3 generations of a family die during the botched delivery of a baby | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 22 August 2015

3 generations of a family die during the botched delivery of a baby

In a bizarre story that has continued to  baffle investigators and residents of a Lagos community, three generations of a family have died during the delivery of a baby. It was gathered that on May 7, 2015 Dr. Bosun Owolabi, was called when 34-year-old Edith Ororobi, went into labour to give birth to her first child.
The doctor allegedly ran to the house at Bogije Town in Ibeju-Lekki area of Lagos at about 3am.
ADVERTISEMENT
But by the time he was done with the delivery, Edith; her 61-year-old mother, Elizabeth Ororobi, who witnessed the procedure, and the newborn baby, were all dead.

Police sources said that Owolabi instantly fled the scene only to contact a relation of the victims on the phone and explained how the grandmother had died of shock after her daughter and newborn grand baby had died.T he man, who was contacted was Elizabeth’s younger brother, Jite Tubman.
In his statement to the police, Tubman explained that at about 3.14am on May 7, he received a call from a doctor, whom he later learnt was Dr. Owolabi.
Tubman said,
“The doctor said my elder sister died of shock after realising that her daughter, Edith, had died during delivery.
“The father of the dead newborn baby, has travelled out of the country. I later reported the case to the police, who took an ambulance and followed us to the house.”
The bodies of mother, child and grandmother were deposited at the Lagos Island General Hospital.
A police source said that by the time they got to the scene, Owolabi, was nowhere to be found.
“The mother was found in a pool of her own blood while the baby was found dead on a bed. The grandmother was also found on the floor lying on her right side. We are still searching for the doctor. The family has even refused to come forward after reporting the case,” a police source said.
When Saturday PUNCH contacted Dr. Owolabi on the phone to get his side of this story, he said his lawyer would be in a position to tell the story better.
“I don’t want to say what I did not do,” he said.
Asked to explain what actually happened during the delivery and why he was on the run, Dr. Owolabi said, 
“I am not on the run. That is a lie. I was never arrested and I am not aware that the case is now at Panti (DCI). I cannot say anything further.”
The police believe that Dr. Owolabi works with the Government Health Centre at Arapaji Village, Ibeju-Lekki but explained that the case has been stalled because the family seemed not to be interested in it.
Punch

49 comments:

www.glowyshoes.com said...

This is really a sad news to read... May their souls rest in peace

Glowyshoe blog

Maria K said...

God have mercy

prettymojies said...

This is unbelievable. Rip 2 the dead.

What a tragedy, may their souls rest in peace.

Then the family have something to do with their death, them send parcel to them through Benin express

Jesus! This is strange.What could have happened.

oiza said...

Lots of things happening

Na wa o
That's very strange. May their souls RIP

#it WILL only GET better
#IT must END in PRAISE

Na wa o
That's very strange. May their souls RIP

#it WILL only GET better
#IT must END in PRAISE

What a tragedy. Lord have mercy. I am short of words. O Lord have mercy on us all. May their souls all rest in peace.

Strange

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

OK. Rip yo the dead.

aproko manager said...

Bad newss

seyi crown said...

This crazy, the Dr should should come out n explain his side of d story now

Things are really happening

Wonders shall neva end

Strange things are happening......

Rip.....

Jeremiah Wesley said...

Too bad.

May their soul rest in peace. Amen.

Mayb deris a ritual dey shlda carried out!

Haaaa.....the family seemed nt t b interested in d case? I fear this world o, this is spiritual stuff. The doctor is nt innocent, I tink he need t b questioned. And I blf dat 1 day we ll all gv acct of evrytin we d in ds life.

Pro said...

Hm don't know what to say honestly.

That vuvuzela P guy

Lord help and save us frm untimely deaths and tragic accidents. RIP to them.

mel20 said...

Maybe it's there generation curse or something..make police free the doctor as the family would known the source of the tragedy.

Horror!!!! RIP

Am sure d Doctor kws smtin abt d death of d 3 pple, dey shd gt him arrested n interrogate him vry well. RIP 2 d dead

Aces said...

Why were they doing home delivery, they should have gone to the hospital to have the baby, people like to risk their lives unnecessarily, rip to the dead

This is sad! May God rest their souls....

DeVita said...

Something is fishy.. Why did the Doctor run away?

This is so sad

Hmmmmmmm it seems so strange!!so strange RIP to the dead.

I believe dis is accident. But why d didn't go to d hospital 4 delivery

y didnt dey go to the hospital for delivery?

Golda Awosika said...

Very dstubn I must say. Jus lyk dat dey all died, wow.

RIP to the dead

Strange and even sounds like smtg diabolical was involved...

Demon possessed medical doctor has sacrificed his patient & relations 2 gain acceptance & promotion in d demonic world! But where're d nurse(s)? D evil doc could'nt ve worked alone. Or did he? How did he leave d hospital or clinic? Why has he not been arrested?

This story sounds like a yoruba home movie .. rip to the dead

It is truly a very sad, horrifying experience for the poor family. May I state that it is not true that the family abandoned the matter. The police saw it as an opportunity to extort money from the bereaved family members (Jite in particular) and dragged them from 1 place to another in the name of investigation. It's unfortunate that our forces would jump on such a sad event to squeeze out every kobo....... Even in the circumstance.

How could u report a case to the so called police and they demand hundreds of thousands of naija...... Including money to buy fuel to be able to go to the allerged crime scene.

Weeks went by and the police did absolutely nothing meaningful. They decided to bury their deceased loved ones. PUNCH and everyone spreading the news.... PLS GET UR FACTS RIGHT

is really a sad news ....RIP the dead

This is spiritual. The doctor may even be innocent

Na wa oooo there's something fishy going on abeg, so sad

D doctor is not innocent? Fvck you! He is until proven guilty. So since d grandmother had no blood on her, d doctor strangled her na abim motherfucker

What?!?!? I'm lost for words!

Stupid Cops.

So sad