Photo of starved Nigerian children during the Biafran war | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 5 April 2015

Photo of starved Nigerian children during the Biafran war

Photo above shows an aid worker, Nurse Elva Peterson feeding starving Biafran children during the Nigerian-Biafran Civil War in Jan 1970. Photo Credit: Corbis..

This photo shows Lagosians celebrating Easter at Bar Beach in Victoria Island in the 1970s...

206 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 206 of 206

Thank you Ernest. I'm not Ibo but I have been trying to find the exact details as to why a decision was made to form Biafra in the first place. I have certain opinions about it but I wanted to get the full picture before I made my conclusions. Thanks again for the education. Stay blessed brother. One Nigeria...

So Linda what's the purpose of this picture at a time like this when nigeria should be coming together? This is you just being tribalistic ! Who started the war? War is war casualties on both sides !

I believe strongly that we need to honestly apologise to the Igbos for the war. Nigeria did some heartless things in the name of war.
Even though some will say they started it as in the case of Niger delta Wahala and BH bullshit. It was so bad that because of the Biafran war Medicins sans frontiere aka Doctors without borders was founded.Even today, due to their hate for wars and battles, MSF personnel wouldn't take even a picture with Soldiers no matter how friendly they are. The scars of war...horrible. Till today survivors of the war i've met have mental issues and experience depression. And it's happening all over again in the North East.

sad...this is what war does to people,i bet this kids are all grown up.....................

Its a pity linda keeps deleting my comments. shows how unrealistic you are; its also a show of cowardice. For whatever reason you posted this, it doesn't make sense. Ibos will never learn. You keep blamin everyone but yourselves for your dismay yet you are the architects of your reproach. The federal govt tried to talk your coward leader into reaching a peaceful resolution by meeting with him in Aburi, Ghana to discusss the challenges faced by ibos in the north, but he pretended to have resolved it not knowing he had made up his mind to go to war. He thought he had the support of France and SouthAfrica as these countries have assured him of armours and other war tools but unfortunately for him, The UK, Russia(USSR) and US gave the countries a restricting order and since these countries are not only the world powers but the very ones manufacturing the weapons, France and SouthAfrica had to succumb to pressure. This gave Nigeria the upper hand to move swiftly and win the war. I ask Biafrans this question, Why did Ojukwu flee to Cameroun after the defeat? Which leader/warlord does that? He is a coward and will always be.We allowed him back into Nigeria where he lived until hs dath despite betraying the country and committing treason offences, but the Ibos still see themselves as the enemy of the nation. You are the very ones marginalising yourselves....Keep doing that and you'll emain the inferior tribe.

Linda,I implore you to keep putting up picture of the Biafran war. It is part of our past and nobody can wish it away. It most unfortunate that the younger Nigerians especially those in there 20's do not know much about the history of Nigeria,many might not even know why the war was fought. Nigeria is "forced" association of people who have nothing to do with each other. The Yoruba,Igbo and Hausa man are as different to each other as night and day. The Igbos wanted their independence,their freedom and their sovereignty. You can't force anyone to be a Nigerian. We Igbos are a persecuted people,yet when we ask for our freedom,the rest of Nigeria will say no. Nigeria has never and will never work as a nation because we are not meant to be together. People don't realise that we all can co-exist in peace without having to live in one country where we are constantly fighting each other in a war of supremacy for political control. I pray that Nigeria is divided and that my Igbo people can have the freedom which has denied the for so long in the name of the "prison" called Nigeria.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 206 of 206   Newer› Newest»