Two 'loitering' Aljazeera journalists restrained by troops in Maiduguri | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 25 March 2015

Two 'loitering' Aljazeera journalists restrained by troops in Maiduguri

Press statement from Defence Headquarters below...
Two journalists working for Aljazeera Television who were found to have been loitering around areas where military operations are ongoing in the North East have been restrained in Maiduguri.
The journalists, Ahmed Idris and Mustafa Andy who were noted to have been moving around various locations including restricted areas in Yobe and Borno State were also operating without any protection, accreditation or due clearance.
They were accordingly monitored by military intelligence operatives until they eventually had to be restrained to their hotel in Maiduguri. This followed the increasing suspicion that their activities were aimed at interfering with the ongoing military operations in the area.
The motive, activities and some material in possession of these individuals are now being investigated. It will be recalled that Foreign journalists have earlier been cautioned against unauthorized and unprotected movements around the military operations area. This warning is hereby reiterated until formally reversed or lifted. Appropriate arrangements will however continue to be made to assist duly cleared journalists to cover activities in the mission area within the limits of adequate safety, security & necessary procedures.

47 comments:

They know best. Lindaobserve

K

Linda's Intern said...

You've identified them as journalists, yet you still go ahead to tag carrying out the duties 'loitering'.
Something just isn't right about this. What are the troops hiding?

These journalists eeh? Their ears na 4 fancy till agbaa fa jaajaa.

guess they did it for
Security reasons.

Lol Amebo people

Owk noted.

Good of the military to be extra cautious and always at alert

What are they looking for, even after the warnings. Linda take note!

Na them sabi.

Because it is Nigeria, they feel they can do as they please! Well not this time!!!

Hope they have been killed...........any suspected person with a moslem or Arabic name caught should be shot on sight.....dey are all bokoharam.....even if na revered father

Hmmmmm, hope it wil b dealt wit accordingly, and I hope they wil yield to advice, and warning.

they are trying to verify the authenticity of naija army claim they have reclaim those territories from boko haram...GEJ do not want such verifications...

DEY WANT SO DAT NIG WILL B CALLED OUT ON MEDIA...HW CAN DEY B LIOTERIN IN SUCH AREA???IF U WANA DIE GO TO UR COUNTRY AND DIE....TOMJERRYSWIT

Not a bad idea ,at least for their lives

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

They should be careful before they are kidnapped and it becomes a problem.

Yu didn't read the post? Lindaobserve

Better o, if something happen to them now, they will say is GEJ and PDFP.

I hope they r not working for BH???

I smell something.

Odinma...

Dudes have already signed a death warrany no doubt......

Why is everything in Nigeria so different? people from other countries take us for granted all because we have rubbished ourselves in the global eyes! bet me, these good for nothing AlJazeera Journalists will never try such in their own country even as Journalists! May God pushing them! Nigerian Amy for shoot them join sef!

IF THEY GET CAUGHT UP IN D CROSSFIRE OR KILLED INTERNATIONAL MEDIA WILL START SHOUTING HUMAN RIGHTS MTSCHEEWW.

Being identified as journalists does not permit them to "loiter" more so "without clearance". Those are sensitive areas and with the new development of BH vis-a-vis ISIL, their intentions should be well investigated; fake journalists exist everywhere.

Hello Royal...I hope your Brain Oil is not leaking too

Anty Ada ... All U say is "Na dem sabi" just to register your comment on every post. Are u a robot? Or u just dey aim for dec giveaway! Lol

Thank you. Poverty has so affected peoples IQ.

Na them sabi. Wetin go evn carry me go there as a journalist.

Endydecency said...

Bokojournalism . There are Boko Haram spies.

May God forgive your ignorance

I like this new system the Defense HQ is adopting where they release statement and inform people of stuff going on

serious investigation should be carried out.

@ Royal p, the LiB fool, no they re u working for BH

Jeez! Ur comments shocks me. Are you sure you're from this planet?

#smh - Nigerian's are used to Journalists that wait at home and their offices for news to be brought to them by PDP. So they won't be happy if someone wants to do investigative journalism.

#smh - Lies - Credit the incumbent, Jonathanians say: “Jonathan, Nigeria has emerged as by far the largest economy in Africa with a GDP of $503 billion; nearly double the previous estimates,” Femi Aribisala wrote.

#smh - When Jideofor Adibe, a Daily Trust columnist, implied the same thing, I immediately threw away 70 percent of the respect I had for him; and I’m now sussing him out on the remaining 30 percent.
Actually, the Economist argued that the Nigerian economy is growing not because of Jonathan but in spite of him: “The single bright spot of his rule has been Nigeria’s economy, one of the world’s fastest-growing. Yet that is largely despite the government rather than because of it, and falling oil prices will temper the boom. The prosperity has not been broadly shared: under Mr Jonathan poverty has increased. Nigerians typically die eight years younger than their poorer neighbours in nearby Ghana.

#Sai Buhari

JOJO20 said...

NIGERIANS.WE NEED TO BE VERY CAREFUL WHO KNOW MAYBE THEY ARE ISIS COMING TO VIEW THE LAND AND HOW TO RECAPTURE IT TO BOKO? ARE THEY REALLY JORNALIST NAIJA WE NO GO DO THOROUGH CHECK WE PLAY WITH EVERYTHING.BE WISE

jojo20 said...

THEY SHOULD BE SENT BACK TO THEIR COUNTRY OH

MAMA IYABO said...

FROM THEIR NAMES WE HAVE KNOWN WHO THEY ARE. BOKO'S IN DISGUISE.

HOW ARE WE NOT SURE THOSE ARE ISIS GUYS SENT TO NIGERIA SINCE BOKO JUST PLAEGED ALLEGIANCE TO ISIS.

NIGERIAN SECURITIES PLS BE WISE

AGB said...

Nice one....no undercover spies should be let in Nigeria. Since they didn't have clearance, let them be interrogated. We can't know for certain who they are and/or what their plans are until they're properly quizzed.

VOTE BUHARI/OSINBAJO 2015.

GOD BLESS NIGERIA. AMEN.

Does guy should be interrogated very well and Aljazeera should give us prove that does guys are really there workers.

sam said...

Can such happen in their home country, pls investigate their true mission if they are ISIS in a journalist form now that
BOKO has lost