Question of the day.... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 24 March 2015

Question of the day....

A LIB reader sent in the question. See below and tell us who you would save and why...
Imagine your mum left your dad when you were just 8 months old because he had no money. Your dad remarried a lady because he needed someone to take care of you. Unfortunately she couldn't bear your dad a child, she dedicated her entire time looking after you. Due to the financial state of the house, your step mum sold all she had so that she could sponsor your education. Luckily you graduated as a medical doctor, own you your hospital. One day an emergency occurred due to an accident which involved your biological mother and your step mother, your hospital was the nearest and obviously a good one, so both were brought in. You can only attend to one patient at a time being the only doctor on duty. Who will you give priority to? Your biological mum / or your step mum? (The situation permits you to choose just one, both losing blood profusely.

679 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   601 – 679 of 679

I see a sentimental fool

U r fake. Be truthful to urself for once.

Ur head dey there, u go school well well. Chop knuckle abeg. (the most correct ansa a doc will give)

Me sha I will attend to d stepmom (I will permit sentiments).

Zamani said...

Step mum

Rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

Love ur comment

Correct

Kyke said...

Step!!!! Mum!!!!!! Ofcourse!!!!!

...My name is simple CALL ME KYKE...

Well as a dr I would do what is called a triage and pick the one who is more likely to live and can be saved and dedicate my resources and time more to that person! You people critisize doctors all the time and don't know what we go through everyday. We are faced with decisions that affect REAL people who have families , friends and loved ones. It doesn't have to be my mum or step mum before I give my best! I always give my best. If in the course of saving a life I leave a perennial pad in a woman , remember it's cause she was bleeding in the first place! Drs swear oaths like you are always quick to point out but we swear as MEN to GOD to do our best and do no harm but all human beings err( not to say I blame the dr ) for every life lost in the hands of a dr , thousands have been made to live ( don't forget there is only one dr to 7000 Nigerians ). Don't always believe a single story from a random guy on Twitter ! Love your dr it's perfectly heathy! Ibk

My mum is the best woman on earth, but in a case like this I will take the step one

Omo Iya Beji said...

Attend to step mom and assign mom to another doctor. Definitely want mom to live so that she can look me in the eyes and tell if she is fit to call me her child.

Foolish question... Step mom jor.

I have come to realize that its not who birthed you that is compulsory the person that is your mom but who nurtured you. I will choose the woman that nurtured me period.

Very clever answer!

John said...

Step mum for sure. Biological mum had lost you already. She abandoned you.

A mother isn't the woman who carried u in her stomach for 9months but the woman who took care of you, nurtured you, cried n laughed with u, gave u shelter, et cetera et cetera. That shld answer the question

ijeoma obokoh said...

Step mum,without thinking bcos she stood by me all d way

my step mum

A mother isnt just a biological parent but the one that nurtures and cares for you. If the one dat gives birth to you does the aforementioned then great. But if she abandons you for that to be done by anoda, then the one you grow up calling mama is the mama you know.....afterall children are a heritage from the Lord. Having eggs is a gift that she didnt work for but the ability and willingness to nurture is an uncommon and laudable craft and discipline!

Chinonso Okoh via Samsung Galaxy Smart Phone.

Chiamaka said...

I would definitely choose the step mum becos if it weren't for her, I wouldnt be in dat hospital working as a doctor in d first place and secondly, if the only mother (step mum) I knew dies, wat gives me d assurance dat my mom wld step in to b a gud mother plus I wld rily miss the only mom I was eva used to. Noone can replace her now, not even if my biological mom lives and wants to get to know me. Lemme jst add dat if my biological mom rily cared for me and not my dad, she wld av ran away wit me not left me for anoda woman to take her place so she shld bear d consequences. Meanwhile, in d medical world, if somfyn like a surgery is to be performed,i wld do it on my biological mom cos u arent allowed to do such on someone u are close to.

JENNY said...

My step mum pls

Endydecency said...

How will you even know that the other one is your biological mother? So I will treat the one I know first my Step-mother.

step mom straight away.

The real mum here is the 'step mum'. She is the mum I know and the mum who deserves my full medical attention. She comes first.

This is a very stupid question..of course it is the step mum kmt

Mumu the question says you can treat only one. . And it's obviously step mum

keji said...

Naija film

Step mum

uwa said...

The woman that took me as hers . But if my heart is made of gold, i'll call another doctor to save the biological mom .

I've always known u don't hv common sense, you're entitled to ur own mumu opinion sha.

Honest Nigerian said...

Easy.. My step mum. That's the only mum I have. I do not know the other lady. Truth be told, If I told that was my biological mum, the woman who abandoned me as a baby? I'll politely ask that she be removed from my hospital.

Hahaha..... U re wicked

Step mum win abeg....

@ 8 months for real? if u ask me i ll atend to my mom n the last i remember my step mom is the only momi remember having, no sentiment, if they are both in same condition i ll attend to my step mom.

True talk

My mother first

Ma step mom of.cuz

Very very very very foolish post, this!

What kind of nonsense question is this from Linda.
As a doctor you are trained to save life even that of your enemy,so your analogy does not add up. You should do all you can to save all life at anytime.

And linda imagine you are involved in that accident , do you expect me to leave you to die simply because you are not my mother, step mother or relative if I have a choice. No is the answer. There is no choice when it comes to treating patients bordering on life and death. Only in Nigeria!!!

A doctor will not ask such a question. He/she should know how to rate or assess emergencies. Fake post or real, do not give the impression that doctors make such emotional and rubbish decisions, otherwise patients' relatives will start beating up any doctor they meet at the A and E who is attending to another patient. Do away with this fantasy, whoever you are; your age don pass so, I beg.

Very pathetic. Man is a bundle of possibilities. i never can say until am involved.

Dude, attend to both, we are talking about one's LIFE.

Pele o

Barr Kaycee said...

i will attend to my step biological mum first please, by sharply giving her an injection that will make her pass out so i can focus and treat my dear step mum...lol

my step mom. Any woman can give birth to you but it takes a woman "mother" to raise you.

pls i wil lyk 2 say sumtin here u al hve said wat u wld do buh wat i wnt 2 say is dat ur birth moda is ur real mother no mata d circumstances cos witout her u wnt hve met wit ur step mum.but based on feeling we wld al go for step mum 4 been dere.

My step-mum is the first to be attended to. She got my back and am gonner keep hers. My biological mother can bleed to death for all I care. It happened to me real life. Am taking care of both but my step mum gets my attention most.
Pat

Hmmm, in a case like dis, am gonna choose my step mum, because I wanted to say the mum but not by giving birth to you dat matters but who has shown u dat love and care. Because right frm child hood, it's ur step mum you've known as ur mum, who ve be showering u care as a mother, so if dis kind of a situation comes up, I guess the first to attend to will be ur step mum because Infact u will see ur biological mum as a stranger and will nt have dat feelings for her to attend to her first.

mumu.trying to b evasive

step mom abeg

As far as am concerned in dat case ur biological mother just has d title of being ur mum, ur real mother in this case is ur step mother

my mum all the way. im referring to my STEP MUM Oooo, she is the real mother not the biological.

The step mum of course.

This LIB reader is already sick in the head for even thinking twice about who to choose. Look!!! ur biological Mum died the very day she walked out of ur life, so go ahead and safe ur step Mum's life cuz she alone deserves to live.

I will attend to step mother first I will even look. For her

my step mother biko

Step Mum ALL THE WAY jooooooor

In case you don’t know, your step mum is actually the real mother, it’s important to show love to even your worst enemy, so, since my job is to save lives, abeg, i will treat my step mum while praying for the transporter God use in bringing me to the world and she survives it, then i can take care of her afterwards. No hard feelings!

will quickly attend to my step mother wu has been there for me.

My Mum(The step Mum)

TOBBY RICHARDS said...

MY STEP MUM...INFACT I CUD WAIT FOR HER TO HEAL BEFORE I CAN EVEN TOUCH MY MUM..

My step mom, cos she help me to become what I am today, without her support I will not be there to save life, so I will attend to her first, but if there is another Dr. on duty I will order him/her to attend to my biological mom..

Godbless said...

Emm

Godbless said...

Emm

Just like I deserved to live by her, My step Mum deserves to live also. One good turn deserves another.

step mum, i dont always get to see my views posted

step mum, dont always get to see my post linda

idowu david said...

step mum

According to the leading of my spirit at that moment, i'll decide who will be treated first but step mum stands a larger chance tho...

definitely my step mom

I like this statement! Very sound!

this is actually not a teasing question as intended, its somewhat silly, if you permit me. how can you ever be in a doubt of abandoning someone that raised you for a complete stranger regardless of biological ties. its a big sin .

D Obvious

Step-mom of course

I will attend to my real mother ie my step Mum

Step mum for sure! After all the sacrifice!

Sharperly step mum

step mum..

«Oldest ‹Older   601 – 679 of 679   Newer› Newest»