Police enjoins doctors to treat accident victims and persons with gunshot wounds without police report | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 August 2015

Police enjoins doctors to treat accident victims and persons with gunshot wounds without police report

The Inspector-General of Police, Solomon E. Arase,  has called on members of the public including medical personnel to attend to accident victims and persons with gunshot wounds without any police report when the need arises. In a statement released today August 21st, Arase said the police can be informed afterwards for necessary action after the injured have been given proper attention. The full text of the statement after the cut...

The Inspector-General of Police, IGP Solomon E. Arase, NPM fdc has enjoined members of the public including medical personnel to attend to accident victims and persons with gunshot injuries and thereafter, inform the Police for necessary action.
This became imperative, following neglects and consequent untimely death of victims in this regard out of fear of being implicated without Police involvement.
The Police High Command also directed its Officers and men not to harass good Samaritans/Nigerians in this regard, but endeavour to elicit correct facts in relation to incident from them.
Doctors on duty are equally duty bound to treat victims of gunshot wounds and further inform Police of relevant facts. The safety of Nigerians is a collaborative effort of all and sundry. Police therefore, enjoin citizens not to relent in their cooperative attitude in ensuring safety of all. While they are also to report any suspicious person or persons to the nearest Police Station.
CP EMMANUEL C.S. OJUKWU, psc
FORCE PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER
FORCE HEADQUARTERS
ABUJA.

36 comments:

frank said...

Goo move. This killed my Gee

Good move but the hospital should also make sure to report gunshot wounds to the police to be safe

Nice idea but you know it will never happen. Only a miracle can change the mindsets of nigerian police.

Asin that stupid law have cause many death in the future i swear..... Person wey make that initial law was on some deep weed..... Niceone man.... #NowPlaying>> for body: sunkanmi.....

Nice one from the IG.

Ahnn,thank God,this act has actually cause the death of innocent people,thank God for change am so happy about this,God bless Solomon.

Wow!thank God for new regime and for changes dat mak differences in people lives. Thumbs up and more power 2d police force for dis.

Great news. Steadily Nigeria will improve. God is good.

Good initiative

INTERESTING READ! The Man's Sex Cure for Kidney Stones

This is a big impact we will forever remember you for this and may God bless you and your family

GreAt news

Which is has caused many deaths in the future, r u a wizard or a wizard or a prophet?

Wow!

Thank God for new regime and changes dat mak differences in people lives. Thumbs up and more power 2d police force for dis.

Great move!

Golda Awosika said...

Ds is gud news to criminals, stupid police.

Mr 47 said...

God bless you IG for lifting that stupid law. Been saying this years.. I just hope the police n Doctors will oblige..

Nice concept

Pro said...

Better better Linda better

That vuvuzela P guy

Hmmmm if only this came before Henry's death. He was rejected by 3 hospitals and eventually died in the forth hospital after from the gun shots sustained. His death was so heart breaking even till date.May his gentle soul rest in peace.

In most parts of the world, saving life is foremost esp in emergencies. The Hippocratic oath enjoins physicians to do no harm. Yet, in naija all the opposite holds true. Nawa. It shows just how much human life is valued in the society. Why would the police force even remind medical personnel on this score? Shouldn't it be the other way around? Can one imagine the lives and talents that were unnecessarily cut short as a result of this endemic and pathetic practice? Hopefully, the poor systemic issues in the health care sector will be squarely addressed by PMB's administration bcos to do otherwise, is: goodcause4trouble

What if they're criminals? Don't quite accept this..

This new government is really getting very interesting and am loving it. This is a very good one many lives will be saved

Great initiative there by the IG. Kudos!

This is an IG with difference. He stands out from others.Kudos!

This is good news. So many have died as a result of this. Let doctors treat first, then report afterwards. Life is precious o.

Dis is a welcomed development. Thumbs up to all the authorities involved in making dis a reality. Linda take note!

That's way to go

Pakman said...

We needed dat following d new trend of police shooting innocent people and refusing to give dem report resulting to many deaths. Tnk God we are finally getting dier

We bless God for this new thing

Dats good news.more good news will come

With this regime every sector is sitting up. Good effort.

You won't accept till you're hit by a stray bullet, then you'll understand that criminal or not, all lives matter.

Saying it is quite distinct from implementing it.. well let's see how far they go in fully archiving this... it is a very reasonable and positive move.. finally some reasonable and positive thinking persons are finally taking the lead positions in our police force.. I pray God changes the reasoning of our field police officers... No offence to men of the Nigerian police force..

#5iver..

About time... Lives are being lost because of the police report bullsh**... A very welcome development

Yes ooo,u won't accept until u av an accident nd every hospital wil reject u cos der is no police report den u wil know Dis is d best news we read so far. I hope d hospital wil do d right tin sha. Cos it's a tin 2 give a rule it's another tin 4 it 2 be carried out. God bless nigeria