and you owe nobody any explanation jare

Yh,dey shuldn't b ny apology

Mihearty said...

It looks good on you more. Ode!

It looks nice on her too.

Lol sister gal..u dnt want the angry blacks all up in ur ass..u try

thuraya said...

Is this supposed to be news?

Black should go take a back sit joor, we wear lots of westernised cloths cars, hairs etc but the moment white gal braids all hell will break lose.

"It actually looks better on her"?I can see you are just another white people' azz licker. You sound ridiculous as hell. Yeah, it looks good on her, but to say it looks better on her just shows you got your ugly head far up white people's butt! Foolishness

So what about fake straight hair worn by the millions of blacks everywhere?

Wow! D hairstyle looks good and nice on her. She looks gracious and lovely. Thumbs up to her and more power to her elbows!

For you idiots saying blacks wear items common to whites, the difference is it's done by blacks for assimilation's sake. "Graduating" to adopt whiteness is always seen as a step up. But when whites reach out and take something particular to blacks, they want to do it without giving credit. It's like they are doing it sneakily, making sure that blacks do not get credit for their beauty standard. We want credit and acknowledgement, sharing without thieving. It boosts black self esteem when we're told ours is attractive and someone else wants to try it. Don't put it on you and say it only looks good on you, putting me down while taking what's mine.

Mumu.

blacks are the worst racist,they always want to play the victim,always enmeshed in their deep hatred for any other colour.

Blacks should start apologising for wearing Brazillian, Peruvian, Malaysian, Indian hair. Pointless

Black american women should take a chill pill. Everybody somehow adopts elements of another cultures style with no ulterior motive hard as that may be for black american women to believe!!!!!!
I think they should stop being petty about things that really dont matter and channel the energy into encouraging and supporting their children to study hard, be super ambitious and do well in school, to go to College and excel. To get into government and Corporate America and hollywood and to begin to make a bigger impact in all these sectors thereby changing the face and attitudes of America. Just like Nigerian mothers do. Who wears what hairstyle is so low on the scale of priorities. Really.

No part of this "fashion" may be reproduced, stored in any form or shape, except with prior permission from the COPYRIGHT OWNERS.

How very hypocritical! Black women wear hair extensions, wigs, use relaxers and wear eye contacts and give white girls grief for plaiting their hair?! Really!!!

Brenda lee said...

Abeg it doesn't look good. All her front hair don chop finish. NEXT...

Stereotype

One can have multiple priorities. Someone can have a discussion on cultural appropriation without cheating their kids out of quality time.

Hmm, oya deprecate urself, belittle & castigate urself 2 defend a white girl 2 show u r not racist. Mumu, /w all these multiple posts & stupid 'Linda take note'
U better behave urself o.

No black girl was offended by it because she apologised from the start, not that no black girl was offended by it period. Linda, please try to think in a more holistic way. Some of your thoughts on articles are quite simple-minded

It fits her