Contractor sues FG over Jonathan’s N9.2bn stoves | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 August 2015

Contractor sues FG over Jonathan’s N9.2bn stoves

A contractor handling the N9.2billion worth of clean cook stoves and wonder bags awarded by the administration of former President, Goodluck Jonathan has sued the Federal Government.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Fatima Mede, revealed this to State House correspondents on Tuesday shortly after briefing President Muhammadu Buhari of the ministry’s activities inside the Presidential Villa, Abuja.
Mede said the contractor approached the court to order the government not to terminate the contract following the emergence of a new administration.
ADVERTISEMENT
The Jonathan-led Federal Executive Council had on November 26, 2014 approved N9.2billion inclusive of Value Added Tax for the procurement of 750,000 units of clean cook stoves and 18,000 wonder bags.

The contract was awarded to Messrs Integra Renewable Energy Services Limited and there have been several calls on the present administration to terminate the contract.

Confirming the legal action, Mede said the ministry had briefed the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation on the development.
She said the government would appear before the court to argue its case, however, she did not say if there were plans to terminate the contract.
She said
“The matter is in court right now, so there is a limit to how I can talk about the issue of cooking stoves.
“The contractor took government to court asking the court to grant an injunction for government not to terminate the contract.
“We will go there and argue our case, the government will go, we have briefed the Attorney General’s office.
“We will present our case on the issue that led to the contractor taking us to court, it will be explained and the court will decide.”
Mede said during her team’s meeting with Buhari, the President raised concerns over environmental degradation in the country.
She said the President was aware that the sustainability of the country would depend on how well the environment was managed and that the rate of desertification and afforestation in the country was alarming. Stating that over 43 per cent of Nigerians were affected by the effect of desertification.

The Permanent Secretary also pointed to the conflict between the herdsmen and farmers because of forced migration.
She said the President had directed that to reduce the rate at which wood was being cut down for cooking, the ministry should consider promoting the use of LPG especially in the cities.

Punch

35 comments:

Stoves for 9.2billiion? I wonder who they are buying the stoves for.

Wordless over the matter of nigeria and there fraud.

I wonder the kind of stoves GEJ administration wanted to use a whooping sum 9.2billion to procure. What a shameful way of siphoning our monies

That was one of the biggest sham of that administration

Na to review the terms of the contract cos a new leadership has assumed power. Linda take note!

Ok nah

Dey had better terminate it o cos we v better tins 2 do wt our money dan buying yeye stoves dat won't gt 2 common men

Ortus said...

Hmmm.........stove of all cooking equipments; nawa ooo, baba buhari, pls kindly terminate ds contract ASAP. Dem even get mind to sue d govt.......tufiapa!

Lol.. That company don collect loan for the work and make then no terminate the contract.

Jona Jona,lolz.

Am just happy that man wasnt our president again though....

D cotract should b terminated wit immediate effect...

Wht d hell wit d waste of our financial resources in d name for purchase of stoves when we need far better pressing tins in d country.

Termina8t the shitty contract.

Hahahhahaahaha dese pple are clowns, that contract is so over,make dem just forget am

I support d termination of d contract....

The contract sum is outrageous and unreasonable way to better the lives of individual's when there are more pressing issues. I won't blame the present government if they terminate it but then it's has already been awarded and the contractor in-charge may have settled and deducted out of the contract sum (Maybe paid 50%) and must have gotten to a reasonable completion of the Project. Terminating the contract is a huge loss for Messers.

ok

What a waste of money.

WHO STILL USES STOVE AND KEROSINE AT THIS DAY AND AGE? IF YOU REALLY WANT TO HELP THE RURAL WOMEN, YOU SHOULD BUY THEM SEWING MACHINES TO LEARN SEWING. YOU CANNOT FIGHT THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT. YOU CANNOT TAKE THEM TO COURT AND WIN. THAT CONTRACTOR IS A THIEF. A WHOLE N9.2B NA U WAN CHOP. IDIOT!

Liars just trying to spoil GEJ administration, God punish all of una, nonsense

EVEN IF THE CONTRACT HAS BEEN NAILED ON STANDARD GRANDS, AND REVALUATION REVEAL PRICE INFLATION ( AN ACT OF DEFRAUDING THE GOVERNMENT ). THEN SUCH CONTRACT CAN BE REVIEWD OR TERMINATED WITH OR WITHOUT COMPENSATION.

THE PRESISENT HAS A FINAL DECISION. CASE CAN ROLL IN THE INTEREST OF THE NATION AGAINST THAT OF A PERSON ( ONE INDIVIDUAL ).

liz swt 16 said...

Pple no d fear God oo 9.2 BILLION on stoves n bags lol. If buhari dsnt terminate it, I wil terminate it myself haba! Y not use d money to build hospitals, schools, roads, portable water etc dat ds rural dwellers rily need? Ds country eh

How can they approve wonder bag??? Wonder bag is prohibited in this country bcz the material used in d production is poisonous now.

Miss Eby’s blog said...

GEJ's Administration was just a total shame and disgrace. Who in their right mind would ever approve a stupid stove contract of 9.2b naira. Ma ka what nau? Expecially when he knew he was leaving soon. And y didn't he now pay the guy. If i were PMB, i will just dissolve the stupid contract. When there are more important things going wrong in the contry. The contractor knows it is just fraudulent escapade, that is y he is already going to court when the FG has not even said anything about it. idiot.

Who GEj help .

Thank God we have got a new government . Jona wan finish Nigeria for us

Chop Chop said...

I'm roasting here and these people just dey collect collect. Na wa oo

Tochi Paul said...

And after that...

#Dankwata

sexy Cha Cha said...

The contractor is so afraid to vommit the one he has eaten. Pls Baba dis contract should be terminated with immediate effect and EFCC should go after those thief.

Kachi said...

What rubbish? When workers are still being owed? I don't blame those that want to hang GEJ for financial recklessness. And to think he approved this in the dying days of his administration is even more irritating.

Folakemi said...

That is enough money to build the entire stove manufacturing factory!!