i concur

This actually makes sense!!

Is a gud idea bt corruption wl set in cos dey won't gv it 2 d ryt pple

True....ah Agreed!! Even contraband cars nd electronics!! I love this man!! Lolzzzzz!!!!

They dont destroy all the seized goods. Its only for show. They divert 99% of the goods to their homes.

Gbam!!! I've had that thought FOREVER!!!

Me too...I think if they are nafdac approved the poor shld just have it.

I do

I concur

Yeah! But how sure are we that it'll be given out to the poor?....that's the main question.....

Ayodele Jay said...

Yea..i agree too... buh d sense is nt common!

#Blessed child

Yes o! I agree 2 million times! Instead of NDLEA or customs to be burning ceased cannabis (Igbo), they should hand it out to the masses. You can imagine how happy we will be and the endless hailing of APC.

Oh wow...Ben! much love....you just nailed it. Are you even saying they destroy them? They even take it to their homes to use.

Correct sense

Correct sense!

Or at least sell it for cheap. Use to proceeds to improve the particular department that's responsible for the bust.

Yup, yup yup!!! Stop wasting precious resources. Instead throwing away, demolishing or destroyding seized things convert them to govt property. In the US, they convert seized vehicles to police cars. Don't destroy and later go and apply for World bank loan. Think people think!!!

Contraband may not good for our consumption.

I kinda agree, but there's a reason its contraband. If it is quality issues that led to banning the item in question, then giving it to the poor should never be considered.

I swear. It is a total waste that.

MamaOj said...

I agree too.

Give poison out?

Ochaimo+ said...

Totally agree and also agreeded, Lolz

My brother nah real common sense o.

Yea, ,,i concur

IG@Peeink said...

I agree with him.

Yes!

Agreed, unless it is not fit for consumption

Ben bruce making commonsense for the first time

Mr bruce,i concur with that but unfortunately the destroy word is just a cover-word for sharing among officers......the destroy nothing

Nice suggestion

Even cocc right?

Leems said...

100% agreed! Nice one Sir

I disagree! When you 'No' to something, it's no all the way.

Even cocc right?

ColdFlame said...

Good thinking... The challenge however will be in how to determine who exactly is "the poor". Knowing us, everyone (including the importer, the seizing agency and even law enforcement folks) will find a way to ensure they make the cut!

Yes I agree with him

God knows how i feel for the common Man, bt things don't jst work like that.
Contraband goods must be destroyed.
No time to start lecturing on why cos Z got some Sweet pussy that needs URGENT Attention.

I disagree! When you say 'No' to something, it's down to the bottom, no empathy. Stop to think; who are the poor? How do you identify them?

this guy uses his brain well..i agree its common sense,because its contraband doesn't mean its useless

They can't give it out to the poor, because the customs are interested in d goods.

God knows how i feel about the common Man, bt things don't jst work like that.
Contraband goods must be destroyed.
No time to start lecturing on why cos Z got some Sweet pussy that needs URGENT Attention.

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

Making some sense but could be easily exploited by the notoriously corrupt, Customs'officials.

Noted! He shouldn't also forget that some of these contraband goods are fake!

The rich will also get hold of it so no need

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

Last time I checked contraband is a forbidden goods... Its either the goods has expired or something... So to me I don't really agree

Didi Stories said...

Or make it govt property n use it to generate income
For ur captivating short stories visit www.itsdidisblog.blogspot.com

True talk

True talk

I do ooo

I agree

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Since they are contraband....why give them out

burning our hard earned dollars
Black man's mentality

Hmmm you make sense

I do too

Gibson said...

...a clear case of common sense not being common. How come we have never thought along this line before now?
These supposedly seized items depending on what they are, should be distributed freely to hospitals, old-peoples homes, orphanages, federal and states government institutions (primary, secondary and tertiary), etc.
But it shouldn't end there. Genuine efforts should be made in making sure the items don't go into the wrong "pockets".

Supported but I hope it's not applicable to expired and fake products. Linda take note!

Common sense
Pls visit my blog bettykrislav.blogspot.com

Dave said...

Yeaa he's right
Depends on d kinda contraband product tho'

Yes he is making sense but it depend on the type of contraband if it will not be harmful, also if they will not divert it to themselves and their family!!!

Olusoji said...

#Commonsense is giving those siezed contraband items to the poor.

#Sense!

True.

Depends on what it is and if it's in good condition.

Quite a stupid thing to say.

Depends,most of the contrabands are expired products.

Kinda agree with him, but if that is done, it wouldn't be on d custom's own authority, d federal government would be d one to sanction it which of cos would be tantamount to indicting themselves. This is law, if those goods were banned, it's a result of FG's policy on importation which is now subject to d provisions of d law. More like a case of someone who stole and ate from a sack of salt which was provided as an exhibit in court, he hires a lawyer to advocate for him, even though on d sack, d label on it is "SALT", d defendant's lawyer tells d judge that his client didn't steal salt and that d content of d sack isn't salt. Now, d plaintiff and his lawyer plus d audience are surprised and a bit awestruck, d Judge in all curiousness tastes d substance and discovers it was actually salt and before he makes his judgement, d defendant's lawyer interjects and says, whatever judgement d Judge should make for his client, he should make for Himself also since they both ate of d salt. This looks strange but a true life story. If d federal govt does that, I think d smugglers might have it as a legal precedence against d FG

Question: do they really destroy them?

I agree!!!!

Fela don talk am.tey tey yet u lot didnt support him bck then ,guess his listenin to baba 70 on replay all day
OLASHILE CANADA

Fela said that in the '70s. That won't stop till Jesus comes

nunulicious said...

how will you identify the poor? I bet you the officials to destroy it will collect bribe to give it to the poor or somehow basatardize the process. even now, it would be interesting to truly verify how much of the seized goods are really "destroyed"

Darrel tom said...

I do linlin
Y burn somtin that cud be of use to the poor masses n some poor individuals like bonario wihl moses n Juliet watever. #crosslegs#

Linda mbok na go dig off aneke's twin them pix naaa
Even if na old ones we go manage am
Love how libers blast them

Linda's last son /laura IKEJI'S nephew

LIB chairlady said...

Well said

mummyisgood said...

I totally agree why waste it when there are hungry pple everywhere even in d orphanages etc abeg PMB do sometin abt this

No according to the law it won't work that way .....use to think Bruce had brains but with that statement am thinking otherwise...... In the right sense with the poverty level in Nigeria give to the poor....but contra bands can't be shared it's got to be destroyed.

I disagree, give it to the poor man and he turns around to sell it...seized goods will be back in the market.... plus he has to be more specific... substandard drugs are also confiscated...is he saying give that to the poor too? Pls lets tackle our problems one after the other...

Baddest Puta said...

Like duh? Even while growing up I saw them destroy food on TV and that was what came to my mind but I was later told they don't really burn them, they share them among themselves

Idiots, u too woo Linda, they poor man sells it then there is demand,those bringing it in will continue 2,when a mass of people die from consumption of seized foods who will u blame...., as them talk am common sense is not common

First sensible response

I always think about it anytime I watch custom destroy some useful goods all in the name of contraband. This goods run into billions of naira is it dat the government is so b***d to see ppl longing to have cloth and they have none and if the foods ain't fake or substandard what is wrong with all the IDP camps and refugee camps and homes for the needy here and there this will go a long way to ease a lot of pain. Well all this people I "guess" destroy some and keep the larger share to themselves so they won't agree to give it out for free it better they burn some and keep most.

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Why isn't dis man president?

i agree

Its quite a shame on mr murray bruce dat as a senator he has no clues as to d reason y goods can be seizd nd cosequently burnt u prevent it frm eva getrin into d market cos weda it is standard or substandard it destroys d econmy of a country so evn if u give it out to the poor it still gets into circulation weda resold or used md dis destroys d econmy oga bruce read customs act nd also economics of trade

President said...

I disagree! Most of seized goods are fake, substandard or unfit for human consumption. Also, if goods are seized to protect local industry, putting them into circulation defeat the reason for their being seized in the first place!

Lol! U dey crase

BigChamps said...

this really make sense

his a moron ask him if he does that for his employees at silverbird

Nekky said...

Y destroy anything while IDP camp have nothing in it. Contraband is different from expired products and it's not necessary fake but some products that FG wants the country to start producing. Y destroy goods worth millions and u come outside to beg same poor masses with good hearts to visit IDP camps and orphanages to help their fellow poor. Bruce Li, Bruce Jenner or Bruce Ben whatever ur name is, am with u on this one muaaaaah!!!

All of you including linda are stupid. And ben of course! Most of these things being destroyed are because they breach health standards and codes! Do you want 'the poor' to die? Or have health problems?The goods are contraband for a reason!

Okwu di ya.

He's right on this....

well i agree totally...contraband goods are'nt necessarily fake ,it could mean that those goods are not to be imported into nigeria due to the fact that we are trying to promote our Nigerian goods note that the man said customs and not NAFDAC and he also didnt say anything about drugs..among those seized items could be wrappers and if an indigent person gets it the person will jump for joy..So Mr Bruce is correct.

It does not work like that. Who is the poor? It is another route for corruption to begin. If you need to help the poor, help them but not with contraband goods.

I will always give you %100 support. IDP need those food

I TOTALLY AGREE, ENOUGH IDP'S AND MOTHERLESS BABIES HOMES WILL BENEFIT

How many of the goods in Nigeria are up to standard? Seized goods in this country aren't below standard... Just means u could not settle them well... The worst standard of goods are well in circulation, why? Those ones settled the customs officers well. The customs act is just paper work yo! And seized goods are usually shared among Dem selves... Only the really terrible ones are burnt for u ppl to see and think shit is being done.... NOTHING IS BEING DONE

im not sure

Fela/Osun/Otemi/DeMayor said...

Who is the poor and who will handle the execution of such law. Another case of diversion

If the goods are substandard, it will pose as a risk.

There is a reason why it is called contraband , by the way , how long are we going to be giving them fishes rather than teaching the how to fish and giving them a river to fish on .

We need electricity , researched initiatives and bank loan support for manufacturing purposes and good export trade .

Abi oooo. Dts exactly wt dey do.

Linda what they burn and destroy is half of what they seized...... The customs officers and the most poor people......(as they have seen them self's and how they act).....

This Ben Bruce is so totally intelligent!!! #justmakingcommonsense#

Ikuku AmStrong said...

#TrueTalk

They are contrabands period!

Henry and Friends said...

Whether they are contraband or not, i believe some of these goods can be put to good use. There is no need burning up millions of naira for this sake

I AGREE