Amazing! Dad reads story on LIB, swings into action & saves his children | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 3 August 2015

Amazing! Dad reads story on LIB, swings into action & saves his children

Yesterday August 2nd, I published a story about a 4 year old boy who died after inhaling cinnamon powder. (read here) A LIB dad read the story and what follows next gladdens my heart. Read his emails to me to understand the story. I have his permission to share this so other parents can learn...
Hello Linda, my name is Olaniyi Olalemi, I work for one of the Banks in Lagos. I'm one of you ardent readers and it wasn't a coincidence that I read the sad story below on your blog. Reading the story I could relate with it as I have three boys of ages 2, 5 and 7 who had been in contact with kitchen cabinet substance during the past week and one of them who's five years old was taken to Budo Specialist Hospital Ajah, Lagos in the early hours of Saturday, August 1st, as he was coughing endlessly and I felt it wasn't normal.
Investigation at the hospital showed that he was having difficulty in breathing as a result of exposure to dust or something similar since he's not asthmatic and so they gave him injections and some drugs to take home after using nebuliser on him as shown in the picture. Apparently, I took the picture and sent to my wife who's currently out of the Country. 
The seven years old had also complained of breath seizure during the night of 30th July but told me he was fine in the morning of 31st July, but he's beginning to show some signs his younger brother manifested earlier, but I am not leaving anything to chances as we are on our way to the hospital already to properly the two and the seven years as they have started coughing as well. They all had contact with the dry pepper like substance, 'Pure Ground Cinnamon'. I never knew something I'm holding right now was in my kitchen, anyway I guessed I'm not supposed to know.
Coincidentally, the kitchen cabinet substance my nephew told me my three children were playing with during last week that he had to collect from them was this same Cinnamon powder which we all did not realise until we read the sad story below.
Thank God they did not eat it and only inhaled it probably. Please let Parents get their kitchen rid of this killer substance or keep them out of reach of Children if you must have them at home.
Image 1. The 5 years old picture during his birthday on July 5th.
Image 2. The 5 years old picture at the hospital yesterday morning 
Image 3. 'The Pure Ground Cinnamon Powder they had contact with.
Then he sends me an update
Linda! Thank God I read this today. Investigation at the hospital just confirmed that they are already reacting to the cinnamon powder o. I can't believe this, it was the victim's story you published that made me bring the other two boys to the hospital same hospital right now,  I took their coughs for granted. They are about nebulizing them now.

God forbid, we would have lost three children just like that to carelessness.

The 7, 5 and 2 years old are Kola Benjamin Olalemi, Korede Reuben Olalemi and Kayode Curtis Olalemi respectively.
Thank you for prompting me yesterday. The two attached images are of Kola and Kayode receiving treatment at the hospital yesterday. The three boys are recuperating

So happy about this story. So happy for this family!

120 comments:

Tnk God

Joblesshousewife said...

Touching...

Aww God is so great, quick recovery.

Such an amazing father....

Ladybird banks.birdlover said...

Thanks to God...

Happu for u

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda daughter of mazi ikeji I greet u both cinamon power or cinamon dis or dat or Maggi or pepper or any form of pepper in my kitchen I don pack am throw way even uziza I throw way am oo bfor man pikin go die

Hmmmm tnk God 4 dem

*lib's namesake*

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

AWwwww
Am so elated!

Thank God....LIB touching lives

Mind Treasures said...

Wow! Parents dont take any information regarding children safety forgranted

God is so wonderful

I am Coonett

Oh! Thank you Jesus oooooh!

Linda, this is confirmed. dese are ma fiends children (anthonia). she just lost her dad. God, i tank u so much oooooooo. God forbid bad tin. cinnamon or wereva, God pass una oooooooo! lollllllll

God is using ur blogs to save lives, I'm happy for d man and his family. Dave

Thats why information is power

Thank God for saving your children.

God is good. Knowledge is power. Kudos Linda.

Thanks God for the children's life

Wow! Thank God for his mercy and luv if not it wil not b dis story we wil b reading...

Thumbs up and more power to ur elbows Linda for d story u published if not dis father wouldn't havb educated on dis issue.

So happy for them, see why its good to read posts here to be informed and make thoughtful contributions.
Viva LIB.

treasures ( new dawn����) said...

See cute kids,love them.u will know no sorrow over them in Jesus mighty name

Very anonymous said...

We bless God for this divine orchestration

Thank God ooo. God bless u linda

Thank God for saving those children, wetin person for talk. We learn everyday. Linda take note!

Nna linda yu just save a life nobi lie i swear.....

Wow..that's great

we thank God. Linda thank you for ur wonderful job

Thank God for their lives...

THNK GOD FOR HIM...TOMJERRYSWIT

Emmanuel O, said...

A small minority of people may be allergic to Cinnamon, even if they have consumed it previously without any ill effects. The symptoms usually include a runny nose, watery eyes or soreness of the eyes, shortness of breadth (usually by smelling Cinnamon Oil), upset stomach, facial or hand swelling, anaphylactic shock (unusual heartbeat, dizziness, confusion, dizziness, sudden drop in blood pressure) and nausea.

Most of the times Cinnamon allergies are not life threatening. While it is the adults who get most Cinnamon allergies, young children especially infants and toddlers may develop a reaction, sometimes through the mother consuming Cinnamon. If you suspect a Cinnamon allergy stop consuming Cinnamon and remove all traces of it from the house. Cinnamon is in many food items, so make sure anything you consume does not contain Cinnamon, especially Cassia Cinnamon. Any allergy test should establish which Cinnamon you are allergic to, so proper treatment can be affected.

Emmanuel O, said...

A small minority of people may be allergic to Cinnamon, even if they have consumed it previously without any ill effects. The symptoms usually include a runny nose, watery eyes or soreness of the eyes, shortness of breadth (usually by smelling Cinnamon Oil), upset stomach, facial or hand swelling, anaphylactic shock (unusual heartbeat, dizziness, confusion, dizziness, sudden drop in blood pressure) and nausea.

Most of the times Cinnamon allergies are not life threatening. While it is the adults who get most Cinnamon allergies, young children especially infants and toddlers may develop a reaction, sometimes through the mother consuming Cinnamon. If you suspect a Cinnamon allergy stop consuming Cinnamon and remove all traces of it from the house. Cinnamon is in many food items, so make sure anything you consume does not contain Cinnamon, especially Cassia Cinnamon. Any allergy test should establish which Cinnamon you are allergic to, so proper treatment can be affected.

Thank God for saving the boys. Linda God is using you to save lives now.

Flutter said...

Wow. Positive impact of your post save these children. I am happy for these kids. Thank God the man is so observant. Very rare. He is truly a father.

pure inspirations said...

Thank God!

Linda, you are doing an awesome work here.. Never Retire!!!

Thank God for Linda Ikejis blog

seyi crown said...

Thank God 4 ur information ooo Linda...God forbid make person lost 3chilldren like dat..

We thank God.

KCE said...

Linda Ikeji saving lives....lol. Nice one

OK

Godwin

herbsng loading said...

While Cinnamon is enjoying its bad publicity.
Please do a google search to see how powerful this herb can be in the treatment /management of diabetes and other ailments ....the sticks not the powder(the powder in minute quantities) can be infused in hot water and drunk to reduce blood sugar.....
That said the Kitchen cabinent should be a no go area for kids

Nice!

Thank God for them
Life will be soi much easier if we cook naturally
Buy fresh or dried and then grind
Most of these condiments are preserved with Chemicals that are toxic to air
It is well

Oh wow! I actually threw mine away yesterday. Afterall i haven't used it in a long while. My kids first biko. I can't shout.

God I almost shedded tears reading this. Tank God n Tnx Linda

Let's start taking allergies seriously in Nigeria.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

I don't understand this whole thing, is it a substance for cooking or what?

Wow so touching, this is the kind of impact we want LIB to have on readers. Linda saving lives since 1800

opiro said...

God bless you Linda! You see that your blog is more than just a gossip site...its a life saver...keep up the work! Bless you.

Killer substance? Oga don't be stupid. Cinnamon has always been a spice used in both cooking and baking since time immemorial. Why should your kids have access to the kitchen cabinets without supervision? You are the careless one here. So if your wife no dey house na so una pikin for just go like that. Incompetent fathers everywhere!

Good move...

So happy for them too,thank You Jesus,thank You Lord.
Linda look alike

PATTY said...

thank God, i will be more careful

Thank Go

Wow!

Kudos to you Linda

Wow!

Kudos to you Linda

May evil eye never go before our children

Thank God for their lives!!

Thank God o

Golda Awosika said...

Wow, thank God he read it

Bamidele said...

Linda,you have touched and helped so many people..More than you know it..it's not just about the money and gifts u give out,u have saved so many lives..God bless u Linda..God bless u.

Thank God.

Knowledge is power I tell you. Nigerians should read more and not concentrate on gossip stories only. The internet is full of so many resources. Thank God for this family and well done Linda

Happy For Them!!.....God will perfect their Healing!

Tochi Paul said...

Our God is good, both now and always...
God bless you Lynda for the update yesterday...
Daady relax your sons will fine, or rather they are fine already.
God bless you Lynday. Happy new week.

#Dankwata

Gmiimy said...

Thank GOD ooo...

Wow,who said reading LIB is a waste of time. Wish d children quick recovery, thumbs up for Linda.

Hmmm I better warn my roommate n her sister way dey use all dis spices at home wit dere kids

prettyadroit said...

dats small boy's head tho

Thank God we have LIB.

Thank you Jesus.

So happy 4 dem mysef,linda kudos to you God is serusly using to save lives n destiny as well #Iratherbeselfmade

Linda you are the best, your touch so many lives

Nice one Linda. We give God all the glory.

We should always set a limit for our children, cinnamon is not poisonous but is not for inhaling. If you inhale dry pepper what will happen to you. So that is what happen. It is because they inhale it.

EJ said...

I thank God for your family, this man was truely resilient. I would like to advise parents to keep their kitchen closed when its not in use. Even when you have put your spices and knives in a safe place, an active and inquisitive child would find a way to get to them. Its best to keep the kitchen locked. Also put away toilet cleaning agents. Be vigilant and pay attention to what your kids play with. Something you see as harmless could be very harmful to your child. Teach them to play gently, show them what could be harmful to them and explain to them properly, they always want to know why. Above all, be mindful of the kind of tv shows your kids watch - ben 10 for example and pray for Gods guidance, protection and wisdom. May God help us all, amen.

Thank God for their lives.

Mummy Prince said...

Thank God for this family and thank you also Linda for passing useful information through your blog. It is good to read and to put positive info gathered into practice when time arises. May those children fulfill their destinies IJN.

Bonny V.I said...

I'm happy for the family but very happy for you Linda because you are touching so many lives than you know. God bless those lovely kids

Thank God o

This is lovely @ least Linda has saved lives

Linda, you no dey post one comment

U're d oponu person here... dee

Jesus saves..

His kids are about having asthma, nor be cinnamon cause am. Dey there dey deceive yourself say na cinnamon dey cause all d breathing problems for ur kids. Ekpa ozubu!!

Jesus! Dis boy now I know....bush boy! Kai! Pls u shud be hiding under table by now.

Hmm! Soon as I read the other story about the kid that died frm cinnamon asphyxiation, I promptly hid my own n warned my househelp never to use it without my permission. Thank God for the Olalemi's, we would have been telling a different story by now.

Happy for them....

That's why its good to read posts, whether junk or not. Only God knows what would have happened if not for what the man read on LIB....it is well. God bless u Lindiway, continue to do what u do best.

amakandidi said...

father God thank You for those kids life, You're God indeed.

Keep out of reach of children not throw away. It has health benefits. Its not dangerous. Only wen u swallow RAW in large quantities. Cos its powdery it can block something. But its nutritious in food.

U are just funny

Thank God oooo. Stikk saw these kids some days ago.

Thank God for his prompt interference

Indeed, he's an amazing father, thank God for this family

Lolz

Mihearty said...

Thank God for them

Wow! Thank God for his mercy and luv if not it wil not b dis story we wil b reading...

Thumbs up and more power to ur elbows Linda for d story u published if not dis father wouldn't havb educated on dis issue.

Thank You Jesus

U r d bigger oponu. Idiot!

Hmmmmmm#deepbreath
Incredible!!!
Thank God for them
...NA ZO

Apple Berry said...

U no well I swear. Lol

Oga ah think u shoukd throw a party.. Invite me pls if u'd

Jesus is Lord

Jesus Is Lord

omalichaspeaks.com said...

Abeg I dey go throway the cinnamon powder wey dey my kitchen sharply biko.

***The Importance Of Vex Money -click my name to read more.

Linda
God bless you for this. You did not only help safe these 3 lovely kids, you also taught several women a great lesson.

A bad girl also has her own day!

Igolaugh said...

Shedded tears??? Teacher no teach me nonsense. It's 'shed tears', thank me later.

Tolu said...

It's not allergies Oga. It clogs your airway when you inhale it, wether you're allergic to it or not. Pls educate yourself!

Nonye said...

Wilheminna, it's obvious you don't know what it is either because if you did, you would have told him rather than spew this nonsense

Nonye said...

@ Meet...it's a spice used in cooking, baking , tea, etc. It's used for consumption.

Nonye u are such a big fool! Come oh who do u think this wilheminna is? I bet u dnt know cos if u do, u wouldn't have uttered this rubbish u said here. NNE biko bia ka nzuo GI nni nji cinnamon wee si. Ezi ofia!

Cinnamon is good, just keep it out of their reach so they don't inhale the raw powder. The container doesn't look new so your wife must have used it to cook meals you all enjoyed.

You are anonymous but felt it's OK to post your friends name?

Thank God

OMG!!!!! And today, for the first time in my life I bought cinnamon to use in a cake recipe... And its exactly this brand of powdered cinnamon.... Haaaaa!!!! What do I do now???

catherine said...

Use it dear. Just keep it away from kids and avoid inhaling it. Cinnamon is an excellent ingredient for ur cake.as a matter of fact Cinnamon is my favorite ingredient at home. I use it for seasoning, facials, antiseptic, dental herb, hair conditional and I make the oil and use the oil for massaging my bone and muscles. Like everything it can trigger reaction if inhaled or if allergy develops.