Photo: Guiness World Records recognizes 112yr old Japanese as the world's oldest man | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 22 August 2015

Photo: Guiness World Records recognizes 112yr old Japanese as the world's oldest man

Yasutaro Koide, a 112-year-old resident of Nagoya, Japan, who recommends not smoking, drinking and avoiding stress as his secret to a long life, was on Friday August 21 officially recognized by Guinness World Records as the world’s oldest man. Koide was born on March 13, 1903, and worked as a tailor. He became the oldest man with the death of Sakari Momoi of Tokyo in July at age 112.

Three of his seven children, two of his nine grandchildren and one great grandchild attended a ceremony at a nursing home where he was given a plaque and a green vase. Koike was beaming, but teary-eyed as those attending applauded.

"The best thing is to not overdo,” he said. He also recommended not smoking or drinking, and said his favourite food is bread. Koike also recommends “enjoying everything,” according to local reports that say he can read the newspaper without glasses.

The newspaper Chunichi Shimbun quoted a granddaughter, Aya Kikuchi, saying her grandfather once tended to be very strict about manners. “He was very stubborn, but he got nicer with age,” she said.

“His lifestyle is one that avoids stress.” One of the world’s fastest-ageing countries, Japan has about 54,000 centenarians. So many, in fact, the government is reportedly considering scrapping or scaling back a 52-year-old programme that presents each person reaching the century mark with an ornate sake dish and letter of congratulations from the prime minister.

The world’s oldest person is Susannah Mushatt Jones of Brooklyn, New York, who celebrated her 116th birthday on Monday.

Source: AP

47 comments:

aproko manager said...

Dem sure say some 9ja pple for some villages nor old pass dis man

Eiya, that's nice o

#itWILLonlyGETbetter
#ITmustENDinPRAISE

Rubbish record the should go and see my granpa at mauritius an know who is older than each other.

There are older pple in Nigeria!

Wow, he's sure seen and experienced a lot.

This man would have been begging death to come. www.madesimpleonline.xyz

Congratulations to him

Pro said...

They should come to Naija here and see people older. Well it's all good. Someday I'm going to feel honoured like this.

That vuvuzela P guy

Wow!

Ike A. said...

Wow! 54,000 Centenarians. That's incredible.

Chinedu said...

All these records sef... make them enta naija... they fit see 150yrs

Congrats to him

This is no doubt a great post......

the research no deep, people wey old pass am dey this naija, I'm damn sure.

Linda's boyfriend said so

the research no deep, people wey old pass am dey this naija, I'm damn sure.

Linda's boyfriend said so

Oatzeal tosin said...

^^^^^^^^^^^^

Ignore d comment above me....

Hmmmm.... Even though one man in my village is 153 year old ..

Dem dey use long leg n politics again?? Okay sha..

The commentor below is a liar

I know so many older than 112. Anyway, its great-grand Pa's lucky day.

If dey claim 112yrs is d oldest, dey shd come down 2 Nigeria n c 115yrs n above

Wow that's amazeing

Lie....!!!! we hv more older men in my village

052 said...

As how na????? Make dem enta benin dem go see 130 years sef....

Wow!!! And he stil look vry young in comparison to his age

Congrat to him!!!

Still asking myself why ppl smaoke and take alcohol, nothing interesting or fun abt it, when u smoke/drink u go dey smell of alcohol anyhow and also endangering ur life......Happy for u old man

Wow...GOD bless your old age grandpa

Wow

Allybrownny said...

Not possible cause there are others older than him in d word even inNigeria,my late grandpa was 112 too even others

Great but he is not d oldest

Wow! God abundantly bless his soul and I wish him all d best. Congrats!

andre kelvin said...

112? Bitch pls have seen 135

Apple Berry said...

I'm happy for him

My great grandpa died at the age of 147 so what's the big deal #happy for him though #

The older men in your village don't know their birth year.
The older men in your village might have their first child to be about 60-70, and that's unlikely for an African of the early 20the century and late 19the century; they marry very early

I don't want to grow this old

My Graanny is 122 by her traditional counting

Bucho said...

Wen will a Nigerian b the world's oldest man of woman. Lol. Hardship no go gree us grow old na

Bucho said...

Wen will a Nigerian b the world's oldest man of woman. Lol. Hardship no go gree us grow old na

Awwww..how can dis be.let them come to Northen Region in ghana and see who a true old person is or are!!!i dnt blame them.africa is not part of the world

Asians live well and long. I guess it is because they eat healthy

Eni Joshua said...

My granny just died at 120 years in akanu ohafia abia state xposee.com

Numero Uno said...

I can't help but laugh at d comments, as for those sayin their granny is 130 and so, dat means their mum or dad shd be at least 90 or 100, weldone to u guys..anyway, it's called guiness book of world records and not guiness book of world assumptions, so take a chill pill if ur age can't be verified with an authentic birth certificate, while those playin the racial card all d time, japanese aren't considered to be whites, if it wia on a racial basis, and european or an american shd have won d award.. Mind u, ur internets on ur fone aren't 4 fancy, d japanese people have d oldest living population in d world, so u can check it out, to be specific, look up Okinwans. Congrats 2 mr oldest man, it aint an easy feat. All d same, my shoutout to u guys, m new here on d blog..hopin 2 make new n intelligent friends..tkia

There are sure older peeps in Nigeria.

U words make sense for fist tym