California police drag man out of the way of an oncoming train | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

California police drag man out of the way of an oncoming train

Two police officers saved a man from being hit from an oncoming train and the dramatic rescue was all caught on video.
Dep. Lance Whitted, from the San Mateo County Sheriff’s office, pulled a driver to safety Monday night, just seconds before a commuter train came down the tracks in Sunnyvale, California.
His partner, Dep. Erik Rueppel, tried to buy Whitted more time as he waved for the oncoming train to slow down.

“This is what we’re trained to do,” Whitted said. “Luckily, we were at the right place at the right time.”
The driver of the car had crashed into a pole and onto the tracks as the train was coming. The dramatic video shows him falling down seconds before the train crashes into his car left on the tracks

“I don’t think there was time to be scared. You just do things as safe as you can, respond and that’s it. It kind of just happens,” Rueppel said.

Caltrain, the operators of the train, also tweeted their thanks to the department
The driver had minor injuries.

ABC News

30 comments:

Thank God!

So kind of them...

Dollar Tree said...

Nice job & thank God

Good for them.

God bless you for risking your life to save a stranger

Heroes!

Good jab guys

Kudos to them!! I wish naija police can do the same.

Hmm naija police will ask for bribe first before saving your life

Good job guys

Apple Berry said...

Hey. We are shouting out from here too! Big shout out to u.

Thats nice....

Thank goodness

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Thank God they didn't shoot this time...

Am sure nigeria useless police are seeing this because if it were them they we rather chase the man under the train.
Kudos to california police

That's great.

Brave minds. Kudos

Mihearty said...

Thank God

INK_HER said...

Such happiness when you save a life!

LindaEggplant

Lucky him....

If na our Naija police, na beat them go dey beat am instead

If na naija police OYO is ur case... as a mata of fact, dem for com arrest som people from d scene after d train don kill d man..

Wow! Indeed thank God the officer was@d right place@d right time if not dis wil not b d story we wil b reading. Lord pls save us frm tragic accidents and utimely deaths.

Testimony time!!!

Tochi Paul said...

Cool...

#Dankwata

Wow! Indeed thank God the officer was@d right place@d right time if not dis wil not b d story we wil b reading. Lord pls save us frm tragic accidents and utimely deaths.

If it was Nigeria police, they will take bribe of him instead, happens along all rail line crossing in lagos, from yaba to agege, all they want is 5k

MSTAR said...

Dis is what nigeria police shud b train nd decipline 2 do..not trained 2 collect bribe at any slightest oportunity....GOD HELP NIGERIA

MSTAR said...

Dis is what nigeria police shud b train nd decipline 2 do..not trained 2 collect bribe at any slightest oportunity....GOD HELP NIGERIA